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LETTER FROM THE COMMISSIONER
To the Honorable Maura Healey, Governor of the Commonwealth, and the 
Honorable Members of the General Court of Massachusetts:

I am pleased to present the Massachusetts Department of Revenue’s (DOR) 
Fiscal Year 2023 (FY23) Annual Report as directed by G.L. c. 14, § 6. 

FY23 budgeted revenues totaled $39.165 billion, $1.940 billion, or 4.7% less 
than collections in fiscal year 2022, and $604 million, or 1.5% below the 
FY23 benchmark, reflecting a decrease in capital gains tax collections 
relative to last year’s unprecedented collections and an increase in pass-
through entity members applying credits to reduce their tax payments. 
The decreases were partially offset by increased withholding due to labor 
market conditions and sales and use tax, partly due to sustained retail sales 
strength.

Massachusetts voters approved a 4% surtax amendment in November 2022, requiring personal 
income taxpayers to pay an additional 4% surtax on taxable income over $1,000,000, starting with 
the tax year 2023.

Massachusetts updated its conformity to the Internal Revenue Code from the Code as amended 
on January 1, 2005, to the Code as amended on January 1, 2022. The update in code conformity 
was the result of legislation enacted as part of the Massachusetts’ FY23 Budget. In cases where 
Massachusetts does not conform to the Code, the update will have no impact. 

The Commonwealth introduced new tax provisions during the fiscal year, including a partially 
refundable Offshore Wind Jobs credit for certified offshore wind companies and a $2,000 non-
transferrable credit for National Guard members hired under the SPEED Act.

The Child Support Enforcement Division collected $597.1 million in support payments during 
FY23. DOR collects $5.27 for every dollar spent on the child support program. Additionally, 95% of 
all child support collected was distributed to the families for whom DOR provides services. 

In FY23, the Division of Local Services certified free cash for 348 communities for a total of 
$2,643,806,826; certified tax levies totaling $20,674,747,010; and distributed $7.2 billion in net local 
aid to cities, towns, and regional and charter schools. 

The Department of Revenue is dedicated to serving the citizens of the Commonwealth, focusing 
our efforts on the equitable collection of revenue, fostering the sound fiscal management of our 
cities and towns through training and oversight, and improving the lives of children by providing 
financial support and services to Massachusetts families.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey E. Snyder
Commissioner



Personal Income Tax
Code Update

The Fiscal Year 2023 Budget (FY23 Budget), St. 
2022, c. 126, updated Chapter 62, which imposes 
the Massachusetts personal income tax, so that 
it generally conforms to the Internal Revenue 
Code (Code) as amended on January 1, 2022.  
Prior to this “Code Update,” Chapter 62 generally 
conformed to the definitions, deductions and 
exemptions as set forth in the Code as amended 
on January 1, 2005. Due to the Code Update, 
Massachusetts now adopts many of the federal 
tax law changes that were enacted after 2005. St. 
2022, c. 126, §§ 30, 189; TIR 23-1 and TIR 23-5.

Decoupling from the 20% Deduction for “Pass-
through” Businesses provided by Code § 199A

The FY23 Budget added G.L. c. 62, § 2(d)
(1)(Q), which provides that in determining 
Massachusetts Part B adjusted gross income 
for purposes of the personal income tax, the 
federal deduction afforded by Code § 199A is not 
allowed. Code § 199A provides a deduction of 
up to 20% for qualified business income from 
a qualified trade or business operated directly 
or through a pass-through entity. Because the 
deduction in the Code was enacted in 2017 and 
was effective for tax years beginning in 2018 and 
thereafter, Massachusetts did not conform to the 
deduction for taxable years beginning before 
January 1, 2022. See TIR 18-14. Massachusetts 
personal income tax now generally conforms to 
the Code as amended on January 1, 2022 and 
in effect for the taxable year, as noted above.  
However, because the FY23 Budget specifically 
decoupled from Code § 199A, it remains the case 
that Massachusetts does not conform to this 
section.  St. 2022, c. 126, §§ 32, 189; TIR 23-1.

