

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security One Ashburton Place, Room 2133 Boston, Massachusetts 02108

> Tel: (617) 727-7775 TTY Tel: (617) 727-6618 Fax: (617) 727-4764 www.mass.gov/eopss

TERRENCE M. REIDY Secretary

MAURA T. HEALEY Governor

KIMBERLEY DRISCOLL Lieutenant Governor

June 17, 2025

Dear Chief:

As you know, the annual Trooper George L. Hanna Memorial Awards for Bravery ceremony has provided the Commonwealth with an opportunity to recognize the selfless and heroic actions of our law enforcement community since 1983. As Secretary of Public Safety, it is an honor for me to ask each Massachusetts Police Chief to submit eligible candidates for consideration for this prestigious award.

I respectfully request that you take the time to forward any nominations you may have for outstanding acts of bravery performed by a member (or members) of your department between January 1, 2024, and December 31, 2024, following the attached guidelines. The selection committee will require a detailed narrative of the incident for which your member is being nominated, along with news clippings or any supporting information you believe will assist the selection committee in its decision.

Your selections should be forwarded by **July 11, 2025**, to the Executive Office of Public Safety and Security (EOPSS) to the attention of:

## Anjeza Xhemollari

Director of Community Affairs Executive Office of Public Safety and Security One Ashburton Place, Suite 2133, Boston, MA 02108 Mobile: 617-366-7760 Email: anjeza.xhemolalri@mass.gov

I urge you to choose your candidates thoughtfully, considering the significance of the award. To maintain the integrity of the Hanna Awards, the Selection Committee has chosen to honor only recipients of the Medal of Honor and Medal of Valor, implementing stricter criteria for award nominations.

The nomination form, criteria, and application checklist are attached and available online at <u>https://www.mass.gov/awards</u>

Thank you for your time and your continued support of this important recognition.

Sincerely,

Tim m RQ

Terrence M. Reidy Secretary of Public Safety and Security