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f a c t  s h e e t  
 
MassDEP’s Revised Stage I & II Regulations  

 
The Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection (MassDEP) has amended 
its Air Pollution Control regulations (310 CMR 7.00 and 310 CMR 7.24) to require 
removal of Stage II vapor recovery systems and enhancements to Stage I vapor 
recovery equipment at gasoline dispensing facilities (GDFs).  The revised regulations 
become effective on January 2, 2015.  This fact sheet describes significant changes in 
the regulations. 

Gasoline vapors contribute to the formation of ground-level ozone and also contain 
toxic chemicals.  Stage I systems capture vapors displaced by the filling of storage 
tanks, and Stage II systems capture vapors displaced by the filling of vehicles.  The 
new regulations update the vapor recovery program due to improved Stage I system 
technology and widespread adoption of vehicle on-board vapor recovery so that Stage 
II systems are no longer needed.   

What Remains the Same?  Basic operation of Stage I and Stage II systems (until they 
are removed) has not fundamentally changed and GDFs will continue to run their 
vapor recovery equipment for the most part as they did before the regulations were 
amended. 

What’s New/Different? 

1. Removal of Stage II equipment:  GDFs must properly decommission existing 
Stage II systems within 2 years, with a possible two-year extension for facilities 
with an annual gasoline throughput of <500,000 gallons.  At the time of 
decommissioning GDFs must install California Air Resources Board (CARB) 
Enhanced Vapor Recovery (EVR) pressure/vacuum vent valves and rotatable 
adapters (where applicable). 

 
2. Phase-In CARB Stage I EVR Equipment:  GDFs must phase-in CARB EVR 

Stage I systems or EVR components.  As specific components wear out or 
break, they must be replaced with EVR components so that within 7 years the 
GDF has an EVR system or one that is made up of all EVR components.  
There are two exceptions: 

• GDFs may continue to install “slip-on” spill buckets for 7 years.  After 7 
years, only EVR spill buckets may be installed. 

• GDFs with co-axial systems may continue to use them until the 
underground storage tank (UST) is replaced, at which point the new 
UST would need to be equipped with a CARB EVR dual-point Stage I 
system or component system.   

 
3. Consistency with NESHAPS:  GDFs with a monthly throughput of 100,000 

gallons or more must maintain Stage I systems that meet the same 
management practices required by the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency’s GDF air toxics rule (this will enable most GDFs to continue to avoid 
some federal requirements by complying with MassDEP’s regulation). 

4. New Requirements for Smaller GDFs:  The new Stage I regulations apply to 
all GDFs with gasoline tanks above 250 gallons.  Smaller GDFs that were not 
part of the Stage II program will be subject to new Stage I equipment and 
routine operational requirements, including phase-in of Stage I EVR 
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components, weekly visual inspections, record keeping, annual testing and 
compliance certifications, and annual compliance fees. 

5. Other changes:  MassDEP revised certain definitions that relate to Stage I 
and Stage II, made other minor clarifying revisions, and deleted regulations 
regarding gasoline Reid vapor pressure and dispensing of E85 fuel/ethanol 
blends, which are no longer needed.  

 

For More Information: 

• Review the final regulation and response to comments received about the draft 
regulation, or download forms: 
http://www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/massdep/air/programs/stage-ii-vapor-recovery.html  

• Contact the MassDEP Stage I hotline: call 617-556-1035 
• Contact the MassDEP Stage I Program in the region that covers the 

municipality in which your project is located: 
 

o Central Regional Office:  508/792-7683 
o Northeast Regional Office:  978/694-3200 
o Southeast Regional Office:  508/946-2714 
o Western Regional Office:  413/755-1100  
o Find Your Regional Office:  

http://www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/massdep/about/contacts/ 
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