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WHAT IS WORKERS’ COMPENSATION? 

The Massachusetts workers’ compensation system is in place to make sure that workers are protected by 

insurance if they are injured on the job or contract a work-related illness. The system also limits employer 

exposure to liability for workplace and illnesses (except in cases of wilful negligence). 

Under this system, employers are required by Massachusetts General Laws c. 152, § 25A to provide workers’ 

compensation (WC) insurance coverage for all their employees. This insurance pays for any reasonable and 

necessary medical treatment related to the injury or illness and also pays partial compensation for lost wages 

after the first 5 calendar days of total or partial disability. 

The Department of Industrial Accidents (DIA) is the agency responsible for administering the workers’ 

compensation law in Massachusetts. Employers in Massachusetts have certain obligations under this law. This 

guide outlines an employer’s requirements for compliance with the law.  

Included in this guide are sections on: 

• Insurance Requirements 

• Exemption for Certain Corporate Officers  

• What Happens If an Employer Does Not Have Workers’ Compensation Insurance 

• How to Verify Workers’ Compensation Insurance 

• Injury/Illness Reporting Requirements 

• How to File/What to do with the Employer’s First Report of Injury/Fatality (Form 101) 

• First Report Violation Notice  

• How to Appeal a First Report Violation Notice  

• The Claims Reporting Process From Injury or Work-Related Illness to Adjudication 

• Lump Sum Settlement 

• Vocational Rehabilitation Services 

• The Best Ways to Reduce Your Workers’ Compensation Insurance Expenses 

• The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) 

• Some Frequently Asked Questions by Employers 

INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS 

All employers in Massachusetts are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance covering their 

employees, including themselves if they are an employee of their company. This requirement applies regardless 

of the number of hours worked in any given week, except that domestic service employees must work a 

minimum of 16 hours per week in order to require coverage. 

Employers are required to notify their employees of the name of the workers’ compensation insurance carrier. A 

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES poster must be posted in a common area of the workplace in English and other 

appropriate languages. The poster can be obtained by calling the DIA (one is included at the end of this guide), 

on our website at www.mass.gov/dia or from your insurance company. Failure to post this information may 

subject the employer to a fine of $100.  
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Members of a Limited Liability Company (LLC), partners of a Limited Liability Partnership (LLP), and 

partnerships or sole proprietors of an unincorporated business are not required to carry workers’ compensation 

insurance for themselves. However, such members, partners and sole proprietors may now choose to purchase 

workers’ compensation insurance coverage for themselves. To obtain coverage, the member or partner should 

contact an insurance broker and request to purchase a policy. Please be advised that optional coverage applies 

ONLY to such members, partners or sole proprietors. Any employee of such an entity, who is not a member or 

partner in the business, MUST be covered by workers’ compensation insurance. 

EXEMPTION FOR CERTAIN CORPORATE OFFICERS 

Certain corporate officers may request exemption from coverage under the workers’ compensation act. Any 

corporate officer who owns at least 25% interest in the corporation may exempt themselves from the provisions 

of the workers’ compensation act. Such an exemption DOES NOT apply to employees of a corporation who are 

not listed as corporate officers. All employees must be covered by a valid workers’ compensation policy at all 

times. In order for corporate officers to exercise this right of exemption, they must sign the Affidavit of 

Exemption for Certain Corporate Officers or Directors (Form 153), stating whether or not they wish to exempt 

themselves. All exemptions must be filed with the DIA’s Office of Investigations in Boston for approval at: 

 Department of Industrial Accidents 

 Office of Investigations 

 Lafayette City Center 

            2 Avenue de Lafayette 

 Boston, MA 02111-1750 

WHAT HAPPENS IF AN EMPLOYER DOES NOT HAVE  
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION  INSURANCE 

Employers operating without workers’ compensation insurance will be issued a STOP WORK ORDER by the 

DIA Office of Investigations and shall be assessed a minimum fine of $100 per day commencing on the date of 

the issuance. Fines accrue each day until insurance coverage becomes effective, and the fine must be paid in full 

to release the STOP WORK ORDER, as authorized under MGL c. 152 § 25C. These orders can be appealed, but 

fines accrue at $250 per day when appealed, and STOP WORK ORDERS remain in effect until insurance 

becomes effective and the fine is paid.  

Payment of these fines can be paid by Visa, Mastercard or Discover, by contacting the DIA Office of 

Investigations in Boston between 8 AM and 4 PM, at (857) 321-7406. Payments are also accepted in person up 

until 4 PM at any of the DIA offices: 

• Boston: Lafayette City Center, 2 Avenue de Lafayette 

• Fall River: 1 Father DeValles Blvd, 3rd Floor 

• Lawrence: 354 Merrimack St., Entrance C, Suite 320 

• Springfield: 436 Dwight St., Rm. 105 

• Worcester: Mercantile Center, 100 Front St., Suite 310 

In addition, the employer may be subject to criminal sanctions including not more than one-year imprisonment 

and/or up to a $1500 fine upon conviction. Uninsured employers are also subject to debarment from public 

contracts for a period of 3 years. 
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If an employer fails to carry workers’ compensation coverage and an employee is injured on the job, that 

employee may be eligible to receive compensation from the Workers’ Compensation Trust Fund; however, the 

DIA’s Legal Department will make every effort on behalf of the Trust Fund to collect those monies from the 

noncompliant employer. 

HOW TO VERIFY WORKERS’  COMPENSATION COVERAGE 

The Department of Industrial Accidents provides the public with a free web-based “Proof of Coverage” (POC) 

tool that can help verify whether a particular employer has a current workers’ compensation insurance policy. 

Although the POC tool is not designed to detect fraud, in some cases, it may assist DIA investigators (via online 

referrals) in determining whether fraud exists. To access the POC tool, simply go to www.mass.gov/dia and 

click on the link on the “DIA Key Resources” and then “Verify Workers’ Compensation Coverage.” The POC 

tool is accessible 24 hours a day. 

IF after checking the POC tool for a business, you believe that coverage is not in effect, you can contact our 

Office of Investigations at (857) 321-7406 or toll-free at 1-877-MASSAFE (1-877-627-7233) or fill out the 

referral form online. 

INJURY/ILLNESS REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

An injured worker becomes eligible for weekly compensation benefits when they are not able to earn wages for 

5 full or partial calendar days as result of a work-related injury or illness. The days of loss do not have to be 

consecutive. At this point, the employer is required to electronically file the Employer’s First Report of 

Injury/Fatality (Form 101). 

If an injury or illness results in less than 5 calendar days of full or partial disability, then it is considered a 

“medical-only” claim and would not be required to be reported to the DIA. However, a medical only claim 

would be required to be filed with your insurance company, as any resulting medical treatment would be paid 

for by the insurance company. 

The Employer’s First Report of Injury/Fatality (Form 101) can only be filed electronically with the DIA. Once 

the form has been filled out, the employer should print 3 copies of the Employer’s First Report of 

Injury/Fatality (Form 101): 1 for the employer’s records, 1 for the insurance carrier and 1 that must be sent to 

the employee. This form must be filed with the DIA within 7 calendar days (not including Sundays and legal 

holidays) from the 5th full or partial day the employee has been disabled. Submission of this form does not 

constitute an admission of liability.  

Any employer who does not file this form on time 3 times in any given 12-month period shall be fined $100 for 

each violation thereafter. Failure to pay the fine within 30 calendar days of receipt of an invoice from the DIA 

shall be considered a separate violation. The fines progressively escalate with each failure to pay with a penalty 

of $100 increments. 

If an employee does not report the injury or illness as work related to you right away, you would have 7 

calendar days (not including Sundays or legal holidays) from the notification of the injury or illness to 

electronically file the form. For example, if an employee was out of work for 3 weeks and did not notify you 

they were out due to a work-related injury or illness until they returned to work, you would have 7 calendar 

days (not including Sundays and legal holidays) from the notification to electronically file the Employer’s First 

Report of Injury/Fatality (Form 101). 

http://www.mass.gov/dia
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Please note: In a case such as cited above, be sure to fill out the box on the form marked “DATE 

REPORTED” with the date the injury or illness was actually reported to you. This will prevent your company 

from being fined for failing to file the report within the statutory limits. 

 

WHAT TO DO WITH THE 
EMPLOYER’S FIRST REPORT OF INJURY/FATALITY (FORM 101) 

Employers MUST file the Employer’s First Report of Injury/Fatality (Form 101) electronically.  

The Department has procedures in place for filing forms electronically using a log-in and password. Visit our 

website at www.mass.gov/dia to sign up for an account by looking for the “Apply For A DIA Online Account” 

link in the “Online Services” module. 

Once you have completed the form, there is a print button you can use to make a hard copy of the form. You 

should make 3 copies of this form: 1 copy MUST be given to the employee; 1 copy to your insurance company 

and keep 1 copy for your records.  

If the form you submitted is incomplete or contains an error, it will be rejected by the DIA and you will receive 

an auto-rejection notice and in the comment screen the errors will be labeled. You will be asked to correct the 

information and resubmit the form. This will help you to avoid incurring a fine. If your submission is 

successful, you will receive a transmittal ID Number. Please keep the Transmittal ID Number for your records. 

FIRST REPORT VIOLATION NOTICE 

As the employer, it is important that you electronically file the Employer’s First Report of Injury/Fatality (Form 

101) accurately and timely; otherwise, you may receive a First Report Violation Notice. There are a number of 

reasons for receiving this First Report Violation Notice. The most common reasons are: 

1. The First Report is filed late. 

2. The employer erroneously does not electronically file an Employer’s First Report of Injury/Fatality (Form 

101) with the DIA and only files with their insurance agent or company.  

3. The employer receives an auto-rejection notice from the department and does not fix the errors and resubmit 

the corrected form. 

4. The insurer sends the department either an Insurer’s Notification of Payment (Form 103) or Insurer’s 

Notification of Denial (Form 104) in response to a report from an employer that should have been filed as a 

medical-only claim. 

5. The DIA has made an error. 

HOW TO APPEAL A FIRST REPORT VIOLATION NOTICE 

The DIA is required by law to fine those employers who have not filed an Employer’s First Report of 

Injury/Fatality (Form 101) within the statutory time limits. YOU MUST EITHER PAY THE FINE OR 

APPEAL WITHIN 30 DAYS. Please mail payments to: 
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Department of Industrial Accidents 

P. O. Box 3732 

Boston, MA 02241-3732 

If you receive an Employer Injury Report Violation Notice (Form 60) from the DIA, and believe that it is not 

warranted, these are the steps to appeal it: 

STEP 1 - APPEAL 

All inquiries/appeals must be submitted in writing along with a copy of the violation invoice. Briefly state in a 

letter the reasons you believe that you are not liable for this fine. You must do this within 30 calendar days from 

the date of the notice. Include all RELEVANT information. 

STEP 2 - DIA’s RESPONSE 

The DIA will conduct an individual administrative review of your appeal. This means that we will research 

and/or pull the original forms from our files and confirm the basis for the original issuance of the fine. If the 

research and review supports your contention, we will take corrective action to withdraw the violation. You will 

be notified in writing of the DIA’s decision. 

STEP 3 - HEARING 

If you are not satisfied with the result of this administrative review, you have the right to request a formal 

hearing by the DIA within 14 calendar days of receiving our decision. You will be notified of the date, time and 

place of this hearing. 

Please Note: If you do not pay the fine or appeal your original violation, additional violations on your account 

will be incurred. Department regulations (452 C.M.R. 1.03 (3) (C)) do not provide for any appeal to Demand 

Notices (Form 420). The fine is due within 14 calendar days of receipt of the administrative review. Only one 

administrative review is allowed for each violation. 

THE CLAIMS REPORTING PROCESS FROM  
INJURY OR WORK-RELATED ILLNESS TO ADJUDICATION 

STEP 1 - INJURY OR WORK-RELATED ILLNESS: 

When an employee is incapable of earning full wages for 5 or more full or partial calendar days due to an 

occupational injury or illness, the employer must electronically file the original Employer’s First Report of 

Injury/Fatality (Form 101) with the DIA and send a copy to their insurance carrier, a copy to the injured worker 

and keep a copy for their records. This form must be filed within 7 calendar days (not including Sundays and 

legal holidays) from the 5th day of full or partial disability. 

STEP 2 - PAYMENT OR DENIAL OF CLAIM 

Once the insurer receives the form, they have 14 calendar days to pay benefits on an Insurer’s Notification of 

Payment (Form 103) or notify the employee and the DIA that they are denying the claim by sending an 

Insurer’s Notification of Denial (Form 104). The insurance company can pay on a claim for up to the first 180 

days following the initial injury or illness without accepting liability for the claim. During this 180 day “Pay 

Without Prejudice” period, the insurer can stop or modify the payments after giving a 7 calendar day notice to 

the injured worker and the DIA on an Insurer’s Notification of Termination or Modification of Weekly 

Compensation During Payment Without Prejudice Period (Form 106). The insurer, with the consent of the 

injured worker and approval of the DIA, can extend the initial 180 day period for another 180 days on an 
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Agreement to Extend 180 Day Payment Without Prejudice Period (Form 105). After the initial 180 day period 

has passed, the insurer can stop or reduce payment only for reasons specified by the Workers’ Compensation 

Act and regulations.  

If the insurer denies the claim or stops or reduces payment once it has been initiated, the employee can then file 

an Employee’s Claim (Form 110) to request a Conciliation, the first step in the Dispute Resolution process. 

STEP 3 - CONCILIATION 

The first proceeding scheduled on a contested claim is called a Conciliation, which is an informal meeting 

between your insurance company and your employee or your employee’s attorney. At Conciliation an attempt is 

made to settle the issues in dispute. These are usually held within 12 business days of the Employee’s Claim 

(Form 110) being received by the DIA. Notification of the Conciliation date will be sent to your insurance 

company, and it is the responsibility of your insurance company to send a representative to the Conciliation. 

Employers generally do not attend Conciliations. Only if the case involves § 28, Wilful Misconduct of 

Employer, will a notification of the Conciliation date and time also be sent to the employer, who must attend 

this proceeding. If an agreement is not reached, the claim is referred to a Conference, the second step in the 

Dispute Resolution process. 

STEP 4 - CONFERENCE 

The Conference is an informal proceeding before an Administrative Judge. The insurer and the employee must 

be present at the Conference. The employer will receive notification for the date of the Conference, but is only 

obligated to attend the Conference if the claim involves § 28, Wilful Misconduct of Employer. At the 

Conference, the employee would need to show: (A) they were disabled; (B) the injury or illness was work 

related; and (C) that any disputed medical bills were for reasonable and necessary treatment. Following the 

Conference, the judge will issue an order of payment or denial. Either side may appeal this within 14 calendar 

days. If the Conference order is appealed, it will proceed to the Hearing stage. 

STEP 5 - HEARING 

At a Hearing, the same Administrative Judge who presided at the Conference now holds a formal proceeding in 

which all the evidence is considered. The employee and the insurance company must be present at the Hearing, 

along with any witnesses. A notification for the Hearing date will be sent to the employer. The employer must 

attend the Hearing if the claim involves § 28, Wilful Misconduct of Employer. Massachusetts Rules of 

Evidence apply and sworn testimony from witnesses is taken. After reviewing all the information available, the 

judge will then issue a written decision. If either party to the case believes the judge made an error of law or 

exceeded their authority with the ruling, the party has 30 calendar days from the filing date of the decision to 

file an appeal to the Reviewing Board. 

STEP 6 - REVIEWING BOARD 

This board is made up of 6 Administrative Law Judges, 3 of whom will examine the Hearing transcripts. They 

may ask for oral arguments or written briefs from either party. The Reviewing Board can reverse the decision of 

the Administrative Judge; or, if they find an error of law, can remand a case back to the Hearing stage before 

the same Administrative Judge. The Reviewing Board may also uphold the Administrative Judge’s decision if 

they find there were no errors of law made. Decisions can be appealed within 30 days to the Massachusetts 

Appeals Court. The employer must attend the oral arguments, or submit a brief, if the claim involves § 28, 

Wilful Misconduct of Employer. 

Please Note: If the Conference or Hearing is rescheduled, the DIA recommends that you check with your 

insurance representative for the new date and time. 
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LUMP SUM SETTLEMENT 

In many cases, an insurer and injured worker will agree to settle a case through a Lump Sum Settlement. This 

one-time payment is made in place of weekly compensation checks and certain other benefits. Under the 

workers’ compensation law, employers with an experience modification that could be affected by the settlement 

must give a written consent for the settlement between the insurer and the employee. Please visit our website at 

www.mass.gov/dia or call our Public Information Office for a Lump Sum Brochure. 

VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION SERVICES 

Vocational Rehabilitation (VR) services are nonmedical services designed to restore the employee to suitable 

employment at a salary that is commensurate with what they earned before the injury. Services may include 

evaluation of the injured worker’s capabilities, vocational testing, counseling or guidance, workplace 

modifications, and/or job placement assistance/formal training.  

The benefit of returning an injured worker back to work for their employer, whether it is on light duty or 

through modifications in the workplace or work hours, would be an improved workers’ compensation history 

and a modification of their insurance rates. M.G.L. c. 152, § 75B, as amended by c. 572, § 58 of the Acts of 

1985, prohibits an employer in Massachusetts from firing, refusing to hire, rehire, or promote or otherwise 

discriminate against a qualified handicapped person on account of that person’s handicap. Please visit our 

website at www.mass.gov/dia or call our Public Information Office for a VR Brochure. 

THE BEST WAY TO REDUCE YOUR  
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE EXPENSES 

 

 Pre-Loss Objective 

Most injuries can be prevented before they occur. Here are some of the things you can do to prevent injuries at 

your company: 

STEP 1 – WORKPLACE SAFETY EDUCATION AND TRAINING 

The best way to reduce injury and illness in the workplace is to establish a comprehensive safety and health 

education and training program. Preventive programs designed to train you and your employees in the 

recognition, avoidance and prevention of unsafe or unhealthy working conditions in the workplace have been 

successful in reducing injury and illness as well as increasing productivity. 

The DIA Office of Safety awards grants to qualified applicants based upon a competitive selection process 

initiated with a Request For Response (RFR). For information about the safety grant program, to apply for a 

grant, or to find a list of safety training providers in Massachusetts, visit our web site at www.mass.gov/dia or 

contact: 

Office of Safety 

Department of Industrial Accidents 

Lafayette City Center 

2 Avenue de Lafayette 

Boston, MA 02114-2017 

(857) 321-7376 
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STEP 2 - JOINT LABOR-MANAGEMENT SAFETY COMMITTEES 

An essential ingredient for reducing injuries and illnesses is the establishment of a joint labor-management 

safety committee at the work site. This committee will provide a systematic forum for identifying and 

correcting health and safety concerns in the workplace. Worker participation and involvement is fundamental to 

the success of any occupational health and safety program. 

If you show your employees that you care about their safety, they will make the extra effort to ensure that your 

company is a safe place to work. 

 Post-Loss Objective 

After an injury or illness has occurred, there are things you can do that will affect your workers’ compensation 

insurance costs. 

STEP 1 - MEDICAL ATTENTION 

When an employee is injured or suffers an illness, the most important thing is to provide reasonable and 

necessary medical attention as soon as possible. An injured or ill employee is entitled to adequate and 

reasonable medical care, including doctor visits, hospital services, prescriptions, etc. Except for the employee’s 

first scheduled appointment, which an employer may require to be with a health provider within their preferred 

provider arrangement, the worker has the right to choose their own healthcare professional for treatment and to 

change this professional once. Speedy and efficient medical attention can reduce the long-term disability of the 

employee and keep insurance premiums down. 

STEP 2 - INJURY REPORT 

Fill out all forms that need to be filed and notify your workers’ compensation insurance company of all injuries 

and illnesses. If the employee is disabled or not capable of earning their full wages for five or more full or 

partial calendar days, you must electronically file the Employer’s First Report of Injury or Fatality (Form 101). 

Remember, there is a fine if you do not file the correct form in a timely manner. 

You should notify the adjuster for the insurance company and provide the adjuster with any documents they 

need, so that the claim can be processed without unreasonable delay. 

STEP 3 - INFORMATION 

Maintain contact with the employee, the adjuster, the medical providers and any other party involved. Keep 

records of all documents and give the employee a copy.  

STEP 4 – RETURN TO WORK 

One of the most important ways to reduce your workers’ compensation costs is by returning the employee to 

work. Job or tool modification can help the employee return to work as soon as possible and helps prevent 

future injuries.  

THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITY ACT (ADA) 

An employer may not inquire into an applicant’s workers’ compensation history before making a conditional 

offer of employment. 
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After making a conditional offer, an employer may ask about a person’s workers’ compensation history in a 

medical inquiry or examination that is required of all applicants in the same job category. 

An employer may not require an applicant to have a medical examination because a response to a medical 

inquiry (as opposed to results from a medical examination) discloses a previous work-related injury, unless all 

applicants in the same job category are required to have the examination. 

Whether an injured worker is protected by the Americans With Disabilities (ADA) will depend on whether or 

not the person meets the ADA definition of an “individual with a disability” and “qualified individual with a 

disability.” 

The fact that an employee is awarded workers’ compensation benefits or is assigned a high Workers’ 

Compensation disability rating, does not automatically establish that this person is protected by the ADA. 

Filing a workers’ compensation claim does not prevent an injured worker from filing a charge under the ADA. 

“Exclusivity” clauses in state workers’ compensation laws bar all other civil remedies related to an injury that 

has been compensated by a workers’ compensation system. However, these clauses do not prohibit a qualified 

individual with a disability from filing a discrimination charge with the Equal Employment Opportunity 

Commission (EEOC) or filing a suit under the ADA if issued a “right to sue” letter by the EEOC.  

The Americans with Disability Act prohibits you from giving a physical or medical examination to a potential 

applicant unless a job has been offered to the person. Remember, it is illegal to discriminate against people with 

a disability. For more information on the ADA, please call the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission 

(EEOC) at (800) 669-4000 or The Massachusetts Office on Disability at (617) 727-7440. 

SOME FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS BY EMPLOYERS 

Q: How does the workers’ compensation law define an employee? 

M.G.L. c. 152, § 1 (4) states that an employee is “every person in the service of another under any contract of 

hire, express or implied, oral or written.” Exceptions include but are not limited to: 

• Seamen engaged in interstate/foreign commerce; 

• Salesmen of real estate or consumer goods who work on a commission, or buy/sell basis, other than in a 

retail establishment, (with a written contract stating they are not treated as an employee under federal tax 

law); 

• Taxi drivers who lease their cabs on a fee basis not related to fares collected (and who are not treated as 

an employee under federal tax law); 

• Persons engaged in interstate/foreign commerce that is covered by federal law for compensation for 

injury or death. 

Q: How does the DIA define an independent contractor and must they be covered under a  

       workers’ compensation policy? 

Questions regarding independent contractor coverage will be answered by one of our attorneys. Please contact 

our Legal Unit at (857) 321-7423. 
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Q:  Where do I get the Employer’s First Report of Injury or Fatality (Form 101)? 

As of January 1, 2014, Employer’s First Report of Injury or Fatality - Form 101 is no longer available in paper-

form. All Form101’s MUST BE filed electronically through an online account with the DIA.  

To establish an account with us, please go to our website at www.mass.gov/dia and look for the link entitled 

“Apply For A DIA Online Account” located in our “Online Services” module. 

Q: I am starting a business and need workers’ compensation insurance. What do I do? 

You can obtain insurance through any insurance agent or broker who handles business insurance or through a 

direct writer of insurance. For more information, call the Workers’ Compensation Rating and Inspection Bureau 

at (617) 439-9030. 

Q: I own a small business. The only person working with me is my wife (or any relative). Do I need  

     workers’ compensation insurance? 

Yes. Family members must be covered by workers’ compensation insurance even if they are the only 

employees of the company. The exception would be if they were listed as partner on an LLC, or filed for an 

exemption as corporate officer with at least 25% ownership. 

Q: I am a corporate officer, the sole owner of the corporation. I have two employees working for  

     me. I know I need workers’ compensation insurance for my employees, but do I have to cover  

     myself? 

No. The workers’ compensation law allows corporate officers who own at least 25% of the corporation to 

exempt themselves from workers’ compensation coverage. Such corporate officers can file the Affidavit of 

Exemption for Certain Corporate Officers or Directors (Form 153) with the DIA to exempt themselves. This 

change does not affect the requirement that all employers cover their employees with WC insurance. 

Q: I am the owner of a business outside of Massachusetts and have been hired to do some work in  

     Massachusetts. Do I need to get a Massachusetts policy for workers’ compensation?  

You are required to cover your employees with Workers’ Compensation benefits under Massachusetts law. You 

do not need to buy a policy strictly for Massachusetts if in your existing Workers’ Compensation policy 

Massachusetts coverage is listed in Section 3A. Notation somewhere else in the policy that “all states are 

covered” or something similar is not acceptable. 

Q: I am an employer, and I have a question about the experience modification for my business. 

 

Call the Workers’ Compensation Rating and Inspection Bureau at (617) 439-9030. 

Q: I am an employer; who can answer a question about the assessment on my workers’ 

     compensation insurance? 

Call the DIA Assessment Office at (617) 626-5469 or (617) 626-5468. 

Q: I need to replace an employee who was injured or suffered an occupational illness and is  

     collecting workers’ compensation; do I have to hold the job open for the employee? 

Unless a union contract or the individual’s contract of hire requires it, or unless the employee falls under 

another lawful and recognized protected status, an employer does not have to hold an injured worker’s job open 

while they are unable to work due to an occupational accident or illness. M.G.L. c. 152, § 75A does require 
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employers to give preferential treatment in the rehiring of injured workers when they are ready to return to 

work, provided there is a job available that the employee is capable of doing. M.G.L. c. 152, § 75B requires that 

employers make all reasonable accommodations to anyone who is deemed to be a qualified handicapped person 

under M.G.L. c. 151B. 

Q: What must employers do to make sure that employees are aware of insurance coverage and/or  

      other related information? 

All employers must post a NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES on a bulletin board in a suitable public area on their 

premises in English and other appropriate languages. The notice, which is available on our website at 

www.mass.gov/dia, at all DIA offices and included in this brochure, must be completed in its entirety 

indicating the insurance carrier, the address, policy number, and a contact person to whom injuries or incidents 

should be reported. This is all public information and must be readily available to any person who needs it. 

Failure to provide the information to the employee is a violation of the law, and the employer is subject to a 

fine. There is also an optional space on the notice to list a designated healthcare provider for initial treatment 

following an injury. 

Q: As an employer, what rights do I have during the claims process? 

While the insurer is legally the interested party during the claims process, the employer will receive notice of a 

Conciliation, Hearing, Lump Sum Conference or any proceeding involving employer misconduct (M.G.L. c. 

152 § 28). If a § 28 Wilful Misconduct of Employer proceeding is called involving your business, you are 

required to attend. It is your right as the employer to attend the Conciliation, Conference and/or Hearing 

proceedings; however, you may not participate unless you are called as a witness. For this purpose, you are 

encouraged to maintain well-documented records of all accidents and reports including names of witnesses. If 

you have any pertinent information relating to any claims, you should inform the insurer.  

Q: If one of my employees uses my facilities to do some purely personal work, would they still be  

     able to claim WC benefits if they were injured?  

If what they were involved in was purely personal, then they probably would not be able to claim benefits under 

your Workers’ Compensation policy. But if it was held that use of your facilities was part of their compensation 

for their employment, it could be held that the injury was incidental to employment and thus covered by 

Workers’ Compensation. 

For additional “Frequently Asked Questions” please visit our website at www.mass.gov/dia. 



Public Information 

Workers’ Compensation Law is complex; therefore, the procedures for filing a claim may be confusing. 

This brochure should answer most of your basic questions. If you need more information, call any of our 

regional offices or contact our Public Information Office; from within Massachusetts, call our toll-free 

line: (800) 323-3249. From outside Massachusetts, call (857) 321-7470. You can also get information by 

visiting our website at www.mass.gov/dia. 
 

TDD (teletype for the hard of hearing only): (800) 224-6196 
 

DIA Regional Offices: 

        Boston:       Springfield: 

 

Lafayette City Center    436 Dwight Street, Rm. 105 

 2 Avenue de Lafayette    Springfield, MA 01103 

 Boston, MA 02111-1750    (413) 784-1133 

(617) 727-4900; (800) 323-3249    

 

       Fall River:       Worcester: 

 

 1 Father DeValles Blvd, 3rd Floor  Mercantile Center 

 Fall River, MA 02723    100 Front St., Suite 310 

 (508) 676-3406                                               Worcester, MA 01608    

        (508) 753-2072 

 

       Lawrence: 

 

 354 Merrimack St. 

 Entrance C, Suite 230 

 Lawrence, MA 01843 

(978) 683-6420;  

 
COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS, DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRIAL ACCIDENTS 

 

EMPLOYER’S GUIDE TO WORKERS’ COMPENSATION is published by the Massachusetts Department of Industrial 

Accidents, Lafayette City Center, 2 Avenue de Lafayette  - October, 2019 - Printed on recycled paper. 
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