Homeowner Ol Heating System
Upgrade and Insurance Law

By September 30, 2011, you must upgrade your home heating system equipment to

prevent leaks from tanks and pipes that connect to your furnace.

This fact sheet contains important
information for those who heat their
homes with oil. By September 30, 2011,
you must upgrade your home heating
system equipment to prevent leaks from
tanks and pipes that connect to your
furnace. By making a relatively small
expenditure now, you can prevent a
much greater expense in the future.

Massachusetts has a new law to
address oil leaks from home heating
systems (see Chapter 453 of the Acts of
2008, as most recently amended in
2010). This law has two major
provisions that require:

D> the installation of either an oil safety
valve or an oil supply line with
protective sleeve on systems that do
not currently have these devices; and

D> insurance companies that write
homeowner policies to offer coverage
for leaks from heating systems that
use oil.

Most homeowner policies do not
currently include such coverage, leaving
many to pay for costly cleanups out of
their own pocket. Although it is
mandatory that insurance companies
make this coverage available by July 1,
2010 to homeowners whose systems
are upgraded, the insurance is an
optional purchase.

Who must take action?

Owners of 1- to 4-unit residences that
are heated with oil must already have or
install an oil safety valve or an oil supply
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line with a protective sleeve, as shown
in the diagram. These devices must be
installed by a licensed oil burner
technician. Technicians are employed
by companies that deliver home heating
oil or are self-employed. It is important
to note that heating oil systems installed
on or after January 1, 1990 most likely
are already in compliance because state
fire codes implemented these
requirements on new installations at that
time.

Who is exempt?

Homeowners are exempt from taking
these leak prevention steps if:

D> the oil burner is located above the oll
storage tank and the entire oil supply
line is connected to and above the top
of the tank OR

D> an oil safety valve or oil supply line
with protective sleeve was installed
on or after January 1, 1990, AND

D> those changes comply with the oil
burning equipment regulations; a
copy of the oil burner permit from the
local fire department may be used to
demonstrate compliance.

Why comply?

Not only is complying with the new law
required, it makes good financial and
environmental sense. Homeowners
who take these preventive measures
can avoid the disruption and expense
that can be caused by heating oil leaks.
A leak may result in exposure to
petroleum vapors in your home. If the
leak reaches the soil or groundwater
beneath your house, then a cleanup
must be performed to restore your

property to state environmental
standards. Leaks that affect another
property or impact drinking water supply
wells can complicate the cleanup and
increase the expense. Each year,
several hundred Massachusetts families
experience some kind of leak.

What will an upgrade
cost?

The typical cost of installing either an oil
safety valve or oil supply line with a
protective sleeve ranges from $150 -
$350 (including labor, parts, and local
permit fees).

What could it cost to
cleanup aleak?

The cleanup cost for a “simple” leak can
be as much as $15,000. In cases where
the leak affects the groundwater or is
more extensive, the cleanup costs can
reach $250,000 or more.

What kind of insuranceis
available?

To be eligible for the new insurance
coverage, homeowners must ensure
that their oil heating systems are in
compliance with the new law.
Homeowners who have been certified to
be in compliance with (or exempt from)
the leak prevention measures qualify to
purchase insurance that:

D> provides “first party coverage” of at
least $50,000 for the cost of cleaning
up a leak to soil, indoor air, or other



environmental media from a home
heating system at the residence itself
and reimbursement for personal
property damage, AND

D> provides “third party coverage” of at
least $200,000 for the cost of dealing
with conditions on and off the
insured’s property because the leak
from this system has or is likely to
affect groundwater or someone else’s
property. The coverage also includes
costs incurred for legal defense,
subject to a deductible not to exceed
$1,000 per claim.

What should | do next?

@ Determine whether you have had
an oil safety valve or oil supply line

with protective sleeve installed
since January 1, 1990. If you have,
your permit from the fire
department for the installation can
be used to document your
compliance. You can request a
copy from the fire department if the
permit is on file, or a licensed oil
burner technician can certify that
status on a form.

If you do not have an oil safety
valve or oil supply line with
protective sleeve in place, have
one or