Navigating School Zone Driving

All students deserve to get to and from school safely. It is vital for everyone to take extra care when they enter and exit the school campus. Here are simple guidelines to help you understand the basics.





Know Your School's Rules for Arrival and Dismissal

Before the school year starts, always review your school's arrival and dismissal procedure.



TIP:

Share these procedures with any caregivers, family, and friends who may pickup or dropoff your child.

Drop-Off and Pick-Up Checklist

- / Drive at a walking pace
- Follow crossing guard instructions
- Ensure you are at the correct location for pick up and drop off



Turn Off Your Engine While Waiting

Running your car while not in motion (idling) for more than 10 seconds wastes fuel and produces emissions that contribute to poor air quality. Your child's lungs are still developing and are more sensitive to exhaust particulate pollution.

- 1. Turn off your car when you're waiting in the pick-up and drop-off area.
- 2. It is more fuel efficient to simply restart your car when you are ready to move.



IT'S THE LAW.

A car cannot idle for more than 5 minutes unless it is being serviced or is being used to deliver or accept goods where engine assisted power is necessary. If you break this law, you can be fined \$100 for the first offense and up to \$500 for subsequent offenses.

Mass. General Laws, chapter 90 sec. 16A



Drive Safely: Scan the Street for Wheels and Feet and Obev the Hands-Free Law

Pedestrians and cyclists are the most vulnerable roadway users. When driving, slow down, make eye contact, and give them priority.

Massachusetts law prohibits operators of motor vehicles from using any electronic device, including mobile telephones, unless the device is used in hands-free mode.

The "hands-free" law is effective as of February 23, 2020.

Mass.General Laws, chapter 90 sec. 13E





Obey Massachusetts' **School Bus Laws**

If a school bus or a van has its lights flashing and a stop sign extended, you must stop. It does not matter on which side of the road you are traveling. Remain stopped until the lights stop flashing or the stop sign folds back. Then move slowly and continue to look for children.

A first violation of this law can cause a license suspension and a \$250 fine.

Mass, General Laws, chapter 40 sec. 14.



A Closer Look: School Buses and **School Pupil Transport Vehicles**

Yellow school buses have flashing red lights and stop signs that fold out from the driver's side. Student transport vehicles, like vans, station wagons, or family sedans, have flashing red lights and "SCHOOL BUS" signs on top. Vehicle drivers use these warning signals when letting students on and off.



Try Out A **Car-Free Trip**

If your home is within a close range (1/2 to one mile) of the school, opt for an active way of getting to school by walking or biking.

Consider these options with other families at vour school.

- Start a Walking School Bus or a Bike Train (work with your local SRTS Outreach Coordinator to learn more)
- Coordinate a Park and Walk location with the school to reduce the amount of traffic on school arounds.
- If you must drive, try carpooling.



DID YOU KNOW?

You are not IN traffic you ARE traffic. Try a car-free trip to reduce congestion during pickup and dropoff.