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What kind of help is available
The instructions in the Department of Revenue’s tax forms should provide answers to most taxpayer questions. If you have questions about com-
pleting your Massachusetts tax form, you can call us at (617) 887-6367 or toll-free in Massachusetts at 1-800-392-6089 Monday through Friday. 
DOR’s website at mass.gov/dor is also a valuable resource for tax information 24 hours a day. Thousands of taxpayers use DOR’s website to e-mail 
and receive prompt answers to their general tax inquiries. Interactive applications that allow taxpayers to check the status of their refunds and re-
view their quarterly estimated tax payment histories are available through our website or by calling our main information lines listed above.

Where to get forms and publications
Many Massachusetts tax forms and publications are available via the DOR website. The address for the Department’s website is mass.gov/dor.

For general tax information. Please call (617) 887-6367 or toll-free in Massachusetts 1-800-392-6089. These main information 
lines can provide assistance with the following:
◗  abatements    	 ◗  corporate excise    	 ◗  fiduciary taxes    	 ◗  personal income taxes
◗  bills and payments    	 ◗  estate taxes    	 ◗  nonresident information   	 ◗  refunds
◗  business registration    	 ◗  estimated taxes    	 ◗  partnerships    	 ◗  withholding
◗  business taxes    	 ◗  certificate of good standing

For help in one of the following specific areas. Please call the number listed below.
◗  Installment sales (617) 887-6950
◗  Vision-impaired taxpayers can contact any DOR office to receive assistance.
◗  Upon request, this publication is available in an alternative format. Please send your request to: Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity,
PO Box 9557, Boston, MA 02114-9557.

To report allegations of suspected misconduct or impropriety involving Department of Revenue employees, please call the Office of Ethics and
Employee Responsibility Hot Line at 1-800-565-0085 or write to PO Box 9567, Boston, MA 02114.
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Major 2024 Tax 
Law Changes
For more up-to-date and detailed information and 
to view all of the public written statements ref
erenced in these instructions, visit mass.gov/dor.

Filing Due Dates 
Massachusetts General Laws (MGL) ch. 62C, §§ 
11 and 12 require C corporations to file their tax 
returns on or before the 15th day of the fourth 
month following the close of each taxable year. 
The filing due date for S corporation tax returns 
is the 15th day of the third month following the 
close of each taxable year. For more information, 
see Technical Information Release (TIR) 17-5. 

Temporary Authorized Training Tax 
Credit for Emergency Assistance  
A new credit takes effect for tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2024. The credit is avail-
able to businesses that provide training to individ-
uals receiving benefits through the Massachusetts 
emergency housing assistance program. The 
credit is equal to $2,500 for each such employee. 
The credit is temporary. It is available only for tax 
years during which the emergency housing assis-
tance program is subject to capacity limitations. 
The credit is no longer available as of January 1, 
2026.  See TIR 24-7 for additional information. 

Qualified Veterans Hire Tax Credit 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2024, the qualified veterans hire tax credit for 
qualified employers that hire eligible veterans in-
creases from $2,000 to $2,500. See TIR 24-15, 
Tax Provisions in An Act Honoring, Empowering, 
and Recognizing Our Servicemembers and Veter-
ans, for additional information. 

Repeal of the Angel Investor 
Tax Credit 
The Angel Investor Tax Credit (AITC), is repealed 
effective for tax years beginning on or after Jan-
uary 1, 2024. The AITC was previously allowed 
under MGL ch 62, § 6(t), and was awarded by the 
Massachusetts Life Sciences Center for certain 
investments in designated development projects. 
A taxpayer that has unused AITC from a tax year 
beginning before January 1, 2024 may carry such 

unused credit forward and use it in tax years be-
ginning on or after January 1, 2024, subject to the 
limitations under 830 CMR 62.6.5(11). 

Singles Sales Factor 
Apportionment 
Effective for tax years beginning on or after Jan-
uary 1, 2025, corporate excise and financial insti-
tution excise filers that apportion their income to 
Massachusetts must do so by using the sales or 
receipts factor only. In addition, for such tax years, 
the computation of the receipts factor for finan-
cial institutions has been changed with respect to 
receipts from investment and trading assets and 
activities. See TIR 24-4, Section IV. Filers that have 
short tax years beginning on or after January 2025 
and ending during 2025 may be required to use 
the 2024 forms to file for the short year if the ap-
plicable 2025 forms are not available at the time 
the short year return must be filed. See TIR 11-12. 
Short year filers using 2024 returns in this man-
ner must determine their sales or receipts factors 
using single sales factor apportionment and, if 
they are financial institutions, must apply the new 
rules applicable to receipts from investment and 
trading assets and activities.

Additionally, filers that have elected to use a 52-53 
week taxable year for any tax year beginning on or 
after December 16, 2024 must report Massachu
setts apportionment using the sales or receipts 
factor only.

Federal Conformity 
Massachusetts generally conforms to the IRC 
as currently in effect for Massachusetts corpo-
rate and financial institution excise purposes. For 
more up-to-date and detailed information on tax 
changes and federal conformity, visit DOR’s web-
site at www.mass.gov/dor.

Extension Due Dates
C corporations are allowed an automatic exten-
sion to file their tax returns if they satisfy the pay-
ment requirements stated in TIR 15-15. Tax re-
turns filed on extension are due 6 months from the 
due date (October 15 in the case of C corporations 
filing on a calendar year basis). See TIR 17-5.

Privacy Act Notice 
The Privacy Act Notice is available upon request 
or at mass.gov/dor.

General Instructions
Electronic Filing and Payment 
Requirements
Insurance companies are required to file and pay 
their taxes electronically. Taxpayers should file 
their tax returns online at mass.gov/masstaxcon-
nect. For further information, see TIR 21-9.

Who Must File Form 63-20P?
All domestic life insurance companies, as defined 
by MGL ch 175, §§ 47 and 118, which are subject 
to MGL ch 63, § 20, and which do any or all of 
their business in Massachusetts, must complete 
and file Form 63-20P.

A domestic life insurance company is a company 
incorporated or formed in the Commonwealth.

All classes of foreign life insurance companies on 
accident and health business subject to MGL ch, 
§§ 23, 24 and 24A must file Form 63-20P.

All foreign life insurance companies subject to MGL 
ch 63, §§ 20, 21 and 24A must file Form 63-20P.

A foreign company is any company organized 
or formed in any state or country other than 
Massachusetts.

Note: An extension of time to file is not valid if the 
corporation fails to pay at least 50% of the total 
tax liability or the minimum tax of $456, which 
ever is greater, through estimated payments or 
an extension payment, by or before the due date 
of the original return.

Any tax not paid on or before the due date — with-
out regard to the extension — shall be subject to 
an interest charge.

What is a Valid Return?
A valid return is one upon which all required 
amounts have been entered for all of the appro-
priate items on the form. Data sheets, account 
forms, or other documents may be attached to 
explain these amounts.

To be valid, a return must also include the following: 

◗	 Schedule T, Exhibit of Premiums Written from 
the NAIC Annual  Statement;

◗	 Annual Statement for the Year for Direct Busi-
ness in the State of  Massachusetts.
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Note: An exact copy of the taxpayer’s federal tax 
return (including all applicable schedules and any 
other documentation required to substantiate 
entries made on this return) must be submitted 
along with Form 63-20P.

If a copy of the taxpayer’s federal tax return is un-
available at the time of filing Form 63-20P because 
the taxpayer has requested an extension of time 
to file their federal tax return, the taxpayer must 
instead submit a copy of their application for ex-
tension. An exact copy of U.S. Form 1120, includ-
ing all applicable schedules and any other docu-
mentation required to substantiate entries made 
on this return, must be made available to DOR 
upon request.

Reproduction of returns must be approved by 
DOR prior to filing and meet the criteria provided 
in TIR 95-8.

Failure to meet any of the requirements detailed in 
this section may result in a penalty for filing an in-
sufficient return. Such a penalty may be assessed 
at double the amount of the excise due.

When are Estimated Tax Payments 
Required?
Any insurance company which reasonably es-
timates its excise to be in excess of $1,000 for 
the taxable year is required to make estimated tax 
payments to the Commonwealth. Estimated pay-
ments must be made in quarterly installments of 
40%, 25%, 25% and 10% of the estimated an-nual 
tax liability.

Note: New corporations in their first full taxable 
year with less than 10 employees have different 
estimated payment percentages — 30%, 25%, 
25% and 20% respectively.

Insurance companies that underpay, or fail to 
pay, their estimated taxes may incur an additional 
penalty on the amount of the underpayment for 
the period of the underpayment. Form M-2220, 
Underpayment of Massachusetts Estimated Tax 
by Corporations, is used to compute the addi-
tional charge.

Any corporation having $1 million or more of fed-
eral taxable income in any of its three preceding 
taxable years (as defined in Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) § 6655(g)) may only use its prior year’s tax 
liability to calculate its first quarterly estimated 
tax payment. Any reduction in the first installment 
payment that results from using this method must 
be added to the second installment payment.

A company that claims the exception to the under-
payment penalty of equaling the prior year’s tax li-
ability must provide federal tax returns (front page 
only) for the three preceding taxable years to verify 
that federal taxable income is less than $1 million.

Note: Any insurance company required to file 
more than one type of excise return must also 
file separate estimated tax payments since each 
type of tax is governed by a different section of the 
Massachusetts General Laws.

For more information on corporate estimated 
taxes, refer to MGL ch 63B.

What Are the Penalties for Late 
Returns?
Insurance excise returns which are not filed and/
or paid on or before the due date are subject to in-
terest and penalty charges. The penalty for failure 
to pay the total payment due with this form is 1% 
of the balance due per month (or fraction thereof), 
up to a maximum of 25% of the tax reported as 
due on the return. A late payment penalty does 
not apply to amended returns when the amount 
shown on the original return was paid.

The penalty for failure to file a return by the due 
date is 1% of the balance due per month (or frac-
tion thereof), up to a maximum of 25%.

Any tax not paid on or before the due date —
without regard to the extension — is subject 
to interest.

How Is the Excise Determined?
Domestic life insurance companies are taxed both 
on life and accident and health premiums written in 
Massachusetts and on premiums written in other 
jurisdictions where no tax is paid. Form 63-20P fil-
ers must also add in dividends applied to purchase 
paid-up additions and/or to shorten the premium 
paying period. The tax rate is 2% after claiming al-
lowable deductions.

Form 63-20P filers are allowed deductions for divi-
dends to policyholders, including those:

◗	 Paid in cash;

◗	 Applied in reduction of renewal premiums;

◗	 Left to accumulate at interest;

◗	 Applied to purchase paid-up additions; or

◗	 Applied to shorten the premium paying period.

Deductions are also allowed to Form 63-20P fil-
ers for returned premiums (not including cash 
surrender values) and/or premiums for Company 
Employees’ Group Life and Accident and Health 
plans only if previously included in line 1 of Part 1.

A deduction for preferred provider arrangement 
premiums is allowed to those companies who 
have been approved by the Commissioner of In-
surance as preferred provider organizations if 
those premiums were previously included in line 
1 of Part 1 and reported on Form 63-23P.

Foreign Accident and Health insurance companies 
are taxed on net direct premiums for insurance of 
property or interest in Massachusetts.

Foreign life insurance companies are taxed on all 
new and renewal policies issued during the pre-
ceding calendar year if the insured is a resident of 
Massachusetts at the time the premium was paid.

Filing an Amended Return
New-Supporting Statement. If you are filing an 
amended return for any reason you must attach 
a statement to the amended return with an expla-
nation of why you are filing the amended return, 
including the basis for submitting it.

If you need to change a line item on your return, 
complete a return with the corrected information 
and fill in the Amended return oval. An amended 
return can be filed to either increase or decrease 
your tax. Generally, an amended return must be 
filed within three years of the date that your origi-
nal return was filed. Electronic filing requirements 
apply to amended returns and disputes. See TIR 
21-9 for further information.

Federal Changes
If this is an amended Massachusetts return and 
it does not report changes that result from the fil-
ing of a federal amended return or from a federal 
audit (e.g., if the amended Massachusetts return is 
reporting only a change in the apportionment cal-
culation or an additional tax credit), fill in only the 
Amended return oval. If this is an amended return 
that includes changes you have reported on an 
amended federal return filed with the IRS for the 
same tax year, fill in both the Amended return oval 
and the Amended return due to federal change 
oval. If the amended Massachusetts return incor-
porates changes that are the result of an IRS audit, 
enclose a complete copy of the federal audit report 
and supporting schedules. If your amended return 
is being submitted due to an IRS BBA Partnership 
Audit then fill in the Amended return due to IRS 
BBA Partnership Audit oval.

Schedule DRE. Disclosure of 
Disregarded Entity
A corporation doing business in Massachusetts 
(including through the means of activities con-
ducted by a disregarded entity that such cor-
poration owns) and that is also the owner of a 
disregarded entity for any portion of the taxable 
year for which a return is being filed must iden-
tify each such disregarded entity by filing Sched-
ule DRE with its return. A separate Schedule 
DRE is required for each such disregarded en-
tity. See Schedule DRE instructions for additional 
information.
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Massachusetts Schedule FCI. 
Foreign Corporation Income
Fill in the oval and enclose Schedule FCI (Foreign 
Corporation Income) if the corporation is required 
to complete and file Schedule FCI with Form 63-
20P. All taxpayers with foreign corporation income 
(including GILTI income) must complete Schedule 
FCI. Detailed instructions for completing Schedule 
FCI are available on DOR’s website. See Schedule 
FCI and Instructions.

Enclosing Schedule TDS. 
Inconsistent Filing Position Penalty
Fill in the oval and enclose Schedule TDS, Tax-
payer Disclosure Statement, if you are disclosing 
any inconsistent filing positions. Schedule TDS is 
available on our website at mass.gov/dor. The in-
consistent filing position penalty (see TIR 06-5, 
section IV) applies to taxpayers that take an incon-
sistent position in reporting income. These taxpay-
ers must disclose the inconsistency when filing 
their Massachusetts return. If such inconsistency 
is not disclosed, the taxpayer will be subject to a 
penalty equal to the amount of tax attributable to 
the inconsistency. This penalty is in addition to any 
other penalties that may apply.

A taxpayer is deemed to have taken an inconsis-
tent position when the taxpayer pays less tax in 
Massachusetts based upon an interpretation of 
Massachusetts law that differs from the position 
taken by the taxpayer in another state where the 
taxpayer files a return and the governing law in 
that other state is the same in all material respects 
as the Massachusetts law. The Commissioner may 
waive or abate the penalty if the inconsistency or 
failure to disclose was attributable to reasonable 
cause and not willful neglect.

Federal Change to Prior Year 
Taxable Income
Fill in the oval if the federal government has 
changed your taxable income for any prior year 
which has not yet been reported to Massachusetts.

Digital Assets
Fill in the oval if at any time during 2024 you re
ceived (as a reward, award, or payment for prop
erty or services) a digital asset, or sold, exchanged, 
gifted, or otherwise disposed of a digital asset (or 
a financial interest in a digital asset). Digital assets 
include non-fungible tokens (NFTs) and virtual cur
rencies, such as cryptocurrencies and stablecoins.

Consent to Extend the Time to Act 
on an Amended Return treated as 
Abatement Application
In certain instances, an amended return showing 
a reduction of tax may be treated by DOR as an 

abatement application. Under such circumstances, 
by filing an amended return you are giving your 
consent for the Commissioner of Revenue to act 
upon the abatement application after six months 
from the date of filing. See TIR 16-11. You may 
withdraw such consent at any time by contacting 
the DOR in writing. If consent is withdrawn, any 
requested reduction in tax will be deemed denied 
either at the expiration of six months from the date 
of filing or the date consent is withdrawn, which-
ever is later.

Filing an Application for Abatement
File an Application for Abatement, Form ABT, only 
to dispute one of the following:

◗	 Penalties

◗	 Audit assessments

◗	 Responsible person determinations

Insurance companies are required to file a dispute 
online at mass.gov/masstaxconnect.

Visit mass.gov/info-details/amend-your-tax-re-
turn-or-request-an-abatement-of-tax for addi-
tional information about filing an application for 
abatement.

Are There Special Tax Credits 
Available In Massachusetts?
Yes. Massachusetts offers several special cred-
its to corporations. See instructions for Credit 
Manager Schedule (Schedule CMS) beginning 
on page 5.

Line Instructions
Note: Lines without specific instructions are con-
sidered to be self-explanatory.

Parts 1 through 3 of Form 63-20P must be com-
pleted before entering amounts to complete the Ex-
cise Calculation. Use the whole dollar method for 
all amounts entered.

Excise Calculation
Note: Domestic and Foreign life insurers must en-
close a copy of Schedule T (Exhibit of Premiums 
Written from the NAIC Annual Statement) with 
this return.

Domestic Life Insurers
Line 1
Enter the amount of premiums subject to tax in 
Massachusetts (from Part 1, Domestic Life Pre-
mium Excise Calculation, line 10). If amount is 
negative, enter 0.

Line 4
Enter the amount of accident and health premiums 
subject to tax in Massachusetts from Part 1, Do-
mestic Life Premium Excise Calculation, line 11.

Lines 5 and 13
If the corporation is required to recapture any 
amount of previously claimed Economic Opportu-
nity Area Credit, Low-Income Housing Credit, Life 
Science Credit and Historic Rehabilitation Credit, 
complete the Credit Recapture Schedule (Sched-
ule CRS) and enter the result in line 5 or 13 of the 
return. Current year credits can then be used to 
offset the total excise due which will include the 
recapture amount.

Foreign Life Insurers
Line 7
Enter the amount of life premiums subject to tax 
in Massachusetts from Part 2, Foreign Premium 
Excise Calculation, line 7. If amount is nega-
tive, enter 0.

Lines 8 and 11
Use Part 3 of Form 63-20P to calculate your ex-
cise using the same method and rate used by the 
state in which you are incorporated and would be 
imposed on a like Massachusetts insurance com-
pany, or its agents, if doing business to the same 
extent. If the computation in the state of your in-
corporation is in every respect the same as your 
Massachusetts computation, a statement to that 
effect should be made. Retaliatory tax provisions 
are provided under MGL ch 63, § 24A.

Line 10
Enter the amount of total net direct accident and 
health premiums subject to tax in Massachusetts 
from Part 2, Foreign Premium Excise Calculation, 
line 12. If the amount is negative, enter 0.

Credits
Note: Do not claim any credit here if such credit has 
been claimed on Form 63-23P (Premium Excise 
Return for Insurance Companies).

Line 15
A company shall be allowed a credit against the 
premium tax equal to 1.5% (0.015) of such com-
pany’s total capital contribution in excess of their 
full proportionate share which shall mean an in-
vestment in the Massachusetts Life Insurance 
Company Community Investment Initiative.

This credit is effective for tax years in which the 
aggregate cumulative investment in the Massa-
chusetts Life Insurance Company Community In-
vestment Initiative reaches $100,000,000 or the 
tax year 2005, which ever is later.

Line 16
Enter 1.5% (0.015) of the company’s proportion-
ate share of the cost of certain investments in the 
Massachusetts Capital Resource Company.
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Line 17
The taxpayer may take 10% of any class B assess-
ments paid to the Massachusetts Life and Health 
Insurance Guaranty in the prior five calendar years. 
For this 2024 return, the taxpayer may take 10% of 
class B assessments paid in 2019 through 2023.

Line 18
Enter the total amount of other credits claimed 
from the Schedule CMS. Do not include refund-
able credits that you will be reporting below on line 
28 in the total reported on this line.

Excise After Credits
Line 21
Any corporation that wishes to contribute any 
amount to the Natural Heritage and Endangered 
Species Fund may do so on this form. This amount 
is added to the excise due. It increases the amount 
of the corporation’s payment or reduces the 
amount of its refund.

The Natural Heritage and Endangered Species 
Fund is administered by the Department of Fish-
eries, Wildlife and Environmental Law Enforce-
ment to provide for conservation programs for 
rare, endangered and nongame wildlife and plants 
in the Commonwealth.

Payments
Line 27
Enter the amount of any withholding tax from 
pass-through entities. Be sure to include the tax-
payer identification number of the person or en-
tity submitting the withholding payment on behalf 
of the taxpayer.

Refund or Balance Due
Line 30 through 32
If line 29 is greater than line 22, subtract line 
22 from line 29 and, enter the amount overpaid 
in line 30.

The overpayment may be applied in part or in full 
to 2024 estimated taxes by entering in line 31 the 
amount to be credited to 2024 estimated tax pay-
ments. Enter in line 32 the amount to be refunded.

Note: The due dates for estimated tax payments 
are not the same as the return due dates for corpo-
rations. An overpayment from the prior year return 
applied to the following year’s estimated tax will be 
credited on the 15th day of the fourth month; one 
month after the due date for the first installment.

An overpayment of tax cannot be applied as a 
credit to the tax of another account of this com-
pany or to the tax of another company.

Line 33
If line 29 is greater than line 22, enter the balance 
due in line 33.

Lines 34a through 35
Any company that has an underpayment of esti-
mated tax will incur a penalty on the underpay-
ment for the period of the underpayment. Enclose 
a copy of Form M-2220. For more information, 
refer to the section When Are Estimated Tax Pay-
ments Required?

Any company that fails to file a timely return will 
be subject to a late filing penalty of 1% per month 
(or fraction thereof), and a late payment penalty of 
1% per month (or fraction thereof), on the amount 
required to be shown as the tax due on the return. 
For more information, refer to the section What 
Are the Penalties for Late Returns?

Any company which fails to pay its tax when due 
will be subject to interest on the unpaid balance.

Line 36
Enter the total payment due. Insurance companies 
are required to submit any payment due electron-
ically. See TIR 21-9.

Schedule CMS: Tax Credits
Financial institutions, insurance companies, busi-
ness corporations, and other taxpayers subject to 
tax under MGL ch 63 may be eligible for certain 
tax credits in Massachusetts. Credits may be used 
to offset a tax due, may be passed or shared with 
another person or entity, or, in some cases cred-
its may be fully or partially refundable. MGL ch 
63 taxpayers with credits available for use in the 
current taxable year must file a Schedule CMS to 
claim most credits.

For each credit claimed on a Schedule CMS, re-
port the amount of the credit available for use and 
the amount of credit claimed to reduce tax for the 
current taxable year. For pass-through entities, re-
port the amount of credit distributed to partners/
shareholders/beneficiaries in the credit shared col-
umn. Taxpayers also report the amount of a re-
fundable credit they are using to request a refund 
of tax. See the Credit Manager Schedule Instruc-
tions for more information on how to complete the 
Schedule CMS and claim the credits.

Credits reported on the Schedule CMS are gen-
erally identified either by a certificate number as-
signed by the issuing agency (which may be the 
DOR) or by the tax period end date in which the 
credit originated. If a credit has been assigned a 
certificate number, the certificate number must 
be included on the Schedule CMS. A taxpayer that 
does not include an assigned certificate number 
on the Schedule CMS will not be allowed the credit 
on the tax return and will have their tax liability 
adjusted by the DOR. Be sure to omit hyphens, 
spaces, decimals and other special symbols when 
entering the certificate number. Also, enter the 
number from left to right. 

Likewise, a taxpayer that is required to complete 
a separate schedule to claim a credit must include 
the separate schedule with the taxpayer’s return 
filing. Failure to do so may result in the credit being 
disallowed. 

If, by operation of MGL ch 63, § 32C or another 
provision of law, a credit normally identified by tax 
period end date is eligible for indefinite carry-over, 
the credit should be reported as “non-expiring” 
and identification of the tax period of origin is not 
necessary.

Overview of Schedule CMS
The following is a brief overview of the Schedule 
CMS sections and where certain credits should be 
reported. If a taxpayer is using a credit to reduce 
a taxpayer’s current year tax liability, whether it 
is a non-refundable credit or a refundable credit, 
the credit should be reported in Section 1 or 3 of 
the Schedule CMS. Only a refundable credit that 
the taxpayer is seeking a refund for should be re-
ported in either Section 2 or 4 of the Schedule 
CMS. Generally, a credit should only be reported 
in one section on the Schedule CMS unless a por-
tion of it is being used to offset a tax and a portion 
is being refunded.

Section 1. Non-Refundable Credits
Section 1 is for reporting credits the taxpayer is 
using (i) to offset or reduce the taxpayer’s total 
tax due (ii) to pass to any partner, shareholder or 
beneficiary of the taxpayer or (iii) to share with 
taxpayer affiliates. The Brownfields Credit, Film 
Incentive Credit, or Medical Device Credit should 
always be included in Section 1, unless the tax-
payer is requesting a refund of the Film Incentive 
Credit. However, a taxpayer that received a credit 
on a Massachusetts K-1 schedule from a pass-
through entity or a credit transfer should report 
such credit in Section 3 or 4, as applicable.

Section 2. Refundable Credits
Section 2 is for reporting refundable credits the 
taxpayer is using to request a refund. The Film In-
centive Credit should always be included in Sec-
tion 2 to the extent that the taxpayer is requesting 
a refund. However, a taxpayer that received a re-
fundable credit on a Massachusetts K-1 from a 
pass-through entity or a credit transfer should re-
port such credit in Section 4, to the extent that the 
taxpayer is requesting a refund. For each refund-
able credit, report the amount of the credit avail-
able after taking into consideration any amount of 
the credits that may have been taken to offset a tax 
or shared as reported in Section 1 of this sched-
ule. Enter the amount by which the available credit 
balance is being reduced and the amount to be 
treated as a refundable credit, which may be ei-
ther 90% or 100% of the reduction. See TIR 13-6, 
Example 3, for an illustration.
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Section 3. Non-Refundable Credits 
Received from Massachusetts K-1 
Schedules
Section 3 is for reporting credits the taxpayer re-
ceived on a Massachusetts K-1 schedule (SK-1, 
2K-1 or 3K-1) that the taxpayer is using (i) to off-
set or reduce the taxpayer’s total tax due (ii) to 
pass to any partner, shareholder or beneficiary of 
the taxpayer or (iii) to share with taxpayer affili-
ates. The Brownfields Credit, Film Incentive Credit, 
or Medical Device Credit should never be included 
in Section 3.

Note: Do not report the Brownfields Credit, Film 
Incentive Credit, and Medical Device Credit in 
this section because these credits are issued new 
certificate numbers from the DOR when they are 
received from a pass-through entity or a credit 
transfer. These credits should always be reported 
in Section 1, unless the taxpayer is requesting a 
refund of the Film Incentive Credit.

Section 4. Refundable Credits Received 
from Massachusetts K-1 Schedules
Section 4 is for reporting credits the taxpayer re-
ceived on a Massachusetts K-1 schedule (SK-1, 
2K-1 or 3K-1) and that the taxpayer is using to 
request a refund. The Film Incentive Credit should 
never be included in Section 4. For each refund-
able credit, report the amount of the credit avail-
able after taking into consideration any amount of 
the credits that may have been used to offset a tax 
or shared as reported in Section 3 of this sched-
ule. Enter the amount by which the available credit 
balance is being reduced and the amount to be 
treated as a refundable credit, which may be ei-
ther 90% or 100% of the reduction. See TIR 13-6, 
Example 3, for an illustration.

Note: Do not report the refundable Film Incentive 
Credit in this section because these credits are is-
sued new certificate numbers from the DOR when 
they are received from a pass-through entity or a 
credit transfer. If the taxpayer is requesting a re-
fund of the Film Incentive Credit, it should be re-
ported in Section 2.

Credit Table
The Credit Table located at the end of these in-
structions lists all of the Massachusetts credit 
types with their respective attributes. Credits that 
may be available to a taxpayer subject to tax under 

MGL ch 63 must be claimed on Schedule CMS. 
The taxpayer should refer to this table for guidance 
when completing Schedule CMS.

To report claimed tax credits, enter the tax credit 
certificate number (if applicable) and the amount 
of credit claimed along with the designated credit 
code on Schedule CMS.

For additional information regarding tax credits 
that may be available to a taxpayer subject to tax 
under MGL ch 63 go to the Business Tax Credits 
web page on DOR’s website at mass.gov/dor.

Credit Recapture Schedule
The Credit Recapture Schedule (CRS), which elim-
inates Schedule RF, lists each credit for which a 
recapture calculation must be made.

Certain Massachusetts tax credits are subject to 
recapture as specified in the statute authorizing 
the credit (e.g. the investment tax credit is subject 
to recapture under MGL ch 63, § 31A(e) if an asset 
for which the credit was taken is disposed of be-
fore the end of its useful life). Recapture may also 
be triggered if the corporation no longer qualifies 
for the credit (as when a manufacturing corpora-
tion ceases to qualify as such or a corporation’s 
status as a Life Sciences Company is terminated 
as discussed in TIR 13-6.)

If a recapture calculation is required, the amount 
of the credit allowed is redetermined and the re-
duction in the amount of credit allowable is recap-
tured to the extent the credit was taken or used in 
a prior year. See DD 89-7. Taxpayers who have a 
recapture calculation must complete this sched-
ule whether or not a recapture tax is determined 
to be due.

For credits tracked by certificate numbers, enter 
each certificate number and the associated credits 
separately. For credits not tracked by certificate num-
ber, enter credits separately by type and the year to 
which they relate. List only those credits and certif-
icate numbers or tax years for which a reduction in 
the credit is being calculated.

For more information and examples, see the Credit 
Recapture Schedule instructions.

Declaration
The completed return must be signed by the trea-
surer or assistant treasurer or, in their absence or 

incapacity, by any other principal corporate offi-
cer. If you are filing as an authorized delegate of 
the appropriate corporate officer enclose a copy 
of Massachusetts Form M-2848, Power of Attor-
ney with the return. Form M-2848 should be up-
loaded through MassTaxConnect or electronically 
filed using other authorized software.

Paid Preparer Authorization
If you want to allow the DOR to discuss your 2024 
business tax return with the paid preparer who 
signed it, fill in the Yes oval in the signature area 
of the form at the bottom of page 1. This authori-
zation applies only to the individual whose signa-
ture appears in the paid preparer section of your 
return. It does not apply to the firm (if any) shown 
in that section. If you fill in the Yes oval you are au-
thorizing DOR to call the paid preparer to answer 
any questions that may arise during the process-
ing of your return. You are also authorizing the 
paid preparer to:

◗	  Give DOR any information that is missing from 
your return;

◗	  Call DOR for information about the processing 
of your return or the status of your refund or pay
ment(s); and

◗	  Respond to certain DOR notices that you have 
shared with the preparer about math errors, off-
sets and return preparation. The notices will not 
be sent to the preparer.

You are not authorizing the paid preparer to receive 
any refund check, to bind you to anything (includ-
ing any additional tax liability) or otherwise repre-
sent you before DOR. If you want to expand the 
paid preparer’s authorization, see Form M-2848, 
Power of Attorney and Declaration of Represen-
tative. Form M-2848 is available at mass.gov/dor.

This authorization will automatically end no later 
than the due date (without regard to extensions) 
for filing your 2025 tax return. If you wish to re-
voke this authorization, you can do so by sub-
mitting a signed statement to the DOR listing the 
name and address of each representative whose 
authority is being revoked.
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 	  	  	  	 a. MGL 		  b. MGL
Credit name	 Requirements	 Refundable?	 Credit type	 Chapter 	 Section 	 Chapter 	 Section

Angel Investor***	 Certificate number*	 No 	 AGLCRD 	 62 	 6(t)

Apprenticeship 	 Certificate number 	 Yes, at 100% 	 APPCRD 	 62 	 6(v) 	 63 	 38HH

Brownfields 	 Certificate number 	 No 	 BRWFLD 	 62 	 6(j) 	 63 	 38Q

Certified Housing 	 Certificate number 	 No 	 CRTHOU 	 62 	 6(q) 	 63 	 38BB

Community Investment 	 Certificate number 	 Yes, at 100% 	 CMMINV 	 62 	 6M 	 63 	 38EE

Conservation Land 	 Certificate number 	 Yes, at 100% 	 CNSLND 	 62 	 6(p) 	 63 	 38AA

Cranberry Bog Renovation 	 Certificate number 	 Yes, at 100% 	 CRBCRD 	 62 	 6(w) 	 63 	 38II

Dairy Farm 	 Certificate number 	 Yes, at 100% 	 DAIFRM 	 62 	 6(o) 	 63 	 38Z

Disability Employment	 Period end date	 Yes	 DETCRD	 62	 6(z)	 63	 38JJ

	 Certificate number and 	
EDIP 	 Schedule EDIP**	 If authorized, at 100% 	 EDIPCR 	 62 	 6(g) 	 63 	 38N

EDIP-Vacant Store Front 	 Certificate number 	 Yes, at 100% 	 VACSTR 	 62 	 6(g) 	 63 	 38N

	 Period end date and
EOAC 	 Schedule EOAC** 	 If authorized 	 EOACCR 	 62 	 6(g) 	 63 	 38N

	 Period end date and
Farming and Fisheries 	 Schedule FAF** 	 No 	 FRMFSH 	 62 	 6(s)

Film Incentive 	 Certificate number 	 If authorized, at 90% 	 FLMCRD 	 62 	 6(l) 	 63 	 38X

	
Harbor Maintenance****	 Period end date 	 No 	 HRBMNT 			   63 	 38P

Historic Rehabilitation 	 Certificate number 	 No 	 HISRHB 	 62 	 6J 	 63 	 38R

	 Period end date and
Investment Tax 	 Schedule H**	 No 	 INVTAX 			   63 	 31A

	 Period end date and
Lead Paint 	 Schedule LP**	 No 	 LEDPNT 	 62 	 6(e)

	 Period end date and
Life Science (FDA) 	 Schedule RLSC** 	 If authorized, at 90% 	 LFSFDA 	 62 	 6(n) 	 63 	 31M

	 Period end date and
Life Science (ITC) 	 Schedule RLSC** 	 If authorized, at 90% 	 LFSITC 	 62 	 6(m) 	 63 	 38U

	 Period end date and
Life Science (Jobs) 	 Schedule RLSC** 	 If authorized, at 90% 	 LFSJOB 	 62 	 6(r) 	 63 	 38CC

	 Period end date and
Life Science (RD) 	 Schedule RLSC** 	 If authorized, at 90% 	 LFSRDC 			   63 	 38W

Low-Income Housing 	 Certificate number 	 No 	 LOWINC 	 62 	 6I 	 63 	 31H

Credit Table

* As of 2023 the method for reporting the Angel Investor credit on Schedule CMS is by certificate number. Prior to 2023 the method of reporting was by 
period end date.

** A schedule is required when the credit is generated or awarded in the current year.

*** Eligibility for obtaining the Angel Investor Tax Credit has been repealed for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2024. Taxpayers must continue to 
report available carryover credits on Schedule CMS to the extent they are allowed to use them.

**** Eligibility for obtaining the Harbor Maintenance Tax Credit has been repealed for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2022. Taxpayers must con-
tinue to report available carryover credits on Schedule CMS to the extent they are allowed to use them.
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 	  	  	  	 a. MGL 		  b. MGL
Credit name	 Requirements	 Refundable?	 Credit type	 Chapter 	 Section 	 Chapter 	 Section

Low-Income Housing Donation 	 Certificate number 	 No 	 LIHDON 	 62 	 6I 	 63 	 31H

Medical Device*****	 Certificate number 	 No 	 MEDDVC 	 62 	 61⁄2 	 63 	 31L

National Guard Employee	 Certificate number	 No	 NGHCRD	 62	 6(aa)	 63	 38KK

Offshore Wind Facility Capital
Investment	 Period end date	 Yes	 OSWITC	 62	 6(cc)	 63	 38MM

Offshore Wind Jobs	 Period end date	 Yes	 OSWJTC	 62	 6(bb)	 63	 38LL

Pass-Through Entity Excise Tax	
(Form 63D-ELT)	 Period end date	 Yes******	 ELTCRD	 63D	 2	

	 Period end date and
Research 	 Schedule RC**	 No 	 REARCH 			   63	 38M

	 Period end date and
Septic 	 Schedule SC** 	 No 	 SEPTIC 	 62 	 6(i)

	 Period end date and
Solar and Wind Energy 	 Schedule EC** 	 No 	 SLRWND 	 62 	 6(d)

Training Tax	 Certificate number	 No	 TTCCRD	 62	 6(dd)(1)	 63	 38NN(a)

	 Period end date and
Vanpool 	 Schedule VP**	 No 	 VANPOL 			   63 	 31E

Veteran’s New Hire Tax 	 Certificate number 	 No 	 VETHIR 	 62 	 6(u) 	 63 	 38GG

Credit Table

** A schedule is required when the credit is generated or awarded in the current year.

***** Eligibility for obtaining the Medical Device Tax Credit has been repealed for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2022. Taxpayers must continue 
to report available carryover credits on Schedule CMS to the extent they are allowed to use them.

****** Shareholders, partners, or beneficiaries of an eligible pass-through entity (qualified members) may claim a refundable credit equal to 90% of their 
allocable share of PTE Excise paid by such pass-through entity. See MGL ch 63D §§ 1-7; TIR 22-6 Pass-through Entity Excise. See also Elective pass-
through entity excise FAQs.

Note: Certified life sciences companies with a Research Credit exceeding the amount of credit that may be claimed under section 38M for a taxable year may, to 
the extent authorized under the Life Sciences Tax Incentive Program, elect to make 90% of the balance of remaining credits refundable. See MGL ch 63, § 38M(j).


