

CHARLES D. BAKER

KARYN E. POLITO LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

MIKE KENNEALY SECRETARY OF HOUSING AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure Office of Public Safety and Inspections

1000 Washington Street, Suite 710 Boston, Massachusetts 02118

EDWARD A. PALLESCHI UNDERSECRETARY OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS AND BUSINESS REGULATION

LAYLA D'EMILIA COMMISSIONER, DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE

Existing Building Code Committee (Ch. 34)

Chairman DiMascio took roll call:

*Layla D'Emilia, or designee	√ present ☐ absent	Mike DiMascio, Chair	√ present □ absent
**Peter Ostroskey, or designee	√ present 🗌 absent	Doug Anderson	√ present ☐ absent
Fred Lonardo	$$ present \square absent	Lee Cleveland	√ present □ absent
Mike Grover	√ present 🗌 absent	Michael Shearer	☐ present √absent
Dana Haagensen	√ present 🗌 absent	Erik Eklund	√ present □ absent
Kevin Hastings	√ present 🗌 absent	Barry Gehron	√ present □ absent
Vernon Woodworth	☐ present √ absent	Dave Horton	√ present ☐ absent

*Office of Public Safety Assistant Chief of Inspections-Building and Engineering Dan Walsh participated as the designee for DPL Commissioner, Lyla D'Emilia.

** Chief Fire Protection Engineer, Division of Fire Safety, Department of Fire Services Jen Hoyt participated as the designee for State Fire Marshal Peter Ostroskey.

August 25, 2020 Meeting Minutes

General notes on format of these minutes

- These minutes represent general points of discussion by members and audience participants during the regular meeting session. The minutes are not intended to be a verbatim account of discussions.
- Votes are noted as MOTION by, seconded by, and whether it was a unanimous or split vote.
- Agenda topics as numbered may be in the same order as they appear on the meeting agenda.
- The meeting agenda is listed as EXHIBIT A; others are listed sequentially as addresses during the meeting.

Regular Meeting Portion

- Roll Call. Chairman DiMascio opened the meeting about 10:05 am. He took roll call by asking board members to respond when their called. Jen Hoyt, Fred Lonardo, Mike Grover, Dana Haagensen, Kevin Hastings, Mike DiMascio, Doug Anderson, Lee Cleveland, Erik Eklund, Barry Gehron, Dave Horton, and Dan Walsh all responded present.
- **2. Minutes.** On a **MOTION** by Jen Hoyt seconded by Doug Anderson it was a unanimous vote to approve, the draft meeting minutes for the June 29, 2020 Existing Building Code Committee Advisory (EAC) meeting (**EXHIBIT B**). Roll call: Jen Hoyt, Fred Lonardo, Mike Grover, Dana

TELEPHONE: (617) 727-3074 FAX: (617) 727-2197 TTY/TDD: (617) 727-2099 http://www.mass.gov/dpl

Haagensen, Kevin Hastings, Mike DiMascio, Doug Anderson, Lee Cleveland, Erik Eklund, Barry Gehron, Dave Horton, and Dan Walsh all responded in the affirmative.

3. Review\Vote technical review of questions and answers, intended to be added to Official Interpretation 2014-01. Chairman DiMascio had Mike Guigli who explained the proposed changes to the DRAFT document titled 2014_01_Official_Interpretation_Existing_Buildings_Q&A_5B &10_Final Draft for CF34 Committee Review (referred to herein as the draft document) (EXHIBIT C).

Mike Guigli explained question 5B based on the work area defined in the existing building code and that this new question resembles question 5, so he proposes updates found on the draft document. The document now has question 5A, which addresses reconfigured space and a new question on the work area identified by 5B. He talked about the work area definition includes the floor area intended to be renovated, and the IEBC excludes portions of the building not initially/intended to undergo work but becomes necessary because of a code provision requiring some additional work.

Doug Anderson thinks the logic makes sense, and Lee Cleveland agreed.

Kevin Hastings spoke about answer "d" in 5B, suggests the need to meet new construction. Mike Grover talked about how the answer "d" does not describe anything that would be considered a work area. He also questioned that rebuilding stairs would not be regarded as incidental work.

Dave Horton spoke about "d" does not change egress, and the work is not planned work. Jen Hoyt expressed concern that the question of "d" is complicated and thinks it should be a separate question.

Mike Grover talked about the IEBC allows rebuilding nonconforming stairs so long as the floor opening, accommodating the stairs does not change.

Mike Guigli suggested clarification to "d," which included striking "A fire consumed an interior stairway to" and replace with "A building official cites an owner for."

Jen Hoyt thinks removing "d" would be a way to move forward. The group discussed this approach. Chairman DiMascio asked the members if they support removing "d." Doug Anderson agreed with removing. Chairman DiMascio asked for a straw poll, and the members asked indicated support for removing "d."

On a MOTION by Dan Walsh seconded by Mike Grover, it was a unanimous vote to recommend the draft document without "d" in 5B to the BBRS. Roll call: Jen Hoyt, Fred Lonardo, Mike Grover, Dana Haagensen, Kevin Hastings, Mike DiMascio, Doug Anderson, Lee Cleveland, Erik Eklund, Barry Gehron, Dave Horton, and Dan Walsh all responded in the affirmative.

Next, Chairman DiMascio moved to question 10 in the draft document. Kevin Hastings spoke about the Mass Amendments having an exception for three families, but Mike Grover spoke about it not impacting three family structures.

Jen Hoyt expressed concern that a Level 2 project could require fire sprinklers. Mike Grover described scenarios where the work involves a single unit not requiring fire sprinklers. Jen Hoyt expressed concerns about the question and thought the question should be broken into parts.

Dan Walsh suggested adding after total floor area, "and less than 50% in individual units," would clarify the question intent. Jen Hoyt suggested the question needs more work. She agreed to offer a draft for Mike Guigli to use as a baseline.

On a **MOTION** by Doug Anderson seconded by Jen Hoyt it was a unanimous vote to adjourn the meeting at about 11:25 a.m. Roll call vote: Jen Hoyt, Fred Lonardo, Mike Grover, Dana Haagensen, Erik Eklund, Lee Cleveland, Barry Gehron, Dave Horton, Mike DiMascio, Kevin Hastings, Dan Walsh, and Doug Anderson all responded in the affirmative.

EXHIBITS:

- A. Meeting Agenda August 25, 2020.
- B. Draft Meeting Minutes June 29, 2020.
- C. 2014_01_Official_Interpretation_Existing_Buildings_Q&A_5B &10_Final Draft for CF34 Committee Review.