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LETTER FROM
THE COMMISSIONER

To the Honorable Charlie Baker, Governor of the Commonwealth, and the Honorable
Members of the General Court of Massachusetts:

| am pleased to present the Massachusetts Department of Revenue’s (DOR) fiscal 2020
Annual Report. FY2020 revenues totaled $29.609 billion, 0.3% less than the previous fis-
cal year and 2.2% below benchmark reflecting weak performance in all major tax categories
largely due to several COVID-19 pandemic related factors, including pandemic-induced
recession, federal monetary and fiscal policies in response to the recession, and the
extension of various tax return and payment deadlines.

New requirements were applied to out-of-state sellers and marketplace facilitators in October 2019 to
collect sales and use taxes on sales of product or services that exceed $100,000 in a calendar year. Massa-
chusetts collected tens of millions of dollars in taxes from third parties for the fiscal year.

Sales of flavored tobacco and vaping products were prohibited, while a new 75% excise tax on the whole-
sale price of all electronic nicotine delivery systems was implemented.

Paid Family and Medical Leave contributions from employers and other businesses, on behalf of em-
ployees and other workers, began to be collected and remitted to DOR.

The second half of the fiscal year was dominated by DOR’s response to the coronavirus pandemic, which
included providing various types of taxpayer relief. Individual taxpayers were given more time to file tax re-
turns and make payments. Small business taxpayers were given more time to file sales and use, meals and
room occupancy returns and make payments. Other business taxpayers were given penalty relief for late fil-
ings and payments and collection actions were significantly curtailed. In addition, DOR established and fre-
quently updated a dedicated COVID-19 information page on its website. The page shared timely information
on the Commonwealth’s response to the pandemic, as well as news and updates pertaining to tax relief,
changes for municipalities, and updates on child support procedures for the Commonwealth’s families.

The Division of Local Services developed a new online Training and Resource Center during this fiscal
year that was made available to all end-users, with a focus on making critical information available to new
municipal finance officials. This is an important initiative to help train those who have come, and will con-
tinue to come, to the field as part of the generational shift in the workforce. Additionally, Local Services
provided on-the-ground support and policy guidance to the cities and towns facing fiscal and operational
challenges across the Commonwealth while continuing formal municipal oversight and advisory roles in
Lynn and Methuen.



In FY2020, Local Services certified free cash for 350 communities for a total of $1,915,169,481; certified tax
levies totaling $18,918,444,134; distributed $6.123 billion in net local aid to cities, towns, and regional and
charter schools; and conducted 10 Community Compact Cabinet reviews.

DOR’s Child Support Enforcement Division collected $672 million in FY2020. DOR collects $6.01 for every
dollar spent on the child support program. Additionally, 96% of all child support collected was distributed
to the families for which DOR is providing services.

The Department of Revenue continues to leverage technology and innovation as we navigate changes to
our work environment and a recovering economy impacted by the coronavirus pandemic. With the help of
valued partners throughout state government, we have invested necessary energy and capital in ensuring
that we effectively, efficiently, and safely collect revenues, promote the fiscal health of our cities and towns,
and serve the best interests of Commonwealth families.

Sincerely,
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Geoffrey E. Snyder,
Commissioner




LEGISLATIVE REVIEW FY2020

Sales and Use Tax

Sales and Use Tax Collection Requirements That
Apply to Out-of-State “Remote” Sellers and
Marketplace Facilitators

Fiscal Year 2020 Budget (“FY2020 Budget”), St.
2019, c. 41 added new Massachusetts sales and use
tax collection requirements that apply to out-of-
state “remote” sellers and marketplace facilitators
(“marketplaces”) as of October 1, 2019. Remote
sellers must collect tax on sales of tangible personal
property or services into Massachusetts when they
have Massachusetts sales that exceed $100,000 in
a calendar year. Marketplaces must collect tax on
behalf of third parties (“marketplace sellers”) sell-
ing through the marketplace when the market-
place’s total Massachusetts sales (including those
facilitated on behalf of marketplace sellers and
those made directly by the marketplace on its own
behalf) exceed $100,000 in a calendar year. See
St. 2019, c. 41, 88 31-35; G.L. chs. 64H-64l; 830
CMR 4H.1.9.

Administrative

Extension of the April 15, 2020 the Filing and
Payment Due Date until July 15. 2020

Pursuant to “An Act to Address Challenges Faced
by Municipalities and State Authorities Resulting
from COVID-19,” H.4598, enacted April 3, 2020, the
due date for personal income tax return filings and
payments originally due April 15, 2020 was changed
to July 15, 2020. The July 15, 2020 due date applied
to personal income tax, trust income tax, and in-
come tax due with a partnership composite return
with an April 15, 2020 due date. H.4598, §11. See
TIR 20-4.

Miscellaneous EXxcises

Increased Surcharges on Certain Documents
Recorded at the Registers of Deeds on or after
December 31, 2019

The FY2020 Budget increased surcharges imposed
under the Community Preservation Act, G.L. c. 44B,
on certain documents recorded at Registers of
Deeds on or after December 31, 2019. Documents
or instruments that previously were subject to a
surcharge of $20.00 are subject to a surcharge of
$50.00, effective for documents and instruments

postmarked on or after December 31, 2019. Docu-
ments or instruments that were subject to a sur-
charge of $10.00 are subject to a surcharge of
$25.00, effective for documents and instruments
postmarked on or after December 31, 2019. See St.
2019, c. 41, §8 29-30; G.L. c. 44B, § 8; TIR 19-14.

Restrictions, Tax and Licensing Provisions
pertaining to Certain Tobacco Products

St. 2019, c. 133, “An Act Modernizing Tobacco Con-
trol,” restricted the sale of certain tobacco products
and imposed a new excise on vaping products, re-
ferred to as “electronic nicotine delivery systems,”
or “ENDS”. It also extended the application of the
existing tax rules with respect to tobacco products
to ENDS by including ENDS in the definition of
“tobacco products” in G.L. c. 64C. Other provisions
of this legislation included: new restrictions on sales
of flavored and unflavored tobacco products; an
expansion of the definition of “tobacco product”

in G.L. c. 64C to include ENDS; a new excise on
ENDS; ENDS dealer licensing and return filing re-
quirements; collection and pre-payment of sales
tax on all ENDS products; potential consumer liabil-
ity; and penalties potentially under both G.L. c. 62C
and G.L. c. 64C. See St. 2019, ¢. 133, § 16-17; G.L. c.
64C; TIR 20-6.



The Taxes FY 2020

TYPE OF TAX MEASURE RATE' RETURN DUE

Personal income and Net capital gains? 5.05-12% On or before April 15 for calendar year filings.

fiduciary income Dividends, interest, wages, other income 5.05% The 15th day of the 4th month for fiscal year
filings.?

Nonresident Massachusetts source income 5.05%

Estimated tax Liability in excess of $400 Due quarterly on or before the 15th day of April;
June, September and January.

Withholding Wages 5.05% Varies depending on amount of tax withheld
in calendar year. If annual withholding: up to
$100 — annual filing; $101-1,200 — quarterly
filings; $1,201-25,000 — monthly filings; over
$25,000 — quarterly filings, weekly payments.

Estate Federal taxable estate 0.8%-16%*  Within nine months after date of decedent’s death.

Nonresident

Massachusetts real and tangible property*

Within nine months after date of decedent’s death.

Alcoholic beverages Malt (31-gal. bbl.) $3.30 Monthly, on or before the 20th day of the month.
Cider 3%—6% (wine gal.) $ .03
Still wine 3%—-6% (wine gal.) $ 55
Sparkling wine (wine gal.) $ .70
Alcoholic beverages 15% or less (wine gal.) $1.10
Alcoholic beverages more than 15%-50% (wine gal.) $4.05
Alcoholic beverages more than 50% or alcohol (proof gal.) ~ $4.05
Cigarettes 20-count package $3.51 Monthly, on or before the 20th day of the month.
Unclassified acquirers must file upon importation
or acquisition.
Smokeless tobacco (percentage of price paid by licensee)  210% same as cigarettes
Cigars and smoking tobacco (percentage of price paid by 40% Quarterly, on or before the 20th day following the
licensee) close of the tax period.
Deeds Sales price (less mortgage assumed) of real estate $2.285  Monthly, on or before the 10th day of the
per $500 month (filed by Registers of Deeds).
Motor fuels Gasoline and diesel fuel per gallon $ .24 Monthly, on or before the 20th day of the month.
Propane, liquified gas, etc. (no minimum) 19.1%
Aviation (10¢ minimum) 7.5%
Jet fuel at local option (5¢ minimum) 5%
Room occupancy Transient room occupancy 57% Monthly, on or before the 20th day following the
At local option, up to 6.0%5  close of the tax period.
Convention Center Financing Fee 2.75%
(Boston, Cambridge, Springfield, Worcester, Chicopee
and West Springfield)
Cape Cod and Islands Water Protection Fund Fee
(Barnstable, Nantucket and Dukes Counties) 2.75%
Community Impact Fee, At local option on certain
short-term rentals up to 3%
Club alcoholic beverages Gross receipts 0.57% On or before April 15.
Sales and use tax Sale, rental or use of tangible personal property, 6.25% On or before the 20th day following the close of

including cigarettes, telecommunication services
and certain fuel.

the tax period. If annual liability: up to $100 —
annual filing; $101-1,200 — quarterly filings;
over $1,200 — monthly filing




TYPE OF TAX MEASURE RATE RETURN DUE
Sales tax on meals, All “restaurant” food and on-premises consumption of 6.25% Monthly, on or before the 20th day following the
prepared food and any beverages in any amount. close of the tax period.
all beverages At local option .75%
Marijuana retail taxes  Sales of marijuana or marijuana products 6.25% Monthly, on or before the 20th day following the
State excise tax 10.75% close of the tax period.
Local option for cities and towns up to 3%
Direct broadcast Gross revenues 5% Monthly, on or before the 20th day of each
satellite service calendar month.
Business and Net income 8.0%7  On or before the 15th day of fourth month after
manufacturing Tangible property or net worth $2.60 per $1,000 close of taxable year.?
corporations Minimum $456
Estimated tax Liability in excess of $1,000 Due quarterly as follows: 15th day of 3rd (40%),
6th (25%), 9th (25%) and 12th (10%) months
of taxable year.®
Security corporation
Non-bank holding co. ~ Gross income 1.32% Same as business corporations.
Bank holding company  Gross income 0.33%
Minimum $456
Financial institutions Net income 9.0%" Same as business corporations.
Minimum $456
Ship excise tax Value (equity interest) of the corporation’s interest in a 0.33% Same as business corporations.
ship or vessel engaged in interstate or foreign trade.
Insurance company
Domestic life Premiums 2.0% On or before April 15.
Foreign life Premiums 2.0%
Domestic casualty Premiums 2.28%
Gross investment income 0.2%-1.0%
Foreign casualty Premiums 2.28%
Ocean marine Underwriting profit 5.7% On or before May 15.
Preferred provider
arrangements Premiums 2.28% On or before March 15.
Motor vehicle garaged 90% to 10% of manufacturer’s list price $25 On or before 30 days from issuance of tax bill.
outside Massachusetts per $1,000
Boston sightseeing tour  Ticket purchase price of any water- or land-based 5% Quarterly, on or before the 20th day following the
sightseeing tourist venue or entertainment cruise or close of the tax period.
trolley tour originating or located in Massachusetts
and conducted partly or entirely in Boston.
Boston vehicular rental  Each vehicular rental transaction contract executed $10 Quarterly, on or before the 20th day following the
transaction surcharge in Boston. close of the tax period.
Parking facilities Parking facilities built in conjunction with or as part of $2 per Quarterly, on or before the 20th day following the
surcharge in Boston, a project authorized by the Convention Center Financing vehicle close of the tax period.
Springfield and/or Act in Boston, Springfield or Worcester. per day

Worcester




Tax rates as of August 1, 2020.
2Gains from the sale or exchange of capital assets (except collectibles) held for more than one year are taxed at 5.05%. Short-term capital gains, as well as long-term capital gains arising from
the Sale of collectibles (with a 50% deduction) are taxed at 12%.
3Personal income tax returns and payments for tax year 2019, otherwise due April 15, 2020, were due July 15, 2020, pursuant to “An Act to Address Challenges Faced by Municipalities and State
Authorities Resulting from COVID-19” (the “Act”), H.4598, enacted April 3, 2020.
“Resident rate is equal to federal credit for state death taxes based on December 31, 2000 IRC. Nonresident rate is equal to Massachusetts proportionate share of federal credit for state death taxes.
°In Barnstable County, the rate is $6.48 (combined state and county deeds excise) per $1,000.
5Boston is authorized to charge up to 6.5%

7S corporations: 2.95% if total receipts are $9 million or more; 1.97% if total receipts are $6 million or more but less than $9 million.

8In general, all S corporation returns are due on the 15th day of the third month. However, an S corporation filing as a taxable member of a combined group may file its corporate excise return
on or before the 15th day of the fourth month following the close of the combined group’s taxable year.

930%, 25%, 25% and 20% for corporations with fewer than 10 employees in their first full tax year.
S corporations: 3.95% if total receipts are $9 million or more; 2.63% if total receipts are $6 million or more but less than $9 million.



Revenue Collections FY 2020

% change
In thousands FY16 FY17 FY18 FY19 FY20 FY19-20
STATE TAXES COLLECTED BY DOR
Alcoholic beverages $ 82611 $§ 84468 §$§ 84978 $§ 86,195 $ 87,621 1.7
Financial institutions 23,465 (130) 17,443 19,467 9,311 (52.2)
Cigarettes? 640,839 619,437 594,173 553,261 523,963 (5.3)
Corporations 2,312,031 2,196,705 2,392,154 2,927,160 2,523,446 (13.8)
Deeds? 191,516 205,758 193,541 218,532 215,812 (1.2)
Estate and inheritance 399,429 336,633 472,956 601,306 699,555 16.3
Income? 14,407,518 14,699,874 16,255,655 17,125,833 17,388,969 1.5
Insurance 369,391 358,170 363,569 400,597 415,459 3.7
Motor Fuels and IFTA3 766,553 769,442 769,144 775,463 707,877 (8.7)
Public Utilities (1,604) (101) (650) 40 (346) (964.4)
Room Occupancy* 246,524 255,458 263,449 283,708 252,268 (11.1)
Sales and Use* 6,090,605 6,241,666 6,491,262 6,842,956 6,846,338 0.0
Club Alcoholic Beverages 784 929 865 926 750 191
Motor Vehicle Excise 100 97 116 77 195 152.0
Convention Center Surcharges 16,496 16,868 17,178 17,001 16,682 (1.9)
Community Preservation Trust 25,506 26,676 23,794 23,174 42,134 81.8
Controlled Substances — — — 13,949 51,685 270.5
Satellite 11,773 10,942 9,721 8,605 7,634 (11.3)
Statewide Car Rental — — — 1,096 6,174 (463.3)
Total state taxes collected by DOR $25,583,537 $25,822,892 $27,949,346 $29,899,345 $29,795,526 (0.3)
STATE TAXES COLLECTED BY OTHER AGENCIES
Massachusetts Gaming Commission
Pari-mutuel taxes $ 1326 § 902 § 887 $ 788 $ ™ (6.0)
Gaming revenue taxes 64,356 63,432 68,010 130,702 187,870 43.7
Lottery Commission
Beano 845 787 731 697 481 (31.1)
Raffles and bazaars 897 955 1,031 1,123 857 (23.
State Athletic Commission
Boxing contests 182 45 208 126 150 19.0
Boxer’s fund 19 9 33 13 23 78.5
Division of Insurance
Excess and surplus lines insurance 37,405 39,349 42,682 44,848 54,660 21.9
Secretary of State
Deeds excise stamp tax fees 90,426 91,435 90,956 99,815 98,338 (1.5)
Division of Unemployment Assistance
Workforce training contribution 22,814 24,400 24,676 25,131 25,743 2.4
Total state taxes collected by other agencies $§ 218,270 $ 221,314 § 229,214 § 303,244 $ 368,863 21.6
TOTAL STATE TAXES $25,801,807 $26,044,206 $28,178,561 $30,202,589 $30,164,389 (0.1)



