# HAZARDOUS MATERIALS MITIGATION EMERGENCY RESPONSE ADVISORY BOARD

# March 13, 2019 10:00 a.m.

# DRAFT MINUTES

# Boards & Commissions Room A101 Department of Fire Services, Stow, MA

## **Board Members Attending:**

Chief Tim Bailey, Chairman Chief Bob Czerwinski Designee David Clemons Designee Nick Childs Robert Rooney

#### **Board Members Absent:**

John McCarthy

# DFS Employees Attending:

David DiGregorio Korina Senior Fire Chiefs Association of Massachusetts
Fire Chiefs Association of Massachusetts
Department of Fire Services
Department of Environmental Protection
Professional Fire Fighters of Massachusetts

Massachusetts Association of Hazardous Materials Technicians

Director, Hazardous Materials Response Program Coordinator

#### **Monthly Board Meeting**

#### Agenda Item #1:

## ► Meeting Opening and Introductions – 10:11am

Chief Bailey began opened the meeting and introductions were made by attendees stating their capacity.

#### Agenda Item #2:

# ► Approval of March 11, 2019 Meeting Minutes

A Motion to accept the Meeting Minutes from March 11, 2019 was offered by Robert Rooney. The motion was seconded by Chief Czerwinski. No discussion. All were in favor.

#### Agenda Item #3 New Business:

#### ▶a. Vote on Team appointment(s).

DiGregorio states we received several letters to appoint new members.

- 1. Two letters were received from the District 1 steering committee recommending:
  - a. Bob Collins of Canton Fire Department;
  - b. Phelim Meehan of Dennis Fire Department;
  - c. Kellen Daly of Cotuit Fire Department; and
  - d. Brian Medeiros of New Bedford Fire Department.

A motion to accept all four of the new district 1 members was made by Robert Rooney. Motion was seconded by David Clemons. No discussion. All were in favor.

- 2. A letter was received from the District 2 steering committee recommending:
  - a. Robert Palardy of Lexington Fire Department and
  - b. Gerard Hanafin of Burlington Fire Department

A motion to accept both of the new district 2 members was made by Robert Rooney. Motion was seconded by David Clemons. No discussion. All were in favor.

- 3. A letter was received from the District 4 steering committee recommending:
  - a. Zachary Ellison of Ludlow Fire Department;
  - b. Jesse Rosnick of Northampton Fire Department;
  - c. Robert McCaffrey of Springfield Fire Department;
  - d. Daniel Sousa of Chicopee Fire Department; and
  - e. Matthew Couture of Chicopee Fire Department.

A motion to accept all five of the new district 4 members was made by Robert Rooney. Motion was seconded by David Clemons. No discussion. All were in favor.

- 4. A letter was received from the District 6 steering committee recommending:
  - a. Joseph Guanera of Acton Fire Department;
  - b. Jonathan Tibbo of Salem Fire Department; and
  - c. Timothy Casey of Lowell Fire Department;
  - d. The transfer of Philip Brady from Gardner Fire to Holden Fire Department.

A motion to accept all three new members and the transfer of an existing D6 member was made by Robert Rooney. Motion was seconded by David Clemons. No discussion. All were in favor.

# **▶**b. Discuss JSMACSS – Joint Standardized Method for the Assessment and Collection of Suspicious Substances.

DiGregorio states the system for biological sampling collection we currently use is JBTRS. The JSMACSS sample collection process will model the JBTRS and expand to include chemical samples. It will remain in compliance with NFPA472. There will be a written and a practical portion.

#### Agenda Item #4 Old Business:

#### **▶** a. Vehicle Locations.

DiGregorio states the only change is that 32 will not be moving to Stow Fire Department. Chief Bailey asked if it is a possibility we may not find a home for 32? DiGregorio states it is a possibility, but we have emailed all the Chiefs in District 3 Hazmat looking for a home.

## **▶** b. Status of appointed.

i. D3 member Michael Kilgallen – Active member passed medical and is doing great.

# **▶**c. Discuss the requalification process.

DiGregorio states we are still in line for the online requalification process to begin soon.

# **▶** d. Fentanyl

Director DiGregorio states the Hazmat office is sending a weekly report to EOPPS every Wednesday by noon for white powder calls.

# Agenda Item #5 Any matters not reasonably anticipated by the Chair:

1. No additional matters to discuss.

# Agenda Item 6:

#### **Next Meeting Date**

Monday, June 17, 2019 10:00 a.m. DFS Springfield Classroom 119.

## Agenda Item #7:

# ► Adjournment 10:26 a.m.

■A Motion to adjourn was offered by Nicholas Child. Adjournment seconded by Chief Czerwinski. Approved. Meeting adjourned.

