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When You are At-Fault in an Accident 
What does it mean to be at-fault? 

Under Massachusetts law, you are considered to be at-fault for an accident if your driving 
behavior at the time of the accident was more than 50% of the reason for the accident.   
 

Why does it matter who is at-fault in an accident? 
State law requires your motor vehicle to be insured for accidental injury to other people and 
property that may occur while you are driving it.  Who is at-fault in the accident affects the 
amount of money insurance companies are obligated to pay in damages, and is also likely to 
affect the at-fault driver’s cost of insurance in the future. 
 
The amount of money an insurer is obligated to pay in an accident is partly determined by who 
is at fault.  If an operator’s actions  were more than 50% of the reason for an accident, that 
operator’s insurance company must cover all of the losses and expenses incurred by others who 
were affected by the accident.  However, if all individuals involved in the accident were partly 
the cause of it, and no single individual was more than 50% at fault, insurers are only 
responsible for restoring other injured parties to the extent they did not contribute to the 
accident. 
 
The effect on your premium when you are at-fault in an accident will be based on the rules and 
rating factors your insurance company has filed with the Division of Insurance.  Most insurance 
companies assign a fixed number of points for each type of at-fault accident or traffic violation, 
and the total point value is used to determine a percentage increase to the premium for the 
policy.  At-fault accidents may affect future premiums for 3-5 years. 
 
The Division of Insurance carefully reviews merit rating plans before authorizing an insurance 
company to apply them to determine premiums.  Individual insurer’s rating plans are available 
to the public.  If you have specific questions about the at-fault accidents or traffic violations that 
are reflected in your premium, contact your agent or company. 

 
Will my insurance premium go up if I am at-fault in an accident? 

In many instances your premium will go up if you are found to be at-fault in an accident.  
However, state law prohibits insurers from increasing your premium based on at-fault accidents 
or traffic violations that occurred more than five years prior to the effective date of your policy. 
 
The effect on your premium when you are at-fault in an accident will be based on the rules and 
rating factors your insurance company has filed with the Division of Insurance.  Most insurance 
companies assign a fixed number of points for each type of at-fault accident or traffic violation, 
and the total point value is used to determine a percentage increase to the premium for the 
policy.  At-fault accidents may affect future premiums for 3-5 years. 
 
The Division of Insurance carefully reviews merit rating plans before authorizing an insurance 
company to apply them to determine premiums.  Individual insurer’s rating plans are available 
to the public.  If you have specific questions about the at-fault accidents or traffic violations that 
are reflected in your premium, contact your agent or company. 
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Who determines who is at-fault in an accident? 
Ultimately, the determination of who is at-fault in a motor vehicle accident rests with the 
Massachusetts courts.  However, because motor vehicle accidents are very common, laws and 
regulations have been established that permit insurers to presume that motor vehicle operators 
are at-fault in certain pre-defined accident situations.  For example, the law states that an 
operator shall be presumed to be more than 50% at fault when operating a vehicle which is in a 
collision with another vehicle which is moving in the opposite direction on the proper side of the 
roadway or center line.   
 
A complete list of accidents in which the law allows insurers to presume that an operator was at 
fault is contained in regulation 211 CMR  74.00 . 
 

How will I find out if I am at-fault in an accident? 
Insurers can presume who is at-fault when the accident situation is one of those described in 
regulation 211 CMR  74.00. 
 When this happens, the insurer will send a notice to your home stating that you have been 
presumed to be at-fault for the accident. 
 
If you are involved in a very complex accident, it is likely that a Massachusetts court will 
determine who was at-fault. 
 
 If you are at-fault and the insurer pays more than $500 in claims on your behalf, state law 
requires the insurer to report such claims to the Massachusetts Merit Rating Board.  

 
Can I appeal an insurer’s determination that I am at-fault in an accident? 

Yes.  If you believe that you are not more than 50% at-fault for an accident, you may appeal the 
insurer’s at-fault determination to the Board of Appeal at the Division of Insurance.  You must 
request this appeal within thirty days of the date shown on the at-fault notice. 
 

How do I appeal an insurer’s determination that I am at-fault in an accident? 
The notice informing you that an insurer has determined you to be at-fault has two sides.  The 
process for applying for an appeal is described on the bottom of the front side of the notice.  An 
appeal form is on the back side of the notice.  You must complete the form and return it to the 
Board of Appeal at the Division of Insurance within 30 days of the notice. 
 

If I appeal the at-fault determination, can my insurer still raise my premium because of the accident? 
Yes.  Filing an appeal does not prevent the at-fault accident from affecting your insurance 
premium.  If the Board of Appeal decides that the insurer’s at-fault determination was improper, 
your insurer must refund any premiums associated with that accident. 
 

Where and when will my hearing be scheduled?  
The Board of Appeal will mail you a Notice of Hearing when your hearing date has been 
scheduled.  Appeal hearings are scheduled in Boston as well as a number of other locations.  
Carefully note the location of your hearing listed on the Notice. Directions are included at the 
bottom of the Hearing Notice. 

http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/docs/doi/legal-hearings/211-74.pdf�
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/docs/doi/legal-hearings/211-74.pdf�
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Upon receipt of the Hearing Notice, you have three options through which to pursue the appeal:  
a. Appear in Person. 

Bring your Hearing Notice to the scheduled location, along with copies of all relevant 
information and documents/photographs etc., that you want the Hearing Officer to 
consider when making the decision. 
 

b. Submit a Written Statement in lieu of your appearance. 
The Board must receive your written or typed statement via mail or facsimile at least 5 
days prior to your hearing. The statement must include:  

 copies of all relevant information, and any documents/photographs etc. that 
you want the Hearing Officer to consider when making the decision  

 your signature on the Hearing Notice, which affirms that you are waiving a 
personal appearance in favor of your written statement  and that your 
statements about the accident are truthful. 
 

c. Select a representative to appear on your behalf. 
If you elect to submit a written statement via a representative, instead of appearing in 
person, it must include:  

 copies of all relevant information, and any documents/photographs etc. that 
you want the Hearing Officer to consider when making the decision  

 your signature on the Hearing Notice, which affirms that you are waiving a 
personal appearance in favor of your written statement  and that your 
statements about the accident are truthful. 

 
 NOTE: All materials submitted toward your appeal will become a part of the Board's record 

and cannot be returned.  It is recommended that you make additional copies for your records. 
 

What will the hearing entail?  
The hearing is informal and public, and typically lasts 20 to 30 minutes. The Hearing Officer will 
make an audio tape recording of the hearing. You or your representative and the insurance 
company representative will each be given an opportunity to present all pertinent information. 
You may also bring a witness or a witness statement to the hearing. The Hearing Officer may ask 
you or the representative questions to clarify the information presented or the circumstances of 
the accident. 

 
When will I learn the outcome of my hearing?  

At the conclusion of the hearing, the Hearing Officer will take your appeal under advisement. 
The facts and circumstances presented will be reviewed in accordance with the governing laws 
and regulations. 
 
Under the law, your testimony and the evidence/information you present must overcome the 
presumption of fault to have the at-fault determination removed from your driving record.  
 
A Memorandum of Finding and Order, the Board's decision, will be mailed to you within 2-4 
weeks.  

 
If the decision is marked VACATE, the Board has found that you were not more than 50% at-
fault for the accident. The at-fault determination on your driving record as a result of the 
accident will be removed.  
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If the decision is marked UPHELD, the Board has found that you were more than 50% at-fault for 
the accident. The at-fault determination will remain on your driving record. 

 
May I appeal the Board's decision if it is unfavorable?  

If you disagree with the Board’s decision, you may appeal that decision to your county's 
Superior Court or in Boston , to Suffolk County Court. In accordance with M.G.L. c. 30A § 14 and 
Superior Court Standing Order 1-96, you must file this appeal within 30 days of your receipt of 
the decision.  

 
May I appeal traffic citations to the Board of Appeal?  

No.   Any questions regarding this type of incident should be directed to the Massachusetts 
District Court Department. 

 
Will my insurance premium be reduced if the Board of Appeal determines that the insurance 
company’s at-fault presumption was in error? 

If the Board of Appeals finds that the insurer’s at-fault determination was in error, and your 
insurer had raised your premium in recognition of the at-fault determination, the insurer will 
correct the premium within 30 days of receiving notice of the Board’s reversal of the at-fault 
determination.   
 
If a reversal is issued and you were never a policyholder of the insurer who made the at-fault 
determination, you must inform your current insurer that the at-fault determination has been 
reversed.  To do this, you must send a copy of the Board’s notice of reversal to your insurer 
within 45 days after you receive it.  

 
Will the at-fault determination be removed from my record if the Board of Appeal determines that 
the at-fault presumption of the insurance company was in error? 

Yes.  Insurers are required to notify the Merit Rating Board and any other data collection 
agencies that the insurer originally notified of an operator’s at-fault determination that it has 
been reversed within 15 days. 

 
How do insurance companies find out about my involvement in automobile accidents? 

If you are at-fault and the insurer pays more than $500 in claims on your behalf, state law 
requires the insurer to report such claims to the Massachusetts Merit Rating Board.  
 
Some insurers also submit automobile insurance claim information to a central exchange.  The 
most common exchange is Comprehensive Loss Underwriting Exchange (C.L.U.E.).   
 
When you apply for private passenger automobile insurance, the insurer will likely check one or 
both of these organizations to for the purpose of reviewing your driving record. 
 

How do I verify that the accident information the insurer is using is correct? 
The simplest way to verify the accident information used by your insurance company is to 
contact your insurance agent or company. 
 
The Massachusetts Merit Rating Board (MRB) maintains records of your at-fault accident 
involvement and traffic violations.  To obtain a copy of your driving record maintained by the 
MRB, go the Registry of Motor Vehicles Website or call 857-368-8100.  

http://www.mass.gov/legis/laws/mgl/30a-14.htm�
http://www.mass.gov/courts/courtsandjudges/courts/districtcourt/faq/faqs-cmvi.html�
http://www.mass.gov/courts/courtsandjudges/courts/districtcourt/faq/faqs-cmvi.html�
http://www.mass.gov/courts/courtsandjudges/courts/districtcourt/faq/faqs-cmvi.html�
http://www.mass.gov/rmv/suspend/driving_record.htm�
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To find out about the accident history an insurer may have obtained about you through C.L.U.E, 
you should consult the Lexis Nexis Website or call 866-312-8076.  
 
While the MRB and Lexis Nexis maintain accident records for periods longer than five years, 
state law prohibits your insurance company from increasing your premiums for at-fault 
accidents or traffic violations that occurred more than five years before your policy effective 
date.  
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https://personalreports.lexisnexis.com/fact_act_claims_bundle/landing.jsp�

