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Introduction 

In accordance with the Health Care Reform Individual Mandate 

Requirement section of the health-care reform policy, Massachusetts law 

requires all adult residents who are 18 years or older to have health 

insurance if they can afford it. Failure to do so may result in 

penalties. 

The Massachusetts Department of Revenue (DOR) is responsible for 

enforcing this requirement through the personal income tax filing system. 

This memo explains how the 2013 Massachusetts tax filing requirements 

will affect MassHealth members and describes the responsibilities of the 

MassHealth Enrollment Centers (MECs) in relation to the requirement. 

Requirements for Tax Year 2013 

As in previous years, taxpayers must demonstrate that they had health 

insurance each month in 2013 if it is affordable for them. As established 

in 2009, the taxpayer’s health insurance must meet the required minimum 

creditable coverage (MCC) as set by the Massachusetts Health Connector 

(Health Connector). This requirement is not set by DOR. 

There is no penalty for taxpayers with income that is at or below 150% of 

the federal poverty level (FPL). 

Taxpayers are required to complete Schedule HC (for health care) when 

filing their personal Massachusetts income taxes. To assist taxpayers in 

completing this schedule, MassHealth, as an insurance carrier, will issue 

a Form MA 1099-HC to required members. This form identifies the months 

that the member had MassHealth coverage. By law, MassHealth must 

issue these forms no later than January 31, 2014. 
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Minimum Creditable Coverage

Minimum creditable coverage (MCC) is the minimum level of benefits 

needed for taxpayers to be considered insured and avoid tax penalties 

in Massachusetts. 

On the Form MA 1099-HC, MassHealth states that MassHealth coverage 

meets the MCC requirements. 

Recipients of the 2013 MassHealth Form MA 1099-HC

MassHealth will issue the Form MA-1099-HC to members who 

. had income greater than 150% FPL at any point during the calendar 

year 2013; 

. had MassHealth eligibility during the calendar year 2013; and 

. are at least 18 years old as of December 31, 2013. 

MassHealth will not issue a Form MA 1099-HC to individuals 

. with income at or below 150% FPL for the time the member had 

MassHealth coverage (there is no penalty for those with income at or 

below 150% FPL). This time can be either 

• the entire 2013 calendar year; or 

• only the months the member was covered by MassHealth (partial 

year); or 

. in one of the following excluded categories (they are not considered to 

be insured by MassHealth for the purposes of the Individual 

Mandate): 

• Basic Buy-in (category 70); 

• detox program (category 63); 

• Essential Buy-in (category AN); 

• Family Assistance Premium Assistance (categories 72, 73, 74, 75, 

77, 78, 96, and 97); 

• Health Safety Net (primary, secondary, and partial) (categories AP 

and AQ) (HSN is not MCC compliant); 

• limited pharmacy (category 56); 

• mental-health benefit only (category 35); 

• pharmacy (category 36); 

• Qualifying Individuals (QI) (categories TC, TD, UH, UR, VF, VG, 

VH, VJ, 88, and 89) 

• Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries (QMBs) or Specified Low Income 

Medicare Beneficiaries (SLMBs) (categories UQ, UV, VC, VD, VE, 

VK, VL, 19, 22, 23, 24, 25, and 76); 

. eligible for Essential (category AM) or Basic (category 61), but who 

have not yet enrolled in managed care; or 

. eligible for Commonwealth Care (the Health Connector issues the 

Form MA 1099-HC for these individuals). 
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Partial Month of Coverage

Following the rules from DOR, MassHealth, as an insurance carrier, 

makes the determination whether a partial month of coverage is treated 

as a full month of coverage or as a month without coverage. 

MassHealth addresses a partial month of coverage in the following 

manner. 

. Coverage of 15 days or more in one calendar month is treated as a full 

month of coverage. 

. Coverage of 14 days or fewer in one calendar month is treated as a 

month without coverage. 

Permissible Lapse Periods

As in previous years, there is no penalty for those with a lapse in 

coverage of three or fewer months during 2013. Taxpayers who lose but 

then resume their coverage within three or fewer consecutive calendar 

months will not be subject to penalties. Multiple and distinct lapses are 

permitted throughout the year. Taxpayers with four or more consecutive 

months without insurance will indicate on the Schedule HC if they had 

access to affordable health insurance (either through an employer, the 

government, or on their own). 

Examples 

. An individual had a lapse from January to March (three months), 

regained insurance in April, and had coverage through October. The 

health insurance lapsed again for November and December (two 

months). Both lapse periods are three or fewer months, so there is no 

penalty. 

. An individual had health insurance from January through June, but 

was without coverage from July through December. July, August, and 

September are within the permitted lapse period and are penalty free. 

However, there may be a penalty for October, November, and 

December, if insurance is deemed affordable. 

Access to Affordable Insurance

Taxpayers calculate access to affordable health insurance on the Schedule 

HC. If insurance is deemed unaffordable, the health-care penalty does 

not apply. If insurance is deemed affordable, the health-care penalty 

applies. 

The taxpayer can appeal the penalty to the Health Connector. More 

information about the appeals process is available on the DOR website at 

www.mass.gov/dor. 
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2013 MassHealth Form 1099-HC

MassHealth is mailing the MassHealth Form MA 1099-HC to covered 

individuals. It indicates the month the individual was covered by 

MassHealth and that the MassHealth coverage meets the MCC 

requirements. 

If all 12 months are marked as being covered by MassHealth, the 

individual was covered by MassHealth for the entire 2013 calendar year. 

If specific months are marked, the individual was covered by MassHealth 

only during the marked months. 

As previously established in 2010, the 2013 MassHealth Form MA 1099HC 

provides information about the DOR online application called “Web 

File for Income” (WFI), which is available for resident taxpayers. Based 

on answers to some preliminary questions, individuals may be able to file 

their Massachusetts income taxes online with DOR for free. The Form MA 

1099-HC refers individuals to the DOR website for more information. 

MEC Responsibilities

For inquiries about the Form MA 1099-HC from MassHealth, refer the 

member to MassHealth Customer Service at 1-866-682-6745 (TTY: 

1-800-497-4648 for people who are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech 

disabled). By law, these forms will be issued no later than January 31, 

2014. 

For inquiries from members who are on MassHealth Essential (category 

AM) or Basic (category 61) about why they were not credited with having 

health insurance before they enrolled in managed care, explain that the 

creditable coverage begins only when the individual is enrolled in a 

managed care plan. 

For inquiries about how to calculate access to affordable insurance, 

refer 

the member to the Schedule HC instructions in the Massachusetts tax 

form or on the DOR website. The instructions are available wherever 

Massachusetts tax forms are available, such as public libraries and 

online 

at the DOR website at www.mass.gov/dor. 

For inquiries about the appeals process, refer the member to the Schedule 

HC instructions in the Massachusetts tax form. The instructions are 

available wherever Massachusetts tax forms are available, such as public 

libraries and online at the DOR website at www.mass.gov/dor. 

For inquiries about the Health Care Reform Individual Mandate 

requirement for Commonwealth Care members, refer the member to the 

Health Connector Customer Service at 1-877-MA-ENROLL 
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MEC Responsibilities (cont.) 

(1-877-623-6765) (TTY: 1-877-623-7773 for people who are deaf, hard of 

hearing, or speech disabled). 

For inquiries about the DOR online application, Web File for Income 

(WFI), refer the member to the DOR website at www.mass.gov/dor. 

Attachment 

A sample of the MassHealth Form MA 1099-HC (DOR-HC (Rev. 01/14)), 

in English and Spanish, is attached to this memo. 

Questions

If you have any questions about this memo, please have your MEC 

designee contact the Policy Hotline. 
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Date 

Name 

Address 

City, State Zip 

FORM MA 1099-HC 

Massachusetts law requires adult residents 18 years and older to have 

health insurance if they can afford it. By 

law, the health insurance must meet a certain standard known as “minimum 

creditable coverage.” Many 

MassHealth programs meet that standard. Failure to have affordable health 

insurance (including MassHealth) 

that meets the minimum creditable coverage requirement may result in 

penalties. 

The Massachusetts Department of Revenue (DOR) is responsible for 

enforcing 

this requirement through the 

personal income tax filing process. To show proof of coverage, you must 

complete Schedule HC (for health care) 

with your Massachusetts personal income tax return. 

