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420.401: Introduction 
 

(A)  130 CMR 420.000 contains the regulations governing dental services under MassHealth. All 

dental providers participating in MassHealth must comply with MassHealth regulations, including 

but not limited to 130 CMR 420.000 and 450.000: Administrative and Billing Regulations. 

 

(B)  As described in 130 CMR 420.000 and in 450.000, covered dental services are more extensive 

for members younger than 21 years old than for members 21 years of age and older. 

 

(C)  Subchapter 6 of the Dental Manual lists the Current Dental Terminology (CDT) codes for 

dentists and public health dental hygienists and Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes for 

specialists in oral surgery that the MassHealth agency pays for, a description of those codes, and 

where indicated, prior-authorization requirements. Oral and maxillofacial surgeons must submit all 

claims containing CPT codes directly to MassHealth. 
 

420.402: Definitions 
 

 The following terms used in 130 CMR 420.000 have the meanings given in 130 CMR 420.402, 

unless the context clearly requires a different meaning. The reimbursability of services defined in 

130 CMR 420.000 is not determined by these definitions, but by application of 130 CMR 420.000 

and 450.000: Administrative and Billing Regulations. Definitions specific to radiographs are set 

forth at 130 CMR 420.423. 
 

Adult Dentition (Permanent Dentition) – permanent teeth that have erupted and replaced deciduous 

teeth. 
 

BORID – the Board of Registration in Dentistry, or any committee or subcommittee thereof, 

established in the Massachusetts Department of Public Health (DPH) pursuant to the provisions of 

M.G.L. c. 13, §19 and c. 112 §§1, 12CC, 43 through 53, and 61 through 65E. 
 

Caseload Capacity – a MassHealth dental provider’s good-faith determination of the number of 

MassHealth members to whom the provider is able to provide dental services. 
 

CODA – the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association. 
 

Department of Developmental Services (DDS) – the state agency organized under M.G.L. c. 19B. 
 

DDS Clients – MassHealth members 21 years of age or older who have been determined by DDS 

to be eligible for adult DDS services, pursuant to 115 CMR 6.00: Standards to Promote Dignity. 
 

EPSDT – Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment Services as described in federal 

law at 42 U.S.C. §§1396d(a)(4)(B) and 1396d(r) and 42 CFR 441 Subpart B. In Massachusetts, 

EPSDT-eligible members are in MassHealth Standard or MassHealth CommonHealth categories of 

assistance and are younger than 21 years old. 
 

Mobile Dental Facility (MDF) – any self-contained facility where dentistry will be practiced that 

may be driven, moved, towed, or transported from one location to another. 
 

Portable Dental Operation (PDO) – any dental practice where a portable dental unit is transported 

to and utilized on a temporary basis at an out-of-office location. 
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Primary Dentition (Deciduous Dentition) – deciduous teeth developed and erupted first in order of 

time.  
 

Public Health Setting – includes, but is not limited to, residences of the homebound; schools; Head 

Start programs; nursing homes and long-term care facilities licensed pursuant to M.G.L. c. 111, § 

71; clinics, community health centers, and hospitals licensed pursuant to M.G.L. c. 111, § 51; 

medical facilities; residential treatment facilities; federal, state or local public health programs; 

MDFs and portable dental programs which are permitted by BORID pursuant to 234 CMR 7.00: 

Mobile and Portable Dentistry or licensed or certified by DPH pursuant to M.G.L. c. 111, § 51; 

and other facilities or programs deemed appropriate by BORID or DPH. 
 

Transitional Dentition (Mixed Dentition) – the phase of the transition from Primary Dentition to 

Permanent Dentition, in which growth has not ceased and the deciduous teeth are in the process of 

shedding and the permanent successors are emerging. 
 

420.403: Eligible Members 
 

(A)  MassHealth Members.  130 CMR 450.105: Coverage Types specifically states for each 

MassHealth coverage type, which members are eligible to receive dental services. The MassHealth 

agency pays for dental services described in 130 CMR 420.000, provided to eligible MassHealth 

members. 

 

(B)  Recipients of Emergency Aid to the Elderly, Disabled and Children Program.  130 CMR 

450.106: Emergency Aid to the Elderly, Disabled and Children Program provides information on 

services available to recipients of the Emergency Aid to the Elderly, Disabled and Children 

(EAEDC) program. 

 

(C)  Member Eligibility and Coverage Type.  130 CMR 450.107: Eligible Members and the 

MassHealth Card provides information on verifying member eligibility and coverage type. 
 

420.404: Provider Eligibility:  Participating Providers 
 

The MassHealth agency pays for services described in 130 CMR 420.000 only to providers of 

dental services who are participating in MassHealth on the date of service. The participating 

provider is responsible for the quality of all services for which payment is claimed, the accuracy of 

such claims, and compliance with all regulations applicable to dental services under MassHealth. 

To claim payment, the participating provider must be the individual who actually performed the 

service, except as described in 130 CMR 420.404(A) through (D). 

 

(A) A dentist or public health dental hygienist who is a member of a group practice can direct 

payment to the group practice under the provisions of the MassHealth regulations governing billing 

intermediaries in 130 CMR 450.000: Administrative and Billing Regulations. The dentist or public 

health dental hygienist providing the services must be enrolled as an individual provider and must 

be identified on claims for his or her services. 

 

(B)  A dental school may claim payment for services provided in its dental clinic. 

 

(C)  A dental clinic may claim payment for services provided in its dental clinic. 

 

(D) A community health center, hospital-licensed health center, or hospital outpatient department 

may claim payment for services provided in its dental clinic. 
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420.405: Provider Eligibility In-state and Out-of-state  

 
(A)  In-state Providers. The following requirements apply when the dental provider’s practice is 
located in Massachusetts. 

(1)  Dental Practitioner. A dentist engaged in private practice is eligible to participate in 
MassHealth as a dental provider if licensed to practice by BORID. Private practices may 
include, but are not limited to, solo, partnership, or group practices. 
(2)  Community Health Center. A licensed community health center with a dental clinic is 
eligible to participate in MassHealth as a provider of dental services. 
(3)  Dental School. A teaching clinic of a dental school accredited by CODA is eligible to 

participate in MassHealth as a provider of dental services. 
(4)  Acute Hospital Outpatient Department, Hospital-licensed Health Center, or Other Satellite 
Clinic. An acute hospital’s outpatient department, hospital-licensed health center, or other 
satellite clinic that participates in MassHealth pursuant to the Executive Office of Health and 
Human Services (EOHHS) Acute Hospital Request for Applications (RFA) and contract is 
eligible to provide services designated as dental clinic services in Subchapter 6 of the 

MassHealth Dental Manual for providers under 130 CMR 420.000. 
(5)  Dental Clinic. A dental clinic must be licensed by the Massachusetts Department of Public 
Health (DPH) to be eligible to participate in MassHealth as a dental provider. A DPH license is 
not required for a state owned and operated dental clinic. A dental clinic that limits its services 
to education and diagnostic screening is not eligible to participate in MassHealth as a dental 
provider. 

(6)  Specialist in Orthodontics. A dentist who is a specialist in orthodontics must have 
completed a minimum of two years' training in a CODA advanced-education program in 
orthodontics that fulfills all educational requirements for eligibility for the examination by the 
American Board of Orthodontists. 
(7)  Specialist in Oral Surgery. A dentist who is a specialist in oral surgery must have 
completed a minimum of four years' training in an oral and maxillofacial surgery advanced-

education program, fulfilling the requirements for advanced training in oral and maxillofacial 
surgery as outlined by CODA and leading to a Certificate of Advanced Graduate Studies 
(CAGS). 
(8)  Other Dental Specialists. A dentist who is a specialist in any other area of dentistry (for 
example, pedodontics, anesthesiology, endodontics, periodontics, or prosthodontics) must have 
completed the appropriate CODA-accredited certificate program that satisfies eligibility 

requirements for the specific specialty board. 
(9)  Public Health Dental Hygienist. A dental hygienist engaged in private practice is eligible 
to participate in MassHealth as a dental provider and claim payment for certain services 
without the direct supervision of a dentist if he or she is licensed to practice as a registered 
dental hygienist by BORID and also meets the board’s requirements to practice in a public 
health setting pursuant to 234 CMR 2.00: General Rules and Requirements et seq. Private 

practices may include, but are not limited to, solo, partnership, or group practices. 
(10) Mobile Dental Facility (MDF) or Portable Dental Operation (PDO). A dentist or public 
health dental hygienist is eligible to participate in MassHealth as a dental provider and claim 
payment for certain services provided through a MDF or PDO only if the provider satisfies 
the requirements of 234 CMR 7.00: Mobile and Portable Dentistry and has obtained a valid 
permit as a MDF or PDO from BORID. 
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(B)  Out-of-state Providers. A dental provider whose practice is located outside of Massachusetts is 

eligible to participate in MassHealth as a dental provider and to be paid for dental services 
provided to MassHealth members only if the provider is licensed or certified by the state in which 
the provider practices, meets the specific provider eligibility requirements listed in 130 CMR 
420.404, and meets the conditions set forth in 130 CMR 450.109: Out of State Services. 
 
(C)  Enhancement Fee for Community Health Centers and Hospital-licensed Health Centers. 

 

(1)  To qualify for an enhancement fee for dental services, community health centers and 
hospital-licensed health centers must commit to undertaking efforts that include, but are not 
limited to, increasing access to dental-covered services by implementing and reporting on 

measures to increase the capacity and volume of dental services they deliver, either directly or 
through subcontracts with private dental providers. 
(2)  The dental enhancement fee is set by the Executive Office of Health and Human Services 
(EOHHS) (see 101 CMR 314.00: Dental Services). 

 

420.406: Caseload Capacity 

 
(A)  A provider must immediately notify the MassHealth agency when its individual, group, or 
facility practice has reached the maximum number of MassHealth members it can accept and also 

when its practice is accepting new MassHealth members. 
 
(B)  Group practices, community health centers, hospital-licensed health centers, and acute hospital 
outpatient departments that choose to establish a caseload capacity must establish a single caseload 
capacity for the entire group or facility. 

 

420.407: Maximum Allowable Fees 

 

The MassHealth agency pays for dental services with rates set by the Executive Office of Health 

and Human Services (EOHHS) at 101 CMR 314.00: Dental Services, subject to the conditions, 

exclusions, and limitations set forth in 130 CMR 420.000 and 450.000: Administrative and Billing 

Regulations. 
 

420.408: Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) Services 

 
The MassHealth agency pays for all medically necessary dental services for EPSDT-eligible 

members in accordance with 130 CMR 450.140: Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and 
Treatment (EPSDT) Services: Introduction, without regard to service limitations described in 130 
CMR 420.000, and with prior authorization. 

 

420.409: Noncovered Circumstances 

 
(A)  Conditions. The MassHealth agency does not pay for dental services under any of the 
following conditions: 

(1)  services provided in a state institution by a state-employed dentist, dental consultant, or 

public health dental hygienist; 
(2)  services provided by a provider whose salary includes compensation for professional 
services; 
(3)  if, under comparable circumstances, the provider does not customarily bill individuals who 
do not have health insurance; and 
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(4)  if the member is not an eligible MassHealth member on the date of service. The provider 

must verify the member’s eligibility for MassHealth on the date of service even if the provider 

has obtained prior authorization for the service. 

 

(B)  Substitutions. 

(1)  If a member desires a substitute for, or a modification of, a covered service, the member 
must pay for the entire cost of the service. The MassHealth agency does not pay for any 

portion of the cost of a substitute for, or modification of, a covered service. In all such instances, 
before performing services not covered for the member, the provider must inform the member 
both of the availability of covered services and of the member’s obligation to pay for those that 
are not covered services. 
(2)  It is unlawful (M.G.L. c. 6A, § 35) for a provider to accept any payment from a member for 
a service or item for which payment is available under MassHealth. If a member claims to have 

been misinformed about the availability of covered services, it will be the responsibility of the 
provider to prove that the member was offered a covered service, refused it, and chose instead 
to accept and pay for a service that MassHealth does not pay for. 
(3)  Providers may upgrade medically necessary services at no additional cost to the 
MassHealth agency or the member. 

 

420.410: Prior Authorization 

 
(A)  Introduction. 

(1)  The MassHealth agency pays only for medically necessary services to eligible MassHealth 
members and may require that medical necessity be established through the prior authorization 
process. In some instances, prior authorization is required for members 21 years of age or older 
when it is not required for members younger than 21 years old. 
(2)  Services requiring prior authorization are identified in Subchapter 6 of the Dental Manual, 
and may also be identified in billing instructions, program regulations, associated lists of 

service codes and service descriptions, provider bulletins, and other written issuances. The 
MassHealth agency only reviews requests for prior authorization where prior authorization is 
required or permitted (see 130 CMR 420.410(B)). 
(3)  The provider must not start a service that requires prior authorization until the provider has 
requested and received written prior authorization from the MassHealth agency. The 
MassHealth agency may grant prior authorization after a procedure has begun if, in the 

judgment of the MassHealth agency 
 

(a)  the treatment was medically necessary; 
(b)  the provider discovers the need for additional services while the member is in the 

office and undergoing a procedure; and 
(c)  it would not be clinically appropriate to delay the provision of the service. 
 

(B)  Services Requiring Prior Authorization. The MassHealth agency requires prior authorization 
for: 

(1)  those services listed in Subchapter 6 of the Dental Manual with the abbreviation “PA” or 

otherwise identified in billing instructions, program regulations, associated lists of service 
codes and service descriptions, provider bulletins, and other written issuances; 
(2)  any service not listed in Subchapter 6 for an EPSDT-eligible member; and 
(3)  any exception to a limitation on a service otherwise covered for that member as described in 
130 CMR 420.421 through 420.456. (For example, MassHealth limits prophylaxis to two per 
member per calendar year but pays for additional prophylaxis for a member within a calendar 

year if medically necessary.) 
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(C)  Submission Requirements. 

(1)  The provider is responsible for including with the request for prior authorization 
appropriate and sufficient documentation to justify the medical necessity for the service. Refer 
to Subchapter 6 of the Dental Manual for prior-authorization requirements. 
(2)  Instructions for submitting a request for prior authorization for Current Dental 
Terminology (CDT) codes are described in the MassHealth Dental Program Office Reference 
Manual. Dental providers requesting prior authorization for services listed with a CDT code 

must use the current American Dental Association (ADA) claim form. 
(3)  Instructions for submitting a request for prior authorization for CPT codes are described in 
the administrative and billing instructions (Subchapter 5) in all provider manuals. The provider 
must submit prior authorization requests for CPT codes to MassHealth in accordance with the 
instructions in Appendix A of all provider manuals. 
 

(D)  Other Requirements for Payment. 
(1)  Prior authorization determines only the medical necessity of the authorized service and 
does not establish or waive any other prerequisites for payment such as member eligibility, the 
availability of other health-insurance payment, or whether the service is a covered service. 
(2)  The MassHealth agency does not pay for a prior-authorized service when the member’s 
MassHealth eligibility is terminated on or before the date of service. 

(3)  When the member’s MassHealth eligibility is terminated before delivery of a special-order 
good, such as denture(s) and crown(s), the provider may claim payment in accordance with the 
provisions of 130 CMR 450.231(B): General Conditions of Payment. Refer to 130 CMR 
450.231(B) for special procedures in documenting member eligibility for special order goods. 

 

420.411: Pretreatment Review 

When the MassHealth agency identifies an unusual pattern of practice of a given provider, the 

MassHealth agency, at its discretion and pursuant to written notice, may require the provider to 

submit any proposed treatments identified by the MassHealth agency, including those not 

otherwise subject to prior authorization, for the MassHealth agency’s review and approval before 

treatment. 

 

420.412: Individual Consideration 

 

(A)  Certain services, including unspecified procedures, are designated "IC" (individual 

consideration) in Subchapter 6 of the Dental Manual and in the EOHHS pricing regulation for 

dental services, 101 CMR 314.00: Dental Services. This means that a fee could not be established 

for these services. The MassHealth agency determines appropriate payment for individual 

consideration services from the provider's detailed report of services provided (see Subchapter 6 of 

the Dental Manual for report requirements). The MassHealth agency does not pay claims for "IC" 

services without a complete report (see 130 CMR 420.415). If the documentation is illegible or 

incomplete, the MassHealth agency denies the claim. 

 
(B)  The MassHealth agency determines the appropriate payment for an individual-consideration 

service in accordance with the following standards and criteria: 
 

(1)  the amount of time required to perform the service; 
(2)  the degree of skill required to perform the service; 
(3)  the severity and complexity of the member's disease, disorder, or disability; and 

(4)  any extenuating circumstances or complications. 
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420.413: Separate Procedures 

 
Certain procedures are designated "SP" (separate procedure) in the service descriptions in 

Subchapter 6 of the Dental Manual. A separate procedure is one that is commonly performed as an 

integral part of a total service and therefore does not warrant a separate payment, but that 
commands a separate payment when performed as a separate procedure not immediately related to 
other services. For example,  
 

(A)  the MassHealth agency does not pay for a frenulectomy when it is performed as part of a 

vestibuloplasty, and full-study models are not payable separately when performed as part of 

orthodontic treatment or diagnosis. Nevertheless, the MassHealth agency does pay for frenulectomy 

as a separate procedure when medically necessary; and  

 
(B)  the MassHealth agency does not pay for restorations placed on two (2) or more surfaces within 
12 months on the same tooth as separate restorations at the one-surface rate. Claims submitted as 

separate restorations will be paid at the appropriate multi-surface restoration rates set by EOHHS at 
101 CMR 314.00: Dental Services, subject to the conditions, exclusions, and limitations set forth in 
130 CMR 420.000 and 450.000: Administrative and Billing Regulations. 

 

420.414: Recordkeeping Requirements 

 
(A)  Record Retention.  Federal and state regulations require that all MassHealth providers 
maintain complete written records of patients who are members. All original records, including 
original radiographs (physical or electronic), must be kept for a minimum of four years after the 

date of service. Records for members who are residents of long-term-care facilities must be retained 
by the dentist as part of the member's dental record and by the nursing facility as part of the 
member’s record at the facility. 
 
