Community Behavioral Health Promotion and Prevention Commission

Meeting Minutes February 24, 2020 3:00-5:00 pm

Date of meeting: Monday, February 24, 2020

Start time: 3:10 pm End time: 4:40 pm

Location: McCormack Building, One Ashburton Place, 21st floor, Boston, MA 02108

Members present		Vote I*	Vote 2
I	Joan Mikula – Department of Mental Health (chair)	Х	Х
2	George Beilin – Licensed Psychologist	Α	X
3	Lissette Blondet – MA Association of Community Health Workers	Α	-
4	Yaminette Diaz-Linhart – MA Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers	Х	X
5	Kirsten Doherty – MA Organization for Addiction Recovery	Х	X
6	Margaret Hannah – Freedman Center at William James College	X	X
7	Jessica Larochelle – MA Association for Mental Health	Х	X
8	Ryan Manganelli – Office of Representative Decker (designee of Representative Decker)	Α	X
9	Mary McGeown – MA Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children	X	X
10	Rosemary Minehan – Trial Court (ret.) (designee of Chief Justice Carey)	X	X
П	Carlene Pavlos – MA Public Health Association	X	X
12	Emma Schlitzer – Center for Health Information and Analysis (designee of Ray Campbell)	-	X
13	Emily Sherwood – Department of Mental Health	X	X
14	James Vetter – Social-Emotional Learning Alliance for MA	Х	X
Mem	bers participating remotely		
15	Danna Mauch – MA Association for Mental Health	X	X
Mem	bers not in attendance		
16	Daniel Cullinane – MA House of Representatives	-	-
17	Julian Cyr – MA Senate	-	-
18	Marilyn DeSantis – National Alliance on Mental Illness - MA	-	-
19	Cindy Friedman – MA Senate	-	-
20	Amanda Gilman – Association for Behavioral Healthcare	-	-
21	Lindsey Tucker – Department of Public Health	-	-

^{* (}X) Voted in favor; (O) Opposed; (A) Abstained from vote; (-) Absent from meeting or during vote

Proceedings

Commissioner Mikula called the meeting to order at 3:10 pm. She noted that Dr. Mauch was participating remotely and all votes taken during the meeting would be conducted via roll call.

Vote I to approve the I/I3/2020 minutes: Commissioner Mikula requested a motion to approve the minutes from the Commission's previous meeting on January I3, 2020. Ms. Larochelle introduced the motion, which was seconded by Dr. Hannah and approved by roll-call vote; Dr. Mauch indicated her vote in the affirmative over the phone (see detailed record of votes above).

Mr. Vetter announced that the Mosakowski Institute at Clark University was sponsoring an upcoming legislative event at the State House on March 18. He noted that the event would focus on the behavioral health system of care for adolescents and emerging adults and would include presentations on the underlying causes and consequences of adolescent behavioral and mental health disparities.

Commissioner Mikula announced that the Senate recently passed S.2519, An Act Addressing Barriers to Care for Mental Health, also known as the "Mental Health ABC Act." She explained that along with the Governor's comprehensive health care bill, the legislation would reform the mental health care systems in Massachusetts.

Commission staff provided an overview of a letter summarizing the Commission's activities in its first year that had been drafted for submission to the Legislature by March 1, 2020 as the Commission's annual report. Commissioner Mikula recommended that summaries of the Commission's January 13 and February 24 meetings be included in the letter.

In response to questions regarding the Commission's funding referenced in the letter, Commissioner Mikula noted that the initial \$200,000 allocated to the Community Behavioral Health Promotion and Prevention Trust Fund would be utilized for the behavioral health anti-stigma campaign. She added that additional information regarding the Commission's funding will be shared in the coming months as it is made available.

Deputy Commissioner Sherwood led a discussion of the updated rubric for reviewing potential grants and template for proposed areas of investment that had been circulated to members in advance. Members discussed various proposed revisions to the documents.

At 4:10 pm, Ms. Schlitzer arrived.

Deputy Commissioner Sherwood summarized the proposed areas of investment that members had discussed during the previous meeting and members nominated themselves for workgroups as follows:

- 1. Support existing community coalitions and promoting cross-sector prevention work
 - Lissette Blondet, Kirsten Doherty, Carlene Pavlos, Lindsey Tucker, Jim Vetter
- 2. Build resilience in populations with co-occurring substance use disorder, mental health needs, and history of trauma
 - George Beilin
- 3. Integrated medical and behavioral health focusing on young children and families, addressing both generational and family stress
 - Yaminette Diaz-Linhart, Danna Mauch, Mary McGeown
- 4. Social Emotional Learning in schools

• Margaret Hannah, Jessica Larochelle, Jim Vetter

At 4:30 pm, Ms. Blondet left the room.

Summary of action items and next steps:

- Commission staff to update letter to the Legislature summarizing Commission's activities, rubric, and template and circulate to the Commission.
- Commission members who were active in developing proposals to communicate within their respective workgroups and prepare presentations for the Commission's next meeting on April 13.

<u>Vote to adjourn:</u> Commissioner Mikula requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Vetter introduced the motion, which was seconded by Deputy Commissioner Sherwood and approved unanimously by all members present; Dr. Mauch indicated her vote in the affirmative over the phone.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:40 pm.