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Commonwealth of Massachusetts A FEW THINGS TO KNOW ABOUT GRAND JURY DUTY.. .  OFFICE OF JURY COMMISSIONER 

Q UA L I F I C AT I O N S  

To be a juror,  you must  be a U.S.
citizen, 18 years of age or older, and speak 

and understand English. 

You must live in the county in which you 
have been called to serve, and you cannot 

have served in the last 3 years. 

Please review the 
Reasons For Disqualification 

on the back for more information. 

WHAT IS A GRAND JURY 
The grand jury hears evidence presented by a prosecutor. 
It does not determine guilt or innocence, but instead it 
determines if there is enough evidence to indict or charge 
a person or corporation with a crime. A grand jury consists 
of 23 people as compared with the 6 or 12 people who 
comprise a trial jury. The length of grand juror service 
varies and depends upon the number of pending criminal 
matters that are brought before it. A grand jury usually sits 
sporadically for 3 months, with varying schedules by 
county. Statewide grand juries, in contrast, sit for 6 
months. 

C OU R T L OC A T I ON 
Because grand juries are convened at only one site within 
each judicial district, grand jurors may not change their 
court location. 

D E F E RM E N T 
If you have a hardship, you may request deferment of your 
date of service to a different date within 12 months of your 
originally scheduled date. To request a deferment, com-
plete Section 3A of the Grand Juror Confirmation Form or 
the appropriate section of the Form online. Prospective 
grand jurors may request deferment of their service to 
either January, April, July, or October (most grand juries 
are convened only during those months). You must pro-
vide a detailed explanation of your hardship. 

MA P & D I R E C T I ON S 
You will receive a map and directions to the courthouse 
about ten days before you are to serve. Maps, directions, 
and other information about your courthouse are also avail-
able online. 

C O M P E N S A T I O N 
By law, your Massachusetts employer must pay you for 
work hours you miss during the first three days of jury 
service. This applies to all employees: full-time, part-time, 
temporary and casual. Failure to compensate employees 
is a crime. Please consult with your employer regarding its 
compensation policy and complete the enclosed CONFI-
DENTIAL FINANCIAL QUESTIONNAIRE on the other side 
of this brochure so that the amount of compensation you 
receive from the Commonwealth (maximum of $50 per day) 
for each day after your 3rd day of service may be deter-
mined. 

RESIDENTS / INHABITANTS / STUDENTS 
Regardless of whether you are a registered voter, you are 
qualified to serve if you are a resident of a county OR an 
inhabitant of a county for more than 50% of the time. 
Examples: (1) Students who study in Massachusetts 
(inhabitants) must serve, even if they are residents of 
another state; (2) Students who live in one 
Massachusetts county (residents) but study in another 
(inhabitants) can be summoned to serve in either county; 
(3) Massachusetts residents who study out of state must 
serve in their home county when they return to 
Massachusetts. 

S T U D E N T S P A R E N T S C H I L D C A R E 
There are no exemptions 

/ 
from grand 

/ 
jury service. 

Everyone is eligible, including students and parents of 
young children. Only a judge can excuse you from service 
for hardship. If you are seeking to be excused for hard-
ship, you must report to the courthouse on your scheduled 
date of service and speak with a judge. Remember: you 
can postpone your service for up to a year to minimize 
conflicts with your academic schedule, childcare respon-
sibilities, or other personal issues. 

S E L F - E M P L O Y E D 
There are no occupational exemptions from jury service. 
Everyone is eligible, including the self-employed. Only a 
judge can excuse you from service for hardship. If you are 
seeking to be excused for hardship, you must report to 
the courthouse on your scheduled date of service and 
speak with a judge. You can request a deferment of your 
service to minimize conflicts with your schedule. 

AGE 
If you are 70 or older, you may choose to serve or not. If 
you choose not to serve, please complete the Grand Juror 
Confirmation Form online, or by mail as follows: #2A: fill 
in Circle 2. #2B: provide your date of birth. #7: sign your 
name, and mail. If you are under 18, follow the same pro-
cedure but fill in Circle 3. 

H E A L T H 
If you are ill or disabled, you may request a deferment of your 
date of service or request to be disqualified from service. If 
you seek disqualification, please see REASONS for 
DISQUALIFICATION, REASON 9 on the other side of this 
brochure. 

FELONY CONVICTION 
If you have been convicted of a felony within the last 7 
years, or are currently charged with a felony, or are 
presently in the custody of a correctional institution, 
please see REASONS FOR DISQUALIFICATION, REASON 
7 on the other side of this brochure. If you were convicted 
more than 7 years ago, you are eligible to serve. 

ACCESSIB IL ITY 
The Trial Court and the Office of Jury Commissioner are 
committed to making the courts accessible to all. 
Accessibility includes the right and the obligation to 
perform jury service. Please visit our website 
at www.MAjury.gov and click on "Accessibility" for 
more information. You can also contact us at 
JurorHelp@jud.state.ma.us, or 1-800-THE-JURY (843-
5879).   
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FOR MORE INFOR MATION.. . 
…be sure to review ALL of the information contained in 
this summons packet: this brochure, the summons, and 
the Grand Juror’s Handbook. Most of our frequently-
asked questions are answered here. You can get more 
information on our website at www.MAjury.gov or by call-
ing us at 1-800-THE-JURY (843-5879) (within 

(out-of-state 
Mass-

achusetts only) or 617-338-6409 callers 
only). The OJC takes calls M-F, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM, and 
pre-recorded information is always available. You can e-
mail us at JurorHelp@jud.state.ma.us, or write to us at: 

OFFICE OF JURY COMMISSIONER 
560 HARRISON AVENUE, SUITE 600 

BOSTON, MA 02118 

You can also visit our website at 

www.MAjury.gov 

G AND JUROR 
INSTRUCTIONS 

R

AND 
I RMATION NFO

Our jury system is fundamental 
to the fair administration of jus-
tice in the Commonwealth. By 
responding to your summons -
whether or not you are eligible to 
serve - you are contributing to 
the cause of justice and the 
preservation of our democracy. 
Thank you for your participation. 

- Chief Justice Kimberly Budd 
Supreme Judicial Court 

Information About: 
. Completing the Juror Confirmation Form 

. Qualifications and Disqualifications 

. Deferments 

. Parents, Students, Self-Employed Jurors 

. Accessibility 

. Compensation 

YOU CAN GET 

MORE INFORMATION AT 

www.MAjury.gov 

www.MAjury.gov
www.MAjury.gov
mailto:JurorHelp@jud.state.ma.us
www.MAjury.gov
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OF F I C E  O F  JU RY  CO M M I S S I O N E R  F O R  T H E  CO M M O N W E A LT H  O F  MA S S A C H U S E T T S  

CONFIDENTIAL FINANCIAL QUESTIONNAIRE 

Insert Your You must fill out this form and 
BADGE# here: ___________________________________ bring it with you when you 

appear at the courthouse. 

- On the first day you appear, the court will determine how much you will be paid as a grand juror (starting on the 4th 
day). For your first three days of service, your employer must pay your regular wages for work hours missed. Your daily 
compensation from the court CANNOT be more than your regular daily wage. 
- If your employer pays less than your regular daily wage while you are on grand jury duty, the Commonwealth will con-
tribute a maximum of $50 per day, which includes mileage beyond your usual travel expenses. 
- Unemployed jurors are paid $50 per day by the Commonwealth from the 4th day of service on. 
- If the information provided below changes at any time during your grand juror service, you must inform the court imme-
diately. 
- You must complete the questionnaire below and sign it under the penalties of perjury. 

1 
Are you employed? YES NO (check one) 

1a. If “YES”, STOP HERE and answer #2 below. 

1b. 
If “NO”, Please indicate the daily amount of travel, childcare, and out-of-pocket 

expenses (excluding meals) you will incur for the first 3 days of service 
(up to $50 per day). Next, skip #2 and complete #3 below. 

2 

2a. 
If you are employed, please provide the name and address of your employer: 

______________________________________________________________________________________ 

2b. Please check and complete only ONE of the sections below: 

or 

I am being paid in full by my employer for the entire term of grand jury service 
and am not required to turn in any monies I receive from the court. Therefore, I 
am only eligible to be compensated by the Commonwealth for any excess 
travel expenses at 62 cents per mile, which equals ------------------------------> 

I am not being paid in full by my employer after the 3rd day 
of grand juror service, or I am required to turn in monies I 
receive from the court. I am therefore eligible to receive a 
maximum of $50 per day from the Commonwealth as long 
as the total amount I will receive from both does not exceed 
my regular daily wage. 

My regular daily 
wage is: 

Amount I will be 
paid by my 

employer is: 

3 Date: _____/_____/_____ Signature of Juror (do not print): ______________________________________________ 

For Office Use Only -

_______________, ss. _________________, 20______ 
PURSUANT TO THE PROVISION OF MASSACHUSETTS GENERAL LAWS, CHAPTER 234A, SECTION 53, 
AND BASED UPON INFORMATION PROVIDED ABOVE, I  FIND THAT THE ABOVE NAMED GRAND JUROR 

SHOULD BE COMPENSATED BY THE COMMONWEALTH IN THE AMOUNT OF 

$___________.______ ATTEST: __________________________________ 
JUSTICE PER DAY FOR THE FOURTH DAY AND ALL SUBSEQUENT DAYS OF GRAND JUROR SERVICE. 

A blank copy of this form, suitable for printing, is available online at www.MAjury.gov 

REASONS for  DISQUALIFICATION 
Please read through these Disqualifications before completing the Grand Juror Confirmation Form, even if 
you believe you are qualified. 

Respond Online: Complete the Juror Confirmation Form online at www.MAjury.gov. Your Badge 
Number, PIN, and ZIP Code located on your summons, will be required to log in. 

Respond by Mail: You must provide details at #2A 
and #2B on the Juror Confirmation Form. 

These are the disqualifications allowed by law. Please fill in the circle at #2A on the 
Grand Juror Confirmation Form that corresponds to the number listed below. 

(Example: if you are under 18, fill in the circle marked “3” at #2A, and write your birth date at #2B) 

REASON 1: 
YOU ARE NOT A U.S. CITIZEN 

Provide your alien card identification number, visa status, 
or any other pertinent information. 

REASON 2: 
YOU ARE AGE 70 OR OLDER & CHOOSE NOT TO SERVE 

Provide your date of birth. 

REASON 3: 
YOU ARE UNDER AGE 18 

Provide your date of birth. 

REASON 4: 
YOU CANNOT SPEAK AND UNDERSTAND ENGLISH 

Provide your primary language. 

REASON 5: 
YOU HAVE MOVED PERMANENTLY OUTSIDE THE COUNTY 

Provide your new address. 

REASON 6: 
YOU ARE LIVING FULL-TIME OUTSIDE OF THE COUNTY 

AND WILL NOT RETURN AT ANY TIME FOR MORE THAN 1 
YEAR 

Provide a brief explanation, e.g., active military service, 
medical internship. Include your out-of-state address. 

REASON 7: 
YOU WERE CONVICTED OF A FELONY WITHIN THE PAST 7 

YEARS, OR ARE CURRENTLY CHARGED WITH A FELONY, 
OR ARE CURRENTLY IN CUSTODY 

Provide the specific charge and date of conviction, if 
applicable. If in doubt, check with the court to learn if 
your charge or conviction was for a felony or a misde-
meanor. 

REASON 8: 
YOU APPEARED FOR JURY SERVICE WITHIN THE PAST 3 

YEARS, OR ARE CURRENTLY SCHEDULED FOR JUROR 
SERVICE ON ANOTHER SUMMONS 

Provide the date(s) and place(s) of prior or currently 
scheduled jury service. Note: This does not include 
jurors who were previously summoned but were can-
celled by mail or phone and were not required to appear 
at court. 

REASON 9: 
YOU ARE PHYSICALLY OR MENTALLY INCAPABLE 

OF PERFORMING JURY DUTY 
Provide a note from a doctor or Christian Science Practitioner 
describing the nature of your illness or disability. The note 
must (1) be written on letterhead and include your Badge 
Number; (2) state the nature of the disability (the specific 
diagnosis or condition is not required); and (3) include the 
physician's opinion that such disability prevents you from 
rendering satisfactory jury service. If the disability is perma-
nent, the note must include the physician's opinion that the 
disability will permanently prevent you from rendering satis-
factory jury service. Guidelines: A person shall be capable 
of performing jury duty if he or she can perform a sedentary 
job requiring close attention for 6 hours a day, with breaks in 
the morning and afternoon, for 3 consecutive days. 

REASON 10: 
YOU ARE THE PRIMARY CAREGIVER FOR A PERMANENTLY 

DISABLED PERSON WHO IS A MEMBER OF THE SAME HOUSE-
HOLD 

Provide a note from a doctor or Christian Science Practitioner 
describing the kind of care you provide and the doctor's 
opinion on the risk to the health of the disabled person if you 
are absent. 
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