/A

MASSHIRE

DEPARTMENT OF
CAREER SERVICES

Workforce Issuance

100 DCS 05.177 O Policy Information

To:

Chief Elected Officials

MassHire Workforce Board Chairs
MassHire Workforce Board Directors
MassHire Career Center Directors
MassHire Fiscal Officers

MassHire DCS Operations Managers

cc: WIOA State Partners

From: Diane Hurley, Acting Director
MassHire Department of Career Services

Date: January 6, 2023

Subject: Massachusetts Minimum Wage Effective January 1, 2023

Purpose: To notify MassHire Workforce Boards, MassHire Career Center Operators, and
other workforce partners of the increase of the minimum wage in Massachusetts
effective January 1, 2023.

Background: Effective January 1, 2023, the minimum wage is $15.00 per hour and the service

rate (applied to workers who provide services to customers and who make more
than $20 a month in tips) is $6.75.

Massachusetts wage & hour laws poster

The minimum wage applies to all employees except agricultural workers
($8.00 per hour is the minimum wage for most agricultural workers), members
of a religious order, workers being trained in certain educational, nonprofit, or
religious organizations, and outside sales people.

An equal opportunity employer/program.

Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
TDD/TTY 1-800-439-2370 - Voice 1-800-439-0183


https://www.mass.gov/doc/massachusetts-wage-hour-laws-poster/download

Action
Requested: Please share with managers, staff, partners, customers and businesses as
appropriate.

Effective: Immediately
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