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10.01 :  Introduction 

 

606 CMR 10.00 is adopted pursuant to Federal law at 45 CFR Part 98.11(b)(2) and (8), 

which requires the Department of Early Education and Care (EEC), as the Lead Agency for 

administering the Child Care Development Fund (CCDF) in Massachusetts, to promulgate rules and 

regulations to administer the CCDF Plan, and in accordance with M.G.L. c. 15D, § 1, which 

states the policy of state government to assure every child and family "a fair and full opportunity to 

reach their full potential." 606 CMR 10.00 is established in keeping with EEC's mission of 

providing the foundation that supports all children in their development as lifelong learners and 

contributing members of the community, and supporting families in their essential work as 

parents and caregivers. 

606 CMR 10.00 sets forth the conditions for eligibility, for the provision and termination of 

child care services, for payment, and for the review of decisions to terminate services provided 

to children and families through child care financial assistance programs. The goals of 606 CMR 

10.00 include: 

(a) including families and children at the center of all phases of the efficient and equitable 

distribution of child care financial assistance; 

(b) creating an integrated system of child care that ensures the seamless delivery of quality, 

accessible and affordable child care for children from birth through school age; 

(c) standardizing eligibility requirements and intake procedures for families; and 

(d) administering consistent procurement and payment policies and procedures. 

 

10.02 :  Definitions 

 

Terms listed in 606 CMR 10.00 shall have the following meanings, unless the context requires 

otherwise. 

 

http://www.sec.state.ma.us/spr/sprcat/catidx.htm
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Absence. Any day that a child is authorized to attend an early education and care program, but 

is not in attendance. 

 

Approved Break-in-care. A written request, approved by EEC or a Family Access 

Administrator, to place a child care placement in inactive status for up to 90 consecutive days 

during the 12-month authorization period. 

 

Assets.  Items of value that may be converted into cash. Liquid assets include, but are not 

limited to, cash on hand, bank deposits, securities, lump sum payments, IRAs, and certain 

Keogh plans. The countable value of a liquid asset shall be its accessible cash value. Nonliquid 

assets are those that are not readily convertible to cash. These include land, buildings, and any 

real property. The countable value of a nonliquid asset shall be its equity value which is 

determined by fair market value less any encumbrances. 

 

Authorization/Reauthorization. An assessment/reassessment and provision of financial 

assistance benefits to a family in accordance with regulations and policies defined by EEC. 

 

Caregiver. A person who lives with, supervises, and cares for a child or children such as a foster 

parent, legal guardian (temporary or permanent), or designated caretaker. 

 

Child. A person younger than 13 years old, or younger than 16 years old if such person has a 

disability. 

 

Child Care Educator/Provider. A licensed or exempt center-based child care program, or a 

licensed, family-based child care program located within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. 

 

Child Care Resource and Referral Agency (CCRR). An agency that contracts with EEC to 

provide child care resource information, referral services, and/or financial assistance 

management. 

 

Child Care Financial Assistance. Financial assistance given to eligible parents for child care 

provided by a child care educator/provider pursuant to a contract or agreement with EEC, 

CCRR, or a contracted child care educator/provider. 

 

Contracted Child Care Educator/Provider. A licensed, or license exempt, child care program 

or family child care system that holds a contract with EEC for the provision of child care services 

supported by EEC financial assistance. 

 

Days. Calendar days, unless otherwise specified. 

 

DCF. Massachusetts Department of Children and Families. 

 

Dependent Child. A person younger than 18 years old, or a person younger than 24 years old if 

they are a full-time student. 

 

Dependent Relative. A relative of the child receiving care who resides in the household with 

the child and is financially dependent on the child's parent(s), as certified in accordance with 

EEC policy. 

 

DHCD. Massachusetts Department of Housing and Community Development.  

 

Disability. One or both of the following: 

(a) a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities 

(including but not limited to caring for one’s self, performing manual tasks, walking, seeing, 

hearing, speaking, breathing, learning, and working as defined in M.G.L. c. 151B, s. 1(20)) 

of a person, and/or 

(b) a record of having such impairment. This definition is intended to be inclusive of the 

term ‘handicap’ as defined in M.G.L. c. 151B, s. 1(17)(a-b). This definition is not intended 

to exclude participation in a substance abuse treatment or rehabilitation program as a 

possible qualification for purposes of eligibility, nor other documented physical or mental 

impairments which may otherwise qualify an individual for financial assistance at the 

discretion of EEC. 

 

Domestic Violence. Domestic violence is a pattern of abusive behavior in any relationship that 

is used by one partner to gain or maintain power and control over another intimate partner.  
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Domestic violence can be physical, sexual, emotional, economic, psychological, or 

technological actions or threats of actions or other patterns of coercive behavior that influence 

another person within an intimate partner relationship. This includes any behaviors that 

intimidate, manipulate, humiliate, isolate, frighten, terrorize, coerce, threaten, blame, hurt, 

injure, or wound someone.     
 

DTA. Massachusetts Department of Transitional Assistance. 

EEC. Massachusetts Department of Early Education and Care, the state education agency for 

the purposes of early education and care services as created and authorized pursuant to 

M.G.L. c. 15D. 

 

Eligible Family. A family that qualifies for child care financial assistance based on criteria 

determined by EEC in regulation and policy. 

 

ESOL. An English language training program for people whose primary language is not English. 

 

Excessive Explained Absence. More than 45 non-attended days, including any unexplained 

absences, within a 12-month authorization period, or more than 15 non-attended days during an 

initial 12-week provisional authorization period. Explained absences shall include, but not be 

limited to: absences due to child illness, death in the family, emergency circumstances, 

religious holidays, and vacation days. 

 

Excessive Unexplained Absence.  A non-approved break in care that shall subject a family to 

possible termination of financial assistance in accordance with 606 CMR 10.10 and EEC 

policy. 

  

Family. One of the following: 

(a) Parent(s) or caregivers and their dependent child(ren) and any dependent relative(s) 

who reside in the same household; or  

(b) A young parent and their child(ren) who reside in the same household. 

 

Family Access Administrator. A person or organization authorized or designated by EEC to 

conduct eligibility determinations for child care financial assistance, subject to EEC 

oversight and review. 

 

Full Time Child Care. Care for at least 25 hours but not more than 50 hours per week at any one 

placement, unless otherwise approved by EEC. 

 

Full Time Service Need. Participation in an approved activity for an average of 25 hours or 

more per week. 

 

Guardian Child. A child on whose behalf a caregiver has legal authority to make decisions 

and provide care. 

 

Homeless Family. A family meeting the requirements established under the McKinney-Vento 

Act (42 U.S.C. 11434 a) as certified in accordance with EEC policy. 

 

Informal Child Care Provider. An individual who meets informal child care provider standards 

and requirements established by EEC and is exempt from EEC licensure because the individual 

either provides care in the child's own home or is a relative of the child. 

 

Intentional Program Violation (IPV). A parent’s intentional non-adherence to  EEC's financial 

assistance requirements, including: not reporting a non-temporary change to the family’s income 

exceeding 85% SMI; an out of state change of address; a change in contact information; 

inaccurately reporting income at eligibility authorization/reauthorization; and non-payment of 

fees. 

 

Non-Approved Break in Care. A child care placement that has been inactive (not used) for 

more than 30 consecutive days during a 12-month authorization, or more than 20 days during 

a 12-week provisional authorization, unless the family has requested and received an 

approved break in care. A non-approved break in care shall subject a family to possible 

termination of financial assistance in accordance with 606 CMR 10.10. 

 

Non-temporary Change. A change to a parent's circumstances, including: increases in total 

household income exceeding 85% SMI; changes in family contact information; changes in 
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household composition for more than 30 total days in a 12-month authorization; changes in 

child custody arrangements; any out of state change in address; or any change or cessation of a 

parent's work, training, or education participation that lasts for more than 12 weeks. 

 

Parent. A biological or adoptive parent or stepparent who resides in the household with their 

dependent child(ren), or a caregiver. 

 

Part Time Child Care. Care up to 25 hours per week. 

 

Part Time Service Need. Participation in an approved activity for an average of 20 hours, but less 

than 25 hours per week 

 

Protective Services. Any parent authorized for child care financial assistance based on DTA 

referral or a clinical decision by DCF, including foster care;  any parent who is unable to 

provide child care for any portion of a 24-hour day due to a situation of domestic violence or 

homelessness; a physical, mental, emotional, or medical condition; or participation in a 

substance abuse treatment or rehabilitation program. 

 

Provisional Authorization. An authorization for 12 weeks to support parents who are seeking 

an approved activity, certifying an activity or employment, or enrolled in a non-approved 

training program, including parents who lose their approved activity during the last 30 days 

prior to reauthorization. 

 

Referral. A notice issued by DTA, DCF, or DHCD that a family is eligible for child care funding. 

 

Relative. Sibling, aunt, uncle, or grandparent, whether by birth, marriage, or adoption. 

 

State Median Income (SMI). The dollar amount which represents the midpoint in a rank 

ordering of the incomes of all families of the same size in Massachusetts. 

 

Substantiated Fraud. Intentionally providing false or misleading information or documentation 

to  EEC or a Family Access Administrator for the purpose of establishing or maintaining eligibility 

or increasing the level of child care assistance that has been verified as false or misleading by 

EEC or Family Access Administrator; or the intentional concealing or withholding of 

information for the purpose of establishing or maintaining eligibility or increasing the level of 

child care assistance as determined by the Bureau of Special Investigations (BSI). 

 

TAFDC. Transitional Aid to Families with Dependent Children. 

 

Temporary Change. A change to a parent's circumstances including: any time-limited absence 

from a parent's approved activity due to an illness or need to care for a family member; any 

interruption in work for a seasonal worker who is not working between regular industry work 

seasons;  any reduction in work, training or education hours, as long as the parent is still working 

or attending training or education; any other cessation of a parent's approved activity that does 

not exceed 12 weeks; and any change in residency within the Commonwealth. 

 

Vocational Training Program. An approved program other than graduate school, which is 

intended to teach a specific skill leading to employment. 

 

Voucher Child Care Educator/Provider. A program or individual who provides child care 

services pursuant to an EEC voucher services agreement. 

 

Young Parent. A biological parent who is younger than 24 years old, and who resides in the 

household with their dependent child(ren). This shall include young parents who attain the age 

of 24 years old during their third trimester of pregnancy. 

 

10.03: General Provisions 

 

The following general provisions apply to all child care financial assistance administered by 

EEC, unless otherwise stated. 

 

(1) Eligibility. 

(a) Family Composition and Size. Prior to issuing a child care financial assistance 

authorization, Family Access Administrators shall verify, through documentary evidence 

in accordance with EEC policy, the family size and household composition of the applicant 

by verifying the relationship of each child younger than 18 years old, or younger than 24 
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years old if the child is a full-time student, who resides in the household and is financially 

dependent on the parent(s) applying for child care financial assistance. Documents that 

reasonably establish the family composition and size shall be acceptable. Parents of young 

parents may include the young parent and their child(ren) in the applicant's family size 

provided that the young parent is not receiving EEC financial assistance for their child(ren). 

(b) Identity. Prior to the initial authorization, the Family Access Administrator shall 

verify, through documentary evidence in accordance with EEC policy, the identity of each 

parent(s) applying for child care financial assistance. Required documentary evidence shall 

contain a photo of the applicant. If a parent cannot provide documentary evidence with a 

photo of the applicant, a parent may submit a combination of two secondary documents 

without photos to verify the identity of the applicant, in accordance with EEC policy. 

Secondary documents that reasonably establish identity shall be acceptable. 

 

(c) Residency. The Family Access Administrator must verify, through documentation in 

accordance with EEC policy, that families seeking child care assistance reside in a 

Massachusetts household because financial assistance administered by EEC is available 

only to residents of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Documents that reasonably 

establish residency in Massachusetts shall be acceptable.  

(d) Citizenship or Immigration Status. In accordance with federal law, the Family Access 

Administrator shall verify, through documentary evidence in accordance with EEC policy, 

the United States citizenship status or immigration status of each child for whom care is 

requested. Any documents that reasonably establish the citizenship or immigration status of 

the child must be accepted, and no requirement for a specific type of documentation may be 

imposed. No child shall be denied child care financial assistance based solely on an 

applicant's failure to demonstrate citizenship or immigration status without final review by 

EEC. 

(e) Eligibility Periods. Families shall be eligible for authorizations of a minimum of 12 

months, and renewal is subject to the family's continued eligibility for child care financial 

assistance. Family Access Administrators shall notify families no fewer than two times 

that their eligibility period is ending. At least one of these notifications shall be in writing 

and shall be provided no fewer than 60 days prior to the end of their eligibility period. 

(f) Contact Information. To ensure continued eligibility for  child care financial assistance, 

parents must maintain current contact information, if any, with the Family Access 

Administrator and as directed in accordance with EEC policy. A family experiencing 

homelessness who does not have an address or telephone number must maintain as much 

current contact information as possible with the Family Access Administrator. 

(g) Reauthorization. Prior to the end of the current authorization period, families must 

provide current documentation of continued income eligibility and service need to their Family 

Access Administrator, and shall provide documentation verifying their residency only if it 

has changed since their last reauthorization. Such documentation must be provided within 

a reasonable time prior to the authorization end date so that the authorization can be 

completed before the end of the current authorization. Parents who lose their approved 

activity during the last 30 days prior to reauthorization may be granted a 12-week 

provisional authorization to seek and certify an approved activity in accordance with 606 

CMR 10.04(2)(b)(2). 

(h) Current Eligibility Information. Parents receiving  child care financial assistance must 

notify their Family Access Administrator when there is a change in circumstances as 

follows: 

1. Reporting Changes. 

a. During the authorization period. A parent must notify their Family Access 

Administrator within 30 days of a change that results in 

i. The family’s income exceeding 85% SMI; 

ii. An out of state change of address; 

iii. A change in contact information; or 

iv.  Loss of employment or cessation of attendance at a job training or educational 

program that lasts for more than 12 weeks. The parent shall be entitled to a 12-

week period from the time the parent reports such a loss of employment or 

cessation of attendance at job training or an educational program to certify a 

new approved activity. If documentation of a new approved activity is not 

provided prior to the end of the 12-week period, child care financial assistance 

may be terminated.   

 

Failure to notify the Family Access Administrator of these changes within 30 days 

of each such change may result in an IPV, and may be subject to disqualification 

pursuant to 606 CMR 10.12. 
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b. At Reauthorization. A parent shall report all other changes at reauthorization.  

Failure to report these changes at reauthorization will not result in an IPV or 

disqualification. A parent may voluntarily choose to report a change prior to 

reauthorization if it will benefit the family to do so. 

 

(i) Child Attendance. In order for a family to remain eligible for Child Care Financial 

Assistance, all children receiving EEC financial assistance shall attend the early education 

and care program, in accordance with the terms of the child care authorization.  A non-

approved break in care may result in the termination of child care financial assistance in 

accordance with 606 CMR 10.10. . 

