This notice is for: [Head of Household Name] This notice was issued on: [Date]

## EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE (EA) FAMILY SHELTER NOTICE OF 9-MONTH LIMIT- INELIGIBLE FOR FIRST 90-DAY EXTENSION

This notice is to inform you that you have been in shelter for more than 9 months and will need to move out in the **next 90 days** due to the new 9-month "Length of Stay" law.

Your termination date is [enter date]. You must leave your shelter unit by this date.

The EA program is full and there are many families on a waitlist. There is now a 9-month limit on the time families can stay in shelter, unless they are eligible for an extension. Based on the information that we have, EOHLC has determined that you are <u>NOT</u> eligible for an extension.

**PLEASE NOTE:** If your family has already received a termination letter for a different reason, you must still follow the instructions on the termination letter. This notice does not remove your existing termination.

## Your Next Steps:

If you think you might be eligible for an extension, you should meet with your case manager to update your 60-day Re-housing Assessment. We will check your 60-day Re-housing Assessment again in **14 days of date of this notice** to see if there is any new information that makes you eligible for an extension.

If you are eligible, your current termination date will stay the same, but you will be considered for the second extension.

## To qualify for an extension, only one situation needs to apply:

- An adult member of my family has a job or is enrolled in a job training program
- An adult member of my family is considered a veteran in Massachusetts AND is not enrolled in veterans' services
- My family has a housing placement in the next month
- My children are enrolled in school, and I do not wish to disrupt their education
- A member of my family is pregnant or has given birth in the last 3 months
- A member of my family is disabled or has a documented medical condition
- I am a single parent caring for a disabled child or dependent
- I am a single parent who cannot work due to lack of childcare
- My family is at risk of harm due to domestic violence

#### **IMPORTANT:**

- We understand that moving from shelter to housing takes a lot of work. You should keep working with your case manager to prepare to leave shelter and move into stable housing.
- If you have found housing by yourself or with others and need help to pay expenses, the HomeBASE program could help. HomeBASE provides up to \$30,000 over 2 years, with the possibility of another \$15,000 over a 3rd year. If you would like to learn more, speak to your Case Manager or Housing Search Specialist or visit: <u>www.mass.gov/homebase</u>.
- If you need support at this time, you can also call 'Call2Talk'<u>at 508-532-2255.</u> Call2Talk offers confidential and compassionate emotional and mental health support. It operates 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Translation is available.

For more information about the "Length of Stay" law, visit: www.mass.gov/EAShelterLOS

Sincerely,

Massachusetts Executive Office of Housing & Livable Communities

# Please note that the mailbox you are receiving this automatic notice from is not monitored, and replies will not be processed.

### **Appeal Rights**

<u>There is nothing to appeal at this time.</u> We will reconsider your eligibility for an extension in another 14 days, so make sure to update your 60-day Re-housing Assessment if you want an extension.