Income Exclusion for Forgiveness of Student 
Loans

The FY23 Budget added G.L. 62, § 2(a)(2)(R), 
which provides an exclusion from Massachusetts 
gross income of income attributable to most 
discharges of certain student loans where 
such income is otherwise not excluded from 
Massachusetts gross income. This exclusion 
is substantially identical to the federal 
exclusion provided by Code § 108(f)(5), which 

LEGISLATIVE REVIEW FY2023
Massachusetts follows as amended and in effect 
for the taxable year. While the federal exclusion 
provided by Code § 108(f)(5) only applies to 
discharges of certain student loans for taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2021 and 
ending on or before December 31, 2025, the new 
Massachusetts deduction does not have a sunset 
date. Therefore, for taxable years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2022, taxable income from 
the discharge of certain student loans will 
continue to be excluded from Massachusetts 
gross income pursuant to G.L. c. 62, § 2(a)(2)(R), 
irrespective of any sunset of the exclusion from 
federal gross income provided by Code § 108(f)
(5). St. 2022, c. 126, §§ 31, 189; TIR 23-1.

Personal Income Tax and the 
Corporate Excise
Offshore Wind Power Incentive Jobs Credit 

An Act Driving Clean Energy and Offshore Wind 
(Offshore Wind Act), St. 2022, c. 179, as amended 
by An Act Relating to Economic Growth and 
Relief for the Commonwealth (Economic 
Development Act), St. 2022, c. 268, established 
a partially refundable Offshore Wind Jobs credit 
for offshore wind companies certified by the 
Massachusetts Clean Energy Technology Center 
(Center). A certified offshore wind company 
subject to tax under either Chapter 62 or Chapter 
63 may, to the extent authorized by the offshore 
wind tax incentive program established in G.L. 
c. 23J, § 8A(d), claim the credit in an amount 
determined by the Center, in consultation 
with the Commissioner of Revenue. A certified 
offshore wind company claiming the credit 
must commit to the creation of a minimum of 
50 net new permanent full-time employees in 
Massachusetts. The credit is available for taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2023 and 
ending on or before December 31, 2032.  St. 2022, 
c. 179, §§ 44, 97; St. 2022, c. 268, §§ 103, 271, 272; TIR 
23-6.

Offshore Wind Power Incentive Investment 
Credit 

The Offshore Wind Act, as amended by the 
Economic Development Act, established a 
refundable Offshore Wind Capital Investment 
Credit for certified offshore wind companies 



subject to tax under either Chapter 62 or 
Chapter 63.  A certified offshore wind company 
may, to the extent authorized by the offshore 
wind tax incentive program established under 
G.L. c. 23J, § 8A(d), claim a credit in an amount 
up to 50 percent of its total capital investment in 
an offshore wind facility.  The total amount of the 
credit awarded is distributed in equal parts over 
five taxable years corresponding to the period for 
which the offshore wind company is certified. 

The certified offshore wind company must 
meet certain requirements, including 
minimum capital investment and employment 
requirements, to be eligible for the credit.  A 
certified offshore wind company claiming the 
credit may not also claim the Offshore Wind Jobs 
Credit or the Economic Development Incentive 
Program Credit provided by G.L. c. 62, § 6(g) and 
G.L. c. 63, § 38N in the same taxable year.  The 
credit is available for taxable years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2023 and ending on or before 
December 31, 2032.  St. 2022, c. 179, §§ 44, 97; St. 
2022, c. 268, §§ 103, 271, 272; TIR 23-6.

National Guard Hiring Credit

An Act Relative to Military Spouse-Licensure 
Portability, Education and Enrollment of 
Dependents (SPEED Act), St. 2022, c. 154, as 
amended by the Economic Development Act, 
established a National Guard Hiring Credit 
for employers who hire members of the 
Massachusetts National Guard. Pursuant to 
section 7 of the SPEED Act, employers subject 
to tax under either Chapter 62 or Chapter 
63 may claim a non-transferrable and non-
refundable credit equal to $2,000 for each 
member of the Massachusetts National Guard 
hired by the employer. To be eligible for the 
credit: (i) the employer cannot employ more 
than 100 employees; (ii) the primary place of 
employment and the primary residence of the 
member of the Massachusetts National Guard 
must be in Massachusetts; (iii) the employer 
must have obtained the applicable certification 
from the Office of the Adjutant General that the 
individual is a member of the Massachusetts 
National Guard not later than the day the 
Massachusetts National Guard member begins 
work; and (iv) the Massachusetts National Guard 
member must be hired after July 1, 2022. An 

employer claiming this credit is eligible for a 
second credit equal to $2,000 in the subsequent 
taxable year with respect to such member of 
the Massachusetts National Guard, subject to 
certification of continued employment during 
the subsequent taxable year. The Massachusetts 
Office of Business Development will authorize, 
administer and determine eligibility for the 
credit.  The credit is available for employers 
subject to tax under either G.L. c. 62 or G.L. c. 63 
for taxable years beginning on or after January 
1, 2023.  St. 2022, c. 154, § 7; St. 2022, c. 268, §§ 101, 
102, 104, 105; TIR 23-6.

Miscellaneous
Repeal of Unconstitutional Tax on Illegal Drugs

The FY23 Budget repealed Chapter 64K, which 
imposed a tax on illegal sales of marijuana and 
controlled substances. Pursuant to Chapter 64K, 
where a dealer illegally purchased, acquired, 
transported, or imported marijuana or controlled 
substances into Massachusetts, the dealer was 
required to pay the controlled substances tax.  
However, the Supreme Judicial Court ruled in 
Commissioner of Revenue v. Mullins, 428 Mass. 
406 (1998), that the Fifth Amendment of the 
United States Constitution restricts the ability 
of the Commonwealth to assess the tax against 
those who have suffered criminal penalties for 
the same possession of marijuana or controlled 
substances. Accordingly, Chapter 64K was 
unenforceable.  St. 2022, c. 126, §§ 33; TIR 23-1.

Decoupling from Code § 280E for licensed 
marijuana businesses

An Act Relative to Equity in the Cannabis 
Industry (Cannabis Industry Reform Act), 
St. 2022, c. 180, decoupled Chapter 62 and 
Chapter 63 from Code § 280E with respect 
to licensed marijuana businesses for taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2022.  
Previously, Massachusetts conformed to Code § 
280E, which prohibits trade or businesses that 
traffic in controlled substances from claiming 
any trade or business deductions provided 
by the Code, other than for the cost of goods 
sold. Marijuana remains federally classified 
as a Schedule I controlled substance and is 
illegal to traffic under federal law, therefore 



licensed marijuana businesses were unable to 
claim trade or business expense deductions for 
purposes of Chapter 62 and Chapter 63, other 
than for the cost of goods sold. The Cannabis 
Industry Reform Act added G.L. c. 62, § 2(d)(4) 
and amended G.L. c. 63, § 30.4 to allow licensed 
marijuana businesses, including marijuana 
establishments as defined in G.L. c. 94G, § 1, and 
medical marijuana treatment centers, as defined 
in G.L. c. 94I, § 1, to deduct trade or business 
expenses that they were previously prohibited 
from deducting.  St. 2022, c. 180, §§ 1, 2; TIR 23-6.

Manufactured Marijuana Accessories Subject 
to the ENDS Excise

The Cannabis Industry Reform Act amended 
G.L. c. 64C, § 7E(m) to specifically provide that 
marijuana accessories that are manufactured to 
also deliver nicotine are considered an electronic 
nicotine delivery system (ENDS) for purposes of 
the ENDS excise. This statutory change codified 
the Commissioner’s prior administrative position 
interpreting the ENDS excise. St. 2022, c. 180, §§ 3; 
TIR 23-6. 



THE TAXES FY2023
TYPE OF TAX  MEASURE  RATE1  RETURN DUE

Personal income and  Net capital gains2  5–12%  On or before April 15 for calendar year filings.
fiduciary income  Dividends, interest, wages, other income  5%  The 15th day of the 4th month for fiscal year
   filings.3

Nonresident  Massachusetts source income  5%

Estimated tax  Liability in excess of $400   Due quarterly on or before the 15th day of April;
   June, September and January.

