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THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTSOFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERALFAIR LABOR DIVISION 
Application for Waiver of Child Labor Restrictionsfor Minors in Theatrical Productions 
In accordance with Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 149, §§ 60, 86 & 104 
Application Instructions
 
The Attorney General's Office has the authority to issue temporary waivers of time restrictions contained in M.G.L. c. 149, § 60 for children up to 16 years old working in entertainment, theater or film (see M.G.L. c. 149, § 104.)
 
The issuance of a waiver is grounded in the Attorney General's Office commitment to the safety and well-being of child actors and performers, compliance with the law, and support for the film and entertainment industries.  
 
Please submit an electronic version of the application (PDF) to Kathryn Morelli at kathryn.morelli@mass.gov. A hard copy is not required. 
 
Incomplete applications and/or applications without an application processing fee will not be reviewed or considered; processing fees are non-refundable.  
 
Applicants must submit the $100 processing fee (per application) online by credit card, or in the form of a certified check, cashier's check, or money order made payable to: Commonwealth of Massachusetts.  
 
If submitting your processing fee online by credit card, please visit www.masspays.com/fld. Please enter "24-01-23456-789" in the Citation Number field and continue with the online payment system as you normally would. 
 
If submitting your fee by U.S. Mail,                                     If submitting your fee by FedEx or overnight mail,
please send the payment to:                                             please send the payment to: 
 
Massachusetts Attorney General's Office                           Bank of America Lockbox ServicesP. O. Box 412985                                                      Massachusetts Attorney General's Office 412985Boston, MA 02241-2985                                             MA5-527-02-07
                                                                        2 Morrissey Blvd.
                                                                        Dorchester, MA 02125         
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Application for Waiver of Child Labor Restrictionsfor Minors in Theatrical Productions 
In accordance with Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 149, §§ 60, 86 & 104 
Please complete, sign, and submit the following for each minor: 
This production company or organization has a Workers' Compensation insurance policy that covers  
all minors working in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts: 
MA Child Labor Waiver Application
Rev. 1/2024
Please list the date(s) and full address(es) of each performance, including rehearsal(s), by this minor:
Date(s)
Full Address of Performance
If the minor will be working more than three (3) consecutive days, please provide the on-set tutor's contact info:
PARENT, GUARDIAN, OR CUSTODIAN SIGNATURE REQUIRED.
I hereby grant permission for my child to work on the dates/times listed above.
I hereby certify that the minor listed above will not be required or permitted to work beyond the times and requirements contained on page three (3) of this application and will not be required or permitted to perform any work or task deemed hazardous for minors contained on page four (4) of this application. I understand that if this minor works beyond these permitted times or engages in restricted work, I may be subject to civil or criminal penalties pursuant to M.G.L. Chapter 149, Sections 78 and 78A.
 
