

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Health and Human Services Office of Medicaid www.mass.gov/masshealth

> MassHealth Home Health Agency Bulletin 70 November 2021

TO: Home Health Agencies Participating in MassHealth

Amade (alt

FROM: Amanda Cassel Kraft, Assistant Secretary for MassHealth

RE: FY22 General Appropriations Act Home Health Aide Rate Increases and Reporting Requirements

Introduction

This bulletin provides information regarding the Commonwealth of Massachusetts' Fiscal Year 2022 (FY22) General Appropriations Act (Chapter 24 of the Acts of 2021) and associated reporting requirements for home health agencies. The legislation appropriated \$27.9 million to the Executive Office of Elder Affairs (EOEA) to increase rates for homemaker, personal care, and home health aide services provided through the EOEA Home Care Program, the MassHealth State Plan Home Health Program, and the MassHealth ABI/MFP Waiver Program from July 1, 2021, through June 30, 2022. The legislation defines the supplemental rate as \$2.68 per service hour for home health aide (or \$0.67 per 15 minute unit).

Eligible home health agencies must submit an attestation before receiving funds from the FY22 General Appropriations Act. The attestation must state that funds will be used for hourly wage increases, other categories of worker compensations such as bonuses, overtime and related personnel expenses, and other related eligible costs, including but not limited to, personal protective equipment. Additionally, home health agencies that receive funds from the appropriation are required to submit a spending report to EOEA that accounts for how the appropriated funds were used.

EOEA and MassHealth will post documents and information related to the implementation on the <u>EOEA website</u> (<u>www.mass.gov/lists/home-care-and-home-health-supplemental-rates</u>). Providers are encouraged to check this site regularly for updated information.

Providers may submit questions related to the FY22 General Appropriations Act, distribution of funds, and other questions related to this bulletin to <u>homecareaiderates@mass.gov.</u>

Provider Attestation Form

The FY22 General Appropriations Act states that before funds may be distributed, home care and home health agencies must submit an attestation affirming the rate add-on funds will be used for

- hourly wage increases;
- other categories of worker compensation such as bonuses, overtime related personnel expenses; and
- other related eligible costs, including but not limited to, personal protective equipment.

MassHealth Home Health Agency Bulletin 70 November 2021 Page 2 of 3

EOEA and MassHealth have created an <u>online attestation form</u> (<u>app.keysurvey.com/f/41591527/101f/</u>) for home care and home health agencies to complete by **Wednesday, December 1, 2021**. The form can be accessed from any internet browser.

Home health and home care agencies are only required to submit a single provider attestation form that includes all of their state-funded contracts for the provision of homemaker, personal care, and/or home health aide services under MassHealth and through the EOEA Homecare Program.

Home health agencies will find additional guidance regarding allowable uses for the rate add-ons at the <u>EOEA website (www.mass.gov/lists/home-care-and-home-health-supplemental-rates</u>).

Providers are required to save or print a copy of their attestation submission for their records.

Provider Spending Report

Home health and home care agencies are required to submit a single spending report that includes all of their state-funded contracts for the provision of homemaker, personal care, and/or home health aide services under the EOEA Home Care Program, the MassHealth State Plan Home Health Program, and the MassHealth ABI/MFP Waiver Program. The spending report must account for the use of all appropriated funds received and be submitted to EOEA.

EOEA and MassHealth will create an online spending report tool for providers. EOEA and MassHealth will release this spending report form and instructions in subsequent provider communications and post a link to the report tool on the <u>EOEA website</u> (<u>www.mass.gov/lists/home-care-and-home-health-supplemental-rates</u>)</u>. Providers may expect the spending report to align with the types of allowable uses of the appropriate funds outlined in the legislation.

EOEA and MassHealth Provider Content Page

EOEA and MassHealth will post documents and information related to the implementation of FY22 General Appropriations Act on the <u>EOEA website</u> (<u>www.mass.gov/lists/home-care-and-home-health-supplemental-rates</u>). Providers are encouraged to check this site regularly for updated information.

Providers may submit questions regarding this implementation to <u>homecareaiderates@mass.gov</u>.

Failure to Submit a Spending Plan

Providers may be subject to sanction for failure to submit a spending plan in accordance with 130 CMR 450.238 and 130 CMR 450.239.

MassHealth Home Health Agency Bulletin 70 November 2021 Page 3 of 3

Promulgation of Rates under 101 CMR 449.00: Rates for Certain Home- and Community-based Services Related to Workforce Development

All rates applicable to MassHealth fee-for-service home health services are required to be established in regulation pursuant to M.G.L. c. 118, s. 13D. The FY22 GAA add-on rates described herein will be established in regulation at 101 CMR 449.00. The rates established in 101 CMR 449.00 were filed as an emergency with the Secretary of State on October 1, 2021, and a public hearing was held on October 25, 2021.

MassHealth Website

This bulletin is available on the <u>MassHealth Provider Bulletins</u> web page.

Sign up to receive email alerts when MassHealth issues new bulletins and transmittal letters.

Questions

For questions or assistance on completing a spending plan, email your inquiry to <u>homecareaiderates@mass.gov</u>. The MassHealth LTSS Provider Service Center is also open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. LTSS Providers should direct their questions about this letter or other MassHealth LTSS Provider questions to the LTSS Third Party Administrator (TPA) as follows:

Phone: Toll free (844) 368-5184

Email: support@masshealthltss.com

- Portal: <u>www.MassHealthLTSS.com</u>
- Mail: MassHealth LTSS P.O. Box 159108 Boston, MA 02215
- Fax: (888) 832-3006