MASSACHUSETTS EMT-BASIC

All individuals seeking to recertify their Massachusetts EMT-Basic certification in
2019 need to follow both steps outlined on this page. Please read it carefully.

RECERTIFICATION STEPS

Go to MASSEMT.ORG and follow the prompts to access all steps of recertification
STEP A: TRAINING PROFILE STEP B: STATE APPLICATION

1. Create a training profile. 1. Log into state’s eLicensing website at:
If you have NREMT certification, you will be redirected to log https://onlineservices.hhs.state.ma.us
into your NREMT account through NREMT.org, otherwise . . . .

1 Find your eLicensing account using your username or SSN and
utilize MASSEMT.org. .

birthdate.
2. Affiliate with your EMS agency. 2. Review, attest & pay state recertification fee.
If you are unaffiliated (and non-NREMT): select unaffiliated Review your information for accuracy, answer questions, and
based on your region (more info available on submit the recertification fee ($125) electronically.
www.mass.gov/dph/oems)
3. Enter all required continuing education hours. 3. Submit your state application by 03/31/19.
Hours this cycle can be used if completed after your last Once all the steps are complete, your application will be
recertification, and must have CAPCE or state approval. processed and your new card sent in the mail. Cards are printed
weekly from a central print shop.
4. Pay for training profile & send to Training Officer. CHECK!
Send your training profile & associated fee electronically As you approach the expiration of your current state EMT
using the Department designated site. certification, be sure to login to elicensing to ensure you have
renewed!

Work with your TO for profile review and submission of https://onlineservices.hhs.state.ma.us

continuing education.

Your EMS agency Training Officer (TO) will review your training
profile for accuracy and document the proficiency of your skills (if
applicable).
Fees:
MA-only EMT-Basics: $20
MA/NREMT EMT-Basics: $15

Need help with step A? Direct your questions first to your
agency’s Training Officer; if more help is required, contact
the NREMT at 614-888-4484.

Need help with step B? Contact the
elLicensing help desk at 617-973-0935.

For additional information regarding the Massachusetts OEMS, including recertification, please visit: www.mass.gov/dph/oems.
If you have general questions for OEMS regarding your recertification, please email: oems.recert@state.ma.us.
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http://www.mass.gov/dph/oems

MASSACHUSETTS EMT-BASIC

All individuals seeking to recertify their Massachusetts EMT-Basic certification in
2019 need to follow the steps outlined in this document. Please read it carefully.

TIMELINE

VARIES OCTOBER 1, 2018 | FEBRUARY 15, 2019 MARCH 31, 2019 APRIL 30 2019
Last day to complete continuing Last dav to h I

ast day to have a
Check your Recommended date education. Last day to submit Y -

Training profile &
renewal steps
nremt.org or to complete & submit P

all steps in order to
receive your new card
payment & by

April 1, 2019.

state application renewal application without
massemt.org PP ) It complete.
open for online penalty.

dashboard for con- $50 late fee will

apply after April 1,
2019.

ed eligibility start After midnight, if you have not
dates submission. recertified, you cannot staff an

ambulance!

OVERVIEW: Current continuing education requirements are broken into 3 categories listed below, totaling 40 hours. The
requirements involve redesigned and innovative education focused on increased clinical skills and changes in practice in
accordance with the National Continued Competency Program (NCCP).Courses used for recertification must be within the EMS
scope of practice — see AR 2-212 for additional detail about courses eligible for recertification.

APPROVAL & SUBMISSION: Course sponsors are required to retain rosters on file and issue EMTs documentation of course
completion. It is the individual EMT’s responsibility to retain the documentation of completed continuing education in the form of
either a course certificate or copy of roster. All courses must have an OEMS approval number or CAPCE (formerly CECBEMS)
approval number. Each approval number includes the type of approval (i.e. distributive online education vs in-person, etc.)
TIMELINE FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION ACCRUAL: Continuing education hours can be used from any time after your last
recertification (date is listed on nremt.org/massemt.org). For example, if you renew October 15, 2018, you can start accruing
hours October 16, 2018 for your 2021 renewal.

DISTRIBUTIVE EDUCATION GUIDELINES: In accordance with AR 2-212, personnel recertifying may only take 1/3 of their National
continuing education hours (7h), none of their Local hours (0h) and ALL of their Individual hours (10h) via distributive education
(DE). Please reference AR 2-212 for a complete definition of distributive education. OEMS approved courses that have T1, T2, T4,
or T5 in the approval number are not distributive (or F1, F2, F4, F5 if CAPCE approved)

Content that individual EMT

Content that all EMTs Content that all EMTs in your state,

NATIONAL LOCAL INDIVIDUAL

nationwide need to take.

region and/or service need to take.

can choose to take.

20 Total Hours Required

10 Total Hours Required

10 Total Hours Required

1/3 of the NATIONAL hours can be
via Distributive Education
(7 hours max)
This is a defined course which took the
place of the old refresher.

You must take the 2016 NCCR version in
order to renew. If you have questions,
please ask the course sponsor

None of the LOCAL hours can be via
Distributive Education (0 hours)
Elective course requirement, and must be done

via non-distributive education (live/in person
only).

All of the INDIVIDUAL hours can be
via Distributive Education
(10 hours max)

Elective course requirement.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you do not have NREMT certification and elect to test into the NREMT, thus obtaining a 2021 expiration date during your
recertification period, you will fulfill the continuing education and transition requirements for your Massachusetts certification expiring in 2019
and can finish the state recertification process by submitting a state recertification application and fee (step B).






