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The following requirements regarding state-supplied vaccine storage and handling, 
administration, documentation, reporting, and information are in accordance with Section 317 
of the Public Health Service Act, federal vaccine contract terms, the specifications of the 
National Childhood Vaccine Injury Act (NCVIA) of 1986 (Section 2125, of the Public Health 
Service Act), the Vaccines for Children Program (VFC) (Section 1928 of the Social Security Act), 
and the Massachusetts Department of Public Health (MDPH) Immunization Division. 
 
The Vaccine Program, as mentioned throughout the guidelines, is made up of three sub-

programs: universal state pediatric vaccine program, federal vaccines for children (VFC) 

program, and the limited adult vaccine program. All sites enrolled in the Vaccine Program 

(including Specialty providers, Respiratory Vaccine-Only providers, or Adult-Only providers) 

must consider all doses received via the Vaccine Program as state-supplied vaccine and utilized 

according to the guidelines described below. 
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A. Appropriate Use of State-supplied Vaccine 

A-1.   Providers must administer state-supplied vaccines in accordance with the eligibility criteria 

defined in the most recent versions of the Childhood Vaccine Availability Table and the 

Adult Vaccine Availability Table (available on the MDPH Immunization Division Vaccine 

Management webpage). 

A-2.   Providers must screen all children (< 19 years of age) at every immunization visit, as 

outlined in the Provider Enrollment Agreement, to determine their VFC eligibility. Patient 

eligibility screening results must be documented and may be recorded electronically if all 

information requested in the VFC Patient Eligibility Screening Form is both recorded and 

retrievable in the event of a Compliance site visit. VFC screening information must be 

retained in the electronic medical record or on file in the office for a minimum of 3 years 

after service to the patient has been completed.  

 VFC-only vaccines (see Childhood Vaccine Availability Table) must be offered only to VFC-
eligible children. Children < 19 years of age in the following categories are eligible for VFC 
vaccine: 

 

Eligibility Categories Electronic Health Record Drop-Down Selections 

Medicaid/Mass Health VFC Eligible - Medicaid 

Uninsured VFC Eligible – Uninsured 

American Indian (Native 
American) or Alaskan Native 

VFC Eligible – American Indian/Alaskan Native 

Underinsured* VFC Eligible – Underinsured 
* Underinsured children (insurance coverage does not include vaccines or covers only selected vaccines) seen at 

federally qualified health centers (FQHC) and rural health centers (RHC). 

Non-VFC Eligibility Categories Electronic Health Record Drop-Down 
Selections 

Private Insurance NOT VFC ELIGIBLE 

 The tables above show the only options to be selected when documenting VFC eligibility in 
an Electronic Health Record (EHR) in Massachusetts. The use of any other options, including 
but not limited to state-specific eligible, local-specific eligible, unknown, or names of other 
specific programs, is not acceptable. 

 Children enrolled in the Children’s Health Insurance Plan (CHIP) or the Children’s Medical 
Security Plan (CMSP) may receive all vaccines on the Childhood Availability Table but are 
NOT considered VFC eligible when screening or assessing for VFC eligibility. 

A-3.   Adult patients (19+ years of age) that are uninsured or underinsured and seen at public 
provider sites, can receive state-supplied vaccines, as defined by the Adult Vaccine 
Availability Table. Private provider sites are NEVER able to administer state-supplied vaccines 
to adult patients, regardless of the patient’s insurance status. Private provider sites with 
billing capacity should privately purchase vaccines for their adult patients and seek 
reimbursement from health insurers. 

https://www.mass.gov/doc/availability-table-childhood-0/download
https://www.mass.gov/doc/availability-table-adult-0/download
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A-4.  Borrowing vaccine is defined as the use of a dose of state-supplied vaccine for a child not 
eligible for state-supplied vaccines when the privately purchased vaccine is not readily 
available or vice versa. Borrowing vaccines should be extremely rare and only occur to 
avoid a missed opportunity to provide a needed vaccine for a child who might otherwise 
not receive the vaccine. Vaccine borrowing should only occur with Men-B vaccine, as it is 
the only vaccine in the 2025 Childhood Vaccine Availability Table that is not universally 
available to all children. Most providers should never run into this situation. State-
supplied vaccines may never be used for someone 19 years of age or older unless 
eligible per the Adult Vaccine Availability table. If borrowing does occur, the provider 
must: 

• Ensure that state-supplied vaccine inventory is adequate to meet the needs of the 

provider’s state-supplied eligible patients and that borrowing state-supplied vaccine 

will not prevent an eligible child from receiving a needed vaccination.  

• Ensure that borrowing occurs only when there is a lack of private/state vaccine stock 

due to unexpected circumstances such as a delayed vaccine shipment, vaccine spoiled 

in-transit to provider office or mechanical failure of storage units leading to loss of 

vaccine.  

• Complete the Vaccine Program Borrowing Form whenever a state-supplied vaccine is 

administered to a child that is not eligible for that state-supplied vaccine. State-

supplied vaccines cannot be administered to patients 19 years and older, except as 

outlined in the Adult Vaccine Availability Table.  

o The Vaccine Program Borrowing Form must be faxed to the Vaccine Program at 
857-323-8320, as it contains PHI. 

o The completed form should be kept on file as part of the Vaccine Program records 
and made accessible to MDPH staff during Compliance site visits. 

A-5.   Providers must agree to use state-supplied vaccines only within their own office/clinic 

setting. They must further agree not to sell or distribute vaccines provided by the Vaccine 

Program to any other person, clinic, or organization outside of transfers to other enrolled 

sites. Transferring of state-supplied vaccines may take place between enrolled Vaccine 

Program providers, with all vaccine transfer transactions being entered into the MIIS Vaccine 

Management Module. The receiving site must accept the transfer transaction in the MIIS for 

the doses to appear in their inventory. 

A-6.   Fraud and Abuse: Improper use of state-supplied vaccine may constitute fraud and abuse 

and is punishable by law (Medicaid regulation: 42 CFR §455.2 and applicable state law).  

 Fraud is defined by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) as an intentional 
deception or misrepresentation made by a person with the knowledge that the deception 
could result in some unauthorized benefit to himself, herself, or some other person. It 
includes any act that constitutes fraud under applicable federal or state law.  

 Abuse is defined by CDC as provider practices that are inconsistent with sound fiscal, 
business, or medical practices and result in unnecessary cost to the Medicaid program 
(and/or including actions that result in an unnecessary cost to the Immunization Division, a 
health insurance company, or a patient); or in reimbursement for services that are not 
medically necessary or that fail to meet professionally recognized standards for health care. 
It also includes recipient practices that result in unnecessary cost to the Medicaid program.  

https://www.mass.gov/doc/vaccine-borrowing-report-0/download
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 These fraud and abuse parameters apply to all state-supplied vaccines. 

 Fraud and abuse can include (but is not limited to):  

• Selling or otherwise misdirecting state-supplied vaccines. 

• Billing a patient or third party for state-supplied vaccines.  

• Charging more than the established maximum regional charge ($23.29) for 

administration of a state-supplied vaccine to a non-Medicaid VFC-eligible child. (See 

section C-2) 

• Not providing state-supplied vaccines due to a parents’ inability to pay for the 

administration fee. 

• Not implementing provider enrollment requirements of the Vaccine Program. 

• Failing to screen patients for VFC eligibility at every immunization visit. 

• Failing to maintain Vaccine Program records and comply with other requirements of 

the Vaccine Program. 

• Failing to account for all state-supplied vaccines received. 

• Failing to receive, store, or use state-supplied vaccines properly. MDPH may require 

providers to make restitution for any doses of state-supplied vaccines that have been 

wasted due to provider negligence/mismanagement. See section A-6 for additional 

information about the restitution policy. Examples of provider 

negligence/mismanagement include (but are not limited to):  

o Failure to open vaccine shipments from McKesson, Merck or Pfizer immediately, 
which results in damage to the vaccines. 

o Failure to rotate vaccine stock, which results in expired vaccine. 

o Allowing vaccines to expire. You must transfer the soon to expire vaccine to 

another practice 3 months before expiration. If unable to locate a practice within 

the first two weeks of attempting to transfer vaccines, contact the Vaccine Program 

for assistance at 617-983-6828. 

o Using state-supplied vaccines out of ordinance with the site’s established practice 
profile and Adult/Childhood Availability Tables.   

o Inappropriately storing fridge vaccines in a freezer unit. (See section B-2 for more 
details) 

o Inappropriately storing frozen vaccines in a fridge. (See section B-2 for more 
details) 

o State-supplied vaccines spoil due to a power interruption by either unplugging the 
fridge or freezer units, or by switching off the sites circuit/electrical breaker by any 
party (i.e., provider staff, contractors, etc.). 

o Refrigerator or freezer unit door left open or ajar by provider staff, contractor, or 
any other individual at your site, resulting in damaged vaccines. 

o Vaccines that are left out of the storage units and spoil (always contact the vaccine 

manufacturer to determine if vaccines can be identified as viable). 

o Power outage in which the provider fails to act according to provider’s vaccine 
standard operating procedures (SOP). (See section B-1) 
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o Ordering state-supplied vaccine in quantities or patterns that do not match 
provider profile or otherwise involve over-ordering of state-supplied vaccines. 

o Wastage of state-supplied vaccine, including a pattern of pre-drawing vaccines 
resulting in the loss of unused doses. 

o Refrigerator malfunction in a non-pharmaceutical grade unit that is being used to 
store pediatric vaccines resulting in damaged vaccines. (See B-2) 

o Storing state-supplied vaccines in a household combination or dormitory style unit. 

o Failure to notify the Vaccine Program of any temperature excursion in storage units 
containing state-supplied vaccine. 

o Failure to complete and submit the associated Temperature Excursion Issue in the 
MIIS for any out-of-range temperatures in storage units containing state-supplied 
vaccine. 

o Any other handling and storage mistakes made by provider staff. 

A-7.  The Vaccine Program requires providers to make restitution by replacing any doses of 

state-supplied vaccines that have been lost due to the provider’s failure to properly 

receive, store, or use vaccines (as outlined in section A-6) if:  

a. it is the 1st incident, and the total loss is over $25,000, or  
b. it is the 2nd incident in less than 12-month period and the total loss is over $5,000 

or 
c. it is the 3rd incident (or greater) in less than 12-month period regardless of the 

total value, or 
d. it is due to a failure to immediately open a vaccine shipment from McKesson or 

Merck, resulting in damaged vaccine regardless of the total value, or 
e. it is due to a failure to store refrigerated vaccines in a refrigerator or store frozen 

vaccines in a freezer regardless of total value.  
 

The Vaccine Program will notify the provider regarding the number of doses of each 
vaccine that must be replaced; vaccine must be replaced on a dose per dose basis with 
privately purchased vaccine. Subsequent vaccine orders from the provider will not be 
processed by the Vaccine Program until a copy of the vaccine replacement form is 
received and processed. The Vaccine Program may request copies of the invoice for the 
privately purchased replacement vaccines if lot numbers match state-supplied vaccine 
doses in inventory. 

  
The Vaccine Program will only hold providers accountable in situations of provider 
negligence as outlined above (see section A-6) and will not seek restitution for a vaccine 
loss that occurred due to a circumstance not in the provider’s control (i.e. act of nature). 
Providers will be given due process to dispute cases of avoidable loss. However, the 
Vaccine Program retains the right to make final determinations regarding vaccine 
restitution. 

 
B.  Vaccine Management  

B-1.   Providers must have written standard operating procedures (SOP) in place for proper 
vaccine management and vaccine transport. The Vaccine Management and Vaccine 
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Transport SOP must be reviewed, updated annually as part of re-enrollment, whenever 
there is a change in responsible staff, or the intention of starting mobile clinics.  

B-1a. The Vaccine Management SOP must include:  

• Designation of a Primary Vaccine Coordinator, Back-up Vaccine Coordinator, and 
Medical Director. Providers must notify the Vaccine Program either by phone 617-
983-6828 or email dph-vaccine-management@mass.gov within 10 days when a new 
Vaccine Coordinator or Medical Director is designated. Compliance training and 
updated SOPs must be completed within 10 days from changes.  

• Proper storage and handling procedures.  

• Vaccine receiving procedures. 

• Vaccine relocation procedures in the event of a power or equipment failure. 

• Vaccine ordering and inventory control procedures. 

• Handling lost or expired vaccine procedures. 

• Response procedures for when vaccines are stored out of temperature range. 

Providers must complete and submit a Temperature Excursion Issue in the MIIS.  

 Both Vaccine Coordinators and the Medical Director must sign and date the Vaccine 

Management SOP. Additionally, any staff member responsible for state-supplied vaccines in 

any way, including monitoring temperatures in vaccine storage units, administering vaccines, 

or transporting vaccines in an emergency, must acknowledge reading their practice’s Vaccine 

Management SOP by signing and dating the document. 

B-1b. The Vaccine Transport SOP must include: 

• Details on transport methods and transport supplies on-site. 

• Steps on how to move vaccines to another location or clinic. 

• Steps on how to ensure vaccines are viable upon arrival. 

• Overall plan for mobile clinics, including staff assignment, frequency, purpose, and 
methods. 

• Overall plan for vaccines at mobile clinics, including administration, wastage, and 
storage. 

 
Both Vaccine Coordinators and the Medical Director must sign and date the Transport 
SOP. Also, all staff responsible for state-supplied vaccines in any way, related to the 
Transport of the Vaccines, must acknowledge reading their practice’s Vaccine Transport 
SOP by signing and dating the document.  

B-2.   All vaccines, with the exception of Varicella, MMRV and Pfizer COVID-19 vaccines will be 

shipped to you by McKesson Specialty Distribution. Varicella and MMRV vaccine will be 

shipped to you by Merck & Co., Inc. Varicella and MMRV doses are always shipped 

separately and may not arrive on the same day as their associated diluent. Pfizer COVID-

19 vaccines will be shipped to you by Pfizer. Diluent for the Pfizer 6m-4y product may not 

arrive on the same day as the vaccine. 
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Providers must provide the Vaccine Program with all packing slips for direct ship vaccines 

from Merck & Co., Inc. (MMRV & Varicella). Failure to provide packing slips may result in a 

temporary suspension from vaccine ordering. Ensure the shipped doses quantity is equal 

to the ordered doses quantity for both the vaccine product and the associated diluent. All 

sites must initial and date every packing slip received. 

 
     In order for shippers to be able to deliver vaccines, providers must be on site with 

appropriate staff available to receive vaccines at least one day per week other than 
Monday and for at least four consecutive hours during that day. 

• Upon arrival, open the box of vaccine immediately.  

o For shipments from McKesson, check the two transit temperature monitors. 

The Vaccine Program must be contacted on the day of receipt if temperature 

monitors indicate a possible temperature excursion during transit.  

o For direct ship vaccines from Merck, check the shipment date located on the 

packing slip and check the shipper insert supplied in the box. Shipments of 

MMRV are always delivered within 24 hours. Varicella can be shipped in a 2 

day or 4-day box. Contact the Vaccine Program if the date received is later 

than the indicated date on the shipper insert, on the day of receipt. 

• Check to see if the packing slip matches your vaccine order. If there are any 

problems or inconsistencies between your order and the vaccine received, contact 

the Vaccine Program.  

• Providers may find that some packing slips are being divided between VFC, 

State, CHIP and 317- this is solely for funding purposes and this distinction 

should be ignored. Treat all vaccines received from the Vaccine Program as 

state-supplied vaccine. 

• Contact the Vaccine Program immediately if vaccines are delivered outside of your 

listing shipping hours. Please note you will also be asked to provide a picture of both 

the shipment box and the shipping label in these instances. 

 

B-3. Providers must agree to follow the manufacturer’s specifications and the guidelines established 

by the Vaccine Program for the storage and handling of vaccines.  

B-3a. Vaccine Storage Best Practices 

• Store all vaccines in the original manufacturer’s packaging. 

• All vaccine stock must be rotated, so the vaccine with the shortest shelf life is used first.  

• Inventory must be clearly marked or identified so that state-supplied and privately 
purchased vaccine can be differentiated. Vaccine that has been short-dated or is 
subject to a beyond use date due to being stored in secondary storage conditions, must 
be labeled with the updated date of spoilage. 

• Any state-supplied vaccines that are due to expire before being administered should be 
transferred to another enrolled practice at least three months prior to expiration. If 
unsuccessful in the first two weeks of attempting to transfer vaccines, contact the 
Vaccine Program for assistance with locating potential sites. 
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• Stabilize refrigerator and freezer temperatures by placing water bottles on the floor, 
the back and against the walls of the unit where there is empty space. 

o Refrigerator units will hold regular water bottles whereas freezer units will hold 
frozen water bottles. Make sure to pre-freeze/pre-refrigerate the water bottles 
prior to placing them in freezer or fridge units. 

o When placing the water bottles in the units, place them in increments and watch 
the temperatures to avoid a potential temperature excursion. 

• Storing frozen water bottles in the freezer unit is also a component of your emergency 

preparedness. Ideally, sites should always keep at least eight 12-16oz frozen water 

bottles in their freezer. Frozen water bottles for vaccine transport can also be stored in 

an additional freezer not used for vaccine storage. 

• If the temperature of the vaccine storage unit need adjusting, it should be done only 

after vaccines have been removed and stored in a temporary storage unit. Contact the 

Vaccine Program for consultation before attempting to do this. 

B-3b. Temperature Requirements 

• All vaccines, with the exception of Varicella, MMRV, Merck’s MMR vaccine, Moderna’s 
COVID-19 vaccine and Mpox, must be stored refrigerated between 2°C and 8°C (35°F 
and 46°F).  

• Varicella and MMRV vaccine must be stored frozen between -50°C and 

-15°C (-58°F and 5°F). DO NOT store the diluent in the freezer; the diluent for these 
vaccines may be stored either in the refrigerator or at room temperature. 

• Merck’s MMR vaccine can be stored between -50°C and 8°C (-58°F and 46°F) according 
to package insert instructions per manufacturer. DO NOT store the diluent in the 
freezer; the diluent may be stored either in the refrigerator or at room temperature. 
GSK’s MMR vaccine must be stored in a refrigerator unit between 2°C and 8°C (35°F 
and 46°F) and cannot be frozen. 

• Pfizer’s <12 COVID-19 vaccine formulations can either be stored in an ultra-cold freezer 
storage unit (colder than -60°C) until its labeled expiration date or in a vaccine 
refrigerator between 2°C and 8°C for a maximum of 10 weeks. Pfizer <12 COVID-19 
products stored in a refrigerator should be labeled with their 10-week Beyond Use 
Date. Pfizer Comirnaty 12+ must be stored in a vaccine refrigerator between 2°C and 
8°C and may be stored in refrigeration until its labeled expiration date. Pfizer COVID-19 
products can never be stored in a regular vaccine freezer. 

• Moderna’s COVID-19 vaccines can either be stored in a freezer storage unit (colder 
than -15°C) until its labeled expiration date or in a vaccine refrigerator between 2°C 
and 8°C for a maximum of 60 days. Moderna COVID-19 products stored in a 
refrigerator should be labeled with their 60-day Beyond Use Date. 

• Mpox vaccines can either be stored in a freezer storage unit (colder than -15°C) until its 

labeled expiration date or in a vaccine refrigerator between 2°C and 8°C for a 

maximum of 4 weeks. Mpox products stored in a refrigerator should be labeled with 

their 4-week Beyond Use Date. 
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B-3c. Storage Units 

• All practices enrolled in the Vaccine Program are required to store all refrigerated 

vaccines in pharmaceutical-grade or purpose-built refrigerators at all times. The use of 

any household combination refrigerator/freezer unit or dormitory style unit for 

storage of any state-supplied pediatric vaccines, including temporary storage, is 

strictly prohibited.  

• Stand-alone freezers that are not pharmaceutical grade are acceptable. These units can 
vary in size from a compact, under the counter style, to a large stand-alone unit.  

• The size of the refrigerator or freezer must be able to accommodate your largest 
vaccine supply (typically during respiratory season), allowing for sufficient air 
circulation between rows of vaccine boxes or bins, shelving units, and walls.  

• Characteristics of pharmaceutical grade refrigerators include: 

o Internal overhead fans to disperse cold air throughout the unit, eliminating cold 
pockets of air 

o Adjustable wire shelves to allow better airflow 

o No storage bins or shelves on the door 

o Micro Processor Temperature Controller 

o Electronic Digital Thermometer 

o Typically, pharmaceutical-grade refrigerators have a narrow operating range (less 
than 2°C or 3°F) 

• “DO NOT DISCONNECT” signs must be placed on all storage unit electrical outlets and 

circuit breakers. 

• Refrigeration units must be plugged directly into a wall outlet. DO NOT plug 
refrigeration units into a power strip, surge protector, extension cord, a ground fault 
circuit (GFC) interrupter outlet (outlets with RESET/TEST buttons), generator, or battery 
packs.  Always contact the Vaccine Program PRIOR to moving storage units to a new 
location, new outlet, or disconnecting from power for any reason. 

o Exception: Generators and battery packs can be utilized if they are wired directly 
into the circuit breaker of the building. This would result in the storage unit still 
being plugged directly into the wall outlet. 

• Food or beverages must not be stored in vaccine storage units with the exception of 
water bottles per CDC recommendations. 

 

B-3d. Digital Data Loggers (DDL) 

• The Vaccine Program requires the use of NIST-certified calibrated digital data loggers 

(DDL) for continuous 24-hour temperature monitoring on all state-supplied vaccine 

storage units at all enrolled practices. 

o Minimum and maximum temperatures should be physically acknowledged at 
least twice daily for all vaccine storage units, preferably at the start of the workday 
and at the end of the workday. 

o Providers are required to have a back-up DDL device available for use if their 
primary DDL device is not functioning. If receiving state-supplied DDL devices, 
additional backup DDL devices (other than if primary DDL malfunctions) or DDL 
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devices used solely for transport purposes will not be provided by the Vaccine 
Program and must be privately purchased. 

• Temperature reports or logs must be reviewed for completeness (no missing 
temperature readings) and out-of-range temperatures. Immediate action must be 
taken if temperatures are out of range. 

o Staff must be comfortable interpreting temperatures and durations of out-of-range 
instances in order to communicate information to vaccine manufacturers so that 
viability can be determined. 

o It is required that the Vaccine Program be notified of every out-of-range 
temperature, even if it does not result in an alarm, by submitting a Temperature 
Excursion Issue in the MIIS. 

o Providers must submit current temperature logs or reports for all vaccine storage 

units (refrigerators and freezers) with every routine vaccine order by uploading 

them into the MIIS. 

o Providers must ensure current temperature logs or reports for all vaccine storage 

units (refrigerators and freezers) are uploaded within the last 30 days for 

respiratory vaccine orders to be processed. 

o Handwritten temperature logs are no longer accepted. Submitted temperature 

logs must be generated reports from DDL devices that meet the criteria described 

below. 

o Sites must ensure a complete record of temperature data for all storage units 

containing state-supplied vaccine is uploaded in the MIIS. Depending on the 

capabilities of the DDL device in use, some sites may have to upload temperature 

logs monthly to ensure no temperature data is lost. 

o Uploading temperature logs into the MIIS meets the VFC requirement for 

maintaining temperature logs for at least 3 years. 

• The Vaccine Program provides free of charge DDL devices for vaccine temperature 

monitoring to all enrolled provider sites. Enrolled provider sites may utilize the state-

supplied DDL devices or opt out and utilize privately purchased devices. However, the 

Vaccine Program may require providers to provide restitution (privately purchased 

device of comparable value and functionality) for any broken or lost state-supplied 

devices if:  

o the device is rendered non-functional due to mishandling or improper placement 
o the device is not returned to the Vaccine Program upon un-enrolling 
o The device is lost or disposed of due to site neglect 

▪ Note: The Vaccine Program will not seek restitution for a state-supplied 

DDL devices that are rendered non-functional or lost due to a 

circumstance not in the provider’s control (i.e. act of nature). Providers 

will be given due process to dispute cases of avoidable loss.  However, 

the Vaccine Program retains the right to make final determinations 

regarding digital data logger device restitution. 
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• For any site opting out of utilizing state supplied DDL devices or in instances of 
restitution, it is required that the privately purchased devices abide by the following 
requirements: 
o Capacity for continuous monitoring and routine recording of data, with an 

accuracy of +/- 1°F (0.5°C) 
o Active temperature display that can be easily read from outside the unit 
o Detachable buffered temperature probe with glycol, glass beads, sand or 

Teflon, that best reflects the temperature of the vaccine 
o Alarm for out-of-range temperatures and low battery indicator 
o Ability to acknowledge and document electronically within the DDL 

system maximum and minimum temperatures at least twice daily 
o Ability to generate a PDF output report, that clearly indicates daily 

maximum/minimum temperatures, alarms, and acknowledgment of twice 
daily temperature checks 

o Logging interval (or reading rate) that is programmable to record 
temperatures at a maximum of 15-minute intervals with at least 4,000 
readings storage capacity 

o NIST certified calibration with an associated Calibration Certificate that 
includes: 

▪ Model/device number 
▪ Serial number 
▪ Date of calibration (report or issue date) 
▪ Confirmation that instrument passed testing (or instrument in 

tolerance) 

B-4. Inventory Management 

 All Vaccine Program providers are required to maintain inventories of all ACIP 

recommended vaccines, with the only exception being specialty providers (i.e., OB/GYN), 

adult-only or respiratory-only seasonal providers (i.e. LBOHs). All ACIP recommended 

vaccines must be made available and provided to all eligible patients at the site in 

accordance with the Vaccine Availability Tables. 

All providers must maintain an accurate record of vaccines received from the Vaccine 

Program and document this inventory electronically using the MIIS Vaccine Management 

Module. This record must include: 

• Type of vaccine 

• Manufacturer 

• Lot number 

• Expiration date 

• Number of doses received 
 

   Mishandled, expired, or damaged vaccines must not be administered. All expired, 
damaged, or contaminated vaccine must be promptly removed from the storage unit, 
clearly labeled as “expired/damaged, do not use” and documented in the MIIS 
Storage/Handling Problem Module. Please refer to the Vaccine Storage/Handling Problem 
Mini-Guide for step-by-step directions. 

https://resources.miisresourcecenter.com/trainingcenter/Storage%20Handling%20Problem_2018_Mini%20Guide.pdf
https://resources.miisresourcecenter.com/trainingcenter/Storage%20Handling%20Problem_2018_Mini%20Guide.pdf
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 Determination of ordering quantities should be based on remaining inventory and 

anticipated need over the subsequent 6 weeks. For most practices ordering routine 

vaccines, orders should ideally be placed on a monthly basis, however, orders can be 

placed at any time. Depending on the quantity of vaccine the practice administers during 

the year, vaccine orders could be as frequent as every couple of weeks or as infrequent as 

a couple times a year. Once the Vaccine Program processes an order, CDC has up to 2 

weeks to ship to provider sites. 

C. Responsibilities of the Medical Director  

Non-compliance with any of the below shall be cause to exclude the provider from continued 

participation in the Vaccine Program. 

C-1. The Medical Director is responsible for the following Vaccine Program agreements: 

C-1a. The Medical Director, on behalf of themselves and all practitioners associated 
with the entity, is responsible for ensuring that state-supplied vaccines are 
administered in compliance with federal requirements for the administration of 
vaccines. Failure to comply with federal requirements as outlined in this document 
may constitute fraud and abuse and may be punishable by law (Medicaid regulation: 

42 CFR §455.15). The Medical Director must ensure that all communications from the 
Vaccine Program regarding immunizations or vaccine-preventable diseases are 
disseminated to all relevant staff within their facility.  

C-1b. Within the MIIS, the Medical Director is responsible for electronically signing the 

online Agreement to Comply with State Vaccine Program Requirements, physically signing 

the Vaccine Management SOP and Vaccine Transport SOP, providing the Vaccine Program 

with an accurate Practice Profile and providing the names of all physicians, physician 

assistants and nurse practitioners in the practice/clinic with their corresponding medical 

license number and Medicaid number where applicable.  

C-2. The Medical Director is responsible for the following Vaccine Program regulations: 

 C-2a. By law (MGL Chapter 111, Section 24M), all licensed health care providers 

practicing who administer immunizations shall report to the immunization registry 

such data related to immunizations as the Vaccine Program determines is necessary 

for disease prevention and control. 

 C-2b. By law (MGL Chapter 94C, Section 7 and regulations of the Department of 

Public Health at 105 CMR 700.004), require all provide sites who manufacture, 

distribute, prescribe, administer, dispense or possess controlled substances 

(including vaccines) to have a valid Massachusetts Controlled Substance 

Registration (MCSR) license. In order to enroll or re-enroll in the Vaccine Program, 

sites must have a valid facility or individual MCSR license on file in the MIIS. 

 C-2c. Providers must maintain all records, documentation and temperature logs 

related to the Vaccine Program for a minimum of 3 years. The release of such records 

will be bound by the privacy protection of Federal Medicaid law. If requested, the 

https://www.mass.gov/doc/agreement-to-comply-with-federal-and-state-requirements-for-participation-in-the-mdph-immunization-division-2024-0/download
https://www.mass.gov/doc/vaccine-management-sop-2024/download
https://www.mass.gov/doc/vaccine-transport-sop-2024-0/download
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provider must make such records available to the Vaccine Program or the Federal 

Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). 

C-3. The Medical Director is responsible for the staff who order, store, administer, and 

report on vaccine usage. A list of all physicians, physician assistants, nurse 

practitioners and nurse-midwives who prescribe vaccines, along with their medical 

license numbers and Medicaid numbers, must be updated annually in the MIIS 

during re-enrollment. 

  C-3a. The Medical Director is responsible for designating a Primary and Back-up 

Vaccine Coordinator. The Vaccine Coordinators are responsible for oversight of all 

vaccine storage and handling, including vaccine ordering, inventory management and 

acting as the vaccine shipping contact. They are also responsible for communicating 

vaccine policy, vaccine availability, updates, and alerts to all pertinent staff. Any 

change in the Primary or Back-up Vaccine Coordinator must be reported to the 

Vaccine Program within ten (10) days. Sites must have a Primary and Back-up Vaccine 

Coordinator identified at all times. 

C-3b. The Primary and Back-up Vaccine Coordinator must complete the current annual 

Vaccine Program Storage and Handling training. This training will cover all program 

requirements, including proper storage and handling of state-supplied vaccines. This 

requirement may be met by completing one of the following:  

•  Vaccine Program Storage and Handling Webinar training 

• Onsite training session conducted by a member of the Vaccine Program 

• Compliance Site Visit with formal training component 

• In-person training events held by the Immunization Division (e.g., Vaccine 

Program Storage and Handling break-out session at MIAP or Vaccine 

Program Immunization update seminar). 

C-4. The Medical Director is responsible for following all site visit requirements: 

   C-4a. Vaccine Program Quality Assurance Analyst (QAA) staff are required to make an 

initial enrollment site visit to a provider who is enrolling in the Vaccine Program for the 

first time or returning to the program after an extended leave. The enrollment visit ensures 

that the provider and office staff are educated on the Vaccine Program requirements and 

have appropriate resources to implement these requirements.  

C-4b. The Medical Director understands and agrees that Vaccine Program QAA staff 

are required to make Compliance site visits every 12 to 24 months to evaluate 

vaccine handling and storage, VFC screening, and record keeping. Sites enrolled as 

Respiratory-Only or Adult-Only are excluded from this requirement. 

C-4c. If any problems are identified with programmatic compliance, the provider will 

receive follow-up contact and education, in accordance with CDC guidelines. The 

Medical Director is responsible to guarantee that outstanding non-compliance 

findings are addressed and resolved as part of completing site visits. 
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C-4d. Vaccine Program QAA staff will perform unannounced provider visits to check 

for proper storage and handling practices. Providers who have had prior storage and 

handling compliance issues may be prioritized for such visits. Unaddressed 

outstanding follow-ups from unannounced site visits may result in the inability to 

order state-supplied vaccines until the issue is resolved. 

Unannounced site visits are a requirement of the Vaccine Program and may not be 

rescheduled. If both Primary and Backup Vaccine Coordinator are not present during 

your site’s hours of operating, another staff member must be appointed 

responsibility of overseeing your site’s Vaccine Program operations. 

C-4e. Failure to respond to scheduling of compliance site visits and/or completion of 

follow-ups identified during visits could result in suspension and an inability to order 

state-supplied vaccines until the identified issue is resolved. 

 

C-5.   In the event of a temperature excursion, it is at the discretion of your site’s Medical 

Director to approve continued use of vaccines in the case of the manufacturer being 

unable to confirm viability due to insufficient data. It is also at the discretion of your site’s 

Medical Director to decide whether or not to re-vaccinate in the event non-viable 

vaccines are administered to patients. 

C-6.   The Medical Director is responsible for assuring that:  

•    Immunization policies and practices are in compliance with the General Best Practice 
Practices for Immunization. 

•    The immunization schedule, dosage, and contraindications followed are in compliance 
with those established by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). 

• All ACIP-recommended vaccines are supplied, except if the practice is designated as a 
“Specialty Provider” during the enrollment process. A “Specialty Provider” is defined as 
a provider that only serves (1) a defined population due to the practice specialty (e.g., 
OB/GYN, asthma/allergy) or (2) a specific age group within the general population. 
“Specialty Providers” must indicate which state-supplied vaccines are offered during 
enrollment. 

• Vaccine Administration Resources: 

• CDC Vaccines & Immunizations webpage  

• CDC Vaccine Administration webpage 

• CDC Pink Book Education Webinar Series 

• Immunize.org 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-best-practices/
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-best-practices/
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/index.html
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/admin/admin-protocols.html
https://www.cdc.gov/immunization-training/hcp/pink-book-education-series/index.html
https://www.immunize.org/
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D. Billing and Charging for State-supplied Vaccine 

D-1.  Providers may not impose a charge for the cost of a state-supplied vaccine to a patient or a 
third-party (e.g., an insurance company or Medicaid). 

D-2.  Providers may charge an administration fee of up to $23.29 per dose for non-Medicaid 
(uninsured, underinsured, or who are American Indian or Alaskan Native) VFC-eligible 
patients. For Medicaid VFC-eligible children, providers must accept the reimbursement for 
vaccine administration set by the Massachusetts Medicaid agency or the contracted 
Medicaid health plans. Providers may bill administration fees to third party payers in 
accordance with the terms of their contracts. Providers may not deny state-supplied vaccines 
to an established patient due to the inability of the child’s parent/guardian/individual of 
record to pay the administration fee. “Established patient” applies only to private providers. 
FQHCs must administer state-supplied vaccines to any VFC-eligible child who presents for 
immunization services.  

D-3.  Effective January 1, 2020, providers who choose to bill for the vaccine administration fee of a 
non-Medicaid, VFC-eligible child after the date of service may issue only a single bill to the 
patient within 90 days of vaccine administration. This policy does not apply to vaccine 
administration fees billed to Medicaid for children who meet the Medicaid eligibility criteria 
for the VFC program. Unpaid administration fees may not be sent to collections, and the 
provider may not refuse to vaccinate an eligible child whose parents has unpaid vaccine 
administration fees.  

 
E. Vaccine Information Statements (VIS) and Consent 

E-1.  All Vaccine Program providers must provide a copy of the relevant and current edition of the 
Vaccine Information Statement (VIS) produced by the CDC before administering each dose of 
vaccine (NCVIA: 42 USC Section 300aa-26). See D3 for more detail.   

VISs provide risk-benefit information. VISs must be given for all vaccines and toxoids covered 

by the NCVIA, whether the vaccine was state-supplied or privately purchased. Each patient 

or parent/legal representative receiving vaccines must receive a copy of the VIS prior to the 

administration of vaccines. There are additional requirements relating to the use of VISs in 

school-based or other programs, where the parent or legal representative is not likely to be 

present at the time of immunization. Please see subsection D-4 below. 

E-2.   VISs must be used for the vaccines specified in the NCVIA: measles, mumps, and rubella 
containing vaccines (MMR, MMRV); diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis containing vaccines 
(DTaP, DT, Td, and Tdap); inactivated polio virus vaccine (IPV); hepatitis B vaccine (HBV); 
Haemophilus influenzae type B vaccine (Hib); varicella vaccine (VAR); pneumococcal 
conjugate 20-valent vaccine (PCV20); hepatitis A vaccine (HAV); trivalent influenza vaccine 
(both inactivated influenza vaccine [IIV] and live, attenuated influenza vaccine[LAIV]); 
respiratory syncytial virus vaccine (RSV); rotavirus vaccine(RV); meningococcal ACWY 
vaccines; serogroup B meningococcal (Men B) and human papillomavirus vaccine (HPV); 
COVID-19. 

 
If there is not a single VIS for a combination vaccine, use the VISs for all components as 
appropriate. VISs can only be used for COVID-19 vaccine when administering fully licensed  
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formulations (mRNA vaccine to individuals 12 years and older). For vaccines that are under 
FDA emergency use authorization, use the appropriate EUA fact sheet below: 

• COVID-19 Pfizer-BioNTech Vaccine EUA Fact Sheet for individuals 6 months through 
11 years of age 

• COVID-19 Moderna Vaccine EUA Fact Sheet for individuals 6 months through 11 years 
of age 

• COVID-19 Novavax EUA Recipient-Caregiver Fact Sheet 12 years of age and older 
 
For the vaccines not covered under the National Childhood Vaccine Injury Act (i.e., 
adenovirus, anthrax, cholera, Japanese encephalitis, Mpox, pneumococcal polysaccharide, 
rabies, shingles, typhoid, and yellow fever), providers are not required by federal law to use 
VISs unless they have been purchased under CDC contract. However, CDC recommends that 
VISs be used whenever these vaccines are given. Visit the National Vaccine Injury 
Compensation Program webpage for more information. 
  

E-3.    All providers must maintain copies of the most up to date VISs in their office. All VISs are 
available in print and audio formats in many languages. We recommend that someone in 
every provider office is assigned as the VIS coordinator. Copies of the most recent VISs 
(including translations in many foreign languages) are available online and can be 
downloaded from the Immunize.org website or on the CDC VIS webpage and can be 
downloaded directly into a personal mobile device. Providers are encouraged to subscribe 
for email notifications when a VIS is updated or a new VIS becomes available, by clicking 
on “Get Email Updates” on the CDC VIS website.  

 
Prior to vaccination, VIS may be: 
• Provided as a paper copy 
• Offered on a permanent, laminated office copy 
• Downloaded by the recipient (parent/legal representative) to a smartphone or other 

electronic device (VISs have been specially formatted for this purpose) 
• Made available to be read before the office visit, e.g., by giving the patient or parent a 

copy to take home during a prior visit or telling them how to download or view a copy 
from the Internet. These patients must still be offered a copy in one of the formats 
described previously to read during the immunization visit as a reminder.  

 
Regardless of the way the patient is given the VIS to read, providers must still offer a copy 
(which can be an electronic copy) of each appropriate VIS to take home following the 
vaccination. However, the vaccinee may decline. 
 
For patients who are not proficient in speaking, reading, or understanding the English 
language, the law requires that providers ensure all patients (parents/legal 
representatives) receive a VIS, regardless of their ability to read English. To obtain VISs in 
other languages, visit the Immunize.org website. Providers can supplement VISs with 
visual presentations or oral explanations as needed. VISs on the CDC VIS webpage are 
screen-reader accessible. 

E-4. In school-based programs or other programs where the parent or legal representative is not 
likely to be present at the time of immunization, the parent or legal representative may:  

https://www.fda.gov/media/167212/download
https://www.fda.gov/media/167212/download
https://www.fda.gov/media/167209/download
https://www.fda.gov/media/167209/download
https://www.fda.gov/media/159898/download
https://www.hrsa.gov/vaccine-compensation
https://www.hrsa.gov/vaccine-compensation
https://www.immunize.org/vaccines/vis/about-vis/
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/vis/current-vis.html
https://www.immunize.org/vaccines/vis/about-vis/
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/vis/current-vis.html
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• Sign an individual consent form for the administration of each dose of vaccine, which 
includes acknowledging receipt of the VIS prior to each dose; or 

• Sign a single consent form for the administration of an entire vaccine series (e.g., 
hepatitis B vaccine), if permissible by the institution’s legal counsel. Single signature 
consent forms must: 
o Have a place for the parent/legal representative to acknowledge the receipt of 

the VIS and give permission for their child to be vaccinated with the complete 
series. 

o Describe the future process whereby the VIS shall be sent home prior to each 
subsequent dose. 

o State that a “Withdrawal of Permission Form” will be sent home with the VIS 
prior to each subsequent dose. This statement notifies the parent or legal 
representative that, based on their earlier permission, the next dose will be 
given on (list the date), unless the parent or legal representative signs the 
“Withdrawal of Permission Form.” 

 
In school-based programs or other programs where the parent or legal representative is not 
likely to be present at the time of immunization, the provider must: 
• Establish procedures for responding to questions from the parent or legal 

representative by telephone or mail. 
• Maintain, in the patient’s medical record, the original consent signature(s), any 

“Withdrawal of Permission Forms” and dates the VISs were sent home to the parent 
or legal representative. 

• Consult with the institution’s legal counsel about any policies or requirements specific 
to the institution regarding consent and consent forms. 

E-5.   There is no federal or state requirement that providers, public or private, obtain the 
signature of patients, parents, or legal representative acknowledging the receipt of the VIS. 
However, providers may choose to obtain these signatures.  
 
Regardless of the setting or whether you are vaccinating children or adults, all providers are 
encouraged to consult with their legal counsel and/or follow their institution’s policies 
regarding consent. 
 

F. Documentation of Vaccine Administration 

F-1.   Providers must ensure that the permanent medical record (electronic or paper) of the 
recipient contains all the required documentation for immunizations. This documentation 
shall consist of the following:  

• Date of administration of the vaccine 

• Vaccine manufacturer and lot number of the vaccine 

• Name and credentials of person administering the vaccine 

• Address of clinic where the vaccine was given 

• The address of the facility where the permanent record will reside (if appropriate) 

• Edition date printed on the appropriate VIS, and  

• The date the VIS was given to the vaccine recipient or the parents/legal representative.  
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We also recommend that the vaccine type, dose, site, route of administration, and vaccine 
expiration date be documented, and any vaccine refusal (if appropriate).  

Failure to document the information listed above on every patient record could result in 
suspension and an inability to order state-supplied vaccines until the identified issue is 
resolved. 

For those sites maintaining paper copies, the initials of the vaccinator may be recorded in 
place of the full name and title, as long as the patient’s vaccine administration record contains 
a legend that has the full name and title and its corresponding initials. 

Copies of vaccine administration records that can be used in your office are available by 
visiting MDPH’s Vaccine Administration and Clinical Guidance webpage.  

F-2.   Requirements for retention of written documentation vary and depend on licensing 
requirements: 

• Clinics and hospitals: Must retain documentation for a period of 20 years after the 
discharge or final treatment of the patient. State law includes a requirement for 
providers to notify MDPH before destroying records. (105 CMR: 140.302C, 105 CMR: 
130.370A, MGL c111, s70).  

• All other facilities (e.g., doctor offices, Boards of Health, Visiting Nurse Associations, 
nursing homes, etc.): Must retain documentation for a period of 10 years following the 
end of the calendar year in which the documentation occurred (NCVIA 1986). 

State regulations regarding record retention and destruction (including new regulations 
pertaining to clinics/hospitals) can be found at the Division of Health Care Facility Licensure 
and Certification website by selecting “Regulations.” 

An additional requirement applies to all categories of providers. If a notice of a claim or 
lawsuit has been made, the VIS, Provider Enrollment Agreement, and other types of 
approved documentation pertaining to the matter must be retained until a final disposition 
of the claim or litigation (including appeals) has been made. 

 
 
G.  Vaccine Safety 

G-1.  Healthcare providers are required by law to report to the Vaccine Adverse Events Reporting 
System (VAERS): 
• Any adverse event listed in the VAERS Table of Reportable Events Following Vaccination  

that occurs within the specified time period after vaccinations. 
 

• Any adverse event listed by the vaccine manufacturer as a contraindication to further 
doses. 

Healthcare providers are strongly encouraged to report to VAERS: 

• Any clinically important adverse event that occurs after the administration of a vaccine 
licensed in the United States, whether it is or is not clear that a vaccine caused the 
adverse event. 

• Vaccine administration errors (e.g., wrong route, wrong dose, and wrong age). 

All providers should report directly by going to the VAERS website and either:  
1. Fill out the online reporting tool; or 

https://www.mass.gov/service-details/vaccine-administration-and-clinical-guidance
https://www.mass.gov/orgs/division-of-health-care-facility-licensure-and-certification
https://www.mass.gov/orgs/division-of-health-care-facility-licensure-and-certification
https://vaers.hhs.gov/
https://vaers.hhs.gov/
https://vaers.hhs.gov/docs/VAERS_Table_of_Reportable_Events_Following_Vaccination.pdf
https://vaers.hhs.gov/
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2. Complete a fillable VAERS PDF form and upload it onto the VAERS website. 
 

Accommodations will be made for persons unable to submit reports electronically. 
Additional assistance is available via email at info@vaers.org or by phone at 1-800-822-
7967. 

G-2. Healthcare providers are strongly encouraged to report to the MedWatch website any 
instances where nirsevimab is not co-administered with other vaccines and:  
• Any clinically important adverse event that occurs after the administration of 

nirsevimab, whether it is or is not clear that a vaccine caused the adverse event. 

• Vaccine administration errors (e.g., wrong route, wrong dose, and wrong age). 

G-3. Each vaccine recipient or the vaccine recipient’s parent/legal representative must be 
furnished with a personal immunization record listing the type, dosage, and date (month, 
day, and year) of each vaccination. This can be generated from the MIIS or a provider’s 
electronic health record (EHR). Information on the required immunization schedules, the 
vaccine injury compensation program, and claim filing should also be made available. 

G-4.  The vaccine safety requirements contained in these guidelines must be communicated to any 

other health care personnel administering vaccines under the supervision of your site’s 

listed Medical Director. 

mailto:info@vaers.org
https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/medwatch/index.cfm

