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FROM:	Heather Rossi, Director of Eligibility Policy [signature of Heather Rossi]
RE:	Federal and State Health Insurance Requirements for Tax Year 2024
Introduction
For tax year 2024, both federal and state regulations require Massachusetts residents to have health insurance benefits that meet certain standards. Federal rules require coverage known as minimum essential coverage (MEC), while state rules require minimum creditable coverage (MCC).
Individuals who do not meet these health insurance requirements may be responsible for a penalty on their state tax return. The Massachusetts Department of Revenue (DOR) is responsible for enforcing the Massachusetts individual health insurance mandate. The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) enforces federal health insurance requirements under the Affordable Care Act, though the federal tax penalty has been eliminated.
Minimum Creditable Coverage (State)
Minimum creditable coverage (MCC) is the minimum level of benefits needed for taxpayers to be considered insured and avoid state tax penalties. The following MassHealth coverage types meet MCC:
· Standard
· CarePlus
· CommonHealth
· Family Assistance
Minimum Essential Coverage (Federal)
Minimum essential coverage (MEC) is the minimum level of benefits needed for taxpayers to be considered insured under federal law. The following MassHealth coverage types meet MEC:
· Standard
· CarePlus
· CommonHealth
· Family Assistance
State Requirements for Tax Year 2024—Form 1099-HC
Massachusetts regulations require MassHealth to give proof of insurance to its members who had MCC in 2024. MassHealth will issue each eligible individual a Form 1099-HC. This form shows each month the individual was covered in 2024. If all 12 months are marked as covered, the individual was covered by MassHealth for the entire 2024 calendar year. If only some months are marked, the individual was covered by MassHealth only during the marked months.
MassHealth will issue Form 1099-HC to members who were covered in an MCC coverage type for at least 15 days of any month during calendar year 2024. Form 1099-HC will be sent out at the individual level. For a member to receive this form, the following conditions must be met:
· Member must have income greater than 150% of the federal poverty level (FPL) at any point during calendar year 2024.
· Member must have an MCC coverage type for at least 15 days of any month during calendar year 2024.
· Member must have been at least 18 years old as of December 31, 2024.
Note:  Members with income at or below 150% FPL throughout all of calendar year 2024 will not receive a Form 1099-HC from MassHealth.
Federal Requirements for Tax Year 2024—Form 1095-B
Federal regulations require MassHealth to give proof of insurance to MassHealth members who had MEC in 2024. MassHealth will mail each eligible member a 1095-B form. This form shows each month the individual was covered in 2024. If “Covered all 12 months” is marked, the individual was covered by MassHealth for the entire 2024 calendar year. If specific months are marked, the individual was covered by MassHealth only during the marked months.
MassHealth members who were covered in an MEC aid category for at least one day of any month during calendar year 2024 may request a duplicate Form 1095-B. The Form 1095-B can be accessed online by visiting masshealthtaxform.com. If MassHealth members need to request a Form 1095-B, they can contact the MassHealth Customer Service Center at (866) 682-6745, TDD/TTY: 711. A separate Form 1095-B must be requested for each covered individual.
Note:  The information on Form 1099-HC may differ from Form 1095-B because of differences in federal and state rules regarding minimum essential coverage.


For Health Connector Members
Individuals enrolled in qualified health plans (QHPs) through the Health Connector will not receive Form 1095-B. They may receive a different form called Form 1095-A from the Health Connector.
Note: Individuals who received QHP and MassHealth benefits in 2024 may receive Form 1095-A, Form 1095-B, and Form 1099-HC (if applicable).
If QHP enrollees have questions about federal tax-filing requirements, they may call the IRS Call Center at (800) 829-1040 or go to irs.gov. If individuals have questions about why they received Form 1095-A from the Health Connector, or if they need a duplicate copy of Form 1095-A, they should contact Health Connector Customer Service at (877) MA-ENROLL ([877] 623-6765), TDD/TTY: 711. Members may download a copy of their Form 1095-A online by signing into their account at MAHealthConnector.org and clicking on “Make a Payment.” Form 1095-A is viewable in the “My Tax Documents” section of the Payment Center.
Tax Penalties and Permissible Lapse Periods–Form 1099-HC
There is no state penalty for those with a lapse in coverage of three or fewer consecutive calendar months during 2024. Taxpayers who lose but then resume their coverage within three or fewer consecutive calendar months will not be subject to penalties. Multiple and distinct lapses are permitted throughout the year. Taxpayers with four or more consecutive months without insurance will indicate on Schedule HC if they had access to affordable health insurance (either through an employer, the government, or on their own).
Taxpayers calculate access to affordable health insurance on Schedule HC. If insurance is deemed unaffordable, the healthcare penalty does not apply. If insurance is deemed affordable, the healthcare penalty applies. The taxpayer may appeal the penalty to the Health Connector. More information about the appeals process is available on the DOR website (mass.gov/dor).
Tax Penalties and Permissible Lapse Periods–Form 1095-B
Beginning in tax year 2019, the federal tax penalty for a lapse in coverage was reduced to $0. However, the federal government did not eliminate the requirement for states to provide Form 1095-B or to provide information about Medicaid and CHIP enrollment to the IRS. Therefore, states must continue to provide Forms 1095-B for Medicaid and CHIP coverage for tax year 2024 and beyond. If there is any change to these reporting requirements, CMS will communicate the changes to states.


Questions
If individuals have questions about why they received the Form 1099-HC or Form 1095- B from MassHealth, or if they need a duplicate copy of either form, they should contact the MassHealth Customer Service Center at (866) 682-6745, TDD/TTY: 711.
If members have questions about whether they are required to fill out a federal tax return, or about how to complete federal tax returns with the information provided in their Form(s) 1099-HC and/or 1095-B, they may call the IRS Call Center at (800) 829-1040 or go to irs.gov to get information about the tax penalty, instructions, and a sample Form 1095-B.
For inquiries on how to calculate access to affordable insurance or on the appeals process, refer the member to the Schedule HC instructions in the Massachusetts tax form or on the DOR website at mass.gov/dor. The instructions are available wherever Massachusetts tax forms are available, such as public libraries and online.
For inquiries about the DOR online application, MassTaxConnect, refer the member to the DOR website (mass.gov/dor). If you have any questions about this memo, please have your MEC designee contact the Policy Hotline.
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Form 1 095-B Health coverage [ Jvoip OMB No. 1545-2252

Department of the Treasury Do not attach to your tax return. Keep for your records. D CORRECTED 2 @ 24
Internal Revenue Service Go to www.irs.gov/Form1095B for instructions and the latest information.
m Responsible Individual
1 Name of responsible individual-First name, middle name, last name ‘ 2 Social security number (SSN) or other TIN 3 Date of birth (if SSN or other TIN is not available)
4 Street address (including apartment no.) 5 City or town 6 State or province 7 Country and ZIP or foreign postal code

9 Reserved

8 Enter letter identifying Origin of the Health Coverage (see instructions for codes): . . . . . D

m Information About Certain Employer-Sponsored Coverage (see instructions)
10 Employer name 11 Employer identification number (EIN)
12 Street address (including room or suite no.) 13  City or town 14 State or province 15 Country and ZIP or foreign postal code

m Issuer or Other Coverage Provider (see instructions)

16  Name 17 Employer identification number (EIN) 18 Contact telephone number

19 Street address (including room or suite no.) 20 City or town 21 State or province 22 Country and ZIP or foreign postal code

1INl  Covered Individuals (Enter the information for each covered individual.)

{a) Name of covered individual(s) {b) SSN or other TIN {c) DOB (if SSN or other| {d) Covered {e} Months of coverage
First name, middle initial, last name TINis not available) |all 12 months|

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

OOyojbob) o goo oy oo o

23

For 2024, each covered individual will receive a separate Form 1095-B from MassHealth.

For Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice, see separate instructions. Cat. No. 60704B Form 1095-B (2023)
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Instructions for Recipient

This Form 1095-B provides information about the individuals in your tax
family (yourself, spouse, and dependents) who had certain health coverage
(referred to as “minimum essential coverage”) for some or all months during
the year. Minimum essential coverage includes government-sponsored
programs, eligible employer-sponsored plans, individual market plans, and
other coverage the Department of Health and Human Services designates
as minimum essential coverage.

If individuals in your tax family are eligible for certain types of minimum
essential coverage, you may not be eligible for the premium tax credit. For
more information on the premium tax credit, see Pub. 974, Premium Tax
Credit (PTC).

only one Form 1095-B for all individuals whose coverage is

reported on that form. As the recipient of this Form 1095-B, you
should provide a copy to other individuals covered under the policy if they
request it for their records.

@ Providers of minimum essential coverage are required to furnish

Additional information. For additional information about the tax provisions
of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and the premium tax credit, see
www.irs.gov/ACA or call the IRS Healthcare Hotline for ACA questions
(800-919-0452).

Part I. Responsible Individual, lines 1-9. Part | reports information about
you and the coverage.

Lines 2 and 3. Line 2 reports your social security number (SSN) or other
taxpayer identification number (TIN), if applicable. For your protection, this
form may show only the last four digits. However, the coverage provider is
required to report your complete SSN or other TIN, if applicable, to the IRS.
Your date of birth will be entered on line 3 only if line 2 is blank.

Line 8. This is the code for the type of coverage in which you or other

covered individuals were enrolled. Only one letter will be entered on this line.

A. Small Business Health Options Program (SHOP)

B. Employer-sponsored coverage

C. Government-sponsored program

D. Individual market insurance

E. Multiemployer plan

F. Other designated minimum essential coverage

G. Individual coverage health reimbursement arrangement (HRA)

If you or another family member received health insurance
@ coverage through a Health Insurance Marketplace (also known as
an Exchange), that coverage will generally be reported on a
Form 1095-A rather than a Form 1095-B. If you or another family member
received employer-sponsored coverage, that coverage may be reported on a
Form 1095-C (Part lll) rather than a Form 1095-B. For more information, see
www.irs.gov/Affordable-Care-Act/Questions-and-Answers-About-Health-
Care-Information-Forms-for-Individuals.

Line 9. Reserved.

Part Il. Information About Certain Employer-Sponsored Coverage, lines
10-15. If you had employer-sponsored health coverage, this part may
provide information about the employer sponsoring the coverage. This part
may show only the last four digits of the employer’s EIN. This part may also
be left blank, even if you had employer-sponsored health coverage. If this
part is blank, you do not need to fill in the information or return it to your
employer or other coverage provider.

Part lll. Issuer or Other Coverage Provider, lines 16-22. This part reports
information about the coverage provider (insurance company, employer
providing self-insured coverage, government agency sponsoring coverage
under a government program such as Medicaid or Medicare, or other
coverage sponsor). Line 18 reports a telephone number for the coverage
provider that you can call if you have questions about the information
reported on the form.

Part IV. Covered Individuals, line 23. This part reports the name, SSN or
other TIN, and coverage information for each covered individual. A date of
birth will be entered in column (c) only if the SSN or other TIN is not entered
in column (b). Column (d) will be checked if the individual was covered for at
least 1 day in every month of the year. For individuals who were covered for
some but not all months, information will be entered in column (e) indicating
the months for which these individuals were covered.




image8.jpg
Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Executive Office of Health and Human Services
www.mass.goy/masshealth

[Date]
[Name]
[Address]
[City, State Zip]

FORM MA 1099-HC

This form tells you which months you had MassHealth coverage during 2024. You may need this
information to file your Massachusetts tax return.

Massachusetts law requires adult residents 18 years and older to have health insurance if they can afford it.
By law, the health insurance must meeta certain standard known as “Minimum Creditable Coverage.” Many
MassHealth programs meet that standard. Failure to have affordable health insurance (including MassHealth)
that meets the Minimum Creditable Coverage requirement may resultin penalties.

The Massachusetts Department of Revenue (DOR) is responsible for enforcing this requirement through the
personal income tax-filing process. To show proof of coverage, you must complete Schedule HC (for health care)

with your Massachusetts personal income tax return.

Our records show that you had MassHealth coverage for the following months:

JAN FEB MARCH APRIL MAY JUNE JULY AUG SEPT OCT NOV DEC
O O O 0 O O O 0 O O 0 O

The MassHealth coverage for the marked months meets the Minimum Creditable Coverage requirements.

You may be asked on Schedule HC to indicate which months you were covered by health insurance, including
MassHealth. Follow the instructions that come with Schedule HC to determine if you are subject to a penalty.

For more information on the individual mandate, including a list of Frequently Asked Questions, or for copies of
the Schedule HC, please visit DOR’s website at www.mass.gov/dor. Schedule HC can also be found wherever

Massachusetts income tax forms are available, such as public libraries.

If you have any questions about this notice, please call the MassHealth Customer Service Center at (866) 682-6745,
TDD/TTY: 711.

Thank you.
MassHealth

Note: DOR has an online application, MassTaxConnect, available for resident taxpayers. Based on your answers
to some opening questions, you may be able to file your Massachusetts income taxes online with DOR for free.

Visitwww.mass.gov /dor for more information.

DOR-HC-1 (Rev. 11/24)
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FORMULARIO MA 1099-HC

Este formulario le indica en cules meses usted tuvo cobertura de MassHealth durante el 2024. Usted podria
necesitar esta informacion para presentar su declaracion de impuestos de Massachusetts.

La ley de Massachusetts exige que los residentes adultos a partir de los 18 afios de edad tengan seguro médico
si pueden pagarlo. Por ley, el seguro médico debe cumplir con ciertos estindares conocidos como “ cobertura
acreditable minima” (MCC). Muchos programas de MassHealth cumplen con ese estindar. No tener seguro
médico asequible (incluido MassHealth) que cumple con el requisito de cobertura acreditable minima puede
resultar en multas.

El Departamento de Hacienda de Massachusetts (DOR) es responsable de hacer cumplir este requisito por medio
del proceso de declaracién de impuestos sobre el ingreso personal. Para demostrar pruebas de cobertura, debe
completar la Planilla HC (Schedule HC, para atencién médica) con su declaracién personal de impuestos de
Massachusetts.

Nuestros registros muestran que usted tuvo cobertura de MassHealth en los siguientes meses:

ENE FEB MAR ABR MAY JUN JUL AGO SEP OCT NOV DIC
O O O O O O O O O O O O

La cobertura de MassHealth para los meses marcados cumple con los requisitos de cobertura acreditable minima.

Se le podria pedir en la Planilla HC (Schedule HC) que indique en qué meses usted estaba cubierto por el seguro
médico, incluido MassHealth. Siga las instrucciones que vienen con la Planilla HC para determinar si usted esta
sujeto a una multa.

Para obtener mas informacién sobre este mandato individual, incluida una lista de Preguntas mas frecuentes, o
para obtener copias de la Planilla HC, visite nuestro sitio web del DOR en www.mass.gov/dor. La Planilla HC
también puede encontrarse en cualquier lugar en donde se disponga de formularios para la declaraciéon de
impuestos de Massachusetts, como bibliotecas priblicas.

Si usted tiene preguntas sobre este aviso, llame al Centro de servicio al cliente de MassHealth al (866) 682-6745 o
al TDD/TTY: 711.

Muchas gracias.
MassHealth
Nota: E1 DOR tiene una solicitud en linea llamada “MassTaxConnect” (enlace para impuestos de Massachusetts) a

disposicion de los contribuyentes residentes. Basaindonos en sus respuestas a algunas preguntas iniciales, usted
podbria declarar sus impuestos de Massachusetts en linea con el DOR de manera gratuita. Visite

www.mass.gov/dor para obtener mas informacién.

DOR-HC-1 (SP) (Rev. 11,/24)




