

CHARLES D. BAKER GOVERNOR

KARYN E. POLITO LT. GOVERNOR

DANIEL BENNETT
SECRETARY

## The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security Department of Fire Services

P.O. Box 1025 ~ State Road

Stow, Massachusetts 01775

(978) 567~3100 Fax: (978) 567~3121

www.mass.gov/dfs



STEPHEN D. COAN STATE FIRE MARSHAL

## CONTRACT EMPLOYEE PAID SICK LEAVE

## **Policy**

Effective July 1, 2015, all employees working in the Commonwealth are entitled by law to earn and use up to 40 hours of paid sick leave in a calendar year. In your current capacity with the Department of Fire Services, you qualify as an employee under this law. Accordingly, you will accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked, up to a maximum of 40 hours of earned sick leave in a year. Once you accrue 40 hours of earned sick time, you will no longer continue to accrue sick time for the remainder of the year.

You may use earned sick time as soon as it has accrued; however, you may only use sick leave in increments of 15 minutes and only for the following purposes:

- 1. to care for the employee's child, spouse, parent, or parent of a spouse, who is suffering from a physical or mental illness, injury, or medical condition that requires home care, professional medical diagnosis or care, or preventative medical care; or
- 2. to care for the employee's own physical or mental illness, injury, or medical condition that requires home care, professional medical diagnosis or care, or preventative medical care; or
- 3. to attend the employee's routine medical appointment or a routine medical appointment for the employee's child, spouse, parent, or parent of spouse; or
- 4. to address the psychological, physical or legal effects of domestic violence; or
- 5. to travel to and from an appointment, a pharmacy, or other location related to the purpose for which the time was taken.

You may be required to submit medical or other documentation to verify your use of sick leave.

Employees requesting sick leave must notify their supervisor, or appropriate representative as designated by their Division Director, at least one (1) hour before the start of his/her scheduled work shift on each day of absence. The employee must be scheduled in order to use the sick leave and may not use sick leave for unscheduled time. Repeated violations of these notification procedures may result in the denial of sick leave. Such notice must include the general nature of the disability and the estimated time for which the employee will be absent. An employee who is on standby for an

Administrative Services • Division of Fire Safety Haxardous Materials Response • Massachusetts Firefighting Academy emergency response is not eligible to decline the emergency response call and use sick leave for the emergency response call, as such employees are not considered scheduled for the shift until they respond to the call.

Paid sick leave will not be considered time worked for the purposes of calculation overtime compensation. Paid sick leave will be paid only as straight hourly wages, not at an overtime rate.

At the end of each calendar year, any unused sick time, up to a maximum of 40 hours, may be carried over into the next calendar year and available for immediate use. You will continue to accrue sick time at the same rate described above during the next calendar year, provided however, that once you possess a bank of 40 hours of sick leave, you will not continue to accrue additional hours of sick time.

When you separate from service, you are not entitled to receive compensation for any unused sick leave credits; however, if you return to service with the Commonwealth within one year, you will be credited with all unused sick time available to you at the time of your separation, up to 40 hours.

## **Procedure for Timesheet Reporting**

Employees should report their sick leave under the following time reporting code (TRC):

ESIC should be entered in the TRC column for Earned Sick Leave Paid ESIF should be entered in the TRC column for Earned Sick in Family Paid

If you have questions regarding the use of these non-benefited sick leave TRCs, please contact the Employee Service Center at 617-979-8500.