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Frequently Asked Questions 
 

What is the Home Modification Loan Program? 
The HOME MODIFICATION LOAN PROGRAM (HMLP) was established by the Massachusetts 
legislature to provide loans in amounts between $1,000 and $30,000 for modifications to the primary, 
permanent residence of elders, and individuals with disabilities. These loans allow homeowners in 
Massachusetts to remain in their home and must specifically relate to a person in the household’s 
ability to function on a daily basis. The program is funded through a state-bond and the loan is 
secured by a mortgage in order to guaranty repayment. These repaid loan funds will be lent out to 
other borrowers in the future. 
 

What kinds of projects are eligible? 
In order to be financed by an HMLP loan, modifications must relate to the functional limitation of the 
beneficiary as documented by a professional with whom there is a client history. Some examples of 
projects funded through this program include ramps, hardwired alarm systems and other safety 
modifications, as well as accessible bathrooms and kitchens.  
 
Projects that are not directly related to the beneficiary’s ability to function on a day-to-day basis and 
would benefit anyone living in the home are not eligible for financing under the HMLP program.  
 

What types of loans are available? 
Loans are made available in amounts from $1,000 up to $30,000. Applicants are eligible for a one-
time per property loan. Loans are secured with a promissory note and a mortgage. 
 

This program offers 0% deferred loans, 0% amortizing loans and 3% amortizing loans depending 
on the income of eligible households.  Some landlords may be eligible for a 3% amortizing loan for a 
tenant. 
 
 

 0% Deferred loans: Repayment of a 0% deferred loan is made only when the property title is 
sold or transferred, or if any condition of the loan agreement is not met. No monthly payments 
are required.   
 

 0% Amortizing loans:  0% amortizing loans require monthly payments on principal only, no 
interest is charged. The repayment period for 0% amortizing loans ranges from 5 to 15 years 
depending on the size of the loan.  
 

 3% Amortizing loans: 3% amortizing loans require monthly payments on principal and 
interest. The repayment period for 3% amortizing loans ranges from 5 to 15 years depending 
on the size of the loan. 
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What are the Income Guidelines? 
 

2016 Income Guidelines 
Income guidelines are based on HUD published median income for the Boston MESA and are 
updated annually. 
 

  Interest Rate 
 

0% 
(DPL) 

0% 
(Amortized Loan) 

3% 
(Amortized Loan) 

Household 
Size 

Up to 100% of 
Median income 

Up to 125% 
Median income 

125-200% of 
Median income 

1 $68,700 $85,875 $137,400 
2 $78,500 $98,125 $157,000 
3 $88,300 $110,375 $176,600 
4 $98,100 $122,625 $196,200 
5 $106,000 $132,500 $212,000 
6 $113,800 $142,250 $227,600 
7 $121,700 $152,125 $243,400 
8 $129,500 $161,875 $259,000 

 
 

How do I apply? 
There are six agencies, serving seven regions throughout the Commonwealth that administer the 
program. To find the provider serving your community, look up your town on our website, 
www.mass.gov/mrc/hmlp and find the provider’s contact information or contact Susan Gillam at 617-
204-3739.  
 

The provider will send you an application and determine initial eligibility. If you need assistance or 
reasonable accommodations during your application process, please let your local provider know. 
 

Can a landlord apply for a loan to modify a rental unit? 
A landlord who has an identified tenant with a disability or plans to have an identified tenant with a 
disability may apply for the loan. As in the case of a homeowner loan, the modifications to be made 
must be documented and must relate to the tenant’s (beneficiary) functional needs. A landlord owning 
fewer than 10 units in the building may apply for a Home Modification loan at 3% interest. 

NOTE: Any landlord with a unit in a building of 10 or more units is required to make modifications under 
MGL Paragraph 7A, Chapter 151B Section 4 and is NOT eligible for the Home Modification Loan 
Program unless the landlord can prove hardship through litigation under this statute. 

 
 
What is the loan process? 
The Home Modification Loan Program does not reimburse for completed construction projects. 
Applications are accepted anytime and applicants are served on a first-come first-served basis.  
Applications are reviewed by the regional Provider Agency to determine eligibility. The application 
includes an Application Checklist, please be sure to include all items on this Checklist so your loan 
can be processed efficiently. Your loan application cannot move forward without all items included on 
this checklist. Please contact your regional provider agency if you are unsure of the status of your 
application of if you have any questions regarding the program requirements.   
 
Once the Provider Agency has received a complete, signed application with all of the required 
documentation, including the Home Modification Loan Program Bid, Scope of Work and Contract 
Form (Bid Form), filled out by your chosen contractor, a program construction monitor will come to the 
home and perform an initial inspection. Once the provider agency has the inspection report they will 
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draw up the loan documents for signature and will then record the mortgage at a Registry of 
Deeds/Registry District of the Land Court.   
 

Please note, the Registry charges a fee to record a mortgage (or any other documents such as 
Certificate of Trustee or Change of Name Affidavit that may be necessary). This cost is the borrower’s 
responsibility. The borrower may wrap these fees into their loan or pay these fee(s) up front.  
 

