
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PFML 
Employee 
Toolkit 
Paid Family and Medical Leave, or PFML, is a benefit program for 

Massachusetts employees offered by the Commonwealth. This 

guide will help you understand the program and the 

application process. 
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What is PFML? 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PFML is a Commonwealth program 
designed to give Massachusetts 
employees the resources to manage 
their own serious health condition, 
the serious health condition of 
a family member, the affairs of a 
family member on active duty, 
or to bond with a child. 

You are eligible if you work in 
Massachusetts with an employer 
who is contributing to the program 
on your behalf, and you need to take 
time off to care for yourself or a 
family member. Most Massachusetts 
employers must either participate 
in the state PFML plan or a 
private equivalent. 

You can receive benefits for up 
to 26 weeks (combined family 
and medical leave) in a benefit 
year. 

 
PFML benefits are funded by 
contributions on every dollar 
of wages earned by an 
employee who is covered by 
the program. 
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You are covered by the PFML law if: 

• You are an employee working for a Massachusetts business or

a state agency. 

• You are a contractor who receives a 1099-MISC tax form from a 

business that issues 1099-MISC tax forms to more than 50% 

of its workforce. 

• Your employer does not have a private paid leave plan 

exemption that has been approved by the Department of 

Family and Medical Leave (DFML). 

• You are a former employee who has been unemployed for 26 

weeks or fewer. 

Earnings requirement 

Additionally, you must meet DFML’s earning requirement. If you have 

earned at least $6,300 (in 2024) or $6,300 (in 2025) during the last 

4 completed calendar quarters, and at least 30 times more than 

how much you are eligible to get each week in benefits, you meet 

the criteria. Use our calculator to see if you meet PFML’s earnings 

requirement. 

Financial eligibility is determined using all wages during your base 

period, even if you have multiple jobs or worked for more than one 

employer. If you have more than one job and are approved for 

benefits, however, your actual benefit amount will be based on the 

wages you have received from the employer or employers from 

whom you are taking leave. 

Opting-in if you are self-employed: 

• If you are self-employed or a 1099-MISC contractor for a business 

that does not cover contractors for PFML because 1099-MISC 

contractors make up less than 50% of the business’s workforce, you 

can choose to opt-in to the PFML program 

• To opt into PFML, DFML will require you to complete and submit 

the Department's Self-Employed Notice of Election. 

• When the required documentation is complete, you will need to 

fill out this form to notify DFML of your request and submit your 

Notice of Election. 

• After you complete your form you will need to create a PFML

account through MassTaxConnect. 

Excluded from PFML: 

Municipalities, districts, political subdivisions, housing authorities, 

regional school districts, and regional planning commissions are types 

of employers that are excluded from PFML eligibility but may opt-in 

through a vote of their governing body or committee. Charter schools 

are not considered municipalities and, therefore, are not excluded 

from PFML eligibility. Additionally, certain types of work are automatically 

excluded from PFML, including: 

• Work performed for a son, daughter, or spouse 

• If under 18 years old, work performed for one’s

father or mother 

• Work performed by inmates of penal institutions 

• Independent contractors as defined by this three-

part test 

• Employment in the railroad industry 

• Work provided by real estate brokers/salespeople and insurance 

agents/solicitors in commission-only jobs 

• Newspaper sales and delivery by persons under 18 

• Employment by churches and certain religious organizations 

• Work done by work-study students, student nurses, and interns, 

or those in work trainee programs administered by non-profit or 

public institutions 
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Generally, PFML coverage is available to all W-2 employees who work in Massachusetts, whether full-time, part-time, or 
seasonal, as well as some 1099-MISC contractors. If you have questions about your PFML eligibility, ask your employer. 

https://calculator.digital.mass.gov/pfml/yourbenefits/
https://www.mass.gov/doc/self-employed-notice-of-election/download
https://www.mass.gov/forms/statutorily-excluded-employers-opt-in-request-form
https://www.mass.gov/info-details/opt-in-and-contribute-to-paid-family-and-medical-leave-as-a-self-employed-individual
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXXI/Chapter149/Section148b
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXXI/Chapter149/Section148b
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXXI/Chapter149/Section148b


What can PFML be used for? 
12 

weeks 

Family leave to bond with a child 

Family leave can be taken by a parent or legal 
guardian to bond with a child during the first 12 
months after the child’s birth, adoption, or 
foster care placement. 

Eligibility for family leave to bond with a child is 
limited to the child’s parents or legal guardians. 
As a parent or legal guardian, you can take up 
to 12 weeks of family leave to bond with a child 
per year. The annual 12-week maximum stays 
the same even if you have multiple childbirths, 
adoptions, or foster care placements in the 
same year. 

You and your partner may choose to take 
family leave to bond with the child at the same 
time, or separately. You must complete your 
leave before the child’s first birthday, or the 
one-year anniversary of their adoption or foster 
care placement. 

For example, if your child is born on February 1, 

2024, you must complete your family leave 
to bond with a child before February 1, 2025. 

Family leave to manage a qualifying 
exigency related to a family 
member’s deployment 

You can take time off to manage any needs 
that take place immediately after a family 
member is deployed or has been notified of an 
upcoming deployment. These needs may 

include: 

• Making financial or legal arrangements
for a deployed family member 

• Attending counseling 

• Attending military events or ceremonies 

• Spending time with a deployed
family member during a rest or
recuperation period 

• Spending time with a family member 
when they return from deployment 

• Making necessary arrangements 
following the death of a family 
member who had been deployed

Family leave to care for a family 
member with a serious health 
condition 

For the purposes of leave to care for a family 
member with a serious health condition, 
family members include: 

• Your spouse or domestic partner 

• Your children 

• Your parents 

• Your spouse or domestic 
partner’s parents 

• Your grandchildren 

• Your grandparents 

• Your siblings 

Activities 

When caring for a family member with a 
serious health condition, activities can include 
but are not limited to: 

• Providing the daily living needs that 
the family member cannot perform 
due to their serious health condition, 
such as helping them get dressed or 
preparing meals 

• Providing transportation to the doctor 
or other facilities for appointments 
and treatment 

• Providing support for their serious 
mental health condition, such as 
taking them to therapy or medication
appointments for major depression 

• Helping make arrangements for 
changes in care, such as a transfer
to a nursing home 

Examples 

You can take leave to care for a family member 
for a variety of situations. Examples include: 

• If your parent is having a hip replacement
and needs help getting 
to and from physical therapy, you can 
take reduced leave, and work fewer 
hours per day, or fewer days per week in 
order to help them. 

• If your spouse is having surgery followed
by extensive recuperation where they 
won’t be able to shower without 
assistance, you can take up to 12 weeks 
of continuous leave to help them out. 

• If your child is undergoing chemotherapy 

• Caring for a deployed family member’s 
child or other family member 
immediately before their deployment 

and has bouts of nausea, weakness, and 
pain, you can take intermittent leave 
when you need to care for them. 

/ 03 



/ 04 

20 
weeks 

26 
weeks 

Medical leave to manage your 
own serious health condition 

What is a serious health condition? 

A serious health condition is a physical or 
mental condition that prevents you from 
doing your job for more than 3 consecutive 
full calendar days, and requires: 

• 2 or more treatments by a health 
care provider (in-person or during 
telehealth visit) within 30 calendar 
days of an inability to perform your 
duties, or 

• Overnight stay in a hospital, hospice, 
or medical facility, or 

• At least 1 treatment by a health 
care provider within 30 days of an 
inability to perform your duties, 
with plans for continued treatment, 
including prescriptions 

Serious health conditions can 
include: 

• Chronic conditions, like asthma or 
diabetes, that stop you from working 
some of the time, go on for some time, 
and require going to the doctor more 
than twice a year 

• Permanent or long-term conditions, 
like Alzheimer’s disease, stroke, or 
terminal cancer, that might not 
be curable and will need ongoing 
attention but will not necessarily 
require active treatment. For example, 
when a person is in hospice 

• Conditions requiring multiple 
treatments, like chemotherapy, 
kidney dialysis, or physical therapy
after an accident 

• Complications related to a 
diagnosis of COVID-19 that prevent
you from working, as certified by a 
health care provider 

• Substance Use Disorder may be 
considered a serious condition 
covered by family or medical leave if
the patient is receiving treatment 
from a health care provider, by a 
provider of health care services on 
referral by a health care provider, or 
by a program licensed by the MA 
Department of Public Health 

• Conditions due to pregnancy, post- 
natal, or post-birth recovery that 
prevent you from working, as 
certified by a health care provider 

• Conditions due to miscarriage, 
stillbirth or perinatal depression 
that prevent you from working, as
certified by a health care provider

Serious health conditions do not 
include: 

• Cosmetic surgery, unless inpatient
hospital care is required or unless 
complications develop 

Family leave to care for a service 
member with a serious health 
condition related to military 
service 

You can take up to 26 weeks of family 
leave per year to care for a family member 
who is a current or former member of the 
Armed Forces, including the National 
Guard and Reserves, who is: 

• Undergoing medical treatment, 
recuperation, or therapy for a serious 
health condition that was received or 
aggravated by service in the line of active 
duty.