(B)  Dental Record.  Payment by the MassHealth agency for dental services listed in 130 CMR 
420.000 includes payment for preparation of the member's dental record, including electronic 

dental records. Services for which payment is claimed must be substantiated by clear evidence of 
the nature, extent, and necessity of care provided to the member. For all claims under review, the 
member's medical and dental records determine the appropriateness of services provided to 
members. The written dental record corresponding to the services claimed must include, but is not 
limited to: 

 

(1)  the member’s name, date of birth, and sex; 
(2)  the member’s identification number; 
(3)  the date of each service; 

(4)  the name and title of the individual servicing provider furnishing each service, if the dental 
provider claiming payment is not a solo practitioner; 
(5)  pertinent findings on examination and in medical history; 
(6)  a description of any medications administered or prescribed and the dosage given or 
prescribed; 
(7)  a description of any anesthetic agent administered, the dosage given, and the anesthesia 

flowsheet; 
(8)  a complete identification of treatment, including, when applicable, the arch, quadrant, 
tooth number, and tooth surface; 

 

(9)  dated digital or mounted radiographs, if applicable; and 
(10) copies of all approved prior authorization requests or the prior authorization number. 
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420.415: Report Required with Certain Claims 

 
(A)  The provider must submit with the claim for payment, a written description of the service 
provided in accordance with the requirements described in Subchapter 6 of the Dental Manual 

when 

(1)  the service description in Subchapter 6 stipulates “by report;” or 
(2)  the service is designated in Subchapter 6 as “IC”. See 130 CMR 420.412. 

(B)  The report must be sufficiently detailed to enable the MassHealth agency to assess the extent 
and nature of services provided. 

420.416: Pharmacy Services: Prescription Requirements 

 

For information on pharmacy services refer to 130 CMR 406.000: Pharmacy Services. 

(420.417 through 420.420 Reserved) 
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420.421: Covered and Noncovered Services: Introduction 

 

(A)  Medically Necessary Services. The MassHealth agency pays for the following dental services 

when medically necessary: 

(1)   the services with codes listed in Subchapter 6 of the Dental Manual, in accordance with 

the service descriptions and limitations described in 130 CMR 420.422 through 420.456; and 

(2)  all services for EPSDT-eligible members, in accordance with 130 CMR 450.140 through 

450.149, without regard for the service limitations described in 130 CMR 420.422 through 

420.456, or the listing of a code in Subchapter 6. All such services are available to EPSDT-

eligible members, with prior authorization, even if the limitation specifically applies to other 

members younger than 21 years old. 

 

(B)  Noncovered Services. The MassHealth agency does not pay for the following services for any 

member, except when MassHealth determines the service to be medically necessary and the 

member is younger than 21 years old. Prior authorization must be submitted for any medically 

necessary noncovered services for members younger than 21 years old. 

(1)  cosmetic services; 

(2)  certain dentures including unilateral partials, overdentures and their attachments, 

temporary dentures, CuSil-type dentures, other dentures of specialized designs or techniques, 

and preformed dentures with mounted teeth (teeth that have been set in acrylic before the 

initial impressions); 

(3)  counseling or member education services; 

(4)  habit-breaking appliances; 

(5)  implants of any type or description; 

(6)  laminate veneers; 

(7)  oral hygiene devices and appliances, dentifrices, and mouth rinses; 

(8)  orthotic splints, including mandibular orthopedic repositioning appliances; 
 

(9)  panoramic films for crowns, endodontics, periodontics, and interproximal caries; 

(10) root canals filled by silver point technique, or paste only; 

(11) tooth splinting for periodontal purposes; and 

(12) any other service not listed in Subchapter 6 of the Dental Manual. 

 

(C)  Covered Services for All Members 21 Years of Age or Older. The MassHealth agency pays for 

the services listed in 130 CMR 420.422 through 420.456 for all members 21 years of age or older 

in accordance with the service descriptions and limitations set forth therein: 

(1)  diagnostic services as described in 130 CMR 420.422; 

(2)  radiographs as described in 130 CMR 420.423; 

(3)  preventive services as described in 130 CMR 420.424; 

(4)  restorative services as described in 130 CMR 420.425; 

(5)  endodontic services as described in 130 CMR 420.426; 

(6)  periodontal services as described in 130 CMR 420.427; 

(7)  prosthodontic services as described in 130 CMR 420.428; 
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(8)  oral surgery services as described in 130 CMR 420.430; 
 

(9)  anesthesia services as described in 130 CMR 420.452; 

(10) oral and maxillofacial surgery services as described in 130 CMR 420.453; 

(11) maxillofacial prosthetics as described in 130 CMR 420.455; 

(12) behavior management services as described in 130 CMR 420.456(B); 

(13) palliative treatment of dental pain or infection services as described in 130 CMR 

420.456(C); and 

(14) house/facility call as described in 130 CMR 420.456(F). 

 

(D)  Noncovered Services for Members 21 Years of Age or Older.  The MassHealth agency does 

not pay for the following services for members 21 years of age and older: 

(1)  preventive services as described in 130 CMR 420.424(C); 

(2)  prosthodontic services (fixed) as described in 130 CMR 420.429; and 

(3)  other services as described in 130 CMR 420.456(A), (B), (E), and (F). 

 

420.422: Service Descriptions and Limitations: Diagnostic Services 

 

(A)  Comprehensive Oral Evaluation.  The MassHealth agency pays for a comprehensive oral 

evaluation once per member, per provider or per location. A comprehensive oral evaluation is more 

thorough than a periodic oral evaluation, and includes a written review of the member's medical 

and dental history, the examination and charting of the member’s dentition and associated 

structures, periodontal charting if applicable, diagnosis, and the preparation of treatment plans and 

reporting forms. It is a thorough evaluation and recording of the extraoral and intraoral hard and 

soft tissues.  

 

(B)  Periodic Oral Evaluation.  The MassHealth agency pays for a periodic oral evaluation twice 

per calendar year, per member, per provider or location. This service is not covered on the same 

date of service as a palliative emergency treatment visit. A periodic oral evaluation is performed 

on an established patient of record to determine any changes in the member’s dental and medical 

health status since a previous comprehensive or periodic oral evaluation. 

 

(C)  Oral Evaluation.  The MassHealth agency pays for this service twice per calendar year per 

provider or location. An oral evaluation is counseling with a primary caregiver (parent/guardian) for 

members younger than three years old. 

 

(D)  Limited Oral Evaluation.  The MassHealth agency pays for a limited oral evaluation twice per 

member per calendar year. A limited oral evaluation is not covered on the same date of service as a 

palliative emergency treatment visit. A limited oral evaluation is an evaluation limited to a specific 

oral health problem or complaint. This may require interpretation of information acquired through 

additional diagnostic procedures. Typically, patients receiving this type of evaluation present with a 

specific problem and/or dental trauma, pain, or acute infection.  
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(E)  Comprehensive Periodontal Evaluation.  The MassHealth agency pays for a comprehensive 

periodontal evaluation once per calendar year per member, per provider or per location. A 

comprehensive periodontal evaluation is indicated for members showing signs or symptoms of 

periodontal disease and for members with risk factors such as smoking or diabetes. A 

comprehensive periodontal evaluation includes evaluation of periodontal conditions, probing and 

charting, evaluation and recording of dental caries, missing or unerupted teeth, restorations, 

occlusal relationships, and oral cancer evaluation.  

 

(F)  Oral Screening.  The MassHealth agency pays for an oral screening twice per calendar year 

per member per provider. An oral screening may only be billed by public health dental hygienists. 

An oral screening includes state or federally mandated screenings to determine a member’s need 

to be seen by a dentist for further diagnosis. 

 

(G)  Limited Clinical Assessment.  The MassHealth agency pays for a limited clinical assessment 

once per calendar year per member per provider. A limited clinical assessment may only be billed 

by public health dental hygienists. A limited clinical assessment includes identification of possible 

signs of oral or systemic disease, malformation, injury, and/or the potential need for a referral for 

diagnosis and treatment by a dentist. 

 

420.423: Service Descriptions and Limitations: Radiographs 

 

(A)  Introduction and Definitions.  

(1)  The MassHealth agency pays for radiographs/diagnostic imaging taken as an integral part 

of diagnosis and treatment planning.  

(a)  Assessing Extent of Required Radiographs. Providers should conduct a clinical 

examination; consider the member’s oral and medical histories, as well as the member’s 

vulnerability to environmental factors that may affect the oral health before conducting a 

radiographic examination to determine the type of imaging, frequency, and number of 

images. Radiographs should be taken only when there is an expectation that the 

diagnostic yield will affect patient care. The intent is to confine radiation exposure of 

members to the minimum necessary to achieve satisfactory diagnosis.  

(b)  The provider must document efforts to obtain any previous radiographs/diagnostic 

imaging before prescribing more.  

(c)  When radiographs and diagnostic imaging submitted to the MassHealth agency as 

part of the prior authorization process or upon other request are not of good diagnostic 

quality, the provider may not claim payment for any retake of radiographs/diagnostic 

imaging requested by the MassHealth agency. 

(2)  Definitions. 

(a)  Bitewing Radiographs – a bitewing radiograph is a diagnostic image showing the crowns 

of the upper and lower teeth and alveolar bone simultaneously. 

(b)  Cephalometric Radiograph – a 2D image of the head made using Cephalostat to 

standardize anatomic, positioning, and with reproducible x-ray beam geometry. 

(c)  Intraoral Complete Series of Radiographic Images – intraoral complete series of 

radiographic images surveys the whole mouth; usually consists of 14 through 22 periapical  

 



Commonwealth of Massachusetts 
MassHealth 

Provider Manual Series 

Subchapter Number and Title 
4.  Program Regulations 

(130 CMR 420.000) 

Page 

4-12 

Dental Manual 
Transmittal Letter 

DEN-111 

Date 

10/15/21 

 

and posterior bitewing images, intended to display the crowns and roots of all teeth, 

periapical areas, and alveolar bone.   