Once the mortgage is recorded, the provider agency will be able to request funds from its funding 
source, CEDAC.  Once the provider agency has received the loan funds from CEDAC, funds may be 
disbursed as anticipated by the agreed upon loan disbursement schedule attached to your Loan 
Agreement.  Please note that it can take up to 4 – 6 weeks until the first disbursement can be 
made. 
 

Loans are disbursed in increments throughout the modification project.  An initial disbursement of no 
more than 1/3 of the loan can be made to allow contractors to start work, please be aware labor costs 
cannot be included in an initial up-front disbursement. Subsequent disbursements are made after the 
homeowner submits contractor receipts or invoices showing a given percentage of work has been 
completed. It is the responsibility of the homeowner to verify the work completed was done to their 
satisfaction prior paying an invoice.   
 

A final inspection will be conducted by the construction monitor at project completion. The final 
payment (10% of the total loan amount) will not be released to you or the contractor until the final 
inspection has been performed, the contractor signs a lien waiver and you have indicated your 
satisfaction with the modifications.   
 

What happens if my application is determined not eligible? 
If the application is not eligible for the HMLP funding, the applicant will be notified by the provider 
agency. The provider agency will attempt to provide appropriate referrals to other programs or 
sources of funding.  Information on other programs which fund home modification can be found on 
our website or you can request a list from the provider agency. 
 

What if my project will cost more than $30,000? 
Many HMLP borrowers have projects that exceed the maximum loan amount and need to find other 
sources of funds to supplement the loan. HMLP funds can only be disbursed after other sources of 
funding are utilized. Information on organizations or other programs which may have funds available 
for home modification projects can be found on our website or provider agencies can provide you with 
a handout with this information.   
Who will do the actual work to modify the home? 
Homeowners hire the designer and/or contractor of their choice to modify the home. Please note, all 
construction professionals must be licensed and insured in the state of Massachusetts. The provider 
agencies can give you resource materials on choosing and hiring architectural, design, and 
contracting professionals but cannot recommend specific contractors.  
 

What should I expect during construction? 
HMLP providers do not get involved directly with contractors. Please see The Home Modification 
Loan Program & Contractors handout for more information on working with contractors and using 
funding from HMLP. Homeowners are responsible for monitoring contractors and other home 
improvement professionals. We suggest that when the work begins, homeowners keep a copy of the 
contract handy and refer to it often. If something is not going the way you feel it should or if you do 
not understand it speak directly to your chosen contractor, and notify the provider agency who can 
advise you on possible next steps.   
 

What if I have a dispute with my contractor? 



Please understand HMLP, your provider agency and the program construction monitor cannot be 
involved in disputes regarding the legally binding contract homeowners enter into with their chosen 
contractor. More information about consumer protections and how to file a complaint can be found at 
the state’s Consumer Affairs department, www.mass.gov/ocabr/consumer/home-improvement-
contract . This website provides a consumer guide to home improvement contractor complaints, 
which outlines the four different program that handle complaints against residential home 
improvement contractors. 
 

May I do any of the work myself? 
A borrower who is a licensed contractor, may be allowed to do the work themselves in order to 
maximize the value of the loan funds. This is referred to as Self-help. In such cases, the HMLP funds 
can be used to pay for the cost of materials but cannot be used to pay for the borrower’s or the 
borrower’s immediate family member’s labor. 
 

What happens if I need to refinance my primary mortgage in the future? 
If you need to refinance your primary mortgage after your HMLP loan project is completed, you must 
contact your Provider agency IN ADVANCE to request a subordination of the HMLP mortgage. The 
provider agency will need to see a copy of your home's appraisal, your credit report and real estate 
tax status in order to determine if they will subordinate their HMLP loan. The higher the value of all 
your mortgaged debt in relation to the value of your home, the more extensive the review process is 
likely to be. However, in most cases the subordination will be allowed.  Please note that the HMLP 
review process can take a few weeks, so please be sure to notify your provider agency as soon as 
possible. 
 

Is a Mortgage Protection Plan a requirement of the program? 
No. Some of our borrowers have received notices about obtaining a mortgage protection plan in the 
mail after placement of a HMLP mortgage on their property. These notices are not from the HMLP. 
Mortgages and other filings at Registry of Deeds/Registry District of the Land Court are public record.  
You should consult a lawyer, insurance agent or other trusted advisor for further information on 
mortgage protection plans. 
 
My home is in a Trust, am I eligible? 
A Trust does not disqualify an applicant. However, the provider agency will require copies of your 
trust documents to be reviewed by legal counsel and in order to correctly document your loan. 
 
I bought my home using an affordable home ownership program, am I eligible? 
This does not automatically disqualify you for a HMLP loan. However, these home ownership 
programs frequently have rules that require you to seek approval for any construction on your home 
and/or any additional mortgaged debt. This is to ensure the maximum resale price of your home 
remains affordable, and therefore may reduce the amount of your HMLP loan.  
 
Please provide your Provide Agency copies of any affordable housing restrictions/covenants that are 
attached to your deed as early in your application process as possible.  
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