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Commonwealth of Massachusetts 
Construction Supervisors License Continuing Education 

ONLINE New Course Application 
Mail to: Office of Public Safety . Attn: CSL Continuing Education . 1 Federal Street – Suite 0060 . Boston, MA 02110-2012

R5.4.7 Course approval. Courses must be approved by the BBRS in advance and will be approved on the basis of the applicant's 
compliance with the provisions of this section relating to continuing education in the regulated industries. The BBRS shall make the 
final determination as to the approval and assignment of credit hours for courses. Courses must be at least one hour in length. 

Date of Application:    Coordinator ID#: CS-CD- 

Coordinator Name:  

Coordinator Email Address: 

Phone Number for Applicants to call for questions: _____________________________________________________________________ 

Course Information: 
Course Number:______________________ 

Course Title (as it will appear on the certificate):  

Required Continuing Education Topics: 

� Code Review……………………………………..._____ hrs 

� Workplace Safety…………………………………_____ hrs 

� Business Practices / Workers Compensation…_____ hrs 

�    Energy…………………………………………….._____ hrs 

�    Lead Safety……………………………………….._____ hrs 

�    Elective ……………………………………………_____ hrs 

Course approval fees: New Course Approval fee: $100.00 + $25.00 for each hour or fraction of one hour, not to exceed $150.00 per 
course ($250.00 for New Course). If course is denied all fees will be refunded except $25.00 for administrative costs.  
(make checks payable to Commonwealth of Massachusetts ~ check shall only include course fees only; do not include Coordinator fees)   

ONLINE New Course  ~ Total Fee enclosed $   _______ 
 (New Course Fee $100 + Course Fee) 

 New Course Fee = $100 fee + 

      1 hour  = $25 fee   3¼ to 4 hrs = $100 fee 
1¼ to 2 hrs = $50 fee   4¼ to 5 hrs = $125 fee 
2¼ to 3 hrs = $75 fee   5¼ to 6 hrs = $150 fee 

 Length of Course   ___________  hrs 

The following items must be provided along with the application: 

� Thumb Drive
� Detailed Syllabus
� Explanation when questions will be presented

Instructions: 
1. Sign and date completed form

2. Complete application package must be submitted no less than 30 days prior to the initial offering date 

3. Mail to: Office of Public Safety . Attn: CSL Continuing Education . 1 Federal Street – Suite 0600 . Boston, MA 02110-2012

I do solemnly swear that the answers given by me on this application including all attachments are true and complete to the best of 
my knowledge under the penalties of perjury.   

_____________________________________________________________  _________________________________________ 
Signature of Coordinator        Date 

Office Use Only 

Denied     ____  Approved  _____  By: ________________________________________  Date:  _________________________________________ 

Course Number:  ____________________  Number of Hours: _____________________  Expiration Date: _________________________________ 

Transaction Number: _________________ Check Number: _______________________  Refund Date and Amount: _________________________ 

MLO ____  Email _____ 
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This page is for your reference ~~ not required to be returned with application 

R5.4.7 Page 2 

• Continuing education consists of courses that impart knowledge that is appropriate to the contractor field. 
• The burden of demonstrating that courses impart appropriate contractor knowledge is upon the person seeking approval of credit. 
• All course offerings must be open to any interested individuals. Attendance cannot be restricted to any particular group of people and is 

permitted to be restricted only on the basis of class size. 

Continuing education credit will not be approved for the following: 
� courses designed solely to prepare students for a license examination in a discipline other than CSL 
� courses in mechanical office skills, including typing, speed reading, or other machines or equipment. Computer or business skills courses are 

allowed, if appropriate and related to the regulated industry of the licensee 
� courses in motivation, psychology, or any other course not related to the building industry 
� courses that are primarily intended to impart knowledge of specific products of specific companies, if the use of the product or products relates 

to the sales promotion or marketing of one or more of the products discussed.  
� time spent on meals or other related activities 

Coordinator are responsible for 

• I certify I am the approved coordinator and I am responsible for compliance with Massachusetts education laws and regulations. 
• I understand courses may not be advertised before approval, unless this applocation has already been submitted to the Board of building 

Regulations and Standards and the course is described in the advertising as “approval pending”. 
• I understand the number of approved hours must be accurately displayed on any advertisement for the course and if course offering is longer 

than the number approved continuuing education hours, and advertisement must be clear that continuing education creditis not earned for the 
entiee course.

• I understand failure to have only qualified instructors teach an approved course offering will result in loss of course approval. 
• I certify all of the information submitted in this application is true and complete and that this document has not been chaned in any manner 

from the form adopted by the Office of Public Safety and Inspections.
• I understand each course of study must be conducted in a classroom or other appropriate facility that is accessible and adequate to comfortably 

accommodate the instructors and the number of students enrolled according to R5.4.13

On-Line Course Guidelines 

On-line courses in accordance with 780 CMR 110.R5.4.1 shall take measures to ensure a meaningful learning experience for the licensee, including, at 
a minimum: 

• At the start of each on-line training, a licensee shall be required to affirm to the statement: 
Under the pains and penalties of perjury, I attest that, as the licensed construction supervisor requiring continuing education credit, I 
will personally view all portions of this on-line educational session and will personally answer all questions required of this training.

• A licensee shall be required to answer a minimum of 5 questions relating to the material covered each 30 minute period (or more 
frequently if determined appropriate on-line education provider).

• A candidate must answer all questions correctly at the end of each session. 
• If the licensee answers all questions correctly, he\she may advance to the next section. 
• If the licensee answers a question or questions incorrectly, he\shall be so notified and directed back to the portion of the presentation from 

which the question is derived. 
• The licensee shall be afforded an opportunity to, again, review the section and answer a similar question\questions as appropriate. 
• Once the licensee answers all questions correctly, he\she shall be allowed to advance to the next portion of the training. 
• In no case may a licensee be allowed to advance through a section without successfully answering questions relevant to material covered.
• At the conclusion of  a complete on-line training session, a licensee shall be required to successfully complete a final examination 

comprised of 20 questions, answering at least 16 correctly, and shall again affirm to the statement: 
Under the pains and penalties of perjury, I attest that, as the licensed construction supervisor requiring continuing education credit, I 
have personally viewed all portions and answered all questions required of this training. 
Additionally, providers of on-line educational sessions shall take measures to ensure a meaningful learning experience for the licensee 
by: 

• Allowing the student to log-out of the session (and back in) without penalty. 
• Providing closed-captioning assistance. 
• Revising on-line training subject matter to reflect changes in code requirements each renewal period. 
• Issuing certificates to students reflecting successful completion of the on-line training, including successful completion of 

training review questions as herein described. 

Course Completion Certificate 

Required verbiage on Course Completion Certificate shall include, but not limited to: 
  Attendees Name and CSL Number 
BBRS/CSL Continuing Education Course approval number along with the name of the course submitted to this office  

  Code Review ___ hrs                                          Energy ___ hrs 
  Work Place Safety ___ hrs                                  Lead Safety ___ hrs 
  Business Practices/Workers Comp ___ hrs     Elective ___ hrs 

Coordinator name and Coordinator number 
Course Completion Date  