(d)  Periapical Radiographs – diagnostic intraoral images showing tooth apices and 

surrounding structures in a particular intraoral area. 

(e)  Occlusal Radiographs – a supplementary radiograph designed to provide a more 

extensive view of the maxilla and mandible; highlighting tooth development and placement 

in children. 

(f)  Panoramic Radiograph – an extraoral image showing a 2D view of the patients’ entire 

jaw from ear to ear.  

 

(B)  Intraoral Conventional or Direct Digital Radiographs. 

(1)  Intraoral Complete Series of Radiographic Images. The MassHealth agency pays for 

intraoral complete series of radiographic images once every three calendar years per member; 

per provider or location. Intraoral complete series of radiographic images are recommended 

for members with clinical evidence of generalized oral disease or a history of extensive dental 

treatment. The MassHealth agency allows for substitution of the intraoral complete series of 

radiographic images with individualized radiographs consisting of posterior bitewings with a 

panoramic or occlusal radiograph and selected periapicals for members with transitional 

dentition. Panoramic radiographs cannot be substituted for intraoral complete series of 

radiographic images if intraoral complete series of radiographic images are required for a 

prior authorization request, unless the member has complete bony impacted teeth, or other 

surgical conditions listed under 130 CM 420.423(C)(1), and is edentulous. The MassHealth 

agency does not pay more for individual periapical radiographs (with or without bitewings) 

than it would for an intraoral complete series of radiographic images. The MassHealth agency 

further defines the numbers of radiographs which constitute intraoral complete series of 

radiographic images based on age limitations described in Appendix E of the Dental Manual.  

(2)  Bitewing Radiographs.  The MassHealth agency pays for up to four bitewing radiographs 

as separate procedures based on the clinical guidelines set forth by the American Dental 

Association. Providers must document variations from the ADA clinical guidelines in the 

member’s dental record. The MassHealth agency does not pay separately for bitewing 

radiographs taken as part of an intraoral complete series of radiographic images. 

(3)  Periapical Radiographs.  Periapical radiographs may be taken for specific areas where 

extraction is anticipated, or when infection, periapical change, or an anomaly is suspected, or 

when otherwise directed by the MassHealth agency. A maximum of four periapical 

radiographs is allowed per day per member, per provider, or location. 

(4)  Occlusal Radiographs.  The MassHealth agency pays for two occlusal radiographs per 

calendar year per member younger than five years old per provider or location.  

(5)  Panoramic Radiographs.  The MassHealth agency pays for panoramic radiographs for 

surgical and nonsurgical conditions as described in 130 CMR 420.423(C)(1) and (2).  The 

MassHealth agency does not pay for panoramic radiographs for orthodontics, crowns, 

endodontics, periodontics, and interproximal caries. 
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(6)  Cephalometric Radiographs.  The MassHealth agency pays for cephalometric radiographs 

in conjunction with surgical conditions including, but not limited to, status after facial trauma, 

mandibular fractures, dentoalveolar fractures, mandibular atrophy, and jaw dislocations. 

Payment for cephalometric radiographs, or other radiographs, in conjunction with orthodontic 

diagnosis is included in the payment for orthodontic services (see 130 CMR 420.431(C)(9)). 

The MassHealth agency does not pay separately for additional radiographs when required for 

orthodontic diagnosis. 

 

(C)  Surgical Conditions.  The MassHealth agency pays for panoramic radiographs when used as a 

diagnostic tool for surgical conditions, whether or not the radiograph is taken prior to the procedure 

or on the same date as the surgical procedure. Surgical conditions include, but are not limited to 

(1)  impactions; 

(2)  teeth requiring extractions in more than one quadrant; 

(3)  large cysts or tumors that are not fully visualized by intraoral radiographs or clinical 

examination; 

(4)  salivary-gland disease; 

(5)  maxillary-sinus disease; 

(6)  facial trauma; 

(7)  trismus where an intraoral radiographs placement is impossible; and  

(8)  orthognathic surgery. 

 

(D)  Nonsurgical Conditions. 

(1)  Members Younger than 21 Years Old.  The MassHealth agency pays for only one 

panoramic radiograph every three calendar years per member for nonsurgical conditions, to 

monitor the growth and development of permanent dentition as a part of an individualized 

radiograph series for the child member with transitional dentition. 

(2)  Members 21 Years of Age or Older.  The MassHealth agency pays for only one 

panoramic radiograph every three years per member in lieu of an intraoral complete series of 

radiographic images only for those members who are unable to cooperate with the process for 

obtaining an intraoral complete series of radiographic images or are edentulous. The provider 

must document in the member’s dental record the reasons the member cannot cooperate with 

the process for obtaining an intraoral complete series of radiographic images. 
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420.424: Service Descriptions and Limitations: Preventive Services 

 

(A)  Prophylaxis.  The MassHealth agency pays for prophylaxis twice per member per calendar 

year. The prophylaxis must include the removal of plaque, calculus, and stains from the tooth 

structures. MassHealth requires the provider to perform as part of this service oral hygiene 

instruction including but not limited to proper tooth brushing and flossing instructions and use of 

oral hygiene aids. The MassHealth agency does not pay a separate fee for oral hygiene instruction. 

 

(B)  Fluoride. 

(1)  Topical Fluoride Treatment. 

(a)  Members Younger than 21 Years Old.  The MassHealth agency pays for topical 

fluoride treatment every 90 days per member, per provider or location. Topical fluoride 

treatment consists of continuous topical application of an approved fluoride agent such as 

gels, foams, and varnishes, for a period shown to be effective for the agent. The 

MassHealth agency pays for treatment that incorporates fluoride with the polishing 

compound as part of the prophylaxis procedure. The MassHealth agency does not pay for 

treatment that incorporates fluoride with the polishing compound as a separate procedure. 

(b)  Members 21 Years of Age or Older.  The MassHealth agency pays for topical 

fluoride only for members who have medical or dental conditions that significantly 

interrupt the flow of saliva. Providers must submit a prior authorization request for this 

treatment for members 21 years of age or older. 

(2)  Fluoride Supplements.  The MassHealth agency pays for fluoride supplements only for 

members younger than 21 years old and through the pharmacy program (see 130 CMR 

406.000: Pharmacy Services). 

(3)  Interim Caries Arresting Medicament Application.  The MassHealth agency pays for 

interim caries arresting medicament such as silver diamine fluoride for all MassHealth 

members for treatment of asymptomatic and active dental caries only, twice per tooth per 

lifetime. Providers are required to retain documentation demonstrating medical necessity for 

interim caries arresting medicament application, including documentation of asymptomatic or 

active dental caries. 

 

(C)  Sealants.  The MassHealth agency pays for sealants, for members younger than 17 years old, 

on the occlusal surface of permanent noncarious nonrestored molars once every three calendar 

years per member per tooth; per provider or location. Sealants are placed on teeth by mechanically 

and/or chemically sealing the prepared enamel surface to prevent decay. The MassHealth agency 

does not pay for reapplication of sealants if the process fails within three calendar years. The 

MassHealth agency does not pay to replace sealants lost or damaged during the three calendar-

year period when reapplied by the same provider or location. The MassHealth agency does not pay 

for sealants applied to any tooth that has been restored. 

 

(D)  Space Maintainers.  Space maintainers are indicated when there is premature loss of teeth that 

may lead to loss of arch integrity. The MassHealth agency pays for two space maintainers per arch 

per lifetime for members younger than 21 years old, to include recemented or rebonded space 

maintainers, and replacement space maintainers. These appliances are indicated when there is 

premature loss of teeth that may lead to loss of arch integrity. The provider must maintain in the 

member’s record, diagnostic-quality radiographs that support the need for space maintainers  
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whether initial or replacement. Payment for subsequent visits to adjust space maintainers is 

included in the original payment. 

 

420.425: Service Descriptions and Limitations: Restorative Services 

 

The MassHealth agency pays for restorative services in accordance with the service 

descriptions and limitations in 130 CMR 420.425(A) through (E). The MassHealth agency 

considers all of the following to be components of a completed restoration (local anesthesia tooth 

preparation, acid etching, all adhesives applications, resin bonding agents, amalgam bonding 

agents, liners, bases, amalgams, resin-based composites, glass ionomers, curing and polishing) and 

includes them in the payment for this service. The MassHealth agency does not pay for composite 

or amalgam restorations replaced within one year of the date of completion of the original 

restoration when replaced by the same provider or dental group. The initial payment includes all 

restorations replaced due to defects or failure less than one year from the original placement. 

 

(A)  Amalgam Restorations.  The MassHealth agency does not pay for restorations on primary 

teeth when early exfoliation (more than 2/3 of the root structure resorbed) is expected. 
 

(B)  Resin-based Composite Restorations. 

(1)  The MassHealth agency pays for: 

(a)  all resin-based composite restorations for all surfaces of anterior and posterior teeth; 

and 

(b)  full-coverage composite crowns only for members younger than 21 years old, only for 

anterior primary teeth. 
 

(2)  For anterior teeth, the MassHealth agency pays no more than the maximum allowable 

payment for four-or-more-surface resin-based composite restorations on the same tooth, except 

for reinforcing pins. 

(3)  The MassHealth agency pays for only one resin-based composite restoration per member 

per tooth surface per 12 months per provider or provider location. 

(4)  The MassHealth agency does not pay more for a composite restoration on a posterior 

(primary or permanent) tooth than it would for an amalgam restoration. 

 

(C)  Crowns, Posts and Cores. 

(1)  Members Younger than 21 Years Old. The MassHealth agency pays for the following 

crown materials on permanent incisors, cuspids, bicuspids, and first and second molars: 

(a)  crowns made from resin-based composite (indirect); 

(b)  crowns porcelain fused to predominantly base metal; 

(c)  crowns porcelain fused to high noble metal; 

(d)  crowns made from porcelain or ceramic; 

(e)  crowns porcelain fused to semi-precious metal; 

(f)  full case high noble metal; 

(g)  posts and cores and/or pin retention;  

(h) prefabricated porcelain/ceramic crown -primary tooth; and 
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(i)  prefabricated stainless steel crowns for primary and permanent posterior teeth or 

prefabricated resin crowns for primary and permanent anterior teeth. Stainless steel or 

prefabricated resin crowns are limited to instances where the prognosis is favorable and 

must not be placed on primary teeth that are mobile or show advanced resorption of roots. The 

MassHealth agency pays for no more than four stainless steel or prefabricated resin 

crowns per member per date of service except in cases that are treated in a hospital 

operating room or ambulatory care center. 

 (2)  Members 21 Years of Age and Older.  The MassHealth agency pays for the following 

crown materials on permanent incisors, cuspids, bicuspids, and first and second molars: 

(a)  crowns porcelain fused to predominantly base metal; 

(b) crowns made from porcelain or ceramic;  

(c)  stainless steel crowns only if crown porcelain fused to predominately base metal is 

unsuitable and extraction (the alternative treatment) would cause undue medical risk for a 

member with one or more medical conditions that include, but are not limited to 

1.  hemophilia; 

2.  history of radiation therapy; 

3.  acquired or congenital immune disorder; 

4.  severe physical disabilities such as quadriplegia; 

5.  profound intellectual or developmental disabilities; or 

6.  profound mental illness; and 

(d)  posts and cores and/or pin retention. 

 

(D)  Reinforcing Pins.  The MassHealth agency pays for reinforcing pins only when used in 

conjunction with a two-or-more-surface restoration on a permanent tooth. Commercial amalgam 

bonding systems are included in this category. 
 

(E)  Crown or Bridge Repair.  The MassHealth agency pays for chairside crown repair for all 

members and fixed partial denture repair only for members younger than 21 years old. A 

description of the repair must be documented in the member’s dental record. The MassHealth 

agency pays for unspecified restoration procedures for crown repair by an outside laboratory only 

if the repair is extensive and cannot be done chairside. 

 

420.426: Service Descriptions and Limitations: Endodontic Services 

The MassHealth agency pays for endodontic services including all radiographs performed with 

the exception of panoramic radiographs, during the treatment visit. The MassHealth agency pays 

for endodontic services for all MassHealth members in accordance with the service descriptions 

and limitations described in 130 CMR 420.426. 
 

(A)  Pulpotomy. 

(1)  The MassHealth agency pays for a therapeutic pulpotomy for members younger than 21 

years old only.   
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(2)  Therapeutic pulpotomy is the surgical removal of a portion of the pulp with the aim of 

maintaining the vitality of the remaining portion by means of an adequate dressing. This 

procedure is performed on primary or permanent teeth. It is limited to instances when the 

prognosis is favorable, and must not be performed on primary teeth that are ready to exfoliate 

or permanent teeth with advanced periodontal disease or to be used for apexogenesis. 

(3)  The MassHealth agency does not pay for pulpotomy on deciduous teeth that are ready to 

exfoliate. 

(4)  The MassHealth agency does not pay for pulpotomy as the first stage of root canal therapy. 

(5)  The MassHealth agency does not pay for a pulpotomy performed on the same date of 

service as root canal therapy. (See 130 CMR 420.456(C) regarding palliative treatment.) 

 

(B)  Endodontic Root Canal Therapy. 

(1)  General Conditions. 

(a)  Payment by the MassHealth agency for root canal therapy includes payment for all 

preoperative and postoperative treatment; diagnostic (for example, pulp vitality) tests; and 

pretreatment, treatment, and post-treatment radiographs and anesthesia. MassHealth does 

not pay for pulpotomy as a separate procedure from root canal therapy. 

(b)  The provider must maintain a radiograph of the completed root canal in the member’s 

dental record. 

(c)  The MassHealth agency pays for root canal therapy on permanent anterior teeth, 

bicuspids, and first and second molars but does not pay for root canal therapy on third 

molars. Root canal therapy is limited to the permanent dentition only if the periodontal 

condition of the remaining dentition and soft tissue are stable with a favorable prognosis.  

 

(C)  Endodontic Retreatment. 

(1)  The MassHealth agency pays for endodontic retreatment of permanent anterior, bicuspids, 

and first and second molar teeth for all MassHealth members. This procedure may include the 

removal of a post, pins, old root canal filling material, and the procedures necessary to prepare 

the canals and place the canal filling. 

 (2)  Payment includes all retreatments within 24 months of the original root canal. 

 

(D)  Apicoectomy/Periradicular Surgery. 

(1)  The MassHealth agency pays for an apicoectomy as a separate procedure for all 

MassHealth members following root canal therapy when the canal cannot be retreated through 

reinstrumentation. 

(2)  Payment by the MassHealth agency for an apicoectomy with root canal filling includes 

payment for the filling of the canal or canals and removing the pathological periapical tissue 

and any retrograde filling in the same period of treatment. 

 

(E) Pulp Cap.  The MassHealth agency pays for indirect pulp cap on primary and permanent tooth 

to preserve tooth’s vitality once per tooth lifetime. 
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420.427: Service Descriptions and Limitations: Periodontal Services 

 

(A)  Surgical Periodontal Procedures.  The MassHealth agency pays for gingivectomies and 

gingivoplasties once per member per quadrant every three calendar years. The MassHealth agency 

does not pay for a gingivectomy performed on the same day as a prophylaxis, periodontal scaling 

and root planing, or as a separate procedure with an extraction. The MassHealth agency pays for 

the gingivectomy or gingivoplasty for a maximum of two quadrants on the same date of service in 

an office setting. Gingivectomy or gingivoplasty procedure is performed to eliminate suprabony 

pockets or to restore normal architecture when gingival enlargements or asymmetrical or 

unaesthetic topography is evident with normal bony configuration. Prior authorization is required 

for members 21 years of age or older. 

 

(B)  Periodontal Scaling and Root Planing.  The MassHealth agency pays for periodontal scaling 

and root planing once per member per quadrant every three calendar years. The MassHealth 

agency does not pay separately for prophylaxis provided on the same day as periodontal scaling 

and root planing or on the same day as a gingivectomy or a gingivoplasty. The MassHealth agency 

pays only for periodontal scaling and root planing for a maximum of two quadrants on the same 

date of service in an office setting. Periodontal scaling and root planing involves instrumentation 

of the crown and root surfaces of the teeth to remove plaque and calculus. It is indicated for 

members with active periodontal disease, not prophylactic. Root planing is the definitive 

procedure for the removal of rough cementum and dentin, and/or permeated by calculus or 

contaminated with toxins or microorganisms. Some soft tissue removal occurs. Local anesthesia is 

considered an integral part of periodontal procedures and may not be billed separately. Prior 

authorization is required for members 21 years of age or older. 

 

(C)  Non-surgical Scaling in the Presence of Generalized Moderate or Severe Gingival 

Inflammation - Full Mouth, after Oral Evaluation.  The MassHealth agency pays for non-surgical 

scaling in the presence of generalized moderate or severe gingival inflammation, twice per 

member per calendar year. The MassHealth agency does not pay for scaling in the presence of 

generalized moderate or severe gingival inflammation on the same day as a prophylaxis, 

periodontal scaling and root planing, or surgical periodontal procedure, or as a separate procedure 

with a full mouth debridement or periodontal maintenance. This procedure includes the removal of 

plaque, calculus, and stains from supra- and sub-gingival tooth surfaces when there is generalized 

moderate or severe gingival inflammation in the absence of periodontitis for members who have 

swollen, inflamed gingiva, generalized suprabony pockets, and moderate to severe bleeding on 

probing.  

 

420.428: Service Descriptions and Limitations: Prosthodontic Services (Removable) 

(A)  General Conditions.  The MassHealth agency pays for dentures services once per seven 

calendar years per member, subject to the age limitations specified in 130 CMR 420.428(B). 

MassHealth payment includes all services associated with the fabrication and delivery process, 

including all adjustments necessary in the six months following insertion. The member is 

responsible for all denture care and maintenance following insertion. The MassHealth agency does 

not pay for complete dentures when the member’s medical record indicates material limitations to 

the member’s ability to cooperate during the fabrication of the denture or to accept or function 

with the denture, or indications that the member does not intend to utilize the denture. 
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(B)  Prosthodontic Services.  The MassHealth agency pays for complete dentures for all members. 

The MassHealth agency pays for immediate dentures, including relines and post insertion 

procedures and placement of identification, for members younger than 21 years old. 

 

(C)  Denture Procedures. 

(1)  All denture services require appropriate diagnostic quality radiographs to be taken and 

stored in the member’s chart. 

(2)  As part of the denture fabrication process, the member must approve the teeth and setup in 

wax and try on the denture setup at a try-in visit before the dentures are processed. 

(3)  The member’s identification must be on each denture. 

(4)  All dentures must be initially inserted and subsequently examined and can be adjusted up 

to six months after the date of insertion by the dentist at reasonable intervals consistent with 

the community standards. 

(5)  If a member does not return for the insertion of the completed processed denture, the 

provider is required to submit to the MassHealth agency written evidence on their office 

letterhead of at least three attempts to contact the member over a period of one month via 

certified mail return receipt requested. Upon providing documentation, the provider may be 

reimbursed a percentage of the denture fee to assist in covering costs. See 130 CMR 450.231: 

General Conditions of Payment.  

 
 

(D)  Complete Dentures.  Payment by the MassHealth agency for complete dentures includes 

payment for all necessary adjustments, including relines, as described in 130 CMR 420.428(E). 

 

(E)  Removable Partial Dentures.  The MassHealth agency pays for removable partial dentures if 

there are two or more missing posterior teeth or one or more missing anterior teeth, the remaining 

dentition does not have active periodontitis, and there is a favorable prognosis for treatment 

outcome. A tooth is considered missing if it is a natural tooth or a prosthetic tooth missing from a 

fixed prosthesis. Payment for a partial denture includes payment for all necessary procedures for 

fabrication including clasps and rest seats. 

 

(F)  Replacement of Dentures.  The MassHealth agency pays for the necessary replacement of 

dentures. The member is responsible for denture care and maintenance. The member, or persons 

responsible for the member’s custodial care, must take all possible steps to prevent the loss of the 

member’s dentures. The provider must inform the member of the MassHealth agency’s policy on 

replacing dentures and the member’s responsibility for denture care. The MassHealth agency does 

not pay for the replacement of dentures if the member’s denture history reveals any of the 

following: 
 

(1)  repair or reline will make the existing denture usable; 

(2)  any of the dentures made previously have been unsatisfactory due to physiological causes 

that cannot be remedied; 

(3)  a clinical evaluation suggests that the member will not adapt satisfactorily to the new 

denture; 

(4)  no medical or surgical condition in the member necessitates a change in the denture or a 

requirement for a new denture; 

(5)  the existing denture is less than seven years old and no other condition in this list applies; 
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(6)  the denture has been relined within the previous two years, unless the existing denture is at 

least seven years old;  

(7)  there has been marked physiological change in the member’s oral cavity, and any further 

reline has a poor prognosis for success; or 

(8)  the loss of the denture was not due to extraordinary circumstances such as a fire in the 

home. 
 

(G)  Complete Denture Relines.  The MassHealth agency pays for chairside and laboratory 

complete denture relines. Payment for dentures includes any relines or rebases necessary within 

six months of the insertion date of the denture. The MassHealth agency pays for subsequent 

relines once every three calendar years per member.  
 

420.429: Service Descriptions and Limitations: Prosthodontic Services (Fixed) 

 

(A)  Fixed Partial Dentures/Bridges.  The MassHealth agency pays for fixed partial dentures/ 

bridge for anterior teeth only for members younger than 21 years old with two or more missing 

permanent teeth. The member must not have active periodontal disease, and the prognosis for the 

life of the bridge and remaining dentition must be excellent. 

 

(B)  Fixed Partial Denture/Bridge Repair.  The MassHealth agency pays for chairside fixed partial 

denture/bridge repair. A description of the repair must be documented in the member’s dental 

record. 

 

420.430: Covered Service Descriptions and Limitations: Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Services 

 

(A)  General Requirements. 

(1)  The MassHealth agency pays for oral and maxillofacial surgery services for all members, 

regardless of age, subject to the service descriptions and limitations as described in 130 CMR 

420.430. Payment for oral and maxillofacial surgery includes payment for local anesthesia, 

suture removal, irrigations, bony spicule removal, apical curettage of associated cysts and 

granulomas, enucleation of associated follicles, and routine preoperative and postoperative 

care. 

 (2)  The MassHealth agency pays for routine extractions provided in an office, hospital, or 

freestanding ambulatory surgery center. Use of a hospital or freestanding ambulatory surgery 

center for extractions is limited to those members whose health, because of a medical 

condition, would be at risk if these procedures were performed in the provider’s office. 

Member apprehension alone is not sufficient justification for use of a hospital or freestanding 

ambulatory surgery center. Lack of facilities for the administration of general anesthesia when 

the procedure can be routinely performed with local anesthesia does not justify the use of a 

hospital or a freestanding ambulatory surgery center. 
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(B)  Extraction.  The MassHealth agency pays for extractions. An extraction can be either the 

removal of soft tissue-retained coronal remnants of a deciduous tooth or the removal of an erupted 

tooth or exposed root by elevation or forceps, or both, including routine removal of tooth structure, 

minor smoothing of socket bone, and closure. The removal of root tips whose main retention is soft 

tissue is considered a simple extraction. All simple extractions may be performed as necessary. 

The MassHealth agency pays for incision and drainage as a separate procedure from an extraction 

performed on a different tooth on the same day. 

 

(C)  Surgical Removal of Erupted Tooth.  The MassHealth agency pays for the surgical removal of 

an erupted tooth. Surgical removal of an erupted tooth is the removal of any erupted tooth that 

includes the retraction of a mucoperiosteal flap and the removal of alveolar bone to aid in the 

extraction or the sectioning of a tooth. The provider must maintain clinical documentation 

demonstrating medical necessity and a preoperative radiograph of the erupted tooth in the 

member’s dental record to substantiate the service performed. 

 

(D)  Surgical Removal of Impacted Teeth.  The MassHealth agency pays for the surgical removal of 

an impacted tooth/teeth in a hospital or freestanding ambulatory surgery center, when medically 

necessary. Member apprehension alone is not sufficient justification for the use of a hospital or 

freestanding ambulatory surgery center. Lack of facilities for administering general anesthesia in 

the office setting when the procedure can be routinely performed with local anesthesia does not 

justify use of a hospital or freestanding ambulatory surgery center. 

(1)  Circumstances under which the MassHealth agency pays for surgical removal of impacted 
teeth include but are not limited to 

(a)  full bony impacted supernumerary teeth, mesiodens, or teeth unerupted because of lack 

of alveolar ridge length; 
(b)  teeth involving a cyst, tumor, or other neoplasm; 
(c)  unerupted teeth causing the resorption of roots of other teeth; 
(d)  partially erupted teeth that cause intermittent gingival inflammation; or 
(e)  perceptive radiologic pathology that fails to elicit symptoms. 

 

(2)  The provider must maintain a preoperative radiograph of the impacted tooth in the 

member's dental record to substantiate the service performed. The radiograph must clearly 

define the category of impaction. 

(3)  A root tip is not considered an impacted tooth. 

(4)  Surgical extraction of an erupted tooth is the removal of bone and/or sectioning of the tooth, 

and including elevation of mucoperiosteal flap if indicated. 

(5)  Surgical extraction with soft tissue is the removal of a tooth in which the occlusal surface 

of the tooth is covered by soft tissue requiring mucoperiosteal flap elevation for removal. 

 (6)  Surgical extraction with partial bony impaction is the removal of a tooth in which part of 

the crown is covered by bone and requires mucoperiosteal flap elevation and bone removal.  

(7)  Surgical extraction with complete bony impaction is the removal of a tooth in which most 

or the entire crown is covered by bone and requires mucoperiosteal flap elevation and bone 

removal. 

(8)  The MassHealth agency pays for surgical exposure of impacted or unerupted teeth to aid 

eruption only for members younger than 21 years old for orthodontic reasons. MassHealth 

agency payment for surgical exposure includes re-exposure due to tissue overgrowth or lack 

of orthodontic intervention. 
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(E)  Alveoloplasty.  

(1)  The MassHealth agency pays for alveoloplasty procedures performed in conjunction with 
the extraction of teeth. 
(2)  MassHealth agency payment for a quadrant alveoloplasty (dentulous or edentulous) 

includes any additional alveoloplasty of the same quadrant performed within six months of 

initial alveoloplasty. 

 

(F)  Vestibuloplasty.  The MassHealth agency pays for vestibuloplasty ridge extension. 
 

(G)  Frenulectomy.  The MassHealth agency pays for frenulectomy procedures. Frenulectomies 
may be performed to excise the frenum when the tongue has limited mobility, to aid in the closure 
of diastemas, and as a preparation for prosthetic surgery. If the purpose of the frenulectomy is to 
release a tongue, a written statement by a physician or primary care clinician and a speech 

pathologist clearly stating the problem must be maintained in the member’s dental record. The 
MassHealth agency does not pay for labial frenulectomies performed before the eruption of the 
permanent cuspids, unless there is documentation that the frenum attachment is interfering with 
proper infant feeding or orthodontic documentation that clearly justifies the medical necessity for 
the procedure. Such documentation must be maintained in the member’s dental record. 
 

(H)  Excision of Hyperplastic Tissue.  The MassHealth agency pays for excision of hyperplastic 
tissue by report. The MassHealth agency does not pay separately for the excision of hyperplastic 
tissue when performed in conjunction with an extraction. This procedure is generally reserved for 
the preprosthetic removal of such lesions as fibrous epuli or benign palatal hyperplasia. 
 
(I)  Excision of Benign Lesion.  The MassHealth agency pays for excision of soft tissue lesions. 

 

(J)  Removal of Exostosis and Tori.  The MassHealth agency pays for removal of exostosis and 
tori once per arch per member. 
 

(K)  Tooth Reimplantation and Stabilization of Accidentally Avulsed or Displaced Tooth.  The 

MassHealth agency pays for tooth reimplantation and stabilization of an accidentally avulsed or 

displaced tooth. The procedure includes splinting and stabilization. 

 

(L)  Treatment of Complications (Postsurgical).  The MassHealth agency pays for nonroutine 
postoperative follow-up in the office as an individual-consideration service only for unusual 
services and only to ensure the safety and comfort of a postsurgical member. This nonroutine 
postoperative visit may include drain removal or packing change. The provider must include a 
detailed report for individual consideration in conjunction with the claim form for postoperative 
visit. The report must at a minimum include the date, the location of the original surgery, and the 

type of procedure. 
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420.431: Service Descriptions and Limitations: Orthodontic Services 

 

(A)  General Conditions.  The MassHealth agency pays for orthodontic treatment, subject to prior 

authorization, service descriptions and limitations as described in 130 CMR 420.431. The provider 

must seek prior authorization for orthodontic treatment and begin initial placement and insertion of 

orthodontic appliances and partial banding or full banding and brackets prior to the member’s 21
st
 

birthday.  

 

(B)  Definitions. 

(1)  Pre-orthodontic Treatment Examination – includes the periodic observation of the 

member’s dentition at intervals established by the orthodontist to determine when orthodontic 

treatment should begin. 

(2)  Interceptive Orthodontic Treatment – includes treatment of the primary and transitional 

dentition to prevent or minimize the development of a handicapping malocclusion and 

therefore, minimize or preclude the need for comprehensive orthodontic treatment.  

(3)  Comprehensive Orthodontic Treatment – includes a coordinated diagnosis and treatment 

leading to the improvement of a member’s craniofacial dysfunction and/or dentofacial 

deformity which may include anatomical and/or functional relationship. Treatment may utilize 

fixed and/or removable orthodontic appliances and may also include functional and/or 

orthopedic appliances. Comprehensive orthodontics may incorporate treatment phases 

including adjunctive procedures to facilitate care focusing on specific objectives at various 

stages of dentofacial development.  

(4)  Orthodontic Treatment Visits – periodic visits which may include but are not limited to 

updating wiring, tightening ligatures or otherwise evaluating and updating care while 

undergoing comprehensive orthodontic treatment.  

 

(C)  Service Limitations and Requirements.  
(1)  Pre-orthodontic Treatment Examination. The MassHealth agency pays for a pre-

orthodontic treatment examination for members younger than 21 years old, once per six (6) 

months per member, and only for the purpose of determining whether orthodontic treatment is 

medically necessary, and can be initiated before the member’s twenty-first birthday. The 

MassHealth agency pays for a pre-orthodontic treatment examination as a separate procedure 

(see 130 CMR 420.413). The MassHealth agency does not pay for a pre-orthodontic treatment 

examination as a separate procedure in conjunction with pre-authorized ongoing or planned 

orthodontic treatment.  

(2)  Interceptive Orthodontics.  

(a)  The MassHealth agency pays for interceptive orthodontic treatment once per member 

per lifetime. The MassHealth agency determines whether the treatment will prevent or 

minimize a handicapping malocclusion based on the clinical standards described in 

Appendix F of the Dental Manual.  
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(b)  The MassHealth agency limits coverage of interceptive orthodontic treatment to 

primary and transitional dentition with at least one of the following conditions: 

constricted palate, deep impinging overbite, Class III malocclusion  including skeletal 

Class III cases  as defined in Appendix F of the Dental Manual when a protraction 

facemask/reverse pull headgear is necessary at a young age, craniofacial anomalies, 

anterior cross bite, or dentition exhibiting results of harmful habits or traumatic 

interferences between erupting teeth. 

(c)  When initiated during the early stages of a developing problem, interceptive 

orthodontics may reduce the severity of the malformation and mitigate its causes. 

Complicating factors such as skeletal disharmonies, overall space deficiency, or other 

conditions may require subsequent comprehensive orthodontic treatment. Prior 

authorization for comprehensive orthodontic treatment may be sought for Class III 

malocclusions as defined in Appendix F of the Dental Manual requiring facemask 

treatment at the same time that authorization for interceptive orthodontic treatment is 

sought. For members with craniofacial anomalies, prior authorization may separately be 

sought for the cost of appliances, including installation. 

(3)  Comprehensive Orthodontics.  The MassHealth agency pays for comprehensive 

orthodontic treatment, subject to prior authorization, once per member per lifetime for a 

member younger than 21 years old and only when the member has a handicapping 

malocclusion. The MassHealth agency determines whether a malocclusion is handicapping 

based on clinical standards for medical necessity as described in Appendix D of the Dental 

Manual. Upon the completion of orthodontic treatment, the provider must take post treatment 

photographic prints and maintain them in the member’s dental record. 

The MassHealth agency pays for the office visit, radiographs and a record fee of the pre-

orthodontic treatment examination (alternative billing to a contract fee) when the MassHealth 

agency denies a request for prior authorization for comprehensive orthodontic treatment or 

when the member terminates the planned treatment. The payment for a pre-orthodontic 

treatment consultation as a separate procedure does not include models or photographic prints. 

The MassHealth agency may request additional consultation for any orthodontic procedure. 

Payment for comprehensive orthodontic treatment is inclusive of initial placement, and 

insertion of the orthodontic fixed and removable appliances (for example: rapid palatal 

expansion (RPE) or head gear), and records. Comprehensive orthodontic treatment may occur 

in phases, with the anticipation that full banding must occur during the treatment period. The 

payment for comprehensive orthodontic treatment covers a maximum period of three (3) 

calendar years. The MassHealth agency pays for orthodontic treatment as long as the member 

remains eligible for MassHealth, if initial placement and insertion of fixed or removable 

orthodontic appliances begins before the member reaches 21 years of age. 

Comprehensive orthodontic care should commence when the first premolars and 1
st
 

permanent molars have erupted. It should only include the transitional dentition in cases with 

craniofacial anomalies such as cleft lip or cleft palate. Comprehensive treatment may 

commence with second deciduous molars present. 

Subject to prior authorization, the MassHealth agency will pay for more than one 

comprehensive orthodontic treatment for members with cleft lip, cleft palate, cleft lip and 

palate, and other craniofacial anomalies to the extent treatment cannot be completed within 

three years. 
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(4)  Orthodontic Treatment Visits.  The MassHealth agency pays for orthodontic treatment 

visits on a quarterly (90-days) basis for ongoing orthodontic maintenance and treatment 

beginning after the initial placement, and insertion of the orthodontic fixed and removable 

appliances. If a member becomes inactive for any period of time, prior authorization is not 

required to resume orthodontic treatment visits and subsequent billing, unless the prior 

authorization time limit has expired. The provider must document the number and dates of 

orthodontic treatment visits in the member’s orthodontic record. 

(5)  Orthodontic Case Completion.  The MassHealth agency pays for orthodontic case 

completion for comprehensive orthodontic treatment which includes the removal of 

appliances, construction and placement of retainers and follow-up visits. The MassHealth 

agency pays for a maximum of five (5) visits for members whose orthodontic treatment begins 

before their 21
st
 birthday, consistent with 130 CMR 420.431(A). The MassHealth agency pays 

for the replacement of lost or broken retainers with prior authorization. 

(6)  Orthodontic Transfer Cases.  The MassHealth agency pays for members who transfer 

from one orthodontic provider to another for orthodontic services subject to prior 

authorization to determine the number of treatment visits remaining. Payment for transfer 

cases is limited to the number of treatment visits approved. Providers must submit requests 

using the form specified by MassHealth. 

(7)  Orthodontic Terminations.  The MassHealth agency requires providers to make all efforts 

to complete the active phase of treatment before requesting payment for removal of brackets 

and bands of a noncompliant member. If the provider determines that continued orthodontic 

treatment is not indicated because of lack of member’s cooperation and has obtained the 

member’s consent, the provider must submit a written treatment narrative on office letterhead 

with supporting documentation, including the case prior authorization number.  

(8)  Radiographs.  Payment for Cephalometric and radiographs used in conjunction with 

orthodontic diagnosis is included in the payment for comprehensive orthodontic treatment 

(see 130 CMR 420.423(D)). The MassHealth agency pays for radiographs as a separate 

procedure for orthodontic diagnostic purposes only for members younger than 21 years old if 

requested by the MassHealth agency.  

(9)  Oral/Facial Photographic Images.  The MassHealth agency pays for digital or 

photographic prints, not slides, only to support prior-authorization requests for comprehensive 

orthodontic treatment. Payment for digital or photographic prints is included in the payment 

for comprehensive orthodontic treatment or orthognathic treatment. The MassHealth agency 

does not pay for digital or photographic prints as a separate procedure (see 130 CMR 

420.413). Payment for orthodontic treatment includes payment for services provided as part of 

the pre-orthodontic treatment examination, unless the MassHealth agency denies the prior 

authorization request for interceptive or comprehensive orthodontic treatment. The 

MassHealth agency pays for the pre-orthodontic treatment examination if prior authorization 

is denied for interceptive or comprehensive orthodontic treatment. 
  

 (130 CMR 420.432 through 420.451 Reserved) 
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420.452: Service Descriptions and Limitations: Anesthesia 

(A)  General Requirements.  The MassHealth agency pays for general anesthesia and intravenous 

moderate (conscious) sedation/analgesia subject to the service descriptions and limitations 

described in 130 CMR 420.452 and in accordance with the service description of Subchapter 6 in 

the Dental Manual. 

(1)  Deep Sedation/General Anesthesia.  Deep sedation and general anesthesia, when 

administered in a dental office, must be administered only by a provider who possesses both 
an anesthesia-administration permit and an anesthesia-facility permit issued by the 
Massachusetts Board of Registration in Dentistry (BORID) and when a member is eligible for 
oral-surgery services. All rules, regulations, and requirements set forth by the Massachusetts 
BORID and by the Massachusetts Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons must be 
followed without exception.  

(2)  Intravenous Moderate Sedation/Analgesia.  The MassHealth agency pays for intravenous 
moderate sedation/analgesia sedation when administered in a dental office, and when a 
member is eligible for oral-surgery services, administered by a provider who possesses both 
an anesthesia-administration permit and an anesthesia-facility permit issued by the 
Massachusetts BORID. 
(3)  Inhalation of Nitrous Oxide/Oral Analgesia.  

(a)  The MassHealth agency pays for the oral administration of analgesia, as part of an 
operative procedure.  
(b)  The MassHealth agency pays for the administration of inhalation analgesia (nitrous 
oxide (N2O/O2)) as a separate procedure. 

(4)  Local Anesthesia.  The MassHealth agency pays for the administration of local anesthesia as 

part of an operative procedure. The MassHealth agency does not pay for local anesthesia as a 

separate procedure (See 130 CMR 420.413). 

 

(B)  Documentation. The provider must maintain a completed anesthesia flowsheet in the 

member's dental record for each procedure requiring the use of anesthesia. In addition, the provider 

must document the following in the member's dental record: 
 

(1)  the beginning and ending times of deep sedation/general anesthesia, IV moderate 
sedation/analgesia, or inhalation of nitrous oxide analgesia procedure. The anesthesia time 

begins when the provider administers the anesthetic agent. The provider is required to follow 
the non-invasive monitoring protocol and remain in continuous attendance of the member. 
Anesthesia services are considered completed when the member may be safely left under the 
observation of trained personnel and the provider may safely leave the room. The level of 
anesthesia is determined by the provider’s documentation and consideration of the member’s 
history with anesthesia and anesthetic effects upon the central nervous system and is not 

dependent upon the route of administration; 
(2)  preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative vital signs; 
 (3)  medications administered, including their dosages and routes of administration; 
(4)  monitoring equipment used;  
(5)  a statement of the member's response to the analgesic or anesthetic used including any 
complication or adverse reaction; and 

(6)  a record of the member’s history with anesthesia or analgesics. 
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420.453: Service Descriptions and Limitations: Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Services Performed by 

Specialists in Oral Surgery 

 

The MassHealth agency pays for oral and maxillofacial surgery services subject to the service 

descriptions and limitations described in 130 CMR 420.453. Payment for oral and maxillofacial 

surgery services includes routine inpatient preoperative and postoperative care as well as for any 

related administrative or supervisory duties in connection with member care. 
 

(A)  Introduction.  Oral and maxillofacial surgery services consist of those basic surgical services 

essential for the prevention and control of diseases of the oral cavity and supporting structures and 

for the maintenance of oral health. The MassHealth agency pays for maxillofacial surgery services 

only for the purpose of anatomic and functional reconstruction of structures that are missing, 

defective, or deformed because of surgical intervention, trauma, pathology, or developmental or 

congenital malformations. Cosmetic benefit may result from such surgical services but cannot be 

the primary reason for those services. 

 

(B)  General Conditions.  The MassHealth agency pays only a dentist who is a specialist in oral 

surgery for the services listed in Subchapter 6 of the Dental Manual designated as Current 

Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes. Oral and maxillofacial surgery services should be performed 

in the office location where technically feasible and safe for the member. The MassHealth agency 

pays for the use of such settings when it is justified by the difficulty of the surgery (for example, 

four deep bony impactions) and the medical health of the member (for example, asthmatic on 

multiple medications, history of substance use disorder, seizure disorder, or developmentally 

disabled). Member fear or apprehension does not justify the use of a hospital or freestanding 

ambulatory surgery center. 

 

(C)  Surgical Assistants.  The MassHealth agency pays a surgical assistant 15 percent of the 

allowable fee for the procedure performed. 

 

(D)  Preoperative Diagnosis and Postoperative Care.  Payment for surgery procedures performed 

in a hospital or freestanding ambulatory surgery center includes payment for preoperative 

diagnosis and postoperative care during the member's stay. 

 

(E)  Inpatient Visits.  The MassHealth agency pays providers for visits to hospitalized members 

except for routine preoperative and postoperative care to members who have undergone or who are 

expected to undergo surgery. Inpatient visits are payable only under exceptional circumstances, 

such as with preoperative or postoperative complications or the need for extended care, prolonged 

attention, intensive care services, or consultation services. The provider must substantiate the need 

for this service in the member's hospital medical record. 

 

(F)  Multiple Procedures.  Where two or more individual procedures are performed in the same 

operative session, the MassHealth agency pays the full amount for the procedure with the highest 

payment rate, and each additional procedure is payable at 50 percent of the amount that would have 

been paid if performed alone. This requires the use of modifiers and applies only to those oral-

surgery codes listed in Subchapter 6 of the Dental Manual designated as Current Procedural 

Terminology (CPT) codes. 
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(G)  Orthognathic Surgery. 

(1)  The MassHealth agency pays for orthognathic surgery including select surgical 

procedures related to Temporomandibular Joint Disorder or Obstructive Sleep Apnea. 

(2)  Any proposed orthognathic or orthodontic treatment must meet all the criteria described at 

130 CMR 420.431. 

(130 CMR 420.454 Reserved) 
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420.455: Service Descriptions and Limitations: Maxillofacial Prosthetics 

 

(A)  The MassHealth agency pays for maxillofacial prosthetics by providers who have completed a 

CODA certificate program in maxillofacial prosthetics (as described in 130 CMR 420.405(A)(8)) 

and only where the maxillofacial prosthetic device will be constructed for the treatment of a 

member with congenital, developmental, or acquired defects of the mandible or maxilla and 

associated structures. 

 

(B)  The MassHealth agency pays for opposing appliances only when they are necessary for the 

balance or retention of the primary maxillofacial prosthetic device. 

 

420.456: Service Descriptions and Limitations: Other Services 

 

(A)  Hospital or Freestanding Ambulatory Surgical Center: Admission of Members with Certain 

Disabilities or Age-Related Behavior for Restorative, Endodontic, or Exodontic Dentistry. 

(1)  The MassHealth agency pays for a member who is severely and chronically mentally and 

physically impaired, under certain circumstances, to undergo restorative, endodontic, or 

exodontic dental procedures for which they are eligible in a hospital or freestanding 

ambulatory surgery center. Use of these facilities may be indicated for a member who 

(a)  has a condition that is reasonably likely to place the member at risk of medical 
complications that require medical resources that are not available in an office setting; 

(b)  is extraordinarily uncooperative, fearful, or anxious; 
(c)  has dental needs, but local anesthesia is ineffective due to acute infection, 
idiosyncratic anatomy, or allergy; or 
(d)  has sustained orofacial or dental trauma, or both, so extensive that treatment cannot be 
provided safely and effectively in an office setting. 

(2)  The member’s medical record must include: 
(a)  a detailed description of the member’s illness or disability; 

(b)  a history of previous treatment or attempts at treatment; 

(c)  a treatment plan listing all procedures and the teeth involved; 

(d)  radiographs (if radiographs are not available, an explanation is required); 

(e)  photographs to indicate the condition of the mouth if radiographs are not available; and 

(f)  documentation that there is no other suitable site of service for the member that would 

be less costly to the MassHealth agency. 

 

(B)  Behavioral Management.  The MassHealth agency pays an additional payment once per 

member per day for management of a severely and chronically mentally, physically, or 

developmentally impaired member in the office. The provider must document a history of 

treatment or previous attempts at treatment in the member’s medical record. 
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(C)  Palliative Treatment of Dental Pain or Infection.  The MassHealth agency pays for palliative 

treatment to alleviate dental pain or infection as part of an emergency service visit. Palliative 

treatment includes those services minimally required to address the immediate emergency 

including, but not limited to, draining of an abscess, prescribing pain medication or antibiotics, or 

other treatment that addresses the member’s chief complaint. The provider must maintain in the 

member’s dental record a description of the treatment provided and must document the emergent 

nature of the condition. The MassHealth agency pays separately for medically necessary covered 

services provided during the same visit. 
 

(D)  Occlusal Guard.  The MassHealth agency pays for occlusal guards only for members younger 

than 21 years old and only once per calendar year. The MassHealth agency pays for only custom-

fitted laboratory-processed occlusal guards designed to minimize the effects of bruxism (grinding) 

and other occlusal factors. All follow-up care is included in the payment. 
 

(E)  Mouth Guard for Sports.  The MassHealth agency pays for custom-fitted mouth guards only 

for members younger than 21 years old once per calendar year. The provider must document the 

following information in the member’s record: that the member is engaged in a contact sport 

(including, but not limited to basketball, football, hockey, lacrosse, and soccer) and there must be 

no other provision for the purchase of mouth guards for the sport’s participants.  
 

(F)  House/Facility Call.  The MassHealth agency pays for visits to nursing facilities, chronic 

disease and rehabilitation hospitals, hospice facilities, schools, and other licensed educational 

facilities, once per facility per day, in addition to any medically necessary MassHealth-covered 

service provided during the same visit. 
 

 

REGULATORY AUTHORITY 

130 CMR 420.000: M.G.L. c. 118E, §§7 and 12. 

 

 


