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RECERTIFICATION STEPS
Complete your recertification using 
BOTH 
NREMT.org 
and 
eLicensing
STEP A: TRAINING PROFILE
STEP B: STATE APPLICATION
1. Log into your NREMT account through 
NREMT.org.
All EMTs, with or without National Registry Certification, use NREMT.org for education submission.
1. Log into state’s 
eLicensing 
website at:
 
https://madph.mylicense.com/eGov
Find your eLicensing account using your username or SSN and birthdate.
2. Affiliate with your EMS agency (employer).
If you are 
unaffiliated 
(not working as an EMT and do not hold National Registry Certification): select unaffiliated based on your region 
(more info available on
 
https://www.mass.gov/how-to/
 
renew-your-emt-advanced-emt-or-paramedic-certification
)
2. Review, attest & pay state recertification fee.
Review your information for accuracy, answer questions, and
submit the recertification fee ($125) electronically
. 
UPDATE CONTACT INFORMATION.
3. Enter
 all
 required continuing education hours.
Hours can be used if completed within this Recert Cycle and must have CAPCE or state approval.
Your Recert Cycle is visible on your NREMT dashboard.
3. Submit your state application by 03/31/2022.
Once all the steps are complete, your application will be
processed. You can check your recertification status on the eLicensing website.
4. Pay for Training Profile for Training Officer (TO) review and approval.
Send your Training Profile & associated fee electronically using the Department designated site (NREMT.org).
PLEASE REMEMBER TO CLICK THE 
“SUBMIT” 
BUTTON ON YOUR TRAINING PROFILE.
Work with your TO for profile review and submission of continuing education. 
Your EMS agency TO will review your
Training Profile for accuracy and document the proficiency of your skills (if applicable).
Submission Fee: 
$20 
(before Dec 31st) 
$25 
(after Dec 31st)
 
DO NOT FORGET TO COMPLETE STEP B.
YOU ARE NOT RENEWED UNTIL STATE APPLICATION IS COMPLETE!
As you approach the expiration of your current state EMT
certification, be sure to login to eLicensing to ensure you have renewed! Once you see you have 
03/31/2024 expiration 
on
eLicensing 
NOT NREMT.org 
(note change from 04/01), you have successfully renewed.
 
https://madph.mylicense.com/eGov
A NREMT Expiration date of 03/31/2024 DOES NOT mean you have recertified your MA EMT-Basic Certification.
Need help with Step A? 
Direct your questions first to your agency’s Training Officer; if more help is required, contact the 
NREMT at
 
support@nremt.org
 
or 614-888-4484
Need help with Step B? 
Contact the
eLicensing Help Desk at 617-973-0935
.
For additional information regarding the Massachusetts OEMS, including recertification, please visit:
 
mass.gov/dph/oems
 
If you have general questions for OEMS regarding your recertification, please email:
 
oems.recert@mass.gov
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)

 (
09/01/2021 v4
)
 	MASSACHUSETTS EMT-BASIC	
 (
 
All
 individuals seeking to recertify their Massachusetts EMT-Basic certification in 2022 need to follow the steps outlined in this document. Please read it carefully.
)

	TIMELINE

	VARIES
	OCTOBER 1, 2021
	FEBRUARY 15, 2022
	MARCH 31, 2022
	APRIL 30, 2022

	
	

Training profile (Step A) & state application (Step
B) open for submission & online payment.
	Recommended
	 LAST DAY to complete continuing
 education. Last day to submit recertification application on NREMT.org and eLicensing without penalty.
After midnight, if you have not recertified, you cannot staf f an
	
LAST DAY to complete
 all renewal steps.
Late Fees if
submitted after April 1, 2022:
NREMT $50 MA $50

	Check your
	
	Recertification
	
	

	NREMT.org
	
	completion date.
	
	

	dashboard for
	
	Submitting early
	
	

	Con-Ed eligibility
	
	increases opportunity to
	
	

	dates.
	
	resolve any outstanding
	
	

	
	
	issues.
	
	



	CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

	OVERVIEW: Current continuing education requirements are broken into 3 categories listed below, totaling 40 hours. The
requirements involve redesigned and innovative education focused on increased clinical skills and changes in practice in accordance with the National Continued Competency Program (NCCP). Courses used for recertification must be within the EMS scope of
practice — see AR 2-212 for additional detail about courses eligible for recertification.
APPROVAL & SUBMISSION: Course sponsors are required to retain rosters on file and issue EMTs documentation of course
completion. It is the individual EMT’s responsibility to retain the documentation of completed continuing education in the form of either a course certificate or copy of roster. All courses must have an OEMS approval number or CAPCE (formerly CECBEMS)
approval number. Each approval number includes the type of approval (i.e. distributive online education vs in-person, etc.)

TIMELINE FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION ACCRUAL: Continuing education hours can be used from any time after your last
recertification (date is listed on NREMT.org certification dashboard). For example, if you renewed October 15, 2020, you can start accruing hours October 16, 2020 for your 2022 renewal.
DISTRIBUTIVE EDUCATION GUIDELINES: In accordance with AR 2-212, EMT Continuing Education Standards has been updated to match National Registry of EMTs (NREMT) policy, permitting EMTs whose certifications expire in 2022 to complete all of their continuing education via Distributive Education (DE), temporarily lifting the limits on DE for this cycle, due to the novel
Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) outbreak.

	NATIONAL
	Content that all EMTs nationwide need to take.
	LOCAL
	Content that all EMTs in your state, region and/or service need to take.
	INDIVIDUAL
	Content that individual EMT can choose to take.

	20 Total Hours Required
	10 Total Hours Required
	10 Total Hours Required

	All of the NATIONAL hours can be via Distributive Education

You must take the 2016 NCCR version in
order to renew. If you have questions, please ask the course sponsor
	All of the LOCAL hours can be via Distributive Education

We encourage Virtual Instructor Led Training or VILT courses.
	All of the INDIVIDUAL hours can be via Distributive Education
Elective course requirement.

	IMPORTANT NOTE: If you do not have NREMT certification and elect to test into the NREMT, thus obtaining a 2024 expiration date during your recertification period, you will fulfill the continuing education and transition requirements for your Massachusetts certification expiring in 2022 and can finish the state recertification process by submitting a state recertification application and fee (Step B).
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