
SUMMARY OF NO. 25-10 

The proposed law would change the type and amount of 

marijuana that may legally be possessed in Massachusetts by 

repealing the laws that legalize, regulate, and tax the retail 

sale of adult recreational use marijuana in Massachusetts. The 

proposed law would also permit persons 21 years of age and older 

to possess 1 ounce or less of marijuana including no more than 5 

grams in the form of concentrate, and to gift or transfer to 

another person 21 years of age and older 1 ounce or less of 

marijuana including no more than 5 grams in the form of 

concentrate. The proposed law would also impose a civil penalty 

of $100 and forfeiture of the marijuana for the possession of 

marijuana between the weight of 1 and 2 ounces.  

For persons 21 years of age and younger, the proposed law 

would make the possession of 2 ounces or less of marijuana a 

civil infraction subject to a $100 fine, forfeiture of the 

marijuana, completion of a drug awareness program and community 

service, and notification to their parents or legal guardian of 

the offense and penalties. 

The proposed law would allow currently licensed adult 

recreational marijuana businesses to apply on an expedited basis 

to become a licensed medical marijuana dispensary and to sell 

their remaining inventory of adult recreational marijuana to 

medical marijuana dispensaries. The proposed law would retain 



the Cannabis Control Commission but modify its authority so it 

would regulate only the medical marijuana market.  

The proposed law states that, if any of its parts were 

declared invalid, the other parts would stay in effect. 

The proposed law would take effect on January 1, 2028. 


