

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Health and Human Services Office of Medicaid www.mass.gov/masshealth

> MassHealth HCBS Waiver Provider Bulletin 7 January 2021

TO: Acquired Brain Injury (ABI) and Moving Forward Plan (MFP) Waiver Providers

FROM: Daniel Tsai, Assistant Secretary for MassHealth

RE: FY21 General Appropriations Act Home Health Aide, Homemaker and Personal Care Rate Increases, and Reporting Requirements

Introduction

This bulletin communicates information regarding the Commonwealth of Massachusetts' Fiscal Year 2021 (FY21) General Appropriations Act (Chapter 227 of the Acts of 2020) and associated reporting requirements for home health and home care agencies. The legislation appropriates \$17.5 million to the Executive Office of Elder Affairs (EOEA) to increase rates for home health aide services provided through the MassHealth ABI and MFP waiver programs and state plan home health aide services as well as homemaker and agency personal care services provided through the MassHealth ABI and MFP waiver programs and through the EOEA Home Care Program for dates of service from January 1, 2021, through June 30, 2021. The legislation defines the supplemental rates as \$2.68 per service hour for home health aide (or \$0.67 per 15 minute unit) and \$2.60 per service hour for homemaker and agency personal care (or \$0.65 per 15 minute unit).

Eligible ABI/MFP Waiver provider agencies must submit an attestation form prior to receiving funds from the FY21 General Appropriations Act. The attestation must state that funds will be used for hourly wage increases, other categories of worker compensation, and other related eligible costs. Additionally, ABI/MFP Waiver provider agencies that receive funds from the appropriation are required to submit a spending report to EOEA that accounts for how the appropriated funds were utilized. Providers of homemaker services who are individual (self-employed) providers or self-directed service providers are not required to submit an attestation form or a spending report.

EOEA and MassHealth will post documents and information related to the implementation on the EOEA website, which can be accessed here: www.mass.gov/lists/home-care-and-home-health-supplemental-rates . Providers are encouraged to check this site regularly for updated information.

Providers may submit questions related to the FY21 General Appropriations Act, distribution of funds, and other questions related to this bulletin to <u>homecareaiderates@mass.gov</u>

Provider Attestation Form

The FY21 General Appropriations Act states prior to funds being distributed, home care and home health agencies must submit an attestation affirming the rate add-on funds will be used for:

• hourly wage increases;

MassHealth HCBS Waiver Provider Bulletin 7 January 2021 Page 2 of 3

- other categories of worker compensation such as bonuses, overtime related personnel expenses; and
- other related eligible costs, including but not limited to, personal protective equipment.

EOEA and MassHealth have created an online attestation form for home care and home health agencies to complete by **Friday**, **February 12**, **2021**. The form can be accessed from any internet browser here:

app.keysurvey.com/f/41544105/2fa1/

ABI/MFP Waiver provider agencies are only required to submit a single provider attestation form that includes all of their state-funded contracts for the provision of homemaker, agency personal care, and/or home health aide services under MassHealth and through the EOEA Home Care Program. ABI/MFP Waiver provider agencies may find additional information regarding allowable uses for the rate add-ons at the EOEA website below (See "EOEA and MassHealth Provider Content Page").

ABI/MFP Waiver provider agencies are required to save or print a copy of their attestation submission for their records.

Provider Spending Report

Home health and home care agencies are required to submit a single spending report that includes all of their state-funded contracts for the provision of homemaker, agency personal care, and/or home health aide services under the EOEA Home Care Program, the MassHealth State Plan Home Health Program, and the MassHealth ABI/MFP Waiver Program. The spending report must account for the use of all appropriated funds received and be submitted to EOEA.

EOEA and MassHealth will create an online spending report tool for providers. EOEA and MassHealth will release this spending report form and instructions in subsequent provider communications and will post a link to the report tool on the EOEA website below. Providers may expect the spending report to align with the types of allowable uses of the appropriated funds outlined in the legislation.

Providers of homemaker services who are individual (self-employed) providers or self-directed service providers are not required to submit an attestation form or a spending report.

EOEA and MassHealth Provider Content Page

EOEA and MassHealth will post documents and information related to the implementation of FY21 General Appropriations Act on the EOEA website, which can be accessed at: www.mass.gov/lists/home-care-and-home-health-supplemental-rates. Providers are encouraged to check this site regularly for updated information.

Providers are encouraged to submit questions regarding this implementation to <u>homecareaiderates@mass.gov</u>.

MassHealth HCBS Waiver Provider Bulletin 7 January 2021 Page 3 of 3

EOEA and MassHealth will be hosting a webinar for providers on **Wednesday**, **January 27**, **2021**, **from 1 p.m. to 2 p.m**. This webinar will include a review of the information discussed in this bulletin, including the attestation. The webinar access information is posted on the website.

Failure to submit an attestation or spending report

Providers may be subject to sanction for failure to submit an attestation form or spending report in accordance with 130 CMR 450.238 and 130 CMR 450.239.

Promulgation of Rates under 101 CMR 359.00: Rates for Home and Community Based Services Waivers

All rates applicable to MassHealth HCBS Waiver services are established in regulation pursuant to M.G.L. c. 118, s. 13D and are established at 101 CMR 359.00: *Rates for Home and Community Based Services Waivers*.

Forthcoming updates to the rates established in 101 CMR 359.00 will be communicated to stakeholders via public notice and transmittal letter.

MassHealth Website

This bulletin is available on the MassHealth Provider Bulletins web page.

To sign up to receive email alerts when MassHealth issues new bulletins and transmittal letters, send a blank email to <u>join-masshealth-provider-pubs@listserv.state.ma.us</u>. No text in the body or subject line is needed.

Questions

For questions or assistance on completing the attestation or spending report, email your inquiry to <u>homecareaiderates@mass.gov.</u>

The University of Massachusetts Medical School Disability and Community Services HCBS Provider Network Administration Unit is also open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. ABI/MFP waiver providers should direct their questions about this letter or other MassHealth ABI/MFP provider questions to the Disability and Community Services HCBS Provider Network Administration Unit, as follows:

Contact Information for University of Massachusetts Medical School Disability and Community Services HCBS Provider Network Administration Unit

Phone: Toll-free (855) 300-7058

Email: ProviderNetwork@umassmed.edu