This notice is for: [Head of Household Name] This notice was issued on: [Date]

EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE FAMILY SHELTER NOTICE OF 9-MONTH LIMIT- ELIGIBLE FOR FIRST 90-DAY EXTENSION

This notice is to inform you that you have been in shelter for more than 9 months and will need to move out soon due to the new 9-month "Length of Stay" law.

You have been **APPROVED** for a 90-day extension because EOHLC records show that your family meets the criteria below. Because you have already been in shelter for more than 9 months, this means you have to leave shelter within 90 days.

You may be asked to submit documents to prove that the information in your records is correct. We will provide instructions if we need documents from you.

Your termination date is [end date]. You will need to leave by this date unless you get a second extension.

PLEASE NOTE: If your family has already received a termination letter for a different reason, you must still follow the instructions on the termination letter. This notice does not remove your existing termination.

Your Next Steps:

You should work with your case manager to update your '60-Day Re-Housing Assessment'. We will use this to decide if you meet the criteria for a second extension. You will receive a decision on your eligibility for a second extension at least 45 days before your first extension expires.

NOTE: There is a <u>maximum</u> of two extensions based on the criteria below. The maximum time you can stay in shelter from today is 180 days or about 6 months. After that, there are only extensions in rare hardship cases.

To qualify for an extension, only one situation needs to apply:

- An adult member of my family has a job or is enrolled in a job training program
- An adult member of my family is considered a veteran in Massachusetts AND is not enrolled in veterans' services
- My family has a housing placement in the next month
- My children are enrolled in school, and I do not wish to disrupt their education
- A member of my family is pregnant or has given birth in the last 3 months
- A member of my family is disabled or has a documented medical condition
- I am a single parent caring for a disabled child or dependent
- I am a single parent who cannot work due to lack of childcare
- My family is at risk of harm due to domestic violence

IMPORTANT:

- We understand that moving from shelter to housing takes a lot of work. You should keep working with your case manager to prepare to leave shelter and move into stable housing.
- If you have found housing by yourself or with others and need help to pay expenses, the HomeBASE program could help. HomeBASE provides up to \$30,000 over 2 years, with the possibility of another \$15,000 over a 3rd year. If you would like to learn more, speak to your Case Manager or Housing Search Specialist or visit: www.mass.gov/homebase.
- If you need support at this time, you can also call 'Call2Talk'<u>at 508-532-2255.</u> Call2Talk offers confidential and compassionate emotional and mental health support. It operates 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Translation is available.

For more information about the "Length of Stay" law, visit: www.mass.gov/EAShelterLOS

Sincerely,

Massachusetts Executive Office of Housing & Livable Communities

Please note that the mailbox you are receiving this automatic notice from is not monitored, and replies will not be processed.

Appeal Rights

<u>There is nothing to appeal at this time because we granted you an extension</u>. We will check your eligibility for a second extension soon, so make sure to update your 60-day Re-housing Assessment if you want another extension.