Withholding  Wages  5%  Varies depending on amount of tax withheld
   in calendar year. If annual withholding: up to
   $100 — annual filing; $101 — 1,200 — quarterly
   filings; $1,201 — 25,000 — monthly filings; over
   $25,000 — quarterly filings, weekly payments.

Pass-through entity The sum of the distributive shares of income subject 5% Due at same time as a PTE’s Form 355S, Form 3, 
(PTE) excise to Massachusetts personal income tax of each  or Form 2. 
(Voluntary and subject qualified member 
to affirmative election)

Estate  Federal taxable estate  0.8%–16%4  Within nine months after date of decedent’s death.

Nonresident  Massachusetts real and tangible property4   Within nine months after date of decedent’s death.

Alcoholic beverages  Malt (31-gal. bbl.)  $3.30  Monthly, on or before the 20th day of the month.
 Cider 3%–6% (wine gal.)  $ .03
 Still wine 3%–6% (wine gal.)  $ .55
 Sparkling wine (wine gal.)  $ .70
 Alcoholic beverages 15% or less (wine gal.)  $1.10
 Alcoholic beverages more than 15%–50% (wine gal.)  $4.05
 Alcoholic beverages more than 50% or alcohol (proof gal.)  $4.05

Cigarettes  20-count package  $3.51  Monthly, on or before the 20th day of the month.
   Unclassified acquirers must file upon importation
   or acquisition.
 Smokeless tobacco (percentage of price paid by licensee)  210%  same as cigarettes
 Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems
 (ENDS)(wholesale price)  75%  same as cigarettes
 Cigars and smoking tobacco (percentage of price paid by  40%  Quarterly, on or before the 20th day following the
 licensee)   close of the tax period.

Deeds  Sales price (less mortgage assumed) of real estate  $2.285  Monthly, on or before the 10th day of the
  per $500  month (filed by Registry of Deeds).

Motor fuels  Gasoline and diesel fuel per gallon  $ .24  Monthly, on or before the 20th day of the month.
 Propane, liquified gas, etc. (no minimum)  29.2%
 Aviation (10¢ minimum)  38.2%
 Jet fuel at local option (5¢ minimum)  17.3%



TYPE OF TAX  MEASURE  RATE1  RETURN DUE

Room occupancy  Transient room occupancy  5.7%  Due monthly on or before the 30th day following
 At local option, up to  6.0%6  the month represented by the return. May be
 Convention Center Financing Fee  2.75% subject to advance payment requirements.
 (Boston, Cambridge, Springfield, Worcester, Chicopee
 and West Springfield)
 Cape Cod and Islands Water Protection Fund Fee
 (Barnstable, Nantucket and Dukes Counties)  2.75%
 Community Impact Fee, At local option on certain
 short-term rentals  up to 3%
 Tourism Destination Marketing District Fee,
 at local option         up to 2%

Club alcoholic  Gross receipts  0.57%  On or before April 15.
beverages

Sales and use tax  Sale, rental or use of tangible personal property,  6.25%  Due 30 days after the close of the tax period. If
 including cigarettes, telecommunication services   annual liability, due on or before 30 days after the
 and certain fuel.   end of the filing period (i.e., January 30 of the
   following year represented by the return). May be  
   subject to advance payment requirements.

Sales tax on meals,  All “restaurant” food and on-premises consumption of  6.25%  Due monthly on or before the 30th day following
prepared food and  any beverages in any amount.   the month represented by the return. May be
all beverages At local option  .75% subject to advance payment requirements.

Marijuana retail taxes  Sales of marijuana or marijuana products  6.25%  Due monthly on or before the 30th day following
 State excise tax  10.75%  the month represented by the return. May be
 Local option for cities and towns  up to 3% subject to advance payment requirements.

Direct broadcast  Gross revenues  5%  Monthly, on or before the 20th day of each
satellite service    calendar month.

Business and  Net income  8.0%7  On or before the 15th day of fourth month after
manufacturing  Tangible property or net worth  $2.60 per $1,000  close of taxable year.8

corporations  Minimum  $456

Estimated tax  Liability in excess of $1,000   Due quarterly as follows: 15th day of 3rd (40%),
   6th (25%), 9th (25%) and 12th (10%) months
   of taxable year.9

Security corporation  
 Non-bank holding co.  Gross income  1.32%  Same as business corporations.
 Bank holding company  Gross income  0.33%
  Minimum  $456

Financial institutions  Net income  9.0%10  Same as business corporations.
 Minimum  $456

Ship excise tax  Value (equity interest) of the corporation’s interest in a  0.33%  Same as business corporations.
 ship or vessel engaged in interstate or foreign trade.



 1 Tax rates as of August 1, 2022.
 2 Gains from the sale or exchange of capital assets (except collectibles) held for more than one year are taxed at 5%. Short-term capital gains, as well as long-term capital gains arising  
  from the sale of collectibles (with a 50% deduction) are taxed at 12%.
 4 Resident rate is equal to federal credit for state death taxes based on December 31, 2000 IRC. Nonresident rate is equal to Massachusetts proportionate share of federal credit for state  
  death taxes.
 5 In Barnstable County, the rate is $6.48 (combined state and county deeds excise) per $1,000.
 6 Boston is authorized to charge up to 6.5%.
 7 S corporations: 3% if total receipts are $9 million or more; 2% if total receipts are $6 million or more but less than $9 million, and S corporations with receipts of less than $6,000,000 are  
  not subject to the income measure of excise.
 8 In general, all S corporation returns are due on the 15th day of the third month. However, an S corporation filing as a taxable member of a combined group may file its corporate excise  
  return on or before the 15th day of the fourth month following the close of the combined group’s taxable year.
 9 30%, 25%, 25% and 20% for corporations with fewer than 10 employees in their first full tax year.
 10 S corporations: 4% if total receipts are $9 million or more; 2.67% if total receipts are $6 million or more but less than $9 million, and S corporations with receipts of less than $6,000,000  
  are not subject to the income measure of excise.

TYPE OF TAX  MEASURE  RATE1  RETURN DUE

Insurance company  
 Domestic life  Premiums  2.0%  On or before April 15.
 Foreign life  Premiums  2.0%
 Domestic casualty  Premiums  2.28%
   Gross investment income  0%–1.0%
 Foreign casualty  Premiums  2.28%
 Ocean marine  Underwriting profit  5.7%  On or before May 15.
 Preferred provider
 arrangements  Premiums  2.28%  On or before March 15.

Motor vehicle garaged  90% to 10% of manufacturer’s list price  $25  On or before 30 days from issuance of tax bill.
outside Massachusetts   per $1,000

Boston sightseeing  Ticket purchase price of any water- or land-based  5%  Quarterly, on or before the 20th day following the
tour sightseeing tourist venue or entertainment cruise or   close of the tax period.
 trolley tour originating or located in Massachusetts
 and conducted partly or entirely in Boston.

Boston vehicular rental  Each vehicular rental transaction contract executed  $10  Quarterly, on or before the 20th day following the
transaction surcharge  in Boston.   close of the tax period.

Parking facilities  Parking facilities built in conjunction with or as part of  $2 per  Quarterly, on or before the 20th day following the
surcharge in Boston,  a project authorized by the Convention Center Financing  vehicle  close of the tax period.
Springfield and/or  Act in Boston, Springfield or Worcester.  per day
Worcester



       % change
In thousands   FY19  FY20  FY21  FY22  FY23 FY22–23

STATE TAXES COLLECTED BY DOR

 Alcoholic Beverages  $         86,195  $ 87,621  $ 92,660  $ 97,022 $ 98,268 1.285
 Financial Institutions 19,467  9,311  44,926  22,625 21,794 (3.7)
 Cigarettes1 553,261  523,963  398,214  390,686 365,269 (6.5)
 Corporations 2,927,160  2,523,446  3,626,597  4,576,811 4,549,169 (0.6)
 Deeds2 218,532  215,812  278,547  326,336 234,995 (28.0)
 Estate and Inheritance 601,306  699,555  787,764  868,444 973,710 12.1
 Income1 17,125,833  17,388,969  19,662,123  24,378,536 21,904,495 (10.1)
 Insurance 400,597  415,459  480,483  509,117 537,238 5.5
 Motor Fuels and I.F.T.A3 775,463  707,877  662,932  722,788 701,909 (2.9)
 Public Utilities 40  (346) 1,472  1,572 150 (90.5)
 Room Occupancy 283,708  252,268  124,220  294,219 388,024 31.9
 Sales and Use 6,842,956  6,846,338  7,849,850  8,809,380 9,448,137 7.3
 Club Alcoholic Beverages  926  750  546  621 822 32.3
 Motor Vehicle Excise  77  195  783  1,115 619 (44.5)
 Convention Center Surcharges 17,001  16,682  4,233  10,596 13,811 30.3
 Community Preservation Trust 23,174  42,134  82,212  70,650 49,158 (30.4)
 Controlled Substances and Marijuana Excise 13,949  51,685  112,370  156,669  161,468 3.1
 Satellite 8,605  7,634  6,708  6,081 5,418 (10.9)
 Statewide car rental 1,096  6,174  3,242  4,424 5,085 14.9 
 Electronic Nicotine Delivery System — — 13,304 16,326 13,871 (15.0)

 Total state taxes collected by DOR $29,899,345  $29,795,526  $34,233,184  $41,264,018 $39,473,410 (4.3)

STATE TAXES COLLECTED BY OTHER AGENCIES

 Massachusetts Gaming Commission:      
 Pari-Mutual Taxes   $        788  $ 741  $ 1,117  $ 1,080 $ 833 (22.9)
 Gaming Revenue Taxes   130,702  187,870  224,007  300,057 318,704 6.2 
 Sports Wagering — — — — 37,517

 Lottery Commission:      
 Beano 697  481  30  337 429 27.4
 Raffles and Bazaars 1,123  857  585  815 1,032 26.6

 State Athletic Commission:      
 Boxing Contests 126  150  0  77 74 (3.1)
 Boxer’s Fund 13  23  0  18 18 (2.7)

 Division of Insurance:      
 Excess and Surplus Lines Insurance                          44,848  54,660  56,922  78,880 76,272 (3.3)

 Secretary of State:      
 Deeds Excise Stamp Tax Fees                    99,815  98,338  118,630  146,009 101,857 (30.2)

 Division of Unemployment Assistance:      
  Workforce Training Contribution  25,131  25,743  21,363  21,365 35,085 64.2

 Total state taxes collected by other agencies $303,244  $368,863  $422,653  $548,637 $571,820 4.2

TOTAL STATE TAXES  $30,202,589  $30,164,389  $34,655,837  $41,812,654 $40,045,230 (4.2)

REVENUE COLLECTIONS FY2023



       % change
In thousands   FY19  FY20  FY21  FY22  FY23 FY22–23

OTHER REVENUE

 Local option airplane jet fuel  $ 35,973  $ 31,178  $ 9,798  $ 25,659 $    54,416 112.1
 Local option rooms 228,914  209,229  108,844  251,542 330,475 31.4
 Local option meals 142,217  125,822  109,249  156,552 176,506 12.7
 Local option marijuana 3,893  14,386  31,252  43,337 44,738 3.2
 Local option vehicle rental surcharge 1,768  1,770  595  1,154 2,136 85.1
 Local option community impact fee 0  630  924  2,048 3,275 59.9
 Urban redevelopment 30,330  29,501  63,650  45,290 44,887 (0.9)
 Department non-tax revenue 13,122  9,010  12,261  16,180 6,378 (60.6)
 Paid family and medical leave 0  608,707  951,781  949,690 933,988 (1.7)
 County recording fees 25,698  30,082  39,707  33,107 21,405 (35.3)
 Abandoned deposits – bottle 53,280  60,252  71,637  71,618 71,742 0.2
 Embarkation fees 1,509  1,518  973  1,380 1,496 8.4
 UST delivery fees 78,704  74,802  69,778  76,989 79,865 3.7
 Cape Cod & Islands water protection fund 0  9,359  15,558  20,266 21,626 6.7 
 Tourism District Fee — — — 15,422 31,489 104.2

 
 Total other revenue $615,408  $1,206,247  $1,486,007  $1,710,234 $1,824,423 6.7

TAXES ON PROPERTY COLLECTED BY LOCAL GOVERNMENT

 Real Estate $16,519,215  $17,287,537  $18,030,614  $18,800,267 $19,689,282 4.7
 Personal Property 803,182  844,697  900,357  963,428 985,465 2.3
 Motor Vehicles 930,434  894,810  912,272  951,184 960,000 0.9

Total taxes on property collected
by local government $18,252,831  $19,027,044  $19,843,244  $20,714,879 $21,634,747 4.4

TOTAL ALL TAXES $49,070,829  $50,397,679  $55,985,087  $64,237,767 $63,504,400 (1.1)

1 Includes income tax penalties assessed under Section 2 of Chapter 111M of the General Laws and cigarette excise revenues credited to the Commonwealth Care Trust Fund in accordance  
 with Chapter 302, Sections 12 and 70 of the Acts of 2008.
2 Due to different accounting methods, amounts reported for the deeds excise differ from those reported by the comptroller.
3 International Fuel Tax Agreement.
Revenues included in the FY2023 Blue Books do not include the impact of 62F credits. As of June 2023, FY2023 YTD credits posted totaled $2,878,936,172.
The FY23 Annual Report reflects the most current information as of the posting date and includes accounting adjustments made for prior periods.
Because of rounding, detail may not add to totals.



 TOTAL TAX,
 INTEREST  AMOUNT PAID AMOUNT
TAXPAYER NAME  & PENALTIES  IN COMPROMISE  ABATED

McElwee, Inc. & Christopher Bettencourt as Responsible Person  $ 53,199.25  $ 24,516.53  $ 28,682.72
John J. Santilli, Sr. and Center Consulting, Inc. 73,904.47  5,000.00  68,904.47
Jean G. Ibrahim & Janine L. Ibrahim  156,712.70 52,000.00 104,712.70 
Neighborhood Brick Oven Pizza, Inc. & Neighborhood Pizza & Grill, Inc. &  
Sultan Salahuddin & Colene Halligan as Responsible Persons  60,452.71 15,000.00 45,452.71
Lori E. Albertowicz & Estate of Richard F. Albertowicz, Jr.    19,083.31 5,000.00 14,083.31
Keith Martin 52,599.20 25,000.00 27,599.20 
   
TOTALS $415,951.64 $126,516.53 $289,435.11

OFFERS IN COMPROMISE    FY2023
The Commissioner of DOR is authorized under Massachusetts 
General Laws, Chapter 62C, s 37A to accept less than the full 
amount of the tax liability owed if there is “serious doubt” 
as to whether the tax due can be collected, there is no intent 
to defraud, and accepting an offer is in the best interest 
of the Commonwealth. The Offer in Compromise must be 
recommended to the Commissioner of DOR by at least two 
deputy commissioners. The written agreement, signed by all 
parties and including the reasons for compromise, is a public 
record.

In settlements where the accepted Offer in Compromise 
amount is $20,000 or more less than the full amount of the 
tax liability or 50% less than the full amount owed by the 
taxpayer, the Attorney General of the Commonwealth has the 
authority to review and object to the Offer in Compromise. 

The law requires that a listing of all Offers in Compromise 
accepted during the fiscal year be included in the 
Commissioner’s Annual Report. In Fiscal Year 2023, the 
Attorney General reviewed the following Offers:



CONTRACTOR  TOTAL COLLECTED  FEES PAID  NET TO DOR

The Allen Daniel Associates, Inc. $  6,419,822.52  $    692,147.53  $   5,727,674.99
EOS CCA/TSI  6,409,567.87  747,259.37  5,662,308.50 

TOTAL  $12,829,390.39  $1,439,406.90  $11,389,983.49 

COLLECTION AGENCIES FY2023
Chapter 209 of the Acts of 1988 permits the Commissioner of
Revenue to use private collection agencies to collect unpaid 
state taxes. The Commissioner is required to notify all 
taxpayers whose accounts are to be assigned to a collection 
agency at least 30 days beforehand.

The law requires that the Commissioner list all agencies 
with whom collection agreements exist, the amount of taxes 
collected, and the amount of compensation paid in the 
Department’s Annual Report. They are as follows:


