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LETTER FROM THE COMMISSIONER
To the Honorable Charlie Baker, Governor of the Commonwealth, and the 
Honorable Members of the General Court of Massachusetts:

I am pleased to present the Massachusetts Department of Revenue’s (DOR) 
Fiscal Year 2021 Annual Report. FY2021 revenues totaled $34.123 billion, 15.2% 
more than the previous fiscal year and 17.3% above benchmark, reflecting 
strong performance in all major tax categories attributable to economic 
recovery from state and federal fiscal and monetary policies, financial 
market performance, and the easing of COVID-19 restrictions.

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, DOR implemented administrative 
tax relief for Massachusetts businesses that collected less than $150,000 in 
regular sales plus meals taxes in the 12-month period ending February 29, 
2020. Likewise for businesses collecting room occupancy taxes. For these 
small businesses, no penalties or interest accrued during the extension period. For businesses that 
did not otherwise qualify, late-file and late-pay penalties were waived.

While operating predominantly in a remote environment, DOR implemented an emergency sick 
leave program for Massachusetts employees affected by COVID-19. Additionally, we implemented 
the new deduction for unemployment income that included distributing refunds to over 100,000 
Massachusetts taxpayers who had already filed their 2020 state tax return.

Due to the impact of COVID-19, the 2019 personal income tax filing deadlines were extended an 
additional 90 days beyond the April 15, 2020 deadline. Perhaps due to social distancing mandates 
and remote working conditions, more than 90% of Massachusetts taxpayers filed their 2020 
income taxes electronically – the highest percentage to date. DOR processed approximately 3.8 
million income tax returns, averaged 14 days for refund turnaround (down 5% from the previous 
filing season), and issued 2.7 million refunds (67% direct deposit). In addition, taxpayers received 
fewer notices because of the use of enhanced data analytics.

Child Support Enforcement (CSE) created a new business process in conjunction with the 
Administrative Office of Probate and Family Court. In response to COVID-19 restrictions, CSE 
reassessed and modified its customer service and pivoted to a more centralized, virtual process 
that continues to allow customers to have their cases heard remotely, thereby greatly improving 
the case processing timeframe. The Virtual Counter option was rolled out in March 2021 and CSE 
staff assisted more than 500 customers remotely by the close of the fiscal year on June 30, 2021.

Additionally, CSE collected $657.6 million in support payments during FY2021. DOR collects $5.64 
for every dollar spent on the child support program. Additionally, 94% of all child support collected 
was distributed to the families for which DOR is providing services. 

In FY2021, the Division of Local Services certified free cash for 349 communities for a total of 
$1,948,415,764; certified tax levies totaling $18,930,971,308; and distributed $6.331 billion in net local 
aid to cities, towns, and regional and charter schools.

The Department of Revenue is committed to serving the taxpayers of the Commonwealth by 
focusing our efforts on fairness in collecting revenues, supporting our local officials by promoting 
sound fiscal management through training and oversight, and providing financial support for 
families in Massachusetts. 

Sincerely,

Geoffrey E. Snyder
Commissioner



Personal Income Tax and the 
Corporate Excise
Delay in Reinstatement of the Personal 
Income Tax Deduction for Charitable 
Contributions

The Fiscal year 2021 Budget (“FY21 Budget”), St. 
2020, c. 277, delayed the reinstatement of the 
Massachusetts charitable deduction under G.L. c. 
62, § 3.B.(a)(13), which has been suspended since 
the 2002 tax year, until tax years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2022. See St. 2020, c. 227, § 76; TIR 
21-4.

Cranberry Bog Renovation Credit 

“An Act Enabling Partnerships for Growth” (the 
“Economic Development Act”), St. 2020, c. 358 
(as amended by St. 2021, c. 24), adopted new 
credits for expenses incurred by individuals and 
business entities subject to the personal income 
tax and the corporate excise that are primarily 
engaged in cranberry production. The credit 
is a nontransferable, refundable credit equal 
to 25% of expenses incurred in the renovation, 
repair, replacement, regrading or restoration of 
a cranberry bog for the cultivation, harvesting 
or production of cranberries. The Secretary for 
Energy and Environmental Affairs determines 
eligible costs and the amount of the credit. 
The amount of credit that can be claimed by 
a taxpayer for a taxable year cannot exceed 
$100,000. The credit is available for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2020. See St. 
2020, c. 358 § 57; TIR 22-5.

Changes to the Low-Income Housing Tax 
Credit

The Economic Development Act temporarily 
increased the cap on the amount of low-
income housing tax credits (“LIHTC”) that can 
be allocated each year. Under G.L. c. 62, § 6I 
and G.L. c. 63, § 31H, the LIHTC is available to 
eligible individual and business taxpayers that 
invest in affordable rental housing. Prior to 
the Economic Development Act, the cap was 
$20,000,000. Effective for tax years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2021 and ending on or before 
December 31, 2025, the Economic Development 
Act raises the cap to $40,000,000. For tax years 
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beginning on or after January 1, 2026, the cap 
will revert to $20,000,000. See St. 2020, c. 358, §§ 
58, 59, 60, 61, 104, 112; TIR 22-5.

Tax Treatment of Unemployment 
Compensation Received in 2020 and 2021

Pursuant to “An Act Financing a Program for 
Improvements to the Unemployment Insurance 
Trust Fund and Providing Relief to Employers 
and Workers in the Commonwealth” (the 
“UI Trust Fund Act”), St. 2021, c. 9 § 26, for the 
taxable years beginning on January 1, 2020 and 
January 1, 2021, up to $10,200 of unemployment 
compensation included in an individual 
taxpayer’s federal gross income was deducted 
for purposes of determining Massachusetts 
gross income, provided that the taxpayer’s 
household income was not more than 200% of 
the federal poverty level. See St. 2021, c. 9 § 26; TIR 
21-6.

Tax Treatment of Forgiven Paycheck 
Protection Program Loans

The UI Trust Fund Act provided a deduction for 
cancellation of debt (“COD”) income related to 
forgiven Paycheck Protection Program loans 
(“PPP”) made under the federal Coronavirus 
Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (the 
“CARES Act”), P.L. 116-136, § 1102(a). For PPP loan 
borrowers subject to the Massachusetts personal 
income tax including Schedule C filers, certain 
partners in partnerships, and S corporation 
shareholders, the amount of a PPP loan forgiven 
under the CARES Act during the 2020 tax 
year was excluded from income.  Subsequent 
legislation (“An Act Relative to Immediate 
COVID-19 Recovery Needs” (the “Recovery 
Act”), St. 2021, c. 102) allowed personal income 
taxpayers to deduct from their Massachusetts 
gross income the amount of any COD income 
related to PPP loans that are forgiven for any 
taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 
2021. See St. 2021, c. 9, § 12; St. 2021, c. 102, § 77; TIR 
21-6; TIR 22-5.

Tax Treatment of Other Federal COVID-Related 
Relief Payments

The UI Trust Fund Act provided that (i) the 
amount of any advance received as an Economic 
Injury Disaster Loan pursuant to § 1110(e) of the 



CARES Act; (ii) the amount of any Small Business 
Administration payment described in § 1112(c) 
of the CARES Act; and (iii) the amount of any 
funding received as an Economic Injury Disaster 
Loan pursuant to § 331 of the federal “Economic 
Aid to Hard-Hit Small Businesses, Nonprofits, 
and Venues Act” (the “Aid to Hard-Hit Businesses 
Act”), P.L. 116-260, were to be deducted from 
Massachusetts gross income for the taxable year 
beginning January 1, 2020. The Recovery Act 
provided that personal income taxpayers were 
allowed to deduct these same amounts from 
Massachusetts gross income for the taxable year 
beginning on or after January 1, 2021. In addition, 
the Recovery Act provided that personal income 
taxpayers were also allowed to deduct (i) the 
amount of any Shuttered Venue Operator 
grant made under § 324 of the Aid to Hard-
Hit Businesses Act; and (ii) the amount of any 
Restaurant Revitalization Grant received from 
the Small Business Administration under § 5003 
of the federal American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 
for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
2021. St. 2021, c. 9, § 12; St. 2021, c. 102, §§ 77, 78; TIR 
21-6; TIR 22-5.

Sales and Use Tax, Room 
Occupancy Excise
Cape Cod and Islands Water Protection Fund 
Excise Abatements

Pursuant to “An Act Making Technical Corrective 
Changes To The Cape Cod And Islands Water 
Protection Fund Tax Assessments”, enacted on 
September 25, 2020 by St. 2020, c. 182, certain 
operators who paid the Cape Cod and Islands 
Water Protection Fund Excise under G.L. c. 64G, 
§ 3C were eligible to receive an abatement of the 
excise paid. When initially passed in December 
2018, this excise was imposed on different 
dates for different types of lodging businesses. 
To address this difference in effective dates, 
operators who paid the excise pursuant to a 
contract that was entered into not later than 
December 31, 2018 for an occupancy that took 
place between July 1, 2019 and December 31, 
2019, were eligible to receive an abatement of 
the excise paid. All claims for abatement were 
required to be submitted to the Department of 
Revenue by 5:00PM on January 15, 2021. See St. 
2020, c. 182; TIR 20-17.

Advance Payment of Room Occupancy Excise, 
Sales and Use Tax

The FY21 Budget added section 16B to G.L. c. 62C, 
which requires certain vendors and operators to 
remit an advance payment of room occupancy 
excise, sales tax, and use tax. Effective for tax 
periods ending after April 1, 2021, certain vendors 
must remit on or before the 25th day of the filing 
period any tax collected on or before the 21st 
day of the filing period. This advance payment 
requirement does not apply to vendors or 
operators whose cumulative Massachusetts sales 
and use tax or room occupancy excise liability 
in the immediately preceding calendar year 
was equal to or less than $150,000. Entities who 
fail to pay the amount due by the due date are 
assessed a 5% penalty on the amount of such 
underpayment, unless the amount remitted 
on or before the 25th of the month is equal 
to 70% or more of the total tax or excise due 
for the month, or the underpayment is due to 
reasonable cause. See St. 2020, c. 227, §§ 30, 114; 
TIR 21-4.

Change in the Due Date for Sales and Use Tax 
and Room Occupancy Excise Returns

The FY21 Budget amended G.L. c. 62C, § 16(g) and 
(h), changing the due date for sales and use tax 
and room occupancy excise returns. Effective 
for tax periods ending after April 1, 2021, a return 
required to be filed under G.L. c. 62C, § 16(g) or 
(h) will be due within 30 days after the close 
of the applicable tax period. Previously, these 
returns were due within 20 days after the close of 
the applicable tax period. See St. 2020, c. 227, §§ 
29, 114; TIR 21-4.

Tourism Destination Marketing District Fee

The Economic Development Act added new 
Chapter 40X which authorizes a group of lodging 
businesses located within a defined geographic 
region to create a Tourism Destination Marketing 
District (“District”) to promote economic 
development.  A District can impose a special 
assessment on lodging businesses in the District 
that are subject to the room occupancy excise 
under G.L. c. 64G. The special assessment 
cannot exceed 2% of rent subject to the room 
occupancy excise. The Department of Revenue is 
responsible for collecting this special assessment 



and the Massachusetts State Treasurer’s Office 
will distribute these funds to the District on a 
quarterly basis.  St. 2020, c. 358 § 56.

Tax Administration
Massachusetts Treatment of Partnerships that 
are the Subject of a Federal Audit

The FY21 Budget enacted G.L. c. 62C, § 30B, 
which requires partnerships and their partners to 
inform the Department of Revenue of a federal 
tax audit, report tax changes or obligations 
that derive from such an audit, and account for 
any resulting state tax liability. The new section 
includes provisions that (i) require audited 
partnerships to amend their Massachusetts 
nonresident composite returns or withholding 
reports; (ii) allow audited partnerships to make 
an election to pay state tax on behalf of their 
partners; and (iii) require partners in an audited 
partnership to directly pay state tax in certain 
instances. The new provisions were effective as of 
January 1, 2021. See St. 2020, c. 227, § 31; TIR 21-4.

Penalties Related to Automated Sales 
Suppression Devices or Phantom-ware

The FY21 Budget enacted G.L. c. 62C, § 35F to 
G.L. c. 62C, which established new penalties 
relating to automated sales suppression devices 
or phantom-ware, which include software 
programs or hardware used by vendors to falsify 
electronic records of electronic cash registers or 

other point-of-sale systems. Pursuant to the new 
section, a person or entity that sells or offers for 
sale an automated sales suppression device or 
phantom-ware will be subject to a civil penalty 
of not more than $25,000 for the first offense 
and not more than $50,000 for each subsequent 
offense, and a person or entity that purchases, 
installs, transfers, maintains, repairs or possesses 
an automated sales suppression device or 
phantom-ware will be subject to a civil penalty 
of not more than $10,000 for the first offense 
and not more than $25,000 for each subsequent 
offense. See St. 2020, c. 227, § 32; TIR 21-4.

Waiver of Penalties Assessed for Nonpayment 
of Taxes on Unemployment Compensation

The UI Trust Fund Act provided relief to 
individual taxpayers from certain penalties 
relating to nonpayment of taxes on 
unemployment compensation. The UI Trust 
Fund Act authorized a waiver of penalties which 
would have been assessed against a taxpayer 
solely for failure to remit taxes imposed on 
unemployment compensation received during 
the 2020 tax year. See St. 2021, c. 9, § 8; TIR 21-6.

Change to the Filing Due Date for Personal 
Income Tax Forms for Tax Year 2020

The UI Trust Fund Act the deadline for filing and 
remitting all Massachusetts individual income 
tax returns and payments for the 2020 calendar 
year to May 17, 2021. See St. 2021, c. 9, § 9; TIR 21-6.



THE TAXES FY2021
TYPE OF TAX  MEASURE  RATE1  RETURN DUE

Personal income and  Net capital gains2  5–12%  On or before April 15 for calendar year filings.
fiduciary income  Dividends, interest, wages, other income  5.%  The 15th day of the 4th month for fiscal year
   filings.3

Nonresident  Massachusetts source income  5%

Estimated tax  Liability in excess of $400   Due quarterly on or before the 15th day of April;
   June, September and January.

Withholding  Wages  5%  Varies depending on amount of tax withheld
   in calendar year. If annual withholding: up to
   $100 — annual filing; $101–1,200 — quarterly
   filings; $1,201–25,000 — monthly filings; over
   $25,000— quarterly filings, weekly payments.

Estate  Federal taxable estate  0.8%–16%4  Within nine months after date of decedent’s death.

Nonresident  Massachusetts real and tangible property4   Within nine months after date of decedent’s death.

Alcoholic beverages  Malt (31-gal. bbl.)  $3.30  Monthly, on or before the 20th day of the month.
 Cider 3%–6% (wine gal.)  $ .03
 Still wine 3%–6% (wine gal.)  $ .55
 Sparkling wine (wine gal.)  $ .70
 Alcoholic beverages 15% or less (wine gal.)  $1.10
 Alcoholic beverages more than 15%–50% (wine gal.)  $4.05
 Alcoholic beverages more than 50% or alcohol (proof gal.)  $4.05

Cigarettes  20-count package  $3.51  Monthly, on or before the 20th day of the month.
   Unclassified acquirers must file upon importation
   or acquisition.
 Smokeless tobacco (percentage of price paid by licensee)  210%  same as cigarettes
 Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems
 (ENDS)(wholesale price)  75%  same as cigarettes
 Cigars and smoking tobacco (percentage of price paid by  40%  Quarterly, on or before the 20th day following the
 licensee)   close of the tax period.

Deeds  Sales price (less mortgage assumed) of real estate  $2.285  Monthly, on or before the 10th day of the
  per $500  month (filed by Registers of Deeds).

Motor fuels  Gasoline and diesel fuel per gallon  $ .24  Monthly, on or before the 20th day of the month.
 Propane, liquified gas, etc. (no minimum)  19.1%
 Aviation (10¢ minimum)  7.5%
 Jet fuel at local option (5¢ minimum)  5%

Room occupancy  Transient room occupancy  5.7%  Monthly, on or before the 20th day following the
 At local option, up to  6.0%6  close of the tax period.
 Convention Center Financing Fee  2.75%
 (Boston, Cambridge, Springfield, Worcester, Chicopee
 and West Springfield)
 Cape Cod and Islands Water Protection Fund Fee
 (Barnstable, Nantucket and Dukes Counties)  2.75%
 Community Impact Fee, At local option on certain
 short-term rentals  up to 3%
 Tourism Destination Marketing District Fee,
 at local option         up to 2%



TYPE OF TAX  MEASURE  RATE1  RETURN DUE

Club alcoholic  Gross receipts  0.57%  On or before April 15.
beverages

Sales and use tax  Sale, rental or use of tangible personal property,  6.25%  On or before the 20th day following the close of
 including cigarettes, telecommunication services   the tax period. If annual liability: up to $100 —
 and certain fuel.   annual filing; $101–1,200 — quarterly filings;
   over $1,200 — monthly filing

Sales tax on meals,  All “restaurant” food and on-premises consumption of  6.25%  Monthly, on or before the 20th day following the
prepared food and  any beverages in any amount.   close of the tax period.
all beverages At local option  .75%

Marijuana retail taxes  Sales of marijuana or marijuana products  6.25%  Monthly, on or before the 20th day following the
 State excise tax  10.75%  close of the tax period.
 Local option for cities and towns  up to 3%

Direct broadcast  Gross revenues  5%  Monthly, on or before the 20th day of each
satellite service    calendar month.

Business and  Net income  8.0%7  On or before the 15th day of fourth month after
manufacturing  Tangible property or net worth  $2.60 per $1,000  close of taxable year.8

corporations  Minimum  $456

Estimated tax  Liability in excess of $1,000   Due quarterly as follows: 15th day of 3rd (40%),
   6th (25%), 9th (25%) and 12th (10%) months
   of taxable year.9

Security corporation  
 Non-bank holding co.  Gross income  1.32%  Same as business corporations.
 Bank holding company  Gross income  0.33%
  Minimum  $456

Financial institutions  Net income  9.0%10  Same as business corporations.
 Minimum  $456

Ship excise tax  Value (equity interest) of the corporation’s interest in a  0.33%  Same as business corporations.
 ship or vessel engaged in interstate or foreign trade.

Insurance company  
 Domestic life  Premiums  2.0%  On or before April 15.
 Foreign life  Premiums  2.0%
 Domestic casualty  Premiums  2.28%
   Gross investment income  0.2%–1.0%
 Foreign casualty  Premiums  2.28%
 Ocean marine  Underwriting profit  5.7%  On or before May 15.
 Preferred provider
 arrangements  Premiums  2.28%  On or before March 15.

Motor vehicle garaged  90% to 10% of manufacturer’s list price  $25  On or before 30 days from issuance of tax bill.
outside Massachusetts   per $1,000

Boston sightseeing  Ticket purchase price of any water- or land-based  5%  Quarterly, on or before the 20th day following the
tour sightseeing tourist venue or entertainment cruise or   close of the tax period.
 trolley tour originating or located in Massachusetts
 and conducted partly or entirely in Boston.



 1 Tax rates as of August 1, 2020.
 2 Gains from the sale or exchange of capital assets (except collectibles) held for more than one year are taxed at 5%. Short-term capital gains, as well as long-term capital gains arising  
  from the sale of collectibles (with a 50% deduction) are taxed at 12%.
 4 Resident rate is equal to federal credit for state death taxes based on December 31, 2000 IRC. Nonresident rate is equal to Massachusetts proportionate share of federal credit for state  
  death taxes.
 5 In Barnstable County, the rate is $6.48 (combined state and county deeds excise) per $1,000.
 6 Boston is authorized to charge up to 6.5%
 7 S corporations: 3% if total receipts are $9 million or more; 2% if total receipts are $6 million or more but less than $9 million.
 8 In general, all S corporation returns are due on the 15th day of the third month. However, an S corporation filing as a taxable member of a combined group may file its corporate excise  
  return on or before the 15th day of the fourth month following the close of the combined group’s taxable year.
 9 30%, 25%, 25% and 20% for corporations with fewer than 10 employees in their first full tax year.
 10 S corporations: 4% if total receipts are $9 million or more; 2.63% if total receipts are $6 million or more but less than $9 million.

TYPE OF TAX  MEASURE  RATE1  RETURN DUE

Boston vehicular rental  Each vehicular rental transaction contract executed  $10  Quarterly, on or before the 20th day following the
transaction surcharge  in Boston.   close of the tax period.

Parking facilities  Parking facilities built in conjunction with or as part of  $2 per  Quarterly, on or before the 20th day following the
surcharge in Boston,  a project authorized by the Convention Center Financing  vehicle  close of the tax period.
Springfield and/or  Act in Boston, Springfield or Worcester.  per day
Worcester



       % change
In thousands  FY17  FY18  FY19  FY20  FY21  FY20–21

STATE TAXES COLLECTED BY DOR

 Alcoholic Beverages $ 84,468  $ 84,978  $ 86,195  $ 87,621  $ 92,660  5.8
 Financial Institutions (130) 17,443  19,467  9,311  44,926  382.5
 Cigarettes1 619,437  594,173  553,261  523,963  398,214  (24.0)
 Corporations 2,196,705  2,392,154  2,927,160  2,523,446  3,626,597  43.7
 Deeds 205,758  193,541  218,532  215,812  278,547  29.1
 Estate and Inheritance 336,633  472,956  601,306  699,555  787,764  12.6
 Income1 14,699,874  16,255,655  17,125,833  17,388,969  19,662,123  13.1
 Insurance 358,170  363,569  400,597  415,459  480,483  15.7
 Motor Fuels and I.F.T.A2 769,442  769,144  775,463  707,877  662,932  (6.3)
 Public Utilities (101) (650) 40  (346) 1,472  (525.6)
 Room Occupancy3 255,458  263,449  283,708  252,268  124,220  (50.8)
 Sales and Use3 6,241,666  6,491,262  6,842,956  6,846,338  7,849,850  14.7
 Club Alcoholic Beverages  929  865  926  750  546  (27.2)
 Motor Vehicle Excise  97  116  77  195  783  302.2
 Convention Center Surcharges 16,868  17,178  17,001  16,682  4,233  (74.6)
 Community Preservation Trust 26,676  23,794  23,174  42,134  82,212  95.1
 Controlled Substances 0  0  13,949  51,685  112,370  117.4
 Satellite 10,942  9,721  8,605  7,634  6,708  (12.1)
 Statewide car rental — — 1,096  6,174  3,242  (47.5)

 Total state taxes collected by DOR $25,822,892  $27,949,346  $29,899,345  $29,795,526  $34,233,184  14.9

STATE TAXES COLLECTED BY OTHER AGENCIES

 Massachusetts Gaming Commission:      
 Pari-Mutual Taxes  $ 902  $ 887  $ 788  $ 741  $ 1,117  50.8
 Gaming Revenue Taxes  63,432  $8,010  130,702  187,870  224,007  19.2%

 Lottery Commission:      
 Beano 787  731  697  481  $30  (93.9)
 Raffles and Bazaars 955  1,031  1,123  857  585  (31.8)

 State Athletic Commission:      
 Boxing Contests 455  208  126  150  0  (100.0)
 Boxer’s Fund 85  33  13  23  0  (100.0)

 Division of Insurance:      
 Excess and Surplus Lines Insurance                          393,491  42,682  44,848  54,660  56,922  4.1

 Secretary of State:      
 Deeds Excise Stamp Tax Fees                    91,435  90,956  99,815  98,338  118,630  20.6

 Division of Unemployment Assistance:      
  Workforce Training Contribution  24,400  24,676  25,131  25,743  21,363  (17.0)

 Total state taxes collected by other agencies $ 221,314  229,214  303,244  368,863  422,653  14.6

TOTAL STATE TAXES $26,044,206  $28,178,561  $30,202,589  $30,164,389  $34,655,837  14.9

REVENUE COLLECTIONS FY2021



       % change
In thousands  FY17  FY18  FY19  FY20  FY21  FY20–21

OTHER REVENUE

 Local option airplane jet fuel $ 19,010  $ 25,700  $ 36,197  $ 31,217  $ 9,798  68.6
 Local option rooms 206,129  212,447  228,914  209,229  108,844  (48.0)
 Local option meals 125,999  133,791  142,217  125,822  109,249  (13.2)
 Local option marijuana 0  0  3,893  14,386  31,252  117.2
 Local option vehicle rental surcharge 0  0  1,768  1,770  595  (66.4)
 Local option community impact fee 0  0  0  630  924  46.8
 Urban redevelopment 26,394  28,862  30,385  29,696  63,650  114.3
 Department non-tax revenue 8,733  8,828  13,273  9,109  12,261  34.6
 Paid family and medical leave 0  0  0  638,440  951,781  49.1
 County recording fees 29,293  24,317  25,698  30,082  39,707  32.0
 Abandoned deposits – bottle 45,428  44,758  53,333  60,358  71,637  18.7
 Local rental vehicle (Convention Center 10%) 1,578  1,542  0  0  0  —
 Vehicle rental surcharge 171  149  0  0  0  —
 Embarkation fees 1,420  1,421  1,509  1,518  0  (100.0)
 UST delivery fees 76,085  79,951  78,869  74,869  69,778  (6.8)
 Cape Cod & Islands water protection fund 0  0  0  9,359  15,558  66.2

 Total other revenue $540,241  $561,765  $616,056  $1,236,486  $1,485,034  20.1

TAXES ON PROPERTY COLLECTED BY LOCAL GOVERNMENT

 Real Estate $15,089,741  $15,765,842  $16,519,215  $17,287,537  $18,030,614  4.3
 Personal Property 741,663  774,617  803,182  844,697  900,357  6.6
 Motor Vehicles 867,553  916,471  927,082  894,810  912,272  2.0

Total taxes on property collected
by local government $16,698,956  $17,456,931  $18,249,479  $19,027,044  $19,843,243  4.3

TOTAL ALL TAXES $43,283,403  $49,068,125  $49,068,125  $50,427,918  $55,984,114  11.0

1 Includes income tax penalties assessed under Section 2 of Chapter 111M of the General Laws and cigarette excise revenues credited to the Commonwealth Care Trust Fund in accordance  
 with Chapter 302, Sections 12 and 70 of the Acts of 2008.
2 Due to different accounting methods, amounts reported for the deeds excise differ from those reported by the comptroller.
3 International Fuel Tax Agreement.

Because of rounding, detail may not add to totals.



 TOTAL TAX,
 INTEREST  AMOUNT PAID AMOUNT
TAXPAYER NAME  & PENALTIES  IN SETTLEMENT  ABATED

Thomas E. Romano & Barbara A. Romano  $ 24,054.42  $14,000.00  $ 10,054.42
KBJM, Inc. & Joshua Michalak as Responsible Person  43,732.92  23,864.00  19,868.92
Glammds, Inc. & Andrew A. Sussman as Responsible Person 63,724.54 25,500.00 38,224.54
Medas Electric, Inc. & Medas Electrical Contracting, Inc.  94,959.99 36,300.00 58,659.99
& Scott C. Medas as Responsible Person & Scott C. Medas 
Individually for Income Taxes  
Café Funchal & Duarte DaSilva & Luis DaSilva as Responsible Person 438,156.07 58,901.00 379,255.07
David M. Wahl 29,805.42 5,000.00 24,805.42
Bronzetti, Inc. & Robert M. Bronzetti as Responsible Person 123,275.93 30,000.00 93,275.93
Vincent L. Gorman 15,308.94 4,800.00 10,508.94 
Coral Reef Aquarium, Inc. & Jeremy J. Russell & Ruth M. Taunton as  162,064.10 85,787.63 76,276.47
Responsible Persons 

TOTALS $995,082.33 $284,152.63 $710,929.70

Because of rounding, detail may not add to totals.

OFFERS IN FINAL SETTLEMENT FY2021
Under M.G.L. c. 62C, sec. 37A, the Commissioner of Revenue 
has the authority, under specific conditions, to accept less 
than full payment as a final settlement for a state tax liability. 
The statutory condition for such settlement is “serious doubt” 
as to collectibility of the tax due or the taxpayer’s liability for 
it. The Commissioner must also determine that the taxpayer 
or responsible person has acted without intent to defraud. The 
settlement must be recommended to the Commissioner by at 
least two deputy commissioners.
The written agreement, signed by all parties and including the
reasons for settlement, is a public record. In cases where the

liability is reduced by more than half, or by $20,000 or more, 
the Attorney General of the Commonwealth must review the 
settlement and has the authority to object to it.
The law requires that a listing of all settlements entered into 
during the fiscal year be included in the Commissioner’s 
annual report. In Fiscal Year 2021, ten settlements were made. 
All ten were reviewed by the Attorney General.
The cases approved were as follows:



CONTRACTOR  TOTAL COLLECTED  FEES PAID  NET TO DOR

Allen Daniel Associates  $6,487,922.72  $605,579.70  $5,882,343.02 
EOS-CCA  6,464,649.58  752,044.74  5,712,604.84 

TOTAL  $12,952,572.30  $1,357,624.44  $11,594,947.86 

Because of rounding, detail may not add to totals.

COLLECTION AGENCIES FY2021
Chapter 209 of the Acts of 1988 permits the Commissioner of
Revenue to use private collection agencies to collect unpaid 
state taxes. The Commissioner is required to notify all 
taxpayers whose accounts are to be assigned to a collection 
agency at least 30 days beforehand.

The law requires that the Commissioner list all agencies 
with whom collection agreements exist, the amount of 
taxes collected and the amount of compensation paid in the 
Department’s annual report. They are as follows:


