Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Division of Occupational Licensure
Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118

https://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/hd
617-701-8792

GUIDELINES FOR OPENING A SCHOOL

(These guidelines are intended to assist prospective schools only and are not intended to cover all aspects
of school licensure. Prospective schools are encouraged to review all of these guidelines prior to
expending any resources, renting facilities, etc.)

BASIC SUMMARY

A. Review Board website, learn and follow school regulations, etc.

B. Contact Board Office in order to do initial walkthrough of prospective space with Board staff.
Do not sign a lease until after walkthrough.

C. Choose name for school (see Board guidelines below) and obtain Board approval for floor plan,
bond, enrollment agreement/student contract, curriculum, and school catalog (include
checklists!).

E. Engage in limited advertising to obtain prospective students, submit enrollment report with list of
students to Board.

F. Final walkthrough with Board staff
G. Submit Paper application.

DETAILED SUMMARY

1. Review all statutes (M.G.L. c. 112, §§87T to 87KK), regulations (240 CMR 2.00 to 11.00), and
policies governing the cosmetology profession including personal license types. schools, and
salons. Go to the Board website for information: https://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/hd /

2. Determine the type of school you want to open:

Cosmetology school — 1000 hour program
Aesthetics school — 600 hour program
Manicuring school — 100 hour program
Advanced school — Multiple programs
Barbering school — 1000 hour program
Electrology school — 1100 hour program

THOAW >

3. Review premises requirements for schools:
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A. Cosmetology schools

(D) A clinic area for at least 25 students, with not less than 20 square feet of area for
each student;

2) A lecture room with a minimum of 25 chairs properly equipped for
demonstration or practical purposes;

3) A basic room completely separated from the lecture and clinic rooms sufficiently
large to accommodate 25 students; and

@) An individual secure space sufficiently large to keep each student’s effects

(5) Accessible lavatories in accordance with applicable laws and regulations

B. Aesthetic schools

(D) A clinic room of no less than 600 square feet, to be used exclusively for the
teaching of aesthetics and containing all necessary equipment for clinical
training.

2) A lecture room of no less than 400 square feet, with arm chairs or desks and
chairs for a minimum of 12 students. The lecture room must be available for at
least one period per day for exclusive use for instruction in aesthetics.

3) A reception area and an office area.

4) An individual secure space sufficiently large to keep each student’s effects

&) Accessible lavatories in accordance with applicable laws and regulations

C. Manicuring schools

(D A clinic room of not less than 600 square feet to be used exclusively for the
teaching of manicuring and containing all necessary equipment for practical
training.

2) A lecture room of not less than 400 square feet, with a minimum of 12 arm chairs
or desks and chairs. The lecture room must be available for at least one period
per day for exclusive use for instruction in manicuring.

3) An individual secure space sufficiently large to keep each student’s effects

@) A reception area.

®)] An office area.

(6) Accessible lavatories in accordance with applicable laws and regulations
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D. Advanced schools

(D Premises sufficiently large to accommodate not more than one participant per 20
square feet of area.

2) Accessible lavatories in accordance with applicable laws and regulations
F. Barber Schools
(D A clinic area for at least 25 students, with not less than 20 square feet of area for

each student

2) A lecture room properly equipped for demonstration or practical purposes with a
minimum of 25 arm chairs

3) An individual secure space sufficiently large to keep each student’s effects

4) Lavatories in accordance with applicable law and regulations, in clean sanitary
conditions at all times

G. Electrolysis Schools

(D Premises large enough to accommodate its student body, faculty members and
staff, and separate areas of sufficient size for classroom instruction and practical
training respectively

2) An individual, secure space sufficiently large for the student's personal
belongings, for each student

3) Every electrolysis school shall specify the maximum number of students which
can be accommodated in its practical training area at any one time, and shall
provide a number of patient care stations in that practical training area sufficient
to ensure a ratio of one patient care station for every three students

H. NOTE FOR ALL SCHOOL FLOOR PLANS

Floor plans must reference spaces used for administrative purposes, offices, and any other
uses, these uses cannot be commingled with the dedicated rooms required above.

Review equipment requirements

A. Cosmetology Schools

(D Ten shampoo sinks and chairs

2) 25 all-purpose chairs

3) Ten dryers with accompanying chairs
4) Ten manicure tables
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)
(6)
(7

Ten manicure sterilizers

Cold waving equipment

Cleaning and disinfection supplies and equipment sufficient to comply with all
applicable regulations.

B. Aesthetic Schools

(1) One galvanic-high frequency-steam vaporizer- brush-facial machine (per six
students)

(2) Two cold light magnifying lamps (per six students)

3) Two infra-red lamps (per six students)

(4) Two treatment chairs (per six students)

(%) One unit for iontophoresis and desincrustation for every 12 students

(6) Two vaporizer machines (per six students)

(7) Wax melting equipment to accommodate single-use wax application for
depilation of the face and body (per six students)

(8) One high frequency unit with electrodes for every 12 students

9 Sink with hot and cold running water separate from the lavatories (per six
students)

C. Manicuring school

(D 12 manicuring tables with lamps, drawers and chairs/stools (per 12 students)

2) 12 wet hospital-grade sanitizers (per 12 students)

3) 1 FDA-approved heat sterilizer (per 12 students)

4) 3 sinks/hot/cold running water (per 12 students)

%) 12 covered waste containers (per 12 students)

(6) 1 first aid kit (per 12 students)

@) 12 finger bowls (per 12 students)

(®) 12 nail brushes (per 12 students)

)] 1 electrical hand held manicuring tool with bits (per 12 students)

(10) 1 hot oil manicuring unit (per 12 students)

(11) 4 dozen towels (per 12 students)

(12) 12 foot basins (per 12 students)

D. Barber Schools

(1
2
“4)

)
(6)
(7)
®)
)
(10)
(11

The clinic area of a barber school shall have a minimum of 25 barber chairs, 15
of which shall be able to recline for shaving and facials

One barber chair, one sink, and one work-stand in lecture room for demonstration
work

One mirror for each chair, and one hand washing sink and one shampoo sink per
eight chairs

One wet tool sterilizer for each chair with proper solution for same

One covered container for disposal of used shaving papers

One covered container for disposal of used towels

One closed cabinet for clean towels

One hair dryer for each five students

One hi-frequency apparatus

One high power microscope for bacteria and scalp study
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(12)  Student Kit with supplies that adequately support the curriculum
E. Electrology Schools:
(D An adequate quantity of modern professional equipment for its students as
approved by the Board.
F. Advanced school

(1) equipment adequate to support the seminar offered and seating accommodations
for all participants

Scout possible locations for a facility

Upon finding suitable facility, contact Board office at 617-701-8792 to schedule initial
walkthrough of facility, (it is recommended that no leases or property purchases take place until
after this walkthrough).

Prepare draft floor plan showing the following:

A. All required rooms and equipment for particular type of school
B. Location of bathrooms
C. Location of required sinks (based on school type)

Choose name for prospective school.

A. Name must indicate school is not a salon.

B. Schools cannot use names incorrectly suggesting the school provides healing or medical
benefits. Names such as “healing”, “medical”, “med”, “clinical” or “wellness,” etc. are
prohibited.

Prepare administrative requirements for school

A. Obtain any needed local permits

(D Building, plumbing, electrical permits
2) Occupancy permit
3) Business Certificate (for “DBA’s”)

B. If desired, create business entity (LLC, Corporation, etc.)
C. Obtain bond (Board-approved form MUST be used)

(1) Cosmetology Schools — $20,000

) Aesthetic Schools — $10,000 if enrollments do not exceed 25 students, $20,000 if
enrollments are 25 students or more

3) Manicuring Schools — $10,000

4) Advanced Schools — $5,000

®) Barbering Schools - $20,000

(6) Electrology Schools - $10,000 if enrollments do not exceed 25 students, $20,000
if enrollments are 25 students or more
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12.

D. Prepare enrollment agreement/student contract (see below).

E. Prepare school catalog/school policies (see below)
F. Prepare detailed curriculum - must be based on Board regulations
G. Obtain licensed instructors for school:
A. Cosmetology schools — 2 cosmetology instructors per 25 students or less; 1

cosmetology instructor or assistant cosmetology instructor for every additional
25 students or less

B. Aesthetic school — 1 cosmetology or aesthetics instructor per 12 students

C. Manicuring school — 1 cosmetology or manicuring instructor per 12 students or
less

D. Advanced school — persons registered by the Board of Registration of

Cosmetology and Barbering as instructors or lecturers or by such licensed
cosmetologists, aestheticians, manicurists or barbers as the Board may deem
qualified by expertise or experience to teach advanced seminars

H. Finalize floor plan

Submit following documents to Board for approval. School owner/representative attends Board
meeting:

A. Cosmetology Schools

a. A certificate of occupancy or other authentic form issued by the appropriate city or
town approving the premises intended to be used as a school.

b. A bond of $20,000

c. A copy of the enrollment agreement including a refund policy which complies with
G.L.c.255,§ 13K

d. A detailed outline of the school curriculum
A detailed professional floor plan

B. Aesthetics Schools
a. A certtificate of occupancy or other authentic form issued by the appropriate city or
town approving the premises to be used as a school
A bond of $10,000 if enrollments do not exceed 24 students, which bond shall be
subject to the approval of the Board
A bond of $20,000 if enrollments are 25 students or more
A detailed outline of the school curriculum
A proposed schedule of hours
Detailed professional floor plans
A true copy of the student contract
A copy of the enrollment agreement, including a refund policy that complies with
G.L.c. 255, § 13K

o

Fm oo

C. Manicuring Schools
a. A certificate of occupancy or other authentic form issued by the appropriate city or
town approving the premises to be used as a school
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b
c
d.
e
f

A bond of $10,000 which bond shall be subject to the approval of the Board

A detailed outline of the school curriculum

A proposed schedule of hours

A copy of the school catalog;

A detailed professional floor plan;

A copy of the school enrollment agreement, including a refund policy that complies
with G.L. c. 255, § 13K

D. Barber Schools

a.

o

o oo

In addition to the requirements under “All Schools” above, an applicant for a Barber
School license shall submit:

A certificate of occupancy or other authentic form issued by the appropriate city or
town approving the premises intended to be used as a school

A bond of $20,000

A true copy of the student contract, which shall comply with G.L. ¢. 255, § 13K

A detailed outline of the school curriculum

A detailed professional floor plan

E. Electrology Schools

a.

me oo

s

A copy of a school catalogue or program manual which describes the program of
study in the electrolysis school,

A detailed outline of the school curriculum,

the academic and financial policies and procedures of the school,

a list of the facilities and equipment utilized by the school,

a bibliography of all textbooks used in the program of study

A blank copy of the form used by the school to obtain the informed consent of a
student to serve as a patient for practical training, as required by 240 CMR 10.05(3)
A detailed professional floor plan for any and all facilities

A list of all equipment to be used in the curriculum;

A certificate of occupancy or other appropriate form issued by the appropriate city or
town approving the premises for use as a school

A sample copy of the written contract between the student and the school including
refund policy which shall comply with G.L. c. 255, § 13K

A copy of the bond required by 240 CMR 10.05(13)

F. Advanced Schools

a. A certificate of use and/or occupancy or other authentic form from the appropriate
city or town approving the premises at which the seminars will be offered

b. A bond in the amount of $5,000 subject to the approval of the Board

c. The name, license number, educational background and experience of at least one
instructor who will provide instruction

d. The title and detailed outline of any seminars to be offered, and all new titles,
curricula or changes thereto shall likewise be filed with the Board

e. A copy of the enrollment agreement, including a refund policy that complies with
G.L. c. 255, § 13K;

f.  Detailed floor plans indicating complete separation from any adjacent salon

13. Begin advertising “prospective school”, choose prospective opening date (at least one month after

Board approval referenced in #11).
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14.

15.

16.

17.

Submit an initial enrollment report signed by the applicant which shall contain a list of enrolled
students.

Contact Board office at 617-701-8792 to schedule final walkthrough of facility.

Upon approval of final walkthrough, submit paper application and fee.

A. If school uses a business entity, note the following:

(D) If incorporated, submit a copy of the Articles of Incorporation,

2) If partnership or LLP, a copy of partnership agreement, for LLCs, include a copy
of Certificate of Organization.

3) Foreign entities must be registered as such with the Massachusetts Secretary of

State’s Office.

B. The individual signing the application is the applicant of record. The applicant of record
does not need to hold ownership in the school, but must agree to be held accountable for
the school adhering to all laws and regulations applicable to schools.

(1) For corporations, the applicant of record must be an officer of the corporation.

2) For partnerships and LLP’s, each partner must sign the bottom of the application
as an applicant, however, one partner must be the listed applicant on the form
who agrees to handle Board matters on behalf of the partnership.

3) For LLC’s, the owner of record must be a manager (or member if member
managed).

Upon approval, school is licensed and may open, all changes thereafter must be approved by the
Board in writing.
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Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Division of Occupational Licensure
Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118

https://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/hd
617-701-8792

Enrollment Agreement/Student Contract Checklist

NAME OF SCHOOL.:

The following items must be included in each enrollment agreement/contract. A copy of this checklist is
required by the Board for school approval. Schools may not use a non-approved agreement.

Step 1 — Write your school name on the lines found on each page of this checklist

Step 2 — In the space provided below, list the page number where the item may be found.

Step 3 — Attach a copy of the Enrollment Agreement/Student Contract

Step 4 — Each item on this checklist has a circled letter (see below). The Board would like to see on the
enrollment agreement/student contract itself where each item is located. Using blue ink, place circled
letters on the copy of the enrollment agreement/student contract itself to show where the item is located.

For example, note below that tuition is required to be listed on the contract, on the copy of the contract
you are submitting to the Board, where tuition is found, the Board should be able to see “®)” in blue ink.

Step 5 — Read the certification at the end of this form, once you understand and agree, sign and date it.

PAGE NO.
® List type of program offered: Cosmetology, Aesthetics, Manicuring,
Advanced, Barbering, Electrology

List the clock hours required for the program, 1000, 600, 100

© Length of Program (start and end dates)
© Class Schedule (days per week and maximum number of hours per day)
®

List time that is not included in hours (i.e. lunch, breaks, etc.)

NAME OF SCHOOL:

PAGE NO.
® Tuition

@ Books and Supplies (must be separate from tuition)

(3) Application/Registration Fee ($50 maximum, none if withdrawn within 5
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ENROLLMENT AGREEMENT/STUDENT CONTRACT CHECKLIST CONTINUED

days of agreement date if program hasn’t started). See M.G.L. c. 255, §13K(7).

) Refund policy — Must match M.G.L. c. 255, §13K.

@) Types of Payments accepted listed (credit cards, loans, etc.)

® Grounds for termination (insubordination, unexcused absences, etc.)

© Employment Assistance — A clear statement that the institution does not
guarantee employment.

™ Attendance requirements, including any charges for makeup hours

) Additional graduation requirements (grades, etc.). Put n/a if none

© Signature areas for enrollee and representative of school

I certify under pains and penalties of perjury that my school’s enrollment agreement/student contact meets
the above requirements and that I will only use a Board approved agreement.

Signature Date

Print Name Title
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Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Division of Occupational Licensure

Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118
https://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/hd
617-701-8792

Catalog/Brochure Checklist

NAME OF SCHOOL.:

The following items must be included in each catalog/brochure. A copy of this checklist is required by the
Board for school approval. Schools may not use a non-approved catalog/brochure.

Step 1 — Write your school name on the lines found on each page of this checklist

Step 2 — In the space provided below, list the page number where the item may be found.

Step 3 — Attach a copy of the Catalog/Brochure

Step 4 — Each item on this checklist has a circled letter (see below). The Board would like to see on the
catalog/brochure itself where each item is located. Using blue ink, place circled letters on the copy of the
catalog/brochure to show where the item is located. For example, note below that tuition is required to be

listed on the catalog, on the copy of the catalog you are submitting to the Board, where tuition is found,
the Board should be able to see “H” in blue ink.

Step 5 — Read the certification at the end of this form, once you understand and agree, sign and date it.

PAGE NO.
® Name and address of the school, information about the owner, and each
location.
Date of catalog.
© List type of program offered: Cosmetology, Aesthetics, Manicuring,
Barbering, Electrology
) List the clock hours required for the program, 1000, 600, 100
® Class Schedule (days per week and maximum number of hours per day)

NAME OF SCHOOL:

PAGE NO.

® Yearly School Calendar — List all holidays, weekly schedule, hours per
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CATALOG/BROCHURE REQUIREMENTS CONTINUED

day, describe if programs are broken down (i.e. day or night), list days and list
hours associated with each program. (i.e. Day program Monday to Thursday, 7.5
hours per day)

List time that is not included in hours (i.e. lunch, breaks, etc.)
Tuition

Books and Supplies (must be separate from tuition)

© 6 @ ®

Application/Registration Fee ($50 maximum, none if withdrawn within 5
days of agreement date if program hasn’t started). See M.G.L. c. 255, §13K(7).

Refund policy — Must match M.G.L. c. 255, §13K.
Types of Payments accepted listed (credit cards, loans, etc.)

Grounds for termination (insubordination, unexcused absences, etc.)

@ & O &

Absence policy, including tardiness and makeup work, include any
charges for makeup hours

©

Employment Assistance — A clear statement that the institution does not
guarantee employment.

NAME OF SCHOOL:

PAGE NO.

Additional graduation requirements (grades, etc.). List n/a if none
Certificate or other document that is awarded upon graduation

Statement that the institution adheres to Massachusetts and Federal non-
discrimination laws and policies.

Scholarship and tuition waiver policies. List n/a if none

List any other services provided (housing, career counseling, etc.) List n/a

if none
Provide the address and telephone number of the Board of Cosmetology

© © 9 6 @ ©

Code of conduct and dress code

I certify under pains and penalties of perjury that my school’s catalog/brochure meets the above
requirements and that [ will only use a Board approved catalog/brochure.
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CATALOG/BROCHURE REQUIREMENTS CONTINUED

Signature Date

Print Name Title
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