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f a c t  s h e e t  
 

Manufacturer Collection & Recycling Plans for 
Mercury-Added Products 
 
As of March 3, 2008, most mercury-added products cannot be sold, offered for sale or 
distributed in Massachusetts unless the manufacturer of that product has filed a 
Collection and Recycling Plan (Plan) with the Massachusetts Department of 
Environmental Protection (MassDEP).  This requirement was established by the 
Massachusetts Mercury Management Act (Chapter 190 of the Acts of 2006 as amended 
by Chapter 196 of the Acts of 2014) and 310 CMR 75.00 – Collection and Recycling of 
Mercury-Added Products. 
 
Plans must be filed with MassDEP and implementation must start within 45 days of their 
submittal. Manufacturers must also certify annually that they are implementing the Plan 
and report on its success. 
 
What is a Collection and Recycling Plan? 
 
A Collection and Recycling Plan describes a comprehensive manufacturer-funded 
program for collecting mercury-added products at the end of their useful life and 
recycling the mercury.  The plan needs to explain how the end of life mercury-added 
product(s) will be collected from consumers and transported to a facility that is licensed 
to recycle the mercury.  Plans may use existing collection systems or implement new 
collection systems.   
 
What are the goals of a Collection and Recycling Pl an? 
 
The Massachusetts Mercury Management Act is designed to keep mercury out of our 
trash where it may be released into the environment.  Plans must provide the users of 
the end of life mercury-added product(s) with a means of complying with the statutory 
prohibition on the disposal of these products in trash.  MassDEP regulations establish 
target recycling rates by which a Plan’s success will be measured.  These are described 
in Table 1 below.  
 

TABLE 1  
 

Target Recycling Rates for Mercury-Added Products  
Sold or Distributed before March 3, 2008  

that Reach “End of Life” in Massachusetts 
 

Calendar Year  Target Recycling Rate  
2008 30 percent 
2009 40 percent 
2010 50 percent 
2011 75 percent 

Each subsequent year 75 percent 
 
PLEASE NOTE : For all mercury-added products first sold, offered for sale or distributed 
AFTER March 3, 2008, the targeted recycling rate is 75 percent, which must be 
achieved by the end of the first full calendar year of the product’s sale or distribution in 
Massachusetts.  
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What products need to have Plans? 
 
The statute defines “mercury-added products” as products to which the manufacturer 
intentionally introduces mercury.  These include but are not limited to: thermostats, 
electric switches, medical or scientific instruments, electric relays or other electrical 
devices.  Two groups of “mercury-added products” are exempt from the collection and 
recycling plan requirement. 
 
Specific mercury-added products (see M.G.L. c. 190, § 6J) 

• Motor vehicles and mercury-added components in motor vehicles, 
• Refurbished medical equipment, 
• Button cell batteries that contain mercury, 
• Products where the only mercury is in one or more removable button cell 

batteries, and 
• Mercury-added lamps unless the manufacturer has registered with the 

Department and paid an annual fee, 
 
Products that contain mercury but are not classified as “mercury-added products” by the 
Massachusetts Mercury Management Act 

• Formulated products where the mercury is intended to be totally consumed in 
use, such as reagents, cleaning products, cosmetics, pharmaceuticals and 
other laboratory chemicals, 

• Products made with mercury that is solely from coal ash, 
• Products incorporated into equipment used to manufacture semi-conductor 

devices, and 
• Elemental mercury in pre-capsulated form used by dental practitioners in 

compliance with amalgam wastewater and recycling regulations for dental 
facilities 

• Mercury added thermostats 
 
Mercury-added products that are no longer sold or distributed in Massachusetts do not 
need to have manufacturer supported Collection and Recycling Plans (even though the 
products may still be in use).  The end user of these products is responsible for 
recycling the product at the end of its useful life or managing it as hazardous waste.   
 
If the manufacturer stops selling or distributing a mercury-added product by September 
30, 2008, or removes the mercury from the product by that date, then no Plan is 
required.  If the manufacturer plans to either stop selling or distributing a mercury-added 
product, or to remove mercury from the product after this date, the manufacturer will 
need to establish and implement a Collection and Recycling Plan until the product is off 
the market.  
 
Please note that Massachusetts’s statute prohibits the sale of the following products1 
after May 1, 2008: 
 

Barometers   Hydrometers   Basal thermometers 

Flow meters   Manometers   Pyrometers 

Hygrometers   Sphygmomanometers  Psychrometers 

Esophageal dilators, bourgie tubes or gastrointestinal tubes  

 

                                                 
1 Section 6D of Chapter 190 of the Acts of 2006 provides an exemption from the sales ban for mercury-added 
products that are federally or medically required. 



 

 Manufacturer Collection and Recycling Plans for Mercury-Added Products • Page 3 of 6 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Massachusetts Department of 

Environmental Protection 

One Winter Street 

Boston, MA 02108-4746 

 

Commonwealth of 

 Massachusetts 

 

Executive Office of Energy & 

Environmental Affairs 

 

Department of  

Environmental Protection 

 

Produced by the 

 Bureau of Air & Waste 

February 2018 

Printed on recycled paper. 

 

This information is available in 

alternate format by calling  

our ADA Coordinator at 

 (617) 574-6872. 

 

 

In addition, as of May 1, 2009, mercury switches and relays may not be sold or 
distributed in Massachusetts.2  
 
Who needs to submit a Collection and Recycling Plan ? 
 
Any manufacturer that sells, offers for sale or distributes a mercury-added product in 
Massachusetts that is not exempt (as described above) after March 3, 2008 is required 
to submit a Collection and Recycling Plan, including anyone who: 
 

• Manufactures a mercury-added product in the United States, or 
• Manufactures a mercury-added product in a foreign country and has a US 

presence or assets, or 
• Imports any mercury-added product into the US or is the first US distributor of a 

mercury-added product that is manufactured in a foreign country. 
 
A Plan may be submitted and implemented by a trade association or industry group on 
behalf of a specific group of manufacturers.  If a manufacturer is a member of a group 
or association of manufacturers that has already submitted a Collection and Recycling 
Plan for their mercury-added product, and the manufacturer wishes to use this option, 
that manufacturer must certify to MassDEP that a Plan is being implemented for its 
product, and identify the group or association that submitted the Plan.   
 
If you stop selling or distributing a mercury-added product in Massachusetts after 
September 30, 2008, then your plan will need to describe how the phase out of that 
product or its sales in Massachusetts will be implemented (see “Guidance and 
Instructions for Preparing a Manufacturer’s Collection and Recycling Plan for Mercury-
Added Products”) and how those end-of-life products will be collected and recycled up 
until the point when the phase out is complete. 
 
When do I need to submit a Collection and Recycling  Plan?  
 
Plans must be filed with the Department by September 30, 2008.  If you are going to sell 
or distribute a new mercury-added product in Massachusetts (one that is not currently 
on the market), your Collection and Recycling Plan must first be filed with the 
Department and implemented with the start of your sale or distribution of that product. 
 
What information needs to be in the Plan? 
 
See “Guidance and Instructions for Preparing a Manufacturer’s Collection and 
Recycling Plan for Mercury-Added Products” at: https://www.mass.gov/lists/massdep-
mercury-product-reporting-forms-instructions  
 
How long must my Collection & Recycling Program be in place? 
 
A program must be in place as long as the mercury-added product is sold, offered for 
sale or distributed in Massachusetts.   
 

                                                 
2 Section 6E of Chapter 190 of the Acts of 2006 allows MassDEP to establish a process for obtaining an 
exemption from the sales ban for any of the specific mercury products covered.  MassDEP has proposed a 
process in draft regulations issued for public comment in 2008, and expects to promulgate final rules in Spring 
2009.  
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What do I need to do after I’ve filed my Plan with MassDEP? 
 

• Start implementation of the Plan within 45 days of filing it with MassDEP; 
• Certify annually that the Plan was implemented during the previous calendar 

year and report on the success of collection and recycling efforts;   
• Certifications are due by March 31 each year and must be submitted on the 

form available from MassDEP’s web site at 
https://www.mass.gov/lists/massdep-mercury-product-reporting-forms-
instructions and 

• File an Update to the Plan if the original one did not meet the target recycling 
rate in the previous calendar year, or if you want to improve the program.  

 
What information is required in the annual certific ations? 
 
The annual certifications will require reporting on collection and recycling of your 
mercury-added products during the previous calendar year.  If you submitted your Plan 
during the middle of the year, your annual certification will cover the period in which you 
operated the program.  Information required in the annual certifications includes:   
 

• The number of each of your mercury-added product(s) sold, offered for sale, or 
distributed in Massachusetts during the year covered by the certification,  

• The rolling average life expectancy of each mercury-added product (i.e. the 
average life expectancy of each product across all years of manufacture 
updated for each year the product is collected and recycled),  

• The estimated number of each mercury-added product in Massachusetts 
expected to reach the end of its useful life during the certification year 
(“NumHgProdexpire”) and thereby become available for collection, 

• The number of each mercury-added product collected in Massachusetts and 
recycled during the certification year (“NumHgProdcollected&recycled”), and 

• The actual recycling rate of each mercury-added product for the certification 
year: Actual Recycling Rate = ( NumHgProdcollected&recycled ) / ( NumHgProdexpire ) 

• The difference between the actual recycling rate and the applicable target 
recycling rate, and 

• Where the actual recycling rate fell short of its target, identify measures that you 
will take to improve your recycling program in the coming year.   

 
Please Note: For Plans submitted by an individual manufacturer, the target recycling 
rate is based on that manufacturer’s Massachusetts sales data and the average life 
expectancy of the product.  For Plans submitted by a trade association or industry group 
on behalf of a group of manufacturers, the target recycling rate is based on the group’s 
Massachusetts sales data and the average life expectancy of the product across all 
participating manufacturers.  Please note that the annual certification will require 
reporting of sales data from each participating manufacturer. 
 
The certification will also ask you to state that you maintain records necessary to 
document the performance of your Plan (see Collection and Recycling Program Design 
in “Guidance and Instructions for Preparing a Manufacturer’s Collection and Recycling 
Plan for Mercury-Added Products”) for at least five years or from the date of your first 
certification. 
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What will MassDEP do with your Plan to ensure compl iance? 
 
MassDEP will not approve Plans prior to their implementation.  However, the 
Department will periodically audit a number of Plans to determine whether the programs 
are achieving the performance standards.  When the Department finds that a Collection 
and Recycling Plan is not being implemented or does not comply with the regulations, 
the Department may take enforcement action that can include financial penalties or 
restricting the sales of the product in the state. 
 
What information will MassDEP share about my Collec tion and Recycling Plan? 
 
To inform the public about opportunities to recycle specific types of mercury products, 
MassDEP is posting information from each manufacturer’s Collection and Recycling 
Plan on its website.  The information that is posted includes:  the name of each 
manufacturer that has submitted a Plan, the name and/or type of products that are 
covered under the Plan, and the name of the contact person for each manufacturer.  
MassDEP will not post information that manufacturers ask the agency to hold 
“confidential” in accordance with the procedures established in its regulations (310 CMR 
3.00).  If you want to file a request that MassDEP hold some or all of the information 
contained in your Plan, please contact Jordan Macy to obtain the form that you need to 
file to make a formal request. 
 
When will I need to file an Update to a Collection and Recycling Plan? 
 
Two conditions exist which require a Collection and Recycling Plan Update to be 
submitted to MassDEP: 
 

1. Your company changed one or more provisions of the Collection and Recycling 
Plan on file with MassDEP, or 

2. Your company began manufacturing, selling, offering for sale, or distributing 
one or more types of mercury-added products not already covered by the 
Collection and Recycling Plan on file with MassDEP 

 
To submit an Update to your Collection and Recycling Plan on file with MassDEP, 
provide a detailed description of the provision(s) you are updating, the reason(s) for the 
update, and the date on which the update will be fully implemented and submit it to the 
Department at the address on the certification form. 
 
Are there other Massachusetts requirements for manu facturers of mercury-added 
products? 
 
The Massachusetts Mercury Management Act requires that manufacturers of each 
mercury-added product sold or distributed in the Commonwealth notify MassDEP.  The 
Department implements this requirement through an Interstate Mercury Education and 
Recycling Clearinghouse (IMERC), which was established by a number of states that 
have adopted similar laws.   
 
IMERC is a non-profit organization created by the Northeast Waste Management 
Officials’ Association.  It serves as a single point of contact for industry and the public 
for information on mercury-added products and member states' mercury education and 
reduction programs.   
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How do I notify IMERC for my mercury-added product?  
 
IMERC notifications must be filed every three years (2001, 2004, 2007, 2010, etc).  Visit 
the IMERC website to file online: 
 
https://imerc.newmoa.org/Public/EnSuite/Shared/Pages/Main/Login.aspx 
 
For More Information: 
 
MassDEP 
 
https://www.mass.gov/lists/massdep-mercury-product-reporting-forms-instructions  
Contact Sean Sylver at 617-292-5747 or email sean.sylver@state.ma.us 
 
IMERC 
 
http://www.newmoa.org/prevention/mercury/imerc.cfm  
Contact Adam Wienert at 617-367-8558 x307 or email awienert@newmoa.org  
 


