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Fact Sheet
Amending the Sex Designation on a Birth Certificate 
Registry of Vital Records and Statistics
Massachusetts Department of Public Health
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	The Registry of Vital Records and Statistics will amend the sex on a Massachusetts birth certificate by means of an affidavit and a submission of a judicial change of name, if applicable. A new birth certificate will be issued upon receipt of the evidence outlined below.


	Evidence
	The following documents are required:  

1. The Applicant Affidavit in Support of Amendment of a Birth Certificate for Sex form.
Alternatively, a similar affidavit may be submitted that includes:
· Full name, date of birth, place of birth and parents’ names as appear on the subject’s existing birth certificate.
· The applicant’s written request and authorization for a permanent amendment of the birth certificate to reflect a different sex and name than as appears on the existing record (include new name and specify sex designation as either female, male, or X).
· Contact information including current name and address. Providing a telephone number and/or email address is helpful.
· Affidavits must be signed and dated. 
· If submitted by mail, the affidavit must be notarized.
· Affidavits for subjects under the age of 18 must be signed by a parent or guardian with legal custody of the subject.
· The affidavit must conclude with the following attestation: “I declare under the pains and penalties of perjury that the information contained herein is true and accurate and not made for any fraudulent purpose.  Upon signing, I am authorizing a permanent change to the birth certificate above.”
· Digital signatures will not be accepted. Documents must be signed in ink. 
2. A court-certified copy of the applicant’s legal name change decree, if applicable.  

	To Apply
	
Submit an application, including the required evidence and fees, by mail or by making an appointment. If submitting in person, please bring a valid form of photo identification. If submitting by mail, please have the Affidavit form notarized. 

Registry of Vital Records and Statistics, Attn: Amendments
150 Mt. Vernon Street, 1st Floor
Dorchester, MA 02125
Telephone: (617) 740-2600    Email: RVRSAmendments@mass.gov 

Amendments may also be made in the city or town where the applicant’s birth occurred.  Please contact the local City or Town Clerk, or Boston Registrar, for more information and fees.

	Fees
	
The correct fees must accompany an application for amendment made to the Registry of Vital Records and Statistics:
1. $50.00 one-time amendment fee, and
2. $32.00 per certified copy of the amended birth record by mail ($20.00 if in-person)

Personal checks and money orders are acceptable and should be made payable to the 
Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

	Basis
	Chapter 46, §13(e) of the Massachusetts General Laws states:

(e)(1) A person who is 18 years of age or older, an emancipated minor or the parent or guardian of a person who is a minor may request a change in the sex designation on the person’s birth record to a sex designation including, but not limited to, “female”, “male” or “X”. An “X” designation may indicate that the person is another gender or an undesignated gender. A request for a change in the sex designation on a birth record shall be accompanied by an affidavit executed under the penalty of perjury by the person to whom the record relates or by the parent or guardian of the person if the person is a minor attesting that the request is to conform the person’s birth record to the person’s gender identity and is not made for any fraudulent purpose. No medical or healthcare related documentation, court order or proof of change of name shall be required by a town clerk or other official in connection with a request under this paragraph. 
 
(2) A person who requests a change in the sex designation on the person’s birth record pursuant to paragraph (1) may request a change of name on the person’s birth record. A request for a change of name on a birth record shall be accompanied by a certified copy of the legal change of name. No medical or healthcare related documentation shall be required by a town clerk or other official in connection with a request under this paragraph. 
 
(3) A person who has changed the sex designation on the person’s birth record pursuant to paragraph (1) but did not request a change of name on the person’s birth record pursuant to paragraph (2) may request a change of name on the person’s birth record within 3 years from the date of the change in the sex designation on the person’s birth record pursuant to said paragraph (1); provided, however, that a person whose sex designation on their birth record was changed while the person was a minor shall have 3 years from the date of their eighteenth birthday to request a change of name on the person’s birth record; provided further, that the department may waive the 3-year limitation for a person that demonstrates good cause, as determined by the department. A request for a change of name on a birth record shall be accompanied by a certified copy of the legal change of name. No medical or healthcare related documentation shall be required by a town clerk or other official in connection with a request under this paragraph.  


	For more information about legal changes of name
	To obtain information about legal changes of name, please contact your local Massachusetts Probate and Family Court.  If you are not a Massachusetts resident, contact the court of appropriate jurisdiction in your area.

Resources, forms and instructions:
http://www.mass.gov/courts/resources.html

Note: For individuals that made a change to Sex of Child but did not change their name at the time of amendment have three years to administratively make a change to their name with a legal change of name decree. However, if the person was a minor at the time of the amendment for Sex of Child, that person has three years from the date of their 18th birthday.


	For more
information
about amending a birth certificate
	Please feel free to contact the Registry of Vital Records and Statistics for additional information:

By Mail:	Registry of Vital Records and Statistics
	150 Mt. Vernon Street, 1st Floor
	Dorchester, MA 02125
By Telephone:	(617) 740-2600
By Email:	RVRSAmendments@mass.gov
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