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TO:  Wireless Carriers 

 

FROM:  Scott Mackey 

 

DATE:  April 14, 2015 

 

RE:  Updated Massachusetts Prepaid Point of Sale Revenue Estimate 

 

Summary 

 

Legislation to implement the point-of-sale collection (POS) methodology for 911 fees on prepaid wireless 

users – a system currently used in 37 states – would increase 911 fund revenues by $3.9 million over 

current law.  Collections would double from the current level of $3.9 million to $7.8 million at the current 

rate of $.75 per retail transaction.  The 911 department has requested a large increase in the 911 fee, from 

.75 per month to $1.25 per month.  Enactment of the POS methodology would reduce the need for such a 

significant increase in the 911 fee. 

 

Background 

 

For the last four years, I have been providing estimates showing that the proposed point-of-sale legislation 

would result in more revenues for public safety in Massachusetts than the current “provider pays” statute.  

The FCC recently released the November, 2014 “Local Competition Report” which provides wireless 

subscriber numbers by state, which allows me to update the estimates with more recent information.  

Additionally, the Massachusetts 911 Department recently released data on actual 911collections by sector 

that allows the estimates to be compared with actual remittances on prepaid wireless service. 

 

To review, 37 states (including DC) have adopted the point-of-sale methodology for collecting 911 fees 

from prepaid consumers while three states –Kentucky, Massachusetts, and Vermont – continue to use the 

old “provider pays” approach.  The remaining 11 states do not impose 911 fees on prepaid users.   

 

Here is the current breakdown of 911 fees in Massachusetts by source from FY2014, based on data 

reported by the 911 Department in its March 20 filing with the Department of Telecommunications and 

Cable (DTC):   

Wireline $14,040,477 

Wireless $45,252,060 

Prepaid Wireless $  3,867,831 

VOIP $ 11,524,927 

Total $74,685,295 
 

 

The attached spreadsheet shows the estimated 911 revenue collections under the point-of-sale collection 

methodology.  Under the current rate of $.75 per retail transaction, I estimate that collections on prepaid 

wireless would double from $3.9 million under current law to $7.8 million.  The 911 Department recently 

petitioned the DTC for an increase in the current 911 fee from $.75 per month to $1.25 per month.  My 



estimate also shows the net revenue increase from adopting the point-of-sale approach at rates of $1.00 

and $1.25 per retail transaction. 

 

It appears that the 911 department is seeking a significant, permanent increase in the 911 fee in order to 

fund one-time “Next Generation 911” capital expenditures and significantly higher ongoing operational 

costs in the future.  It is clear from this analysis that shifting to a point of sale collection methodology 

could generate an additional $3.9 million per year on a recurring basis, revenues that could be used to 

meet future expenditure needs and potentially minimize the need to increase the fee on all 

telecommunications users. 

 

Experience in Other States 

 

To verify the accuracy of this estimate, I gathered data on actual POS collections in states that have 

adopted the POS methodology and adjusted them for differing statutory 911 fee rates and subscriber 

counts.  Here is a summary of what these state estimates show: 

 

Maine   

Maine enacted the 911 prepaid point-of-sale law in 2010.  The rate is currently $.45 per retail transaction 

and the state has about 1.2 million wireless subscribers according to the FCC.  The Department of 

Revenue Services reported actual 911 collections of $767,636 at the $0.45 per retail transaction rate in 

FY13.  Assuming the same growth rates as the Massachusetts estimate, FY 14 collections in Maine will 

be an estimated $806,000.  Again, adjusting for the higher rate in Massachusetts and the larger number of 

subscribers, the Maine data shows that Massachusetts would receive about $7.5 million in prepaid 

collections based on Maine’s actual experience.  

 

Pennsylvania 

The Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency reported that POS collections for FY 13 totaled $13.6 

million.  Pennsylvania has a $1.00 per transaction rate and has 11.7 million wireless subscribers, 

according to the FCC. Assuming the same growth rate as the Massachusetts estimate, Pennsylvania is 

expected to receive $14.4 million in FY14 from prepaid.  Adjusting for the lower Massachusetts rate and 

the smaller number of Massachusetts subscribers, the Pennsylvania data shows that Massachusetts would 

receive about $6.2 million based on Pennsylvania’s actual experience. 

 

Tennessee 

I received data on POS collections from Curtis Sutton of the Tennessee 911 board, which showed that in 

the most recent 12-month period (ending September 2013), the state collected $4.97 million on prepaid at 

a rate of $.53 per retail transaction.  According to the FCC “Local Competition Report,”  Massachusetts 

and Tennessee have nearly the same number of wireless subscribers (6.9 million and 6.6 million, 

respectively), so the comparison of the two states is appropriate.  Adjusting Tennessee’s actual collections 

upward to reflect the higher rate in Massachusetts ($.75 per month vs. $.53 per month), Massachusetts 

could expect to generate about $7.7 million from the POS legislation using the Tennessee experience as a 

guide. 

 

 

 



MA Prepaid Point of Sale Revenue Forecast -- Revised 4/8/2015

Source:

FCC Reported MA Subscribers (Postpaid and Prepaid) as of December 2013 6,638,000            FCC Local Compeititon Report -- latest version available

Assumed 1% annual increase December 2013 to June 2015 99,570                  

Estimated MA Wireless Subscribers (Prepaid and Contract)  June 2015 6,737,570            

Estimated Prepaid Wireless Market Share 22.0% CTIA Semi Annual Report, November 2014

Estimated Total Prepaid Subscribers Derived from FCC Data 1,482,265

less estimated inactive/churn/lifeline 326,098 22.0%

Estimated Paying Prepaid Subscribers 1,156,167

Fee amount 0.75$                    

Estimated recharges per year 9

Estimated revenue per year per paying subscriber 6.75$                    

Estimated Revenue -- Point of Sale Methodology 7,804,127$          

Estimated current law revenue 3,867,831$          MA State E911 Department, March 20, 2015

Estimated new revenue at current $0.75 rate 3,936,296$          

Estimated new revenue at $1.00 rate 5,249,684$          

Estimated new revenue at $1.25 rate 6,560,365$          


