Department of Fire Services

S.A.F.E. Funded Fire Safety Houses

A fire safety house is a mobile educational tool for teaching fire prevention and fire survival in an interactive way. Educators use the house to demonstrate specific fire safety behaviors and children then use the house to practice the behaviors. For example, children can practice escaping from a bedroom window through "pretend" smoke. The fun, make-believe exercises available in a fire safety house can prepare children to react safely and appropriately in case of an emergency. To use a fire safety house, call the contact person for your region.

S.A.F.E. Funded Regional Fire Safety Houses

District #	Home Site / Contact	District Communities
District One	Falmouth Lt. Mel Trott 508-495-2533	Barnstable (Barnstable, West Barnstable, Hyannis, Centerville/Osterville/Marston Mills, Cotuit), Bourne, Brewster, Chatham, Chilmark, Dennis, Eastham, Edgartown, Falmouth, Gay Head, Gosnold, Harwich, Mashpee, Nantucket, Oak Bluffs, Orleans, Otis A.F.B., Provincetown, Sandwich, Tisbury, Truro, Wellfleet, West Tisbury, and Yarmouth
District Two	Hanson Lt. Charley Barends (781) 293-9571	Abington, Bridgewater, Brockton, Carver, Cohasset, Duxbury, East Bridgewater, Halifax, Hanover, Hanson, Hingham, Hull, Kingston, Lakeville, Marion, Marshfield, Mattapoisett, Middleboro, Norwell, Onset, Pembroke, Plymouth, Plympton, Rochester, Rockland, Scituate, Wareham, West Bridgewater, and Whitman
District Three Insp	Fall River pector Jeffrey Medeiros (508) 324-2740	Acushnet, Attleboro, Berkley, Dartmouth (Districts #1, 2 & 3), Dighton, Fairhaven, Fall River, Freetown, New Bedford, North Attleboro, Norton, Plainville, Raynham, Rehoboth, Seekonk, Somerset, Swansea, Taunton, and Westport
District Four Cl	Mansfield hief Neal A. Boldrighini (508) 261-7493	Avon, Bellingham, Canton, Dover, Easton, Foxborough, Franklin, Holbrook, Mansfield, Medfield, Medway, Millis, Norfolk, Norwood, Randolph, Sharon, Stoughton, Walpole, Westwood, and Wrentham

District Five	Danvers Chief Robert Pyburn (978) 762-0247	Beverly, Danvers, Essex, Gloucester, Hamilton, Ipswich, Lynnfield, Manchester, Marblehead, Middleton, Nahant, Peabody, Rockport, Salem, Swampscott, Topsfield, and Wenham
District Six	Lowell Chief Jeffrey Winward (978) 459-5553	Andover, Ayer, Bedford, Billerica, Chelmsford, Dracut, Dunstable, Groton, Littleton, Lowell, North Reading, Pepperell, Shirley, Tewksbury, Tyngsborough, Westford, and Wilmington
District Seven Chief	Auburn Stephen M. Coleman Jr (508) 832-7800	Auburn, Blackstone, Brookfield, Charlton, Douglas, Dudley, East Brookfield, Grafton, Leicester, Mendon, Millbury, Millville, Northbridge, North Brookfield, Oxford, Southbridge, Spencer, Sturbridge, Sutton, Upton, Uxbridge, Warren, Webster, West Brookfield, and Worcester
District Eight No Tow Vehicle	Melissa Ahola Rachel King (978) 345-9672	Ashburnham, Ashby, Barre, Berlin, Bolton, Boylston, Clinton, Fitchburg, Gardner, Hardwick, Harvard, Holden, Hubbardston, Lancaster, Leominster, Lunenburg, New Braintree, Oakham, Paxton, Petersham, Phillipston, Princeton, Royalston, Rutland, Sterling, Templeton, Townsend, West Boylston, Westminster, and Winchendon
District Nine (Whately Chief John Hannum (413) 665-2230	Ashfield, Athol, Bernardston, Buckland, Charlemont, Colrain, Conway, Deerfield, Gill, Greenfield, Hawley, Heath, Erving, Leverett, Leyden, Monroe, Montague, New Salem, Northfield, Orange, Rowe, Shelburne, Shutesbury, Sunderland, Warwick, Wendell, and Whately
District Ten	Goshen Chief Susan Labrie (413) 268-7161	Amherst, Belchertown, Chesterfield, Cummington, Easthampton, Goshen, Granby, Hadley, Hatfield, Huntington, Middlefield, Northampton, Pelham, Plainfield, Southampton, South Hadley, Ware, Williamsburg, Westhampton, and Worthington

District Eleven Springfield Commissioner Bernard Calvi (413) 750-2444	Agawam, Blandford, Brimfield, Chester, Chicopee, East Longmeadow, Granville, Hampden, Holland, Holyoke, Longmeadow, Ludlow, Monson, Montgomery, Palmer, Southwick, Springfield, Three Rivers, Tolland, Wales, Westfield, West Springfield, and Wilbraham
District Twelve Lanesboro Chief Charles A Durfee (413) 443-2321	Adams, Alford, Becket, Cheshire, Clarksburg, Dalton, Egremont, Florida, Great Barrington, Hancock, Hinsdale, Lanesboro, Lee, Lenox, Monterey, Mount Washington, New Ashford, New Marlborough, North Adams, Otis, Peru, Pittsfield, Richmond, Sandisfield, Stockbridge, Savoy, Sheffield, Tyringham, Washington, West Stockbridge, Williamstown, and Windsor
District Thirteen Reading Chief Gregory J. Burns (781) 944-3132	Arlington, Belmont, Boston, Braintree, Brookline, Burlington, Cambridge, Chelsea, Dedham, Everett, Lexington, Lynn, Malden, Medford, Melrose, Milton, Needham, Newton, Quincy, Reading, Revere, Saugus, Somerville, Stoneham, Wakefield, Waltham, Watertown, Wellesley, Weston, Weymouth, Winchester, Winthrop, Woburn, and Massport
District Fourteen Acton FF's Brent Carter or A.J. Pelkey (978) 264-9645	Acton, Ashland, Boxborough, Carlisle, Concord, Framingham, Holliston, Hopedale, Hopkinton, Hudson, Lincoln, Marlborough, Maynard, Milford, Natick, Northborough, Sherborn, Shrewsbury, Southborough, Stow, Sudbury, Wayland, and Westborough
District Fifteen Amesbury FF's Jeremy Bean or Gerry Morrill (978) 388-8165	Amesbury, Boxford, Georgetown, Groveland, Haverhill, Lawrence, Merrimac, Methuen, Newbury, Newburyport, North Andover, Rowley, Salisbury, and West Newbury