CHILD LABOR WAIVER APPLICANT SIGNATURE REQUIRED.
minor(s) included in this application.
PERMITTED TIMES AND REQUIREMENTS  
WITH AN APPROVED ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRY WAIVER
Age
Conditions and Requirements
0 days to 15 days
Minors aged 0 to 15 days are not permitted to work in Massachusetts
15 days to 6 months
•	Time of day restrictions: one period of two consecutive hours in any one day, and such period must be	                 either between 9:30 a.m. and 11:30 a.m. or between 2:30 p.m. and 4:30 p.m.
•	Actual work must not exceed 20 minutes
•	A nurse must be employed for each 3 or fewer babies
6 months to 2 years
•	Time of day restrictions: may only work between the hours of 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.
•	May work no more than 2 hours/day; may work no more than 6 days/week
•	Full shift(s), (including travel from the studio to the location and meal and rest breaks) may not exceed                   4.5 hours/day
2 years to 5 years
•	Time of day restrictions: may only work between the hours of 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.
•	May work no more than 3 hours/day; may work no more than 6 days/week
•	Full shift(s), (including travel from the studio to the location and meal and rest breaks) may not exceed                6.5 hours/day
6 years to 8 years
•	Time of day restrictions:
		o	Nights preceding a school day: 6am-10pm
		o	Nights not preceding a school day: 6am-12:30am
•	May work no more than 5 hours/day; may work no more than 6 days/week
•	Full shift(s), (including travel from the studio to the location and meal and rest breaks) may not exceed               8.5 hours
9 years to 15 years
•	Time of day restrictions:
		o	Nights preceding a school day: 6am-10pm
		o	Nights not preceding a school day: 6am-12:30am
•	May work no more than 7 hours/day; may work no more than 6 days/week
•	Full shift(s), (including travel from the studio to the location and meal and rest breaks) may not exceed               9 hours
16 years to 17 years
No waivers are issued for minors in this age bracket.   
The AGO does not have statutory authority to waive the time of day restrictions contained in the Massachusetts Child Labor Laws, however the AGO will not take enforcement action as a result of a 16 or 17-year-old child working on a play, movie or production between the hours of 6am and 12:30am as long as the child’s parent or guardian has provided written consent to the employer that the work schedule is reasonable given the child’s educational and health needs.   
Note that there are no exceptions or waiver options for the following daily/weekly cumulative hours for minors 16 to 17 years old:  •	May work no more than 9 hours/day; may work no more than 6 days/week
•	May work no more than 48 hours/week
Note: Employers of minors must comply with other requirements set forth in the Massachusetts Child Labor Laws.   
A waiver is not the same as a youth employment work permit; a work permit is required for all minors aged 14-17, pursuant to M.G.L. c. 149, §§86-89. 
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Workers under 18 years old may not:
Workers under 16 years old may not:
·         Drive a vehicle or forklift (except golf carts in          
         certain circumstances)
·         Operate, clean, or repair power-driven meat 
         slicers, grinders or choppers
·         Operate, clean, or repair power-driven bakery 
         machines
·         Work 30 feet or more above ground or water
·         Handle, serve, or sell alcoholic beverages
·         Use circular or band saws, or guillotine shears
·         Use power-driven woodworking machines
·         Use hoisting machines
·         Operate paper balers, paper box compactors, or 
         other power-driven paper products machines
·         Use power-driven metal-forming, punching, or 
         shearing machines
·         Use buffing or polishing equipment
·         Manufacture brick, tile, or kindred products
·         Manufacture or store explosives
·         Work in excavation, wrecking, demolition, or 
         shipbreaking
·         Work in logging, sawmilling, or mining
·         Work slaughtering, packing, or processing meat
·         Work in railway operations
·         Work in roofing or on or about a roof
·         Work in foundries or around blast furnaces
·         Work manufacturing phosphorus or phosphorus 
         matches
·         Work where they are exposed to radioactive 
         substances
·         Work as a firefighter or engineer on a boat
·         Oil or clean hazardous machinery in motion
·         Work in any job requiring the possession or use          
         of a firearm
 
·         Operate power-driven machinery (except office 
         machines or machines in retail or food service not 
         otherwise prohibited)
·         Cook (except on electric or gas grills that do not have 
         open flames)
·         Operate fryolators, rotisseries, NEICO broilers, or 
         pressure cookers
·         Operate, clean, or repair power-driven food slicers, 
         grinders or choppers
·         Perform any baking activities
·         Operate microwave ovens (except to heat food in 
         microwave ovens with a maximum capacity of 140 
         degrees Fahrenheit)
·         Clean kitchen surfaces that are hotter than 100 degrees 
         Fahrenheit
·         Filter, transport, or dispose of cooking oil or grease 
         hotter than 100 degrees Fahrenheit
·         Work in freezers or meat coolers
·         Work in a manufacturing facility (e.g., a factory)
·         Work on ladders or scaffolds
·         Work in garages, except dispensing gas and oil
·         Work in brick or lumber yards
·         Work in amusement places (e.g., pool or billiard room, 
         or bowling alley)
·         Work in barber shops
·         Work in construction, transportation, communications, 
         or public utilities (except doing clerical work away 
         from heavy machinery off the job-site)
·         Work in warehouses (except doing clerical work)
·         Load or unload trucks, railroad cars, or conveyors
·         Wash windows in public or commercial buildings if 
         the window sill is more than 10 feet above the ground
·         Work doing laundry in a commercial laundry or dry 
         cleaning establishment
·         Work as a public messenger
·         Work at processing operations (e.g., in meat, fish, or 
         poultry processing or cracking nuts, bulk or mass 
         mailing)
·         Work around boilers or in engine rooms
·         Do industrial homework
·         Work with dangerous electrical machinery or 
         appliances
·         Work that is determined by the Massachusetts 
         Attorney General to be dangerous to the health and 
         well-being of minors
·         Work in any of the occupations or tasks prohibited for 
         persons under age 18
 
RESTRICTED WORK
In accordance with Massachusetts and U.S. Department of Labor Child Labor Laws
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