(j) Data Sharing. For purposes of program integrity and in an effort to establish front end 

detection necessary to combat fraud, waste, and abuse, EEC may use data collected from 

child care financial assistance applicants to conduct data matches with other governmental 

entities. If data matches demonstrate inconsistencies with the statements or documents 

submitted by the child care applicant(s), the Family Access Administrator or EEC may 

request additional documentation. Failure to resolve the inconsistencies may result in the 

denial or termination of an applicant's child care financial assistance, in accordance with 

606 CMR 10.10. 

 

(2) Fees. Parents receiving child care financial assistance may be required to contribute to the 

cost of the child care services they receive, in accordance with a sliding fee scale established by  

EEC. 

(a) Parent Fee Scale. In accordance with M.G.L. c. 15D § 2(e) and pursuant to 45 CFR 

98.45, EEC shall establish a schedule for revising its parent fee scale within six months of 

its most recent market rate survey or a federally-approved and adopted alternative 

methodology. 

(b) How Fees Are Assessed for Siblings. Fees for siblings will be assessed in accordance 

with EEC policy. 

(c) Additional Fees. No additional fees may be charged to parents, except in accordance 

with EEC policy. 

(d) Reauthorizations. Fee obligations will be reviewed every 12 months or sooner in 

accordance with the parent's reporting requirements pursuant to 606 CMR 10.03(1)(h), or 

voluntary reporting by a parent. 

(e) Payment and Collection. 
1. Parent fees must be paid on a payment schedule in accordance with EEC policy. 
2. Educators/providers are responsible for collecting parent fees in a timely fashion and 

must take appropriate action if parents fail to pay fees as required by their own 
policy. Educators/providers who allow parents to accrue balances in excess of the 
value of three weeks of parent fees may be responsible for the balance. 

 

(3) Priority in Funding. 

(a) Children will be authorized for child care financial assistance in accordance with 

priorities and policies established by EEC, and subject to available funding. 

(b) Parents whose eligibility for a specific EEC financial assistance program is ending 

have priority for access to other EEC financial assistance over parents who have not 

previously received EEC child care financial assistance. In order to maintain priority access 

and facilitate a transition to another financial assistance program, a parent must provide 

documentation in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1). 

 

(4) Location of Care. Child care financial assistance may only be used for care provided 

within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, unless exempted in accordance with EEC policy. 

 

(5)  Non-discrimination. EEC and its agents shall not discriminate against any child care 

financial assistance applicant or recipient on the basis of age, sex, gender identity, race, 

ethnicity, religion, color, national origin, disability, sexual orientation, military status or status 

as a veteran, or pregnancy or a condition related to pregnancy. All activities conducted by EEC 

and its agents must be carried out in accordance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 

(42 U.S.C. §2000d, et seq.), Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended (29 

U.S.C. §794), the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, as amended, the Age 

Discrimination Act of 1975, as amended (42 U.S.C. §6101, et seq.), and the Massachusetts 

Constitution. 

 

(6)  Confidentiality. EEC and its agents shall maintain and handle a child care financial 

assistance applicant or recipient’s personal information in a manner that complies with all state 

and federal laws concerning the confidentiality of information, including M.G.L. c. 66A; 

M.G.L. c. 93H; 801 CMR 3.00: Privacy and Confidentiality; and 201 CMR 17.00: Standards 
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for the Protection of Personal Information of Residents of the Commonwealth. 

Notwithstanding the prior sentence, EEC reserves the right to disclose an applicant or 

recipient’s personal information to an appropriate agency without the prior consent of the 

subject of the personal information if EEC determines that such disclosure is necessary to 

prevent a serious threat to the health or safety of an individual. 

 

10.04: Income Eligible Child Care Financial Assistance 

 

Subject to appropriation, income eligible child care financial assistance is available to eligible 

parents for care by a contracted or voucher child care educator/provider, or an in home or relative 

child care provider, in accordance with regulations, guidelines, and policies established by EEC. 

 

(1) Referral and Waitlist. 

(a) Family Access Administrator. Based on availability and in accordance with EEC 

enrollment priorities and policies, the Family Access Administrator must: 

1. issue a child care financial assistance (contract slot or voucher) to the eligible parent, 

subject to an eligibility determination; or 

2. place the child on the waitlist for child care financial assistance. 

(b)  Parent Choice. Parents may not be required to enroll their children at a particular child 

care program. Upon 14 days notice, parents may choose to withdraw their children from 

one child care program and enroll in another available program for the duration of the child 

care financial assistance, subject to funding availability and in accordance with EEC policy. 

(c) Enrollment Prior to Service Need. Eligible children may be enrolled in care 14 days 

prior to the start of the parent's service need. 

 

(2) Eligibility Criteria. To be eligible for income eligible child care financial assistance, parents 

must meet both income eligibility and service need requirements established by EEC. 

(a) Financial Requirements. Income eligibility is based on the income and the size of the 

family. Families headed by caregivers are exempt from financial eligibility guidelines, 

except as provided in 606 CMR 10.04(2)(a)4. 

1. General Rule. Families seeking child care financial assistance meet the financial 

requirements for the income eligible child care program provided that the total gross 

monthly income for the household is at or below 50% of the State Median Income at 

the time of the family's initial enrollment. Families, whose gross monthly income is at 

or below 50% of the State Median Income at the initial authorization, will continue to 

meet the financial requirements provided that the total gross monthly income for the 

household remains at or below 85% of the State Median Income. 

2. Families with a Child with a Disability. Families with a child with a disability will 

meet the financial requirements for the income eligible child care program provided 

that the total gross monthly income for the household is at or below 85% of the State 

Median Income at the time of the family's initial enrollment. Families, whose gross 

monthly income is at or below 85% of the State Median Income at the initial 

authorization, will continue to meet the financial requirements provided that the total 

gross monthly income for the household remains at or below 85% of the State Median 

Income. The disability of the child must be verified and documented in accordance with 

EEC policy. 

3. Relevant Income. When determining financial eligibility, relevant income shall 
include the income of the parents living with the child and income of the child receiving 

financial assistance (except for any earnings of a minor). Child support shall not be considered 

relevant income for determining financial eligibility. 

4. Assets. Families seeking child care financial assistance shall not have assets that 

exceed $1,000,000. Documentation of assets shall be certified in accordance with EEC 

Policy. 

(b) Service Need Requirements. Both parents residing in the household must document 

either a part time or full time service need. 

1. Approved Activities. Activities acceptable for establishing a service need are: 

employment; participating in an approved education or training program; or receiving or at 

risk of receiving protective services. Each activity is outlined as follows: 

a. Employment. The following activities meet the service need requirement of 

employment: paid employment; self-employment, including paid in cash; active 

deployment in the military; and retirement, if the head of household is a parent and 

65 years of age or older. 

i. Paid Employment. Eligible paid employment is considered a position that 

pays no less than the minimum wage in the state wherein the employment takes 

place for no less than an average of 20 hours per week. 
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ii. Self-employment, Including Paid in Cash. All self-employed parents must 

participate in self-employment activities for no less than an average of 20 hours 

per week as certified in accordance with EEC policy. 

b. Maternity/Paternity Leave. Parents on maternity/paternity leave at 

authorization/reauthorization shall be eligible for a 12-month authorization. For 

parents currently receiving child care financial assistance, maternity/paternity leave 

shall be considered a temporary change, in accordance with 606 CMR 

10.03(1)(h)(1)(b). Parents must provide documentation as required under EEC 

policy.  

c. Education or Training. Parents will qualify for a service need of education or 

training if they are enrolled in and attending any of the following: a full time high 

school program; an approved high school equivalency program; an approved 

vocational training program; an approved ESOL program; or an accredited college or 

university, leading to an associate's or a bachelor's degree. Parents attending an 

advanced professional training or graduate program will qualify for a service need 

of education or training at reauthorization only, in order to continue a previously 

authorized education or training service need as listed in the first sentence of this 

subsection. Approved vocational training programs, high school equivalency 

programs, or ESOL programs will be certified in accordance with EEC policy. 

i. The service need of education or training shall continue through a semester 

break for parents registered for the following semester. 

ii. The service need for parents participating in a full time high school program will 

be considered full time, regardless of the program's schedule. 

iii. The service need for parents participating in college or graduate school 

coursework with 12 credit hours or more will be considered full time. For 

parents participating in less than 12 credit hours, the actual credit hours shall be 

multiplied by 2.5 to establish a child care need. For accelerated semester 

schools, parents who present with a classroom schedule reflecting 12 hours or 

more per week of classroom time will be determined to have a Full-time Service 

Need. Those with a class schedule of at least eight hours, but less than 12 hours 

per week of classroom time will be determined to have a Part-time Service 

Need. 

iv. The service need for parents participating in education or training programs 

other than college, or high school, (including high school equivalency 

programs), or graduate school is 2.5 hours of service for each hour spent in the 

education or training program per week. 

v. Work study hours and required practical and clinical experiences (including 

student teaching or internships) are counted as hours of employment, for the 

purpose of determining service need. 

d. Disability of Parent. Families with a documented physical or mental disability 

of a parent, that is certified in accordance with EEC policy, may be eligible for either 

full time or part-time care, subject to the following: 

i. All authorizations must be approved in writing by EEC  in accordance with EEC 

policy. 

ii. Authorizations shall be authorized for up to three years. At the end of the 

authorization period, a parent may apply to EEC for a reauthorization upon 

certification in accordance with EEC policy that the disability persists or is a 

permanent condition. 

iii. All authorizations are reviewed under EEC's variance policy and may be 

appealed in the form of an Informal Hearing in accordance with the provisions 

of 606 CMR 10.11(7). 

e. Homelessness. Families meeting EEC’s definition for a family experiencing 

homelessness will qualify for full time child care. 

i. The asset requirements established in 606 CMR 10.04(2)(a)4 shall be 

waived for all families meeting the homelessness service need.  

ii. Parent fees shall be waived for all families meeting the homelessness service 

need. 

f. Domestic Violence. Families with a parent experiencing a situation of domestic 

violence, certified in accordance with EEC policy, will qualify for full-time care. 

 

2. Seeking Approved Activity. Parents who do not have an approved activity at time of 

initial authorization or at reauthorization may be granted a provisional authorization of 

12 weeks to seek and certify an approved activity. This may include parents enrolled in 

a non-approved training program, or parents unable to certify employment at time of 

initial eligibility authorization. 
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a. Parents who are able to provide documentation of an approved activity and meet 

all other program requirements described in 606 CMR 10.04(2) before the end of the 

12-week period will be issued a 12-month authorization. 

b. Parents who are able to provide preliminary proof of an approved activity but 

are unable to provide documentation in accordance with EEC policy at the end of the 

12-week period may be granted an extended period of eight weeks to provide  the 

documentation required to qualify for a 12-month authorization. 

3. Combining Service Need Activities. Work, education or training, and disability of 

parent may be combined to meet service need requirements. 

4. Travel Time. Travel time may be added to a parent's weekly service need, in 

accordance with EEC policy, provided that the travel is related to the necessary time 

to/from the child care program and the parent's service need activity. Before travel time 

may be added to a service need, the parent must establish an average of at least 20 hours 

in an EEC approved activity, pursuant to 606 CMR 10.04(2)(b)1. 

5. Amount of Care. Parents who document a full time service need will be eligible for 

full time child care. Parents who document a part time service need will be eligible for 

part time child care.  

a. Parents who are able to provide documentation of a part time service need at 

authorization and provide preliminary documentation of a full time service need may 

be granted a provisional authorization for full time child care for the duration of the 12-

week period. 

b. Parents who are able to provide documentation of a full time service need in 

accordance with EEC policy at the end of the 12-week period will be granted a 12-

month authorization for full time child care. 

c. Parents who are able to provide documentation of a part time service need in 

accordance with EEC policy at the end of the 12-week period will be granted a 12-

month authorization for part time child care. 

 

(3) Eligibility Determination. A Family Access Administrator will make eligibility 

determinations based on the parent(s)' application and documentation and based upon relevant 

regulations and policies. 

(a) Application. A parent may apply for income eligible child care financial assistance 

with a Family Access Administrator. At the time of application, and each subsequent 

reauthorization, a parent applying must execute a child care application and fee agreement. 

(b) Documentation. No more than 30 days after an application is received by a Family 

Access Administrator, parents must submit documentation that verifies the identity, 

residency, citizenship, or immigration status of any child seeking child care financial 

assistance; and documentation that verifies income, service need, family size, and 

relationship to all children and dependent relatives in the family, in accordance with EEC 

policy. At each subsequent reauthorization, parents must submit documentation that 

verifies their income and service need in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1)(g), and shall 

provide documentation verifying their residency only if it has changed since their last 

reauthorization. 

(c) Notice to Applicants. Upon receiving an application, a Family Access Administrator 

shall notify the applicant of the 30 day deadline for documentation submission. An 

application shall be deemed to have been received on the first date on which a Family 

Access Administrator reviews the application. 

 

10.05: Department of Transitional Assistance (DTA)-related Child Care Program 

 

Subject to appropriation, DTA may issue referrals for TAFDC and/or certain SNAP 

recipients, certain former TAFDC recipients, or any other DTA client seeking child care 

supported by financial assistance, to the extent allowed by state and federal law, through the 

DTA-related child care program, as described in 606 CMR 10.05(1) through (7). DTA Referrals 

for child care supported by financial assistance shall be issued in accordance with the 

regulations, guidelines, and policies established by DTA and in accordance with 606 CMR 

10.03, unless otherwise noted. 

 

(1) Authorization. For any eligible parent seeking child care through the DTA-related child 

care program, DTA may issue a child care referral to the eligible parent based on the family's 

participation in the TAFDC, SNAP Pathways to Work, or DTA-related programs. 

(a) TAFDC and/or SNAP Families. Parents who currently receive TAFDC and/or SNAP 

and participate in a DTA-approved educational or employment-related activity may be 

issued a child care referral for priority access to child care supported by financial assistance 

for no less than 12 months, unless referral is for job development or placement, whereby a 

12-week job search referral may be issued. 
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(b) Transitional Families. Parents who have received TAFDC within the 24 months prior 

to their application for child care financial assistance and who obtain a child care referral from 

DTA will have priority access to child care financial assistance, provided they meet EEC 

eligibility guidelines as established in 606 CMR 10.03 and 10.04. 

 

(2) Referral. DTA shall issue parents a child care referral to the appropriate EEC Family 

Access Administrator.  The Family Access Administrator shall help the parents identify a child 

care educator/provider who can provide care supported by financial assistance as defined in 

606 CMR 10.08. 

 

(3) Eligibility Criteria. Eligibility for child care financial assistance through the DTA-related 

child care program shall be determined by DTA and verified by the Family Access 

Administrator based on the parent's DTA or TAFDC status, as described in 606 CMR 

10.05(3)(a) and (b). 

(a) TAFDC Families. The child care referral is sufficient documentation that the parent 

is eligible for child care financial assistance for each child included in the referral. Family 

Access Administrators shall verify the identity of the parent(s) listed on the child care 

referral issued by DTA, in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1)(b). 

1) Fee Assessment. TAFDC families with child care referrals who currently 

receive TAFDC benefits from DTA shall not be charged any parent fees. 

2) Asset Limits - The asset requirements established in 606 CMR 10.04(2)(a)4 

shall be waived for all families referred for child care financial assistance through the 

DTA-related child care program. 

 

(b) Transitional Families. The child care referral is evidence of family relationship for all 

children included in the referral. Family Access Administrators shall verify the identity of 

the parent(s) listed on the child care referral issued by DTA, in accordance with 606 CMR 

10.03(1)(b).  

 

(c) Fee Assessment. Transitional child care authorizations shall not be assessed a parent 

fee during the initial 12-month transitional period in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(2). 
 

(4) Eligibility Period: Family Access Administrators should approve child care based on the 

parent's DTA or TAFDC status, as described in 606 CMR 10.05(4)(a) through (d).   

(a) TAFDC Families. Family Access Administrators shall approve the child care financial 

assistance authorization based on the DTA referral, for no less than 12 months unless the 

referral is for job development or placement, whereby a 12-week job search referral may be 

authorized. 

(b) Transitional Families. Family Access Administrators shall approve the child care 

financial assistance authorization in accordance with 606 CMR 10.04(2)(b), not to exceed 

24 months from the date the family's TAFDC case closed. 

(c) Notification. The Family Access Administrator shall notify families no fewer than 

two times, including at least once in writing, that their eligibility period is ending no fewer 

than 60 days prior to the end of the eligibility period. 

 

(5) Enrollment. Parents will enroll children directly at the child care educator/provider child 

care site in accordance with the procedures of the child care educator/provider. 

 

(6) Denial or Termination of Authorization. Parents aggrieved by DTA's denial or termination 

of a child care referral may pursue their grievance through the DTA Fair Hearing Process. 

 

(7) Continuity of Care. Parent(s) seeking to continue eligibility upon the end of the family's 

DTA-related child care program authorization or termination of transitional  TAFDC care may 

continue to receive child care financial assistance through the income eligible child care 

program provided that the family meets the requirements set forth in 606 CMR 10.03 and 10.04. 

 

10.06:  Department of Children and Families (DCF)-related Child Care Program 

 

Subject to appropriation, DCF may issue referrals for children with active cases at DCF or 

during a transitional period following their case closure through the DCF-related child care 

program, as described in 606 CMR 10.06(1) through (9). DCF referrals for child care financial 

assistance shall be issued in accordance with the regulations, guidelines, and policies 

established by DCF and in accordance with the general provisions for child care financial 

assistance described in 606 CMR 10.03, unless otherwise noted. 
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(1) Authorization. For any child with active cases at DCF, DCF may issue a referral for child 

care services to the parent. 

 

(2) Referral and Waitlist. DCF or its designee will determine the appropriateness of and 

authorize all referrals for DCF-related child care, and may either: 

(a) refer the parent to a Family Access Administrator authorized by EEC to provide 

DCF-related child care appropriate to the age and needs of the child; or 

(b) enter the child on a waitlist for child care, if there are no appropriate openings available. 

 

(3) Eligibility Criteria. DCF or its designee shall determine eligibility of its clients for DCF-

related child care, in accordance with DCF regulations and policy. The child care referral is 

sufficient documentation that the children listed on the referral are eligible for DCF-related child 

care. Family Access Administrators shall verify the identity of the parents listed on the child 

care referral issued by DCF in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1)(b). The asset requirements 

established in 606 CMR 10.04(2)(a)4 shall be waived for all families referred for child care 

financial assistance through the DCF-related child care program. 

 

(4) Eligibility Period. The DCF-related child care financial assistance will be authorized by the 

Family Access Administrator for not less than 12 months, and may be renewed by DCF for an 

additional 12-month period as needed. Unless approved by the DCF social worker and DCF 

supervisor, referrals for DCF-related child care may not be renewed more than once. Family 

Access Administrators shall notify families no fewer than two times that their eligibility period 

is ending. At least one of these notifications shall be in writing and shall be provided no fewer 

than 60 days prior to the end of the eligibility period. 

 

(a) Transitional Families.  DCF may authorize transitional DCF-related child care to 

continue beyond the closure of the DCF case for no less than 12 months. Parents who 

seek eligibility following the parent's initial 12-month transitional period may receive 

priority access to child care financial assistance for one additional, transitional 12-month 

period, not to exceed 24 months from the date the family's DCF case closed.,  A parent 

fee shall not be assessed at the initial 12-month transitional period in accordance with 

606 CMR 10.03(2). 

(b) Fee Assessment. DCF families with child care referrals who currently have an open case with 

DCF shall not be charged any parent fees. Transitional child care authorizations shall not be 

assessed a parent fee during the initial 12-month transitional period in accordance with 606 CMR 

10.03(2). 

(5) Information Sharing. Subject to the authorization of the parents, DCF or its designee will 

share information with the child care educator/provider regarding the child's behavior and the 

family's psychosocial history to assist the child care educator/provider in meeting the needs of 

the child and family. 

 

(6) Enrollment. The parents shall complete the enrollment process in accordance with the child 

care educator/provider's policies and procedures. 

 

(7) Denial or Termination of DCF-related Child Care. DCF-related child care will continue 

until the end of the authorization period under 606 CMR 10.06(4). DCF-related child care will not 

be renewed at the reauthorization period once the protective case has closed, or when DCF has 

determined that services are no longer appropriate, whichever first occurs. Parents wishing to 

appeal the termination or denial of DCF-related child care may do so through the DCF Fair 

Hearing Process, in accordance with DCF policy and 110 CMR 10.00: Fair Hearings and 

Grievances. 
 

(8) Continuity of Care. Parent(s) seeking to continue eligibility upon the end of the of DCF-

related child care authorization or transitional care may continue to receive child care financial 

assistance through the income eligible child care program provided that the family meets the 

requirements set forth in 606 CMR 10.03 and 10.04. 

 

10.07:  Young Parent Child Care Services Program 

 

Subject to appropriation, young parents may be eligible to receive child care financial 

assistance through the young parent child care services program, as described in 606 CMR 

10.07(1) through (6), and provided they meet the requirements of the general provisions for child 

care financial assistance described in 606 CMR 10.03, unless otherwise noted: 
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(1) Application and Referral. Young parents may apply for child care financial assistance at a 

CCRR, a program contracted to provide young parent child care services, a local DTA office, 

or any other location authorized by EEC. At the time of application, the young parent must 

complete a child care application and fee agreement on forms provided or approved by EEC. At 

the initial authorization, the young parent must submit documentation that verifies their 

identity, income, service need, residence, and family relationships, in accordance with EEC 

regulation and policy. At reauthorization, the young parent must only submit documentation 

that verifies their income and service need, and shall provide documentation verifying their 

residency only if it has changed since their last reauthorization. If a young parent has a current 

child care referral from DTA under 606 CMR 10.05(1)(a), the referral is sufficient documentation 

of their income, service need, residence, and family relationships. 

 

(2) Referral and Waitlist. Based on availability, parents will be referred to and/or enrolled, 

subject to an eligibility determination, in the young parent child care services program. Parents 

unable to enroll in the young parent child care services program, due to a lack of available 

funding, will be placed on a child care financial assistance waitlist. 

 

(3) Eligibility Criteria. Young parents seeking access to child care financial assistance 

through the young parent child care services program must comply with the financial and 

service need requirements of 606 CMR 10.04, unless excepted in 606 CMR 10.07(3)(a) and 

(b). 

 

(a) Service Need Requirements. Unless authorized by DTA or DCF, young parents must 

participate in a full-time high school program, or a high school equivalency (GED) program, 

or must have received a GED or high school diploma and be participating in an approved 

higher education, training, and/or work activity as specified at 606 CMR 10.04(2)(b). 

(b) Age Requirements. Young parents are eligible to participate in the young parent child 

care services program until they reach their 24th birthday. Enrolled young parents who turn 

24 years of age during their 12-month authorization may continue through the end date of 

their authorization. 

 

(4) Eligibility Periods. Eligibility is determined for periods not less than 12 months, subject 

to the family's continued eligibility for child care financial assistance. Family Access 

Administrators shall notify young parents no fewer than two times that their eligibility period is 

ending. At least one of these notifications shall be in writing and shall be provided no fewer 

than 60 days prior to the end of the eligibility period. 

 

(5) Denial or Termination of Services. All denials or terminations related to the young parent 

child care services program shall comply with 606 CMR 10.10 and 10.11. 

 

(6) Continuity of Care. Parent(s) seeking to continue eligibility upon the closure of the family's 

young parent child care services may continue to receive child care financial assistance through 

the income eligible child care program provided that the family meets the requirements set forth 

in 606 CMR 10.03 and 10.04 and any unpaid fee balance or disqualification period under 606 

CMR 10.12 (1) through (5) is resolved. 

 

10.08:  Child Care Educators/Providers and Informal Child Care Providers 

 

(1) Care by Licensed Educators/Providers. Except as set forth in 606 CMR 10.08(2), child 

care supported by financial assistance may be provided by an EEC licensed family child care 

educator/provider, a licensed group or school age child care program or through a family child 

care system, if the educator/provider, program or system holds a contract or voucher agreement 

with EEC to provide child care supported by financial assistance services. 

 

(2) Care Exempt from Licensure. 

(a) Child care supported by financial assistance may be provided by a group or school age 

child care program that has been determined by EEC to be exempt from licensure, and with 

whom EEC holds a contract or an agreement to provide child care services supported by 

financial assistance or with whom a CCRR holds a voucher agreement. Prior to providing 

and being reimbursed for child care supported by financial assistance, license exempt 

providers providing care must: 

1. complete EEC's background record check certifying the child care provider exempt 

from licensure, as determined by EEC, has a background free of conduct which, in the 

judgment of EEC and in accordance with EEC's Background Record Check Regulations at 

606 CMR 14.00: Criminal Offender and Other Background Record Checks, bears 
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adversely upon their ability to provide for the safety and well-being of a child. 

2. complete all applicable pre-service and orientation to child care trainings; 

3. agree to and complete annual trainings; 

4. satisfy all applicable health and safety requirements; 

5. agree to annual monitoring visits from EEC; and 

6. sign an agreement to provide child care supported by financial assistance. 

 

(b) Informal Child Care. 

1. Relative of the Child. Child care supported by financial assistance may be provided 

in a private residence by an informal child care provider who is a relative of the child, 

provided that the informal child care provider is 18 years of age or older and is not the 

child's parent or caregiver. Relative informal child care providers who provide child 

care supported by financial assistance services must submit to the CCRR 

documentation of their relationship to the child receiving care, which may include birth 

certificates, baptismal certificates, and marriage certificates. The informal child care 

provider must not be a member of the parent's TAFDC assistance unit, unless the parent 

is younger than 18 years old. Prior to providing and being reimbursed for child care 

supported by financial assistance, relative informal child care providers must: 

a. complete all applicable pre-service and orientation to child care trainings; 

b. satisfy all applicable health and safety requirements; and 

c. sign an agreement to provide child care supported by financial assistance. 

2. Non-relative of the Child. Child care supported by financial assistance may be 

provided in the home of the child by an informal child care provider unrelated to the child 

on the condition that the informal child care provider is at least 18 years of age or older. 

Prior to providing and being reimbursed for child care supported by financial assistance, 

informal child care providers providing care in the child's own home must: 

a. complete EEC's background record check certifying the informal child care 

provider has a background free of conduct which, in the judgment of EEC and in 

accordance with EEC's Background Record Check Regulations at 606 CMR 14.00: 

Criminal Offender and Other Background Record Checks, bears adversely upon 

their ability to provide for the safety and well-being of a child; 

b. complete all applicable pre-service and orientation to child care trainings; 

c. agree to and complete annual trainings; 

d. satisfy all applicable health and safety requirements; 

e. agree to annual monitoring visits from EEC; and 

f. sign an agreement to provide child care supported by financial assistance. 

3. Relative informal child care providers and non-relative informal child care 

providers providing care in the child's own home may not care for more than six children 

younger than 13 years old. 

 

10.09:  Reimbursement 

 

(1) Rates. Reimbursement to child care educators/providers shall be made on an enrollment 

basis in accordance with rates and policy established by EEC. 

 

(2) Denial. EEC may deny reimbursement of child care services when: 

(a) the care provided does not meet EEC health and safety standards; 

(b) the care provided is not in the best interest of the children served; or 

(c) the child care educator/provider fails to follow EEC regulations, policies, procedures, or 

contract requirements. 

 

(3) Payment for Child Care Absences. Educators/providers shall not be paid by the 

Commonwealth for care provided to an authorized child if the child’s financial assistance has 

been terminated by EEC due to a non-approved break in care, in accordance with EEC policy.
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10.10:  Denial and/or Termination of Services 

 

Parents aggrieved by the denial or termination of their DTA authorization for child care 

financial assistance may request a fair hearing on the matter from DTA in accordance with DTA 

regulations and policies. Parents aggrieved by the denial or termination of their eligibility for 

DCF-related child care services may request a fair hearing on the matter from DCF in 

accordance with DCF regulations and policies. All others whose financial assistance is 

terminated or denied may request EEC to review the decision through the EEC Review Process, 

as specified at 606 CMR 10.11. 

 

(1) Reasons for Denial. In accordance with EEC policies, EEC may deny child care 

financial assistance for the following reasons: 

(a) lack of service need; 

(b) lack of financial eligibility including, but not limited to, exceeding income or asset 

limits; 

(c) outstanding unpaid parent fee balance; 

(d) failure to submit the required documentation at authorization or reauthorization in 

accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1); 

(e) Substantiated Fraud; 

(f) disqualification pursuant to 606 CMR 10.12; 

(g) non-approved break in care; or 

(h) residency outside of the Commonwealth in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1)(c). 

 

(2) Reasons for Termination. EEC child care financial assistance may be terminated due to 

the following: 

(a) lack of service need; 

(b) Intentional Program Violation; 

(c) Substantiated Fraud; 

(d) residency outside of the Commonwealth in accordance with 606 CMR 10.03(1)(c). 

(e) income exceeding limits detailed in 606 CMR 10.04(2)(a)1; or 

(f) non-approved break in care. 

 

(3) Notice. Whenever financial assistance is being denied or terminated, EEC or the Family 

Access Administrator must give the parent(s) written notice of the denial or termination and 

the option to request a review of the action through EEC’s review process and to request 

continuation of child care financial assistance services pending the outcome of the review and, 

if necessary, Informal Hearing.  EEC or the Family Access Administrator shall use a notice 

provided or prescribed by EEC and shall provide the parent with the notice immediately upon 

the decision to deny child care financial assistance or at least 14 calendar days before the 

effective date of the termination.  

 

At a minimum, the notice shall include the following: 

(a) a clear and plain statement of the action to be taken; 

(b) the effective date of the action; 

(c) an explanation of the reason(s) for the action; 

(d) the regulation or other legal authority on which the action is based; 

(e) contact information to obtain further information related to the action; 

(f) an explanation of the right to request a review; 

(g) an explanation of the continuation of child care financial assistance pending the 

outcome of the review and, if necessary, Informal Hearing; 

(h) a copy of the request for review process; 

(i) the circumstances under which child care financial assistance may continue pending 

the outcome of a review, if applicable; 

(j) a notice of the right to be represented during the request for review and Informal Hearing 

process; and 

(k) contact information for the EEC unit that receives appeal requests. 

 

All notices required by EEC regulation and policy will be deemed adequately served if they are 

mailed via regular mail to parents at their last known address, or if they are otherwise mailed or 

delivered to parents via the parents’ preferred method of delivery based on the contact 

information that they maintain with their Family Access Administrator. 

 

(4) Continuation of Child Care Financial Assistance Pending Request for Review and Request for Informal 

Hearing 

(a) Child care financial assistance shall continue after receipt of a notice of termination or 

denial at reauthorization pending the outcome of the request for review and, if 



606 CMR: DEPARTMENT OF EARLY EDUCATION AND CARE 
 

necessary, Informal Hearing if the parent: 

1. submits to the EEC a request for review, which shall serve as a request for 

the continuation of child care financial assistance, prior to the effective date of the 

termination or denial of the child care financial assistance; 

2. takes appropriate action to resolve any unpaid fee balance under 606 CMR 

10.12(1) which caused the notice of termination prior to the effective date of the 

notice. 

3. at all times during the review process, including any Informal Hearing, if 

necessary, keep all undisputed fee payments current; and 

4. at all times during the review process, including any Informal Hearing, if 

necessary, ensure that the child continues to attend care in accordance with the 

child's Authorization. 

 

(b) If the denial was issued at an initial authorization, child care financial assistance shall 

not be available during the request for review or Informal Hearing process.   

 

(c) Child care financial assistance that is continued pending the outcome of a request for 

review or an Informal Hearing, and any unpaid fee balance, are subject to recoupment 

by EEC in cases where fraud is substantiated. 

 

(5) RESERVED 

 

10.11: Review Process 

 

(1) Reasons for Review. A parent may request an EEC review when EEC or the Family 

Access Administrator: 

(a) denies the parent's child care financial assistance; 

(b) terminates the parent's child care financial assistance; 

(c) assesses a fee that the parent believes is not in accordance with EEC regulation or 

policy; 

(d) acts or fails to act in a way that the parent believes violates EEC financial assistance 

regulations or policy; or 

(e) imposes a sanction pursuant to 606 CMR 10.12. 

 

(2) Scope of Review. A parent may not challenge the legality of state or federal law in the EEC 

review process. The scope of an EEC review shall be determining whether the Family Access 

Administrator acted, or failed to act, in accordance with state or federal laws or EEC regulations 

or policies. A parent may raise specific issues of fact for consideration as part of their request, 

and the EEC Review Officer may overturn a decision on those grounds even if the Family 

Access Administrator otherwise acted in accordance with state or federal laws or EEC 

regulations or policies. 

 

(3) Filing a Request for Review. The parent shall submit to  EEC a written and dated request, 

which may be made via email, for a review within 30 days of notice that their child care is 

being terminated or denied, or within 30 days of an action or determination by the Family Access 

Administrator which the parent claims violates EEC financial assistance regulations or policy. 

The request for a review shall contain the parent's name, address, and telephone number,  and 

the reason for the request. If a parent wishes to submit evidence in support of their request, such 

as documents or receipts, the evidence must be received by EEC within 14 calendar days of 

submitting the request for review in order to make such evidence a part of the review record. 

 

(4) Representation. The parent may be represented by a person of their choosing at any stage 

of the review process. 

 

(5) Termination of Continued Child Care Financial Assistance. Child care financial assistance 

continued in accordance with 606 CMR 10.11(5)(a) shall be terminated if at any time during 

the review process or any subsequent appeals: 

(a) a determination is made that the sole issue is a challenge to the validity of a particular 

law or EEC regulation; 

(b) a change affecting the parent's financial assistance occurs subsequent to the filing of the 

request for a review which makes the previously filed request for a review moot, and the 

parent does not appeal the subsequent matter within the applicable time period; or 

(c) the parent fails to comply with the requirements for continuing child care financial 

assistance listed in 606 CMR 10.10(4). 

 

(6) Preliminary Review. 
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(a) Notification. Within seven days of receipt of the parent's request for review, the EEC 

Review Officer shall notify the Family Access Administrator of the request for review, and 

shall request that the Family Access Administrator submit evidence in support of their 

determination. EEC’s Review Officer shall also notify the parent and the Family Access 

Administrator whether the child care financial assistance shall continue pending the 

outcome of the review. 

(b) Response. Within seven days of the date of notification from EEC, the Family Access 

Administrator must submit to EEC’s Review Officer evidence in support of their decision, 

action or inaction which allegedly forms the basis for the parent's request for review. 

(c) Record. The case record shall consist of any evidence submitted by the Family 

Access Administrator, any evidence submitted by the parent, and, if applicable, any 

evidence obtained by EEC’s Review Officer including, but not limited to, documentary 

evidence obtained from local, state, and/or federal agencies. 

(d) Decisions. 

1. How Made. EEC’s Review Officer will review all information submitted by the 

parent and Family Access Administrator and seek clarification from the parties, if 

necessary. The Review Officer may take administrative notice of general, technical, or 

scientific facts within their specialized knowledge and may use their experience and 

specialized knowledge in the evaluation of the evidence presented. The EEC Review 

Officer may also take administrative notice of any public records or information from 

other local, state, and/or federal agencies. 

2. When Made. Within 60 days of EEC's receipt of the request for review for a 

termination or denial at reauthorization or as promptly as administratively feasible, 

EEC’s Review Officer shall issue a written decision to the parent and the Family Access 

Administrator which upholds, reverses, or modifies the Family Access Administrator's 

decision, action, or inaction. Within 60 days of EEC’s receipt of the request for review 

for denial at initial authorization, EEC’s Review Officer shall issue a written decision 

to the parent and the Family Access Administrator which upholds, reverses, or modifies 

the Family Access Administrator’s decision. 

3. When Implemented. Unless 606 CMR 10.10(4) applies, the EEC Review Officer's 

decision will be implemented in accordance with the timelines set forth in the decision. 

4. Notice of Right to Appeal. The Review Officer's written decision shall inform the 

parent of the parent's right to appeal the written decision by requesting an Informal 

Hearing in accordance with 606 CMR 10.11(7). If the parent does not appeal, the 

Review Officer's written decision shall become the EEC's final agency decision and 

child care financial assistance shall be terminated immediately. 
 

(7) Informal Hearing. After a Preliminary Review, aggrieved parents may appeal the EEC 

Review Officer's decision by requesting an Informal Hearing. 

(a) Requesting an Informal Hearing. Parents may request an Informal Hearing by 

submitting to EEC’s General Counsel a written dated request, which may be made via 

email, for an Informal Hearing within 14 days of the date of the EEC Review Officer's 

written decision. The request for Informal Hearing must state the reason for the appeal. The 

General Counsel, or designee, may make disposition of the appeal, at the request of and 

with the consent of the parent, prior to the holding of a hearing; a parent shall have the 

continued right to an Informal Hearing after any such disposition or may choose to waive 

the hearing. 

(b) Continuation of Benefits Pending an Informal Hearing. In order for child care 

financial assistance to continue pending the outcome of the appeal, the parent shall timely 

appeal the decision in accordance with 606 CMR 10.11(7)(a), and shall comply with the 

requirements under 606 CMR 10.10(4). 

(c) Notice of Hearing. The General Counsel or the designated EEC Hearing Officer shall 

notify the parent, the Family Access Administrator, and EEC’s Review Officer of the date, 

time, and place of the hearing. The notice shall also describe the hearing procedure and the 

right to contact EEC to obtain further information, including the case file and documents 

to be submitted by EEC at the hearing. 

(d) Hearings. 

1. Timing.  Within 60 Days of EEC’s receipt of the request for an Informal Hearing, 

EEC shall hold the hearing. 

 

2. Procedure. The Informal Hearing shall be conducted in accordance with 801 CMR 

1.02: Informal/Fair Hearing Rules. The General Counsel may appoint an EEC Hearing 

Officer to preside over the hearing. 

3. Adjustment of Matters Relating to the Hearing. EEC’s Hearing Officer may make 

informal disposition of the adjudicatory proceeding by stipulation, agreed settlement, 

consent order, or default, and may limit the issues to be heard, in accordance with 
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M.G.L. c. 30A, § 10. 

4. Submission without a Hearing. The parent may elect to waive a hearing and to 

submit any documents without appearing at the time and place designated for the hearing. 

Submission of a case without a hearing does not relieve the parties from supplying all 

documents supporting their claims or defenses. Affidavits and stipulations may be used 

to supplement other documentary evidence in the record. 

5. Location. The Informal Hearing shall be held in EEC's Central Office, or a location 

designated by EEC. The parent may request that the Informal Hearing be held at an 

EEC regional office more conveniently located to the parent or be scheduled via 

telephone or via a virtual, video enabled platform. 

6. Hearing Record. EEC’s Hearing Officer shall ensure that a record is made of the 

hearing. All documents and other evidence offered and accepted shall become part of 

the record. The record shall also include the request for review, the request for Informal 

Hearing and the decision by EEC’s Review Officer. 

7. Burden of Proof. The EEC Hearing Officer's decision shall be supported by 

substantial evidence presented at the hearing. EEC shall have the burden of proof to 

uphold the decision of the EEC Review Officer. 

(e) Reasons for Dismissal. EEC’s Hearing Officer may dismiss a request for an informal 

hearing if a Parent: 

1. fails to appear at the informal hearing, in accordance with 801 CMR 

1.02: Informal/Fair Hearing Rules; 

2. fails to prosecute their claim, in accordance with 801 CMR 1.02: Informal/Fair 

Hearing Rules; or 

3. withdraws the request for Informal Hearing in writing or on the record at the hearing. 

(f) Decisions.  If the denial was issued at reauthorization, or if child care financial 

assistance was terminated, EEC’s Hearing Officer shall issue the written decision in 

accordance with M.G.L. c. 30A, § 11(8) within 60 days of conducting the Informal Hearing 

or as soon as administratively feasible.  If the denial was issued at an initial authorization, 

EEC’s Hearing Officer shall issue a written decision in accordance with M.G.L. c. 30A, § 

11(8) within 60 days of conducting the Informal Hearing. 

(g) Judicial Review and Finality of Decision. The decision of EEC’s Hearing Officer 

following an Informal Hearing shall be the final agency decision for purposes of judicial 

review under M.G.L. c. 30A. 

(h) Further Appeal and Stay of Decision. Following the Informal Hearing, the decision of 

EEC’s Hearing Officer shall be implemented in accordance with the timelines set forth in 

the EEC Hearing Officer's decision unless the parent: 

1. timely appeals the decision to superior court pursuant to M.G.L. c. 30A; 

2. submits a written request for a stay of the decision to EEC’s General Counsel; and 

3. the General Counsel grants the request for a stay. 

 

10.12:  Sanctions 

 

(1) Intentional Program Violation (IPV) and Substantiated Fraud. A parent determined by 

EEC to have committed Substantiated Fraud or an Intentional Program Violation shall have a 

period of disqualification from eligibility for each child the parent is authorized for pursuant 

to the following: 

(a) First Offense of IPV. If a parent is determined to have committed an IPV then the 

parent shall receive a warning notification putting the parent on notice that 

subsequent offenses will result in disqualification. 

(b) Second Offense of IPV. If a parent is determined to have committed a second IPV, then 

the parent shall be disqualified from eligibility for a period of 12 months from the date 

of termination. After that time the parent is eligible to return to the waitlist in 

accordance with 606 CMR 10.04 or, pursuant to the applicable referral, in accordance 

with 606 CMR 10.05 and 10.06. 

(c) Third Offense of IPV. If a parent is determined to have committed a third IPV, then the 

parent shall be disqualified from eligibility for a period of 24 months from the date of 

termination. After that time the parent is eligible to return to the waitlist in accordance 

with 606 CMR 10.04 or, pursuant to the applicable referral, in accordance with 606 

CMR 10.05 and 10.06 

(d) Fourth or More Offense of IPV or Substantiated Fraud. If a parent is determined to 

have committed a fourth or more IPV, or Substantiated Fraud, the parent shall be 

disqualified from eligibility until any debt resulting from the Substantiated Fraud is 

repaid or for a period of 36 months from the date of termination, whichever is greater. 

After that time the parent is eligible to return to the waitlist in accordance with 606 

CMR 10.04 or, pursuant to the applicable referral, in accordance with 606 CMR 

10.05. 
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(e) This subsection shall not apply to the issuance of an IPV for non-payment of parent 

fees, which shall follow the process pursuant to 606 CMR 10.12(2),  

 

(2) Non-payment of Fees. If a parent is determined to be in violation of the parent fee 

obligation required by 606 CMR 10.03(2), the parent may incur an Intentional Program 

Violation pursuant to the following: 

(a) Upon the non-payment of a parent fee, the provider shall issue a written 

warning to the parent that payment is due. If, after receiving the warning, the parent 

pays the balance owed prior to the due date for the next scheduled parent fee payment, 

no further action or sanction shall apply and an IPV shall not issue. 

(b) If the parent does not pay the balance owed following receipt of the warning 

and does not pay the next scheduled parent fee payment owed on or by its due date, 

the provider may enter a repayment plan with the parent or the provider or Family 

Access Administrator may issue a notice of termination for non-payment of fees to 

the parent. 

(c) The provider may choose to enter into a repayment plan with the parent in lieu 

of issuing a termination notice, the terms of which must be agreed upon by both 

parties. If a parent adheres to the payment schedule of the repayment plan, no further 

action or sanction shall apply and no IPV shall issue. If a parent does not adhere to 

the payment schedule of the repayment plan, the provider or Family Access 

Administrator may issue a notice of termination for non-payment of fees to the 

parent. 

(d) A termination notice for non-payment of fees must be delivered to the parent 

14 calendar days prior to termination of care and must state that services to the family 

will end 14 calendar days from the date the notice is delivered if the parent does not 

pay the overdue balance.  

(e) If the parent does not pay the overdue balance prior to the termination date 

listed in the termination notice, EEC shall issue the parent an IPV and child care 

financial assistance shall be terminated until the unpaid balance is paid in full. 

Following termination, if the parent pays the unpaid balance in full, the parent is 

eligible to return to care if allowable under 606 CMR 10.10 (4) or (5) or is eligible to 

return to the waitlist in accordance with 606 CMR 10.04, or pursuant to the applicable 

referral in accordance with 606 CMR 10.05 and 10.06. 

 

(3) Exemptions to Sanctions. 

(a) A parent with an active TAFDC case in accordance with 606 CMR 10.05(4)(a) shall 

be exempt from the termination or disqualification sanctions during the period their 

TAFDC case remains open or through the end of their eligibility period under 606 

CMR 10.05(4)(a), whichever is later. 

 

(b) A parent with an active DCF referral pursuant to 606 CMR 10.06 will be exempt from 

the termination or disqualification sanctions during the period the parent receives DCF-

related child care pursuant to 606 CMR 10.06(4). 

 

10.13:  Applicability 

 

If any provision contained in 606 CMR 10.00 or the application thereof is held invalid to any 

person or circumstance, the remainder of 606 CMR 10.00 and the application of the provision 

in question to other persons not similarly situated, or to other circumstances, shall not be affected 

thereby. 

 

 

REGULATORY AUTHORITY 

 

606 CMR 10.00:  M.G.L. c. 15D, and 45 CFR Part 98.11(b)(2) and (8). 


