

THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF PUBLIC SAFETY AND SECURITY

Department of Criminal Justice Information Services

200 Arlington Street, Suite 2200, Chelsea, Massachusetts 02150, MASS.GOV/CJIS TEL: 617-660-4600 · TTY: 617-660-4606 · FAX: 617-660-4613

Charles D. Baker Karyn E. Polito

Polito Daniel Bennett James F. Slat ont Governor Secretary of Public Safety and Security Commissione

TO: Criminal Record Review Board (CRRB)

FROM: **Board Counsel**

RE: Open Session Minutes of the May 18, 2017 CRRB Meeting

DATE: August 7, 2017

A meeting of the Criminal Record Review Board (CRRB) was held on Thursday, May 18, 2017 at 10:00 a.m., in the second floor conference room of the Massachusetts Information Technology Center, located at 200 Arlington Street, Chelsea, Massachusetts.

Board Member Attendees:

James Slater – Acting Chairperson/Commissioner, Department of Criminal Justice Information Services

Susanne Reardon – Office of the Attorney General Representative

Dr. Rhiana Kohl – MA Department of Correction Representative

Maura Dupray – Committee for Public Counsel Services (CPCS) Representative

George Klier – Massachusetts Sheriff's Association Representative

Stephanie Ross – Secretary of Labor and Workforce Development Representative

Lee Kavanagh – Massachusetts Sentencing Commission Representative

Jen Franco – Massachusetts District Attorney's Association Representative

Peter Cheverie – Personal Privacy Representative

Thomas Capasso – Office of the Commissioner of Probation Representative

Captain Deborah Rebeiro – Massachusetts State Police Representative

Michael Callahan – Massachusetts Parole Board Representative

Board Members unable to attend:

Chief Terence Delehanty – MA Chiefs of Police Association Representative Tara Maguire – Massachusetts District Attorney's Association Representative Curtis Wood – Chairperson and Undersecretary for Forensic Science and Technology Cecely Reardon – Massachusetts Department of Youth Services Representative Les Gosule – Personal Privacy Representative

DCJIS Staff Attendees:

Agapi Koulouris – General Counsel Sophia Davis – Program Coordinator Daniel Maltzman – Staff Attorney

Board Business:

At approximately 10:00 a.m., a quorum was present. Chairperson Slater called the meeting of the CRRB to order.

Approval of January 26, 2017 CRRB Meeting Open Session Minutes:

After reviewing the open meeting minutes from the January 26, 2017 CRRB meeting, George Klier made a motion to accept the minutes. Susanne Reardon seconded the motion. The motion passed by a majority vote of 9-0, with Captain Rebeiro and Chairperson Slater abstaining from voting.

Update on DCJIS Regulations and Upcoming CORI/New Regulations Training/Forms

At this point Chairperson Slater gave the floor to Agapi Koulouris to update the Board on the status of the DCJIS updated regulations. Attorney Koulouris also provided the Board with an update on upcoming trainings for the new regulations, CORI as well as the new forms to be used in accordance with the new regulations.

Executive Session:

At this point in the meeting, Chairperson Slater indicated the Board would be entering into Executive Session to review CORI complaints whose subject matter is protected pursuant to M.G.L. c. 30A, § 21(a)(7) and M.G.L. c. 6, §172. A motion to enter executive session was made by Captain Rebeiro and seconded by Stephanie Ross. Chairperson Slater abstained from voting. A roll-call vote was taken, and the motion passed 10-0. The Board entered executive session at 10:10 a.m.

At the end of all discussion, Chairperson Slater indicated that the Board should exit Executive Session. Michael Callahan made a motion to exit executive session. Dr. Kohl seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed unanimously 11-0. Chairperson Slater abstained from voting. The executive session ended at 11:15 a.m. Thomas Capasso then made a motion to adjourn. Dr. Kohl seconded the motion; the motion passed unanimously 11-0. Chairperson Slater abstained from voting. The meeting adjourned at approximately 11:15 a.m.

¹ Dr. Kohl entered the meeting after the vote this voetewas taken. Therefore, the number of Board members present changed for subsequent votes change to 12.