Our records show that you had MassHealth coverage for the following 

months: 

JAN FEB MARCH APRIL MAY JUNE JULY AUG SEPT OCT NOV DEC 

The MassHealth coverage for the marked months meets the standard for the 

minimum creditable coverage requirements. 

You may be asked on the Schedule HC to indicate which months you were 

covered by health insurance,

including MassHealth, by filling in the ovals on the form. Follow the 

instructions that come with the Schedule 

HC to determine if you are subject to a penalty. 

For more information on the individual mandate, including a list of 

Frequently Asked Questions, or for copies 

of the Schedule HC, please visit DOR’s web site at www.mass.gov/dor. The 

Schedule HC can also be found 

wherever Massachusetts income tax forms are available, such as public 

libraries. 

If you have any questions about this notice, please call MassHealth 

Customer Service at 1-866-682-6745 (TTY: 

1-800-497-4648 for people who are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech 

disabled). 

Thank you, 

MassHealth 

NOTE: DOR has an online application called “Web File for Income” (WFI) 

available for resident taxpayers. 

Based on your answers to some opening questions, you may be able to file 

your Massachusetts income taxes 

online with DOR for free. Visit DOR’s web site for more information. 

DOR-HC-1 (Rev. 01/14) 

Commonwealth of Massachusetts 

Executive Office of Health and Human Services 
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Fecha 

Nombre 

Dirección 

Ciudad, Estado, Código Postal 

FORMULARIO MA 1099-HC 

La ley de Massachusetts exige que los residentes adultos a partir de los 

18 años de edad tengan seguro médico si 

pueden pagarlo. Por ley, el seguro médico debe cumplir con ciertos 

estándares conocidos como “cobertura 

acreditable mínima.” Muchos programas de MassHealth cumplen con ese 

estándar. No tener seguro médico 

asequible (incluyendo MassHealth) que cumple con el requisito de 

cobertura 

acreditable mínima puede resultar 

en multas. 

El Departamento de hacienda de Massachusetts (DOR, por sus siglas en 

inglés) es responsable de hacer cumplir 

este requisito por medio del proceso de presentación de los impuestos a 

la 

renta personales. Para mostrar 

prueba de cobertura, debe completar el Formulario de impuestos HC 

[Schedule HC] (para atención médica) con 

su declaración personal de impuestos a la renta de Massachusetts. 

Nuestros registros muestran que usted tuvo cobertura de MassHealth en los 

siguientes meses:

 ENE FEB MAR ABR MAY JUN JUL AGO SEP OCT NOV DIC 

La cobertura de MassHealth para los meses marcados cumple con el estándar 

para los requisitos de cobertura 

atribuible mínima. 

Se le podría pedir en el Schedule HC (Formulario de impuestos HC) que 

indique en qué meses estaba cubierto 

por seguro médico, incluyendo MassHealth, llenando los óvalos del 

formulario. Siga las instrucciones que 

vienen con el Schedule HC para determinar si usted está sujeto a una 

multa. 

Para obtener más información sobre este mandato individual, incluyendo 

una 

lista de Preguntas más frecuentes, 

o para obtener copias del Schedule HC, visite nuestro sitio web de DOR en 

www.mass.gov/dor. El Schedule 

HC también puede encontrarse en cualquier lugar en donde se disponga de 

formularios para declaración de 

impuestos a la renta de Massachusetts, como bibliotecas públicas. 

Si desea hacer alguna pregunta sobre este aviso, llame al Servicio al el 

cliente de MassHealth al 

1-866-682-6745 (TTY: 1-800-497-4648 para personas sordas, con dificultad 

auditiva o con dificultad para hablar). 

Gracias, 

MassHealth 

NOTA: el DOR tiene una solicitud en internet llamada “Web File for 

Income” 

(WFI)-“Archivo de ingresos por 

internet” a disposición de residentes que pagan impuestos. Basándonos en 

sus respuestas a algunas preguntas 

iniciales, usted podría declarar sus impuestos a la renta de 

Massachusetts 

en internet con el DOR de forma 

gratuita. Visite el sitio web de DOR para obtener más información. 

DOR-HC-1 (SP) (Rev. 01/14) 