% change

In thousands FY16 FY17 FY18 FY19 FY20 FY19-20
OTHER REVENUE
Local option airplane jet fuel $ 23373 $§ 19010 $ 25700 § 36,197 § 31,217 (13.8)
Local option rooms 199,080 206,129 212,447 228,914 209,229 (8.6)
Local option meals 119,730 125,999 133,791 142,217 125,822 (11.5)
Local option marijuana — — — 3,893 14,386 269.6
Local option vehicle rental surcharge — — — 1,768 1,770 0.2
Local option community impact fee — — — — 630 —
Urban redevelopment 36,568 26,394 28,862 30,385 29,696 (2.3)
Department non-tax revenue 10,449 8,733 8,828 13,373 9,109 (31.9)
Paid family and medical leave fund — — — — 608,707 —
County recording fees 27,860 29,293 24,317 25,698 30,082 171
Abandoned deposits — bottle 44,333 45,428 44,758 53,333 60,358 13.2
Local rental vehicle (Convention Center 10%) 1,534 1,578 1,542 — — —
Vehicle rental surcharge 176 171 149 — — —
Embarkation fees 1,413 1,420 1,421 1,509 1,518 0.6
ENDS civil penalties — — — — — —
UST delivery fees 75,169 76,085 79,951 78,869 74,869 (5.1)
Cape Cod & Islands water protection fund — — — — 9,359 —
Total other revenue $ 539,685 § 540,240 §$ 561,765 $ 616,156 $ 1,206,753 96.0
TAXES ON PROPERTY COLLECTED BY LOCAL GOVERNMENT
Real estate $14,469,307 $15,089,741  $15,765,843 $16,519,215 §$17,287,537 4.7
Personal property 709,928 741,663 774,618 803,182 844,697 52
Motor vehicles 850,225 867,553 916,471 927,082 894,810 (3.5)
Total taxes on property collected
by local government $16,029,461 $16,698,957 $17,456,931 $18,249,479 $19,027,044 4.3
TOTAL ALL TAXES $42,370,953 $43,283,403 $46,197,257 $49,068,224 $50,398,186 2.7

"Includes income tax penalties assessed under Section 2 of Chapter 111M of the General Laws and cigarette excise revenues credited to the Commonwealth Care Trust Fund in accordance with Chap-

ter 302, Sections 12 and 70 of the Acts of 2008.
2Due to different accounting methods, amounts reported for the deeds excise differ from those reported by the comptroller.
3International Fuel Tax Agreement.

“Includes sales, meals, room occupancy excise taxes and service fees for the City of Worcester DCU Capital Improvement Fund, as well as sales tax revenue collected from the sale of alcoholic

beverages under Chapter 64H of the General Laws and credited to the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Fund.

Because of rounding, detail may not add to totals.



Offers in Final Settlement FY 2020

Under M.G.L. ¢. 62C, sec. 37A, the Commissioner of Revenue has
the authority, under specific conditions, to accept less than full pay-
ment as a final settlement for a state tax liability. The statutory con-
dition for such settlement is “serious doubt” as to collectibility of
the tax due or the taxpayer’s liability for it. The Commissioner must
also determine that the taxpayer or responsible person has acted
without intent to defraud. The settlement must be recommended
to the Commissioner by at least two deputy commissioners.

The written agreement, signed by all parties and including the
reasons for settlement, is a public record. In cases where the
liability is reduced by more than half, or by $20,000 or more, the
Attorney General of the Commonwealth must review the settle-
ment and has the authority to object to it.

The law requires that a listing of all settlements entered into during
the fiscal year be included in the Commissioner’s annual report.

In Fiscal Year 2020, five settlements were made. All five were
reviewed by the Attorney General.

The cases approved were as follows:

TOTAL TAX, INTEREST AMOUNT PAID
NAME & PENALTIES IN SETTLEMENT AMOUNT ABATED
Forever Xia, Inc. and Ai Ming Pan, Responsible Person $209,419.11 $ 90,000.00 $119,419.11
Amlor, Inc. and David E. Lynch, Responsible Person 174,801.65 18,000.00 156,801.65
Mark P. Bombelli 23,776.11 1,000.00 22,776.11
Glenn E. Gunnison 5,802.33 1,000.00 4,802.33
Tomi L. Ljunberg-Curry 25,132.99 10,599.00 14,533.99
TOTAL $438,932.19 $120,599.00 $318,333.19

Because of rounding, detail may not add to totals.
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Collection Agencies FY 2020

Chapter 209 of the Acts of 1988 permits the Commissioner of
Revenue to use private collection agencies to collect unpaid state
taxes. The Commissioner is required to notify all taxpayers whose
accounts are to be assigned to a collection agency at least 30 days
beforehand.

The law requires that the Commissioner list all agencies with whom
collection agreements exist, the amount of taxes collected and the
amount of compensation paid in the Department’s annual report.
They are as follows:

CONTRACTOR TOTAL COLLECTED FEES PAID NET TO DOR
Allen Daniel Associates $ 5,079,072 $ 490,605 $ 4,588,467
EOS-CCA 5,479,865 634,963 4,844,902
TOTAL $10,558,937 $1,125,569 $9,433,368

Because of rounding, detail may not add to totals.
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