

CHARLES D. BAKER GOVERNOR

KARYN E. POLITO LT. GOVERNOR

TERRENCE M. REIDY SECRETARY

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security Department of Fire Services

P.O. Box 1025 ~ State Road

Stow, Massachusetts 01775

(978) 567~3100 Fax: (978) 567~3121

www.mass.gov/dfs



IAIN McGregor Chairman

CHIEF MICHAEL MANSFIELD VICE CHAIR

MASSACHUSETTS TECHNICAL RESCUE COORDINATING COUNCIL January 26, 2022 DRAFT

The Massachusetts Technical Rescue Coordinating Council held a hybrid meeting in accordance with the provisions of M.G.L. c. 30A § 20 on Wednesday, January 26, 2022 at 10:00 a.m. and open to the public virtually through WebEx videoconference.

Present at the meeting were the following Council members:

Iain McGregor, Chair Professional Fire Fighters of Mass.

Jeanne Benincasa Thorpe Undersecretary for Homeland Security,

EOPSS

Peter Ostroskey State Fire Marshal

Chief Kevin Nord Fire Chiefs Association of Mass.
Peter Jerusik Professional Fire Fighters of Mass.

Russell Lewis Member of the Statewide Tech. Rescue Team

Absent from the meeting were the following Commission members:

Chief Michael Mansfield. Vice Chair Fire Chiefs Association of Mass.

DFS Employees in Attendance:

Glenn Rooney, Legal Counsel

Maribel Fournier

Department of Fire Services

Deputy State Fire Marshal

Department of Fire Services

Department of Fire Services

David DiGregorio, Director Hazardous Materials Response and Special

Operations

Korina Senior, Program Coordinator Hazardous Materials Response and Special

Operations

Derryl Dion, Research Analyst Division of Fire Safety

Other Attendees

Robert O'Brien Region 1

Administrative Services • Division of Fire Safety Hazardous Materials Response • Massachusetts Firefighting Academy

Mark McCabe	Region 1
Shawn Simmons	Region 1
Paul Morrison	Region 2
Matt Belsito	Region 3
Steven Chandler	Region 4

1. Meeting Opening and Introductions

Iain McGregor, Chairman, opened the meeting at approximately 10:04 a.m. The Chairman introduced himself, followed by the introductions of the Council members, Department of Fire Services' employees, and public members in attendance.

2. Approval of December 29, 2021 Meeting Minutes

Peter Jerusik made a motion to accept the meeting minutes from the previous meeting held on December 29, 2021. The motion was seconded by Russel Lewis. No discussion, unanimous roll call vote.

3. Discuss Tech Rescue Correspondence.

None

4. Subcommittee Reports

- a. Joint Subcommittee meeting with the Training and Membership Subcommittees. They made a few motions. The first motion is a member must be affiliated with a regional district or county team. Motion by the joint subcommittee that members must be a Firefighter in the state of Massachusetts. Put together must have criteria to determine a matrix point system to score each member. Regions are going to review criteria for the next joint subcommittee meeting. Requested that all subcommittees submit the list recommendations in a written report. As well as explanations that brought them to that decision. Send information to steering committees and legal as well.
- b. Equipment no report.
- c. Policy Meet again soon. Each member is going to take on a policy topic and create a draft for the next meeting. Russell Lewis made a motion to accept the safety officer policy as written. The motion was seconded by Chief Kevin Nord. No discussion, unanimous roll call vote.

5. Old Business

a. Discuss MFIRS Data.

Discussion on data needs and the level of detail needed to support Technical Rescue response statistics properly. The Policy Subcommittee is going to focus on the data needs and move it to the top of the agenda to come up with a standardized format for Fire Departments to use.

6. Any matters not reasonably anticipated by the Chair.

N/A.

7. Tasks/Assignments.

Subcommittee written reports as discussed in the meeting.

8. Future Agenda Items.

N/A.

9. Determination of future meeting date(s).

The next meeting will be Wednesday, February 23, 2022, at 10:00 a.m.

Marshal Peter Ostroskey made motion to adjourn. Undersecretary Jeanne Benincasa seconded. Roll call vote was made unanimously. Meeting adjourned at approximately 10:56 a.m.