HANDICAPPED PARKING REGULATIONS

Combining the More Stringent Regulations of the Americans with Disabilities Act and the Massachusetts Architectural Access Board

All parking lots for customers or visitors (with the exception of valet parking), should have accessible spaces for vehicles with proper identification. Parking lots for employees (built or altered as of 1/26/92) must also have accessible spaces. If an employee with a disability needs such accommodation in an older parking lot, s/he should request it of the employer.

Parking Space Size:

Accessible spaces should be at least 8 feet wide, with level access aisles not less than 5 feet wide. Two accessible spaces may share a common aisle.

Location:

These spaces should be in a level location providing the shortest safe, accessible route of travel to an accessible entrance. With more than one accessible entrance, the spaces should be located near each accessible entrance. Sidewalks at such spaces should have curb cuts at each access aisle, so a person is not required to enter the stream of traffic to get to a sidewalk.

Parking Space Number:

space Number.	
Total Spaces	Required Accessible Spaces
	(521 CMR and ADA)
1-4 (ADA Only)	1 spaces without signage
5-14 (ADA Only)	1 space
15-25	1 space
26-50	2 spaces
51-75	3 spaces
76-100	4 spaces
101-150	5 spaces
151-200	6 spaces
201-300	7 spaces
301-400	8 spaces
401-500	9 spaces
501-1000	2% of total
1001 and Over	20, plus 1 for each 100, or
	fraction thereof, over 1000



Outpatient Medical Facilities:

10% of the total spaces should be accessible.

Facilities specializing in treatment or services for people with mobility impairment:

20% of the total spaces should be accessible.

Van Parking:

One in six handicapped spaces (minimum one) should be a "van accessible" space, 8 feet wide with an access aisle 8 feet wide allowing a van to operate a lift. Or all spaces may be "universal" spaces 11 feet wide with a 5 foot access aisle.

Signs:

There should be a permanent sign at each space showing the accessibility symbol, like on the sign above. Van accessible spaces should have an additional sign below it saying "VAN ACCESSIBLE". Signs shall be mounted no lower than 5 feet to the bottom of the sign nor more than 8 feet to the top of the sign.

For More Information:

For Additional Information about State and Federal Regulations and Enforcement, call the Massachusetts Office on Disability at (617) 727-7440 or (800) 322-2020.