• In outpatient status for a serious health 
condition that was received or 
aggravated by service in the line of active 
duty.

• On the temporary disability retired list 
for a serious injury or illness that was 
received or aggravated by service in the 
line of active duty.

Leave 
schedules: 

Continuous leave: 
A single time period 

of consecutive, 

uninterrupted days 

Reduced leave: 
A consistent but 
reduced schedule for 
multiple weeks 

Intermittent leave: 
Multiple episodes of time 

off, which may be irregular 

or unexpected 
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Understanding the 
different ways you can 
schedule your leave 

Continuous leave 

This is when you are taking leave from work completely for 

days or weeks at a time. For example, if you have surgery, you 

may need several continuous weeks of paid leave to recover. 

Reduced leave 

This is when you are working a reduced schedule. If you 

normally work 8am-5pm, Monday through Friday, and 

your partner recently had a baby, you may want to work 3 

days per week, to bond with and care for your child. 

Intermittent leave 

This is when you need to take time off here and there, 

sometimes in unpredictable increments. If you are 

undergoing chemotherapy, you may want to take off for the 

days when you receive treatment, and for the 3 days 

afterwards, to recover. You may also find that some days you 

need to leave work early or come in late. 

In cases of intermittent leave, you will need to call the 

DFML Contact Center at (833)-344-7365 each week to 

report the hours that you ended up using for intermittent 

leave. 
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What do I need 
to do before I 
apply? 

Talk with your employer 

You should notify your employer at least 30 days 

prior to your intended leave before you begin the 

application process. 

Communicating with your employer is an important part of 

advancing your application. You should not start an 

application until you have talked to your employer. 

• If you are applying to take paid family or medical leave for a 

planned event, like an elective surgery, you must give your 

employer at least 30 days’ notice before beginning your 

application. 

• If you are taking leave for an unexpected or unplanned life 

event, you should notify your employer as soon as possible 

before beginning your application for paid leave. 

• Make sure to not only communicate what type of leave 

you are taking (family or medical) but the type of leave 

schedule (continuous, reduced, or intermittent), and any 

other relevant details. 

Confirm that your organization has a 
registered leave administrator with DFML: 

• A leave administrator is the person responsible for 

reviewing and processing employee claims on behalf of 

an organization. If your employer did not register a 

leave administrator with DFML, this may cause delays 

in processing your application. 

• When you communicate with your employer, ask who 

the leave administrator is so you can follow up with 

questions. 
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What documents do I need? 

Tips to keep in mind: 

When you apply for paid family or medical leave, 

you will need to provide some information about 

your situation so we can verify the details of your 

application. The verification documents will vary, 

depending on the type of leave you are taking. 

Copies need to be legible. For 

identification, they need to 

be in color and the front and 

back copied. 

Forms need to be 

filled out completely 

and accurately. 

Proof of identity 
When applying for paid family or medical leave, you will be asked to upload proof of your identity to double-
check that you are eligible, and to make sure that we send benefits to the right person. 

1. You must include both the FRONT 

and BACK of the document for it to be 

accepted.

2. Document copies must be IN COLOR 

and ONLY PDF

or .jpg, .jpeg, .png IMAGE FILES are 

accepted. We are not able to accept .heic 

(the default image file for iPhones) at this 

time.

3. Color documents must be uploaded 

or mailed as we cannot accept color 

faxes. 

4. Files must be smaller than 4.5 MB. 

Learn more about document requirements 

and formatting

for upload.

The easiest way to provide proof of identity is a color copy of your 

Massachusetts Driver’s License or ID Card. If you do not have a 

Massachusetts Driver’s License or ID Card, you will need to provide a 

valid, unexpired copy of ONE of the following documents for ID proofing: 

From Massachusetts: 

• A REAL ID Driver's License or REAL ID 
• A Standard Driver’s License or ID Card
• A Junior Operating License
• A Learner’s Permit
• A Commercial Driver’s License
• A Limited Term License
• A Not for Federal Use license
• A Tribal ID card
• A Liquor License

From Out of State: 

• A REAL ID Driver's License or REAL ID 

• A U.S. Standard Driver's License or ID Card 
• A U.S. Junior Operating License

• A U.S. Learner’s Permit

• A U.S. Passport or Passport Card (include both the page with identifying 
information AND the signature page)

• A Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551) issued by the U.S. Department 
of Homeland Security (DHS) or the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization 
Service

• An Employment Authorization Document (EAD) issued by DHS, Form

I-766, or Form I-688B 

• A Foreign Passport (include both the page with identifying information
AND the signature page)
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If you do not have any of the options on page 7, you will need to provide valid, unexpired copies of TWO documents from the 

following categories: 

You will need a color copy of any one of 

these documents: 

• A Certified Copy of your Birth 
Certificate filed with the State Office 
of Vital Statistics or equivalent 
agency in your state of birth. (A 
Puerto Rican birth certificate will only 
be accepted if it was issued on or 
after July 1, 2010.) 

• A Certificate of Citizenship, Form 
o560, or Form N-561, issued by DHS 

• A Certificate of Naturalization 
(Form N-550 or N-570) 

And you will need to provide a black and white 

or color copy of one of these documents: 

• A SSN Card

• A W-2 Form

• A SSA-1099 Form

• A Non-SSA-1099 Form

• A Pay Stub with your full name and SSN

• An Authorized Letter from the IRS 
displaying your individual tax identification 
number (ITIN)

Remember, no matter which options you choose to use, document copies must include both the front and 

back, be in color, if indicated, and be saved as a PDF or image file (.jpg, .jpeg, .png) to be accepted. Files must be 

smaller than 4.5 MB. 

Color documents must be uploaded or mailed as we cannot accept color faxes. 

Documentation for the different types of leave 

Medical leave 

Medical leave to care for your serious health condition 

If you are taking continuous leave, you must provide either a Massachusetts DFML Certification of Your Serious Health Condition Form 

or FMLA’s Certification of Healthcare Provider for Employee’s Serious Health Condition filled out by your health care provider that 

includes the following information: 

• A statement that you have a serious health condition 

• A certification that you cannot work due to the serious health condition 

• The probable duration of your serious health condition 

• The date on which your serious health condition started 

If you are taking intermittent or reduced paid leave in addition to continuous or instead of continuous leave, your health care 

provider should also include the probable duration of your serious health condition. 
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https://www.mass.gov/how-to/download-a-certification-of-your-serious-health-condition-form
https://www.mass.gov/how-to/download-a-certification-of-your-serious-health-condition-form
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/WH-380-E.pdf


Family leave 

Family leave to bond with a newborn child 

In order to be approved to take family leave to bond with a newborn child, we will need to know the child’s 

date of birth. You can use copies of any of the documents below: 

• The child’s government-issued birth certificate, OR 

• A statement from the child’s health care provider stating the child’s birth date, OR 

• A statement from the health care provider of the person who gave birth stating the child’s birth date, OR 

• A statement or birth record from the hospital where the child was born indicating the child’s birth date and signed by 

the birth registrar 

Family leave to bond with a newly adopted child or a child recently placed in foster care 

To be approved to take family leave to bond with a newly adopted child or a child recently placed in foster care, we will need to verify 

the child’s placement in your care and the date of their placement. You can use copies of any of these documents: 

• A certificate from the child’s health care provider confirming both the placement of the child AND date of placement, OR 

• A certification from an adoption or foster care agency involved in the placement confirming both the placement of the child 

AND date of placement, OR 

• A certificate from the MA Department of Children and Families confirming both the placement of the child AND the date of 

the placement 

Family leave to care for a family member with a serious health condition 

Those applying for family leave to care for a family member with a serious health condition should include in their application a 

Massachusetts DFML Certification of Your Family Member’s Serious Health Condition Form or FMLA’s Certification of Healthcare 

Provider for Family Member’s Serious Health Condition that includes the following: 

• A statement that your family member has a serious health condition and any other relevant details about your 

family member’s condition 

• When your family member’s condition began 

• That you, the employee, are needed to care for the family member and what kinds of care might be needed 

• Information about how often and how long your family member needs you to care for them 

• The name and address of your family member and their relationship to you 

Family leave to care for a family member who is a covered service member with a serious medical condition 

Those applying for family leave to care for a family member who is a covered service member should include in their application a 

Massachusetts DFML Certification of Your Family Member’s Serious Health Condition Form or FMLA’s Certification of Healthcare 

Provider for Family Member’s Serious Health Condition that includes the following: 

• Attestation by the service member’s health care provider that the health condition is connected to the service 

member’s military service 

• The date on which the covered service member’s serious health condition began 

• That you, the employee, are needed to care for the covered service member and what kinds of care might be needed 

• Information about how often and how long the covered service member needs you to care for them 

• Your familial relationship with the covered service member 

• The name and address of the covered service member 
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https://www.mass.gov/how-to/download-a-certification-of-your-serious-health-condition-form
https://www.mass.gov/how-to/download-a-certification-of-your-serious-health-condition-form
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/WH-380-E.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/WH-380-E.pdf
https://www.mass.gov/how-to/download-a-certification-of-your-serious-health-condition-form
https://www.mass.gov/how-to/download-a-certification-of-your-serious-health-condition-form
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/WH-380-E.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/WH-380-E.pdf


Family leave to manage affairs while a covered service member is or will be deployed 

When applying to manage affairs when a family member who is a covered service member is being 

deployed, you should include copies of documents that prove the following: 

• The dates or period of time for which your leave is required

• The underlying reason for your leave

• Your familial relationship with the service member

• The name and address of the family member being cared for

• Information as required by DFML proving identity of family member who is or will be deployed

And a copy of one of the following certification documents: 

• A copy of the family member’s active-duty orders

• A letter of Impending Activation from the family member’s Commanding Officer

• An FMLA WH-384 form 
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Create an account online or apply by phone 
Once you have talked to your employer, you can apply for 

available PFML benefits online by creating a personal 

PFML account or you can apply by phone by calling 

DFML's Contact Center at (833)344-7365. 

• Helpful tip: If you are applying for military-related 

paid family leave benefits, or if you are applying for 

paid family or medical leave benefits and you are 

currently unemployed, please call DFML’s Contact 

Center at (833) 344-7365 to begin your application. 

• Helpful tip: Depending on the situation, a 

pregnant individual might be eligible to take 

medical leave during or directly after their 

pregnancy. See page 13 for more information if you are 

expecting. 

• Helpful tip: Be sure that you only create one 

account to avoid delays in processing your 

application. 

Provide DFML with documents to prove your identity 

• When applying for paid family or medical leave, you’ll be 

asked to provide proof of your identity to double- 

check that you are eligible, and to make sure that we 

send benefits to the right person. 

• The easiest way to do this will be to provide a color 

copy of your Massachusetts Driver’s License or ID 

Card. If you do not have a Massachusetts Driver’s 

License or ID Card, you can provide color copies of 

other documents to verify your identity. See more detail

in the required documents section of the toolkit. 
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How do I apply for PFML? 
Make sure you are aware of any reductions you may have: 

insurance 
Workers’ 
compensation programs paid family or medical 

leave benefits through 
your employer 

your employer 
Paid time off through 
your employer 

School breaks/vacation 
time for educators 

https://paidleave.mass.gov/create-account
https://paidleave.mass.gov/create-account
https://paidleave.mass.gov/create-account
https://paidleave.mass.gov/create-account
https://www.mass.gov/how-to/how-to-apply-for-military-related-paid-family-leave
https://www.mass.gov/how-to/how-to-apply-for-military-related-paid-family-leave
https://www.mass.gov/how-to/how-to-apply-for-paid-family-or-medical-leave-if-you-are-self-employed-or-unemployed
https://www.mass.gov/info-details/identity-proof-for-paid-leave
https://www.mass.gov/guides/massachusetts-identification-id-requirements
https://www.mass.gov/guides/massachusetts-identification-id-requirements


Select your leave details 

• You can choose to apply for family or medical leave for a 

variety of reasons, each of which has its own eligibility 

and approval process. Once you know the type of leave 

you would like to apply for, we recommend you figure 

out if you are eligible and find out what documents you 

will need to provide in order to get approved before 

beginning your application.

Upload, fax, or mail documents to verify 
your leave 

• See the documentation checklist in the previous 

section for specific documents that you will need to 

provide for your type of leave. We cannot accept 

color faxes.

• Only PDF and image files (.jpg, .jpeg, .png) are accepted. 

Files must be smaller than 4.5 MB.

Take note of any reductions 

• The amount of benefits you receive during leave
may be reduced based on your employer-sponsored
benefits, any leave you have taken in the previous
12 months, and any other sources of income you
may have. When you submit your application, any
reductions to your weekly benefit amount will be
automatically calculated based on the information
DFML receives from your employer and the
Department of Revenue during the review process.

• See page 11 for types of reductions.

Choose your payment method 

• You can choose to receive your benefits 

through direct deposit or through check.

• DFML recommends direct deposit for 

quickest payments.

Enter your employment information 

• We will need your employment status, including 

your current employer’s Employer Identification 

Number (EIN) in order to process your claim. We 

will also need to know when you informed your 

employer that you planned to apply for and take 

family or medical leave.

• If you are filing for paid leave from multiple 

employers, you will need to fill out a separate 

application for each individual employer.
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Pregnant individuals using family and medical leave 

Depending on the situation, a pregnant individual might 

be eligible to take medical leave during or directly after 

their pregnancy. If they do, they can transition directly 

into family leave to bond with a child after the child’s 

birth if they want to, or they can wait to take family leave 

to bond with a child some other time within the next 12 

months as long as it is completed no later than the day 

before the child’s first birthday. In this scenario, be sure to 

apply for medical leave first, then family leave to bond 

with a child. To apply, follow these steps: 

Begin a claim for medical leave first online or through the 

DFML Contact Center and answer “Yes” to the question, 

“Is this related to pregnancy?” 

Provide proof of your identity. 

Complete the Massachusetts DFML Certification of Your 

Serious Health Condition Form or FMLA’s Certification of 

Healthcare Provider for Employee’s Serious Health 

Condition. 

• NOTE: It is up to your health care provider to decide 

how much time you will be able to take for your medical 

leave for a condition related to pregnancy or for recovery 

from birth. 

Once medical leave has been approved, call the DFML 

Contact Center at (833) 344-7365 or go online to add an 

application for family leave to bond with a child. This will 

ensure there is no disruption in your benefits payments 

and allow you to transition directly into family leave to 

bond with a child when your medical leave is complete. It 

will also eliminate a second 7-day waiting period. 

If your baby has already been delivered, you can submit 

the proof of your child’s birth online at this time. 

If your baby has not been delivered yet, provide your 

estimated delivery date and provide proof of birth once 

the child has been born. Your requested leave dates will 

be updated to match the delivery date on your 

documentation. 
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What happens after I apply? 

1 2 3 4 

DFML receives your 
completed application. 
Your application will not 

move forward in this process 

until we have all of your 

documents. 

DFML asks your 
employer to review and 
respond. 
Your employer has 10 business 

days to respond. 

DFML reviews your 
documents and sets 
you up for payments. 
We will review your application 

and let you know if you are 

approved. While we do that, we 

get you into the payment system. 

Payment is sent. 
• There are no payments for the

first week of leave, which is 

the 7-day waiting period. 

• Payments are made weekly. 

Is there anything else I should know? 

What happens if I need to extend 

my leave? 

• If you plan to extend your leave, you
must notify DFML within 30 days of
your leave end date to avoid a second
7-day waiting period. You can do this

online or by calling the DFML Contact
Center at (833) 344-7365. You must 

also notify your employer at this time. 

• Legally, you are required to
report any relevant change in
circumstances that may affect the
duration of your leave, your eligibility
for benefits, or the amount of your
benefit payment within 7 days. You

must do so by calling the DFML

Contact Center at (833) 344-7365.

• If you do not provide DFML with
notice of a relevant change in
circumstances that would reduce the
amount of benefits you receive, you
will be responsible for reimbursing
DFML the amount overpaid within 30
calendar days of a request made by
DFML.

• If you have any questions about the 

notice or your claim, please visit
DFML’s website at mass.gov/DFML. If
your questions are not answered on
the website, you may call the DFML
Contact Center at (833) 344-7365.

Taxability 
• The IRS has not yet made a ruling 

on whether your PFML benefits 

are considered “taxable income.” 

• You will have the option when 

applying to have state and federal 

taxes withheld from your weekly 

benefit. If you choose this option,

DFML will withhold 5% for state 

taxes and 10% for federal taxes. 

• If you are unsure whether you want 

to withhold taxes, we recommend 

speaking with a tax professional 

about how IRS decisions could affect 

your personal tax liability. We cannot 

offer guidance or advice for 

individual tax situations. 

Do not apply to PFML if your employer 

has a private plan exemption or you are 

not seeking benefits from DFML. 

• Job protections still exist for leave
taken for a qualified reason.
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Phone 
Department of Family and Medical Leave 

DFML Contact Center 

833-344-PFML (7365)

Online 
mass.gov/dfml 

https://www.mass.gov/
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