Child Labor LaWS in Massachusetts*

Legal Work Hours tor Minors

14 & 15 Year Olds

16 & 17 Year Olds

Work Hours Maximum Hours

During the school year: When school is in session:
¢ Only between 7 am and 7 pm 18 hours per week

e Not during school hours 3 hours per day on school days

holidays

During the summer
g 6 days per week

(July 1—Labor Day):
e Only between 7 am and 9 pm

When school is not in session:

¢ 40 hours per week
All teens under 18 must « 8 hours per day

get a Work Permit from * 6 days per week
the school district where

they live or go to school.

For more information,
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Depastment of Labor. Prohibited Jobs for Minots

Standards at:

www.mass.gov/dos/

Persons under 16 may NOT:

e Operate, clean or repair power-driven machinery (except office machines or
machines for retail, cleanup, or kitchen work not otherwise prohibited)

e Cook (except on electric or gas grills that do not have open flames)
¢ Operate fryolators, rotisseries, Nieco broilers, or pressure cookers

¢ Operate, clean or repair power-driven food slicers, grinders, choppers,
processors, cutters, and mixers

¢ Perform any baking activities

e Operate microwave ovens (except to heat food in microwave ovens with a
maximum capacity of 140 degrees Fahrenheit)

¢ Clean kitchen surfaces that are hotter than 100 degrees Fahrenheit

e Filter, transport, or dispose of cooking oil or grease hotter than 100 degrees
Fahrenheit

o Work in freezers or meat coolers

¢ Work in a manufacturing facility or occupation (e.g., in a factory, as an
assembler)

e Work on or use ladders, scaffolds, or their substitutes

e Work in garages, except dispensing gas and oil

e Work in brick or lumber yards

e Work in amusement places (e.g., pool or billiard room, or bowling alley)
e Work in barber shops

e Work in door-to-door street sales, including work as a sign waiver (except
directly outside of employer establishment)

e Work in construction, transportation, communications, or public utilities (except

doing clerical work away from heavy machinery off the job-site)
e Work in warehouses (except doing clerical work)
e Load or unload trucks, railroad cars, or conveyors
¢ Ride in or on a motor vehicle (except in passenger seat if wearing a seatbelt)
e Work doing laundry in a commercial laundry or dry cleaning establishment
e Work as a public messenger

e Work at processing operations (e.g., in meat or fish, or poultry catching,
cooping, cracking nuts, bulk or mass mailing)

e Work around boilers or in engine rooms

¢ Do industrial homework

e Work with dangerous electrical machinery or appliances

e Work that is determined by the Massachusetts Attorney General to be
dangerous to the health and well-being of minors

+ Work in any of the occupations or tasks prohibited for persons
under age 18

Tasks not specifically permitted by the US DOL Secretary of Labor,

are prohibited.

Persons under 14 may not work! There are a few
exceptions to this, such as babysitting, working as news carriers,
on farms, and in entertainment (with a special permit).

* This is a compilation of state and federal child labor laws. The most protective laws are presented here and

apply to all employers of teens in Massachusetts including family members who employ their teenaged relatives.
There are additional regulations and some exemptions such as in agricultural industries and for student learners

participating in cooperative education programs.

Persons under 18 may NOT:

¢ Drive a vehicle, forklift, or work assist vehicle (except golf carts in certain
circumstances)

¢ Ride as a passenger on a forklift
e Operate, clean or repair power-driven meat slicers, grinders or choppers

e Operate, clean or repair power-driven bakery machines (except for certain
countertop models and pizza dough rollers)

e Work 30 feet or more above ground or water
e Handle, serve, or sell alcoholic beverages

e Use circular, chain, or band saws; guillotine shears; wood chippers; and
abrasive cutting discs

e Use power-driven woodworking machines
e Use, service, drive, or work from hoisting machines

e Operate or load power-driven balers, compactors, or paper processing
machines

e Use power-driven metal-forming, punching, or shearing machines

e Use buffing or polishing equipment

e Manufacture brick, tile, or kindred products

e Manufacture or store explosives

e Work in excavation, wrecking, demolition, or shipbreaking

e Work in forest fire fighting, forest fire prevention, timber track operations, and
forestry service

e Work in logging, sawmilling, or mining

e Work slaughtering, packing, or processing meat and poultry

e Work in railway operations

e Work in roofing or on or about a roof

e Work in foundries or around blast furnaces

e Work manufacturing phosphorus or phosphorus matches

e Work where they are exposed to radioactive substances

e Work as a firefighter or engineer on a boat

e Qil or clean hazardous machinery in motion

e Work in any job requiring the possession or use of a firearm

For questions about wages or the child labor laws:
e Massachusetts Office of the Attorney General
Fair Labor Division
www.mass.gov/ago/fairlabor - (617) 727-3465

e U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division
www.dol.gov/agencies/whd - (617) 624-6700

For questions about workers’ compensation:

e Massachusetts Department of Industrial Accidents
www.mass.gov/dia - (800) 323-3249

For questions about health and safety:

e U.S. Department of Labor
Occupational Safety & Health Administration
www.osha.gov
Andover Office - (978) 837-4460
Braintree Office - (617) 565-6924
Springfield Office - (413) 785-0123

e Massachusetts Department of Public Health
Occupational Health Surveillance Program
www.mass.gov/dph/teensatwork - (617) 624-5632

Resources for More Information

This poster was prepared by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health’s Teens at Work: Injury Surveillance
and Prevention Project and the Massachusetts Office of the Attorney General with funding from the National
Institute for Occupational Safety and Health. For more information, please call (617) 624-5632 or e-mail us at
teens.atwork@state.ma.us.





