
Massachusetts Department of Labor Standards
Fee Schedule and Surcharges

TITLE                                                                          FEE SURCHARGE 1 SURCHARGE 2 TOTAL

Seasonal Wage Certificate for Residential

and Day Camps

$100 $100 per person

Special Wage Permit for Sheltered

Workshops, Employees with Disabilities in

Community Employment, and Student

Waivers

$100 $100 per year

120 Days Seasonal Permits for Overtime

Exemptions

$200 $200 per season

Approval for Employee Uniform Deposits

and Waivers

$100 $100 per year

Sponsor Fee $300 $300 per employer/year

Apprentice ID card $35 $35 per apprentice/per year

Dispensing optician apprentice application $40 $40 per apprentice (one‐ time fee)

Sponsor verification $50 $50 per employer / per

request

Deleader Contractor License $500 $25 $50 $575 annual

Deleader Supervisor License $100 $25 $25 $150 annual

Deleader Certification‐Training Provider $1,700 $25 $50 $1,775 annual

Deleader Duplicate License $20 $25 $45 annual

Deleader Worker License $25 $25 $50 annual

Lead‐Safe Renovator Contractor License $100 $25 $250
$375 every 5 years (includes the $50 
surcharge for the 2 nd  through 5 th years 

of the license)

Lead‐Safe Renovator Training Provider $1,700 $25 $50

$1,775 (fee waived for State,

federally recognized Indian Tribe, 

local government or non‐profit 

organization; $75 surcharge still 

applies)
Lead‐Safe Renovator Duplicate License $20 $25 $45 annual

 

Asbestos Abatement Contractor $2,000 $50 $2,050 annual

Supervisor $200 $25 $225 annual

Management Planner 3 $600 $25 $625 annual

Inspector 4 $600 $25 $625 annual

Project Designer $600 $25 $625 annual

Project Monitor $600 $25 $625 annual

Analytical Services $700 $50 $750 annual

Training Provider $1,700 $50 $1,750 annual

Asbestos Abatement Worker License $50 $25 $75 annual

Asbestos Abatement Duplicate License $20 $25 $45 per License
Asbestos Abatement Duplicate

Certification
$20 $25 $45 per Certification

Licensed Employment Agency (one to four

counselors)
$250 $50 $300 per year

Licensed Employment Agency (five or more

counselors)
$500 $50 $550 per year

Registered Placement Agency (main office) $250 $50 $300 per year
Registered Placement Agency (each branch

office)
$130 $50 $180 per year

Minimum Wage Program

Asbestos Safety

Employment, Placement and Staffing Agencies Program

Deleading &Lead Safety

Division of Apprentice Standards
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Massachusetts Department of Labor Standards
Fee Schedule and Surcharges

TITLE                                                                          FEE SURCHARGE 1 SURCHARGE 2 TOTAL

Third Party Instructor/Consultant

Registration
$20 $20 annual

Training Seminar Attendance Fee $50 $50 per person

1   All persons licensed to perform deleading services are required to pay a $25.00 surcharge in accordance

with section 22 of Chapter 482 of the Acts of 1993, which reads in relevant part: “Amounts raised by said

surcharges shall be deposited into a retained revenue account hereby established for the department of

public health, for the production and dissemination of educational materials pertaining to lead paint

poisoning prevention and treatment issues, as required by section one hundred and ninety‐two B and

section one hundred and ninety‐seven A of chapter one hundred and eleven of the General Laws, and for

training of lead paint inspectors as well as homeowner training for those aspects of lead paint abatement

or containment which the department, through regulations, authorizes homeowners to perform

themselves. The department shall use amounts in said retained revenue account for the aforesaid

purposes and for no other, without the need for further appropriation.”

2  In accordance with Section 212 of chapter 184 of the Acts of 2002, these surcharges shall be collected for

the purpose of conducting “occupational safety and health inspections, assessment and other operations

as required by [the statutes governing lead abatement, asbestos abatement, and the regulation of

employment agencies].”

3   A person applying for certification as an Asbestos Inspector and as an Asbestos Management Planner at

the same time need pay only one fee (including surcharges).

4   See footnote 3.

NOTE:   Fees for Employment Agencies, Right‐to‐Know, Asbestos, Lead, and Minimum Wage have been

established by the Executive Office for Administration and Finance pursuant to 801 CMR 4.02, the

Massachusetts regulation governing Fees, Licenses, Permits and Services to be Charged by State Agencies.

Fees for Apprentice Training have been set in accordance with M.G.L. c. 23, §11W and sections 636‐639 of

Chapter 26 of the Acts of 2003.

Right to Know Program
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