Department of Environmental Protection

One Winter Street Boston, MA 02108 • 617-292-5500

Charles D. Baker Governor

Karyn E. Polito Lieutenant Governor Matthew A. Beaton Secretary

> Martin Suuberg Commissioner

Economically Distressed Areas (EDAs)

Reformatted December 2017

<u>Economically Distressed Areas</u> ("EDA") are areas of the Commonwealth that are eligible for targeted assistance under the Brownfields Act. To qualify as an EDA, the area must meet one of the following criteria:

- 1. An area or municipality that has been designated as an Economic Target Area ("ETA"), or
- 2. An area or municipality that meets the criteria for ETA designation, but is not designated as ETA, or
- 3. The site of a former manufactured gas plant.

The list of ETAs is a partial list of EDAs. Under a separate program, the Economic Development Incentive Program (EDIP), certain properties located in ETAs are also eligible for an increased state investment tax credit, a local property tax abatement and a tax deduction for renovation of an abandoned building. See <u>MOBD web site</u> for more information about the EDIP.

Printed on Recycled Paper



COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSSETTS ECONOMIC ASSISTANCE COORDINATING COUNCIL ECONOMICALLY DISTRESSED AREAS As of November 13, 2015

Abington, Acushnet, Adams, Agawam, Amesbury, Amherst, Andover, Aquinnah (formerly Gay Head), Arlington (Census Tracts 3563 and 3564), Ashburnham, Ashfield, Ashland, Athol, Attleboro, Auburn, Avon, Ayer,

Barnstable, Barre, Becket, Bedford, Belchertown, Bellingham, Belmont (Census Tracts 3572, 3574, 3575 and 3577), Berkley, Bernardston, Beverly, Billerica, Blackstone, Bolton, Boston, Boylston, Bourne, Boxborough, Braintree (Census Tract 4194), Bridgewater, Brewster, Brimfield, Brockton, Brookfield, Buckland, Burlington,

Cambridge, Canton, Carver, Charlemont, Charlton, Chatham, Chelmsford, Chelsea, Cheshire, Chester, Chicopee, Clinton, Colrain, Conway,

Dalton, Dartmouth, Dedham, Deerfield, Dennis, Dighton, Douglas, Dracut, Dudley,

East Bridgewater, East Brookfield, Eastham, Easthampton, Edgartown, Erving, Essex, Everett (Census Tracts 3421, 3422, 3423, 3424, 3425, 3426, 3427),

Fairhaven, Fall River, Falmouth, Fitchburg, Florida, Fort Devens, Foxborough, Framingham, Franklin, Freetown,

Gardner, Georgetown, Gill, Gloucester, Grafton, Great Barrington, Greenfield, Groton,

Hadley, Halifax, Hanson, Hardwick, Harvard, Harwich, Hatfield, Haverhill, Hawley, Heath, Hingham, Hinsdale, Holbrook, Holland, Holyoke, Hopedale, Hopkinton, Hubbardston, Hudson, Hull,

Ipswich,

Kingston,

Lakeville, Lancaster, Lawrence, Lee, Leicester, Leominster, Lenox, Leverett, Leyden, Lexington (Census Tracks 3583, 3584, and 3586), Lowell, Ludlow, Lunenburg, Lynn,

Malden (Census Tract 3413, 3414, 3415, 3416, 3417, 3418, 3419), Manchester, Mansfield, Marblehead (Census Tracks 2031, 2032, 2033), Marlborough, Mashpee, Mattapoisett, Maynard, Medford (Census Tracts Census Tracts 339100-340100 Inclusive), Medway, Melrose (Census Tracts 3361, 3364.01, 3364.02) Mendon, Merrimac, Methuen (Census Tract 2524), Middleborough, Middlefield, Milford (Census Tracts 7442, 7443, and 7444), Millbury, Millville, Monroe, Monson, Montague, Monterey, Montgomery,

Natick, Needham, New Ashford, New Bedford, Newburyport, New Salem, Newton, Norfolk, North Adams, North Andover (Census Tracts 2531, 2532.01, 2532.02, and 2532.03), North Attleborough, North Brookfield, North Reading, Northampton, Northborough, Northbridge, North Brookfield, Northfield, Norton, Norwood,

Orange, Orleans, Otis, Oxford,

Palmer, Peabody (Census Tracts 2101 through 2109), Pembroke, Pepperell, Phillipston, Pittsfield, Plainfield, Plainville, Plymouth, Plympton, Provincetown,

Quincy,

Randolph, Raynham, Rehoboth (Census Tract 6331), Revere, Rochester, Rockland, Rockport, Rowe, Royalston, Russell, Rutland,

Salem, Salisbury, Sandisfield, Sandwich, Saugus (Census Tracts 2081.01, 2081.02, 2082) Savoy, Seekonk, Sheffield, Shelburne, Shrewsbury, Shirley, Somerset, Somerville, Southbridge, South Hadley, Southwick, Spencer, Springfield, Stockbridge, Stoughton, Sturbridge, Sunderland, Sutton, Swansea,

Taunton, Templeton, Tisbury, Truro,

Upton, Uxbridge,

Wales, Walpole, Waltham, Ware, Wareham, Warren, Watertown (Census Tracts 3701, 3703, 3704), Warwick, Webster, Wellfleet, Wendell, West Boylston, West Bridgewater, West Brookfield, West Springfield, Westfield, Westford, Westminster, Westport, Westwood (Census Tracts 4121, 4122, 4123), Weymouth, Whately, Whitman, Williamstown, Wilmington (Census Tracts 3312, 3313), Winchendon, Winthrop, Woburn, Worcester, Wrentham,

Yarmouth.

FORMER GAS SITES THAT QUALIFY AS ECONOMICALLY DISTRESSED AREAS, PURSUANT TO THE BROWNFIELDS LAW, CH. 21E, SEC. 2.

Arlington: Grove Street and Mystic Street; Danvers: Merrill Street Lexington: Merriam Street; Marblehead: Orne Street; Nantucket: Candle Street; Stoneham: Pomeworth Street;