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SUBJECT: DAM SAFETY REGULATIONS -- 302 CMR 10.00 and REGISTRATION OF 
DAMS 

Dear Dam Owner: 

The Dam Safety Statute, Massachusetts General Law Chapter 253, §§ 44-50 requires the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) Office of Dam Safety (ODS) to maintain a 
public record of the performance of dams.  Dam owners are required to register and inspect dams 
and to maintain dams in good operating condition.  In order to assist all dam owners in 
complying with the requirements of the statute and regulations, DCR has posted on its web site, 
http://www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/dcr/conservation/dam-safety/, the regulations as well as the 
forms you need to comply. 

The current regulation, 302 CMR 10.05 requires dam owners to file a Dam Registration Form 
with DCR and to inform DCR of a pending sale of property upon which a regulated dam is 
located.  Enclosed with this letter you will find a Dam Registration Form for each dam you own 
that needs to be completed and submitted to:            

Office of Dam Safety – Dam Registration 
Department of Conservation and Recreation 
180 Beaman Street 
West Boylston, MA 01583 

You must submit with the form a check payable to the “Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Dam 
Registration Program” in the amount of $75.00 for first time registration or $50.00 for transfers 
for each applicable dam.  Upon review and approval by DCR Office of Dam Safety personnel, 
DCR will issue a Certificate of Registration.  Failure to submit a Dam Registration Form may 
subject you to penalties of up to $5,000.00 per violation.  For continuing violations, each day 
shall be considered a separate violation. 

Per 302 CMR 10.05, an owner shall notify the Commissioner by registered or certified mail of 
the proposed transfer of legal title of a dam 30 days prior to any such transfer.  Per 302 CMR 
10.15, failure to notify the Office of Dam Safety of the transfer of a dam from one owner to 
another will result in fines up to $5,000.00. 

Owners of dams who do not have internet access should contact ODS at (508) 792-7716, ext. 
41828, to have the required forms mailed or questions answered.  Thank you for your anticipated 
cooperation in helping ensure safe dam operations throughout the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts.  



Sincerely, 

 
William C. Salomaa, Director 
Office of Dam Safety 
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Office of Dam Safety (ODS) 
DAM REGISTRATION FORM (DRF) 

Section I:  Office of Dam Safety Information 

Dam Name:  
Name of Impoundment: 
Location (City/Town): 
Dam Height (feet):  
Hazard Potential Rating: 
National Dam ID No.: 

Section II:  Please Provide Owner(s) Information 

Legal Dam Owner(s) Name(s): 
Mailing Address: 
Town/Zip:
Phone:
Website and Email Info: 

Section III:  Please Provide Registry of Deeds Information 

Location of property where the dam lies: 
Registry Location (County Name): 
Registry of Deeds Book Number: 
Registry of Deeds Page Number: 
Registry of Deeds Plan Book (if applicable) 
Registry of Deeds Plan Number (if applicable) 
Land Court Certificate Number (if applicable): 

Section IV:  Please Provide Town/City Assessor's Office Information 

Map Number (if applicable): 
Section Number (if applicable): 
Lot Number (if applicable): 
Other:  
Record owner(s) and address: 

Section V: Schedule of fees 

The fee for registering each dam with the Office of Dam Safety for the first time is $75.00.  The fee for transferring ownership of a 
dam is $50.00.  Please enclose a check or money order made payable to: The Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Dam Registration 
Program.   

The Commonwealth, its agencies, authorities and political sub-divisions, including municipalities, are exempt from the 
payment of fees.   

I hereby certify to the best of my knowledge that the information provided on this form is correct. 

Signature and title of owner: _____________________________________________ Date: ______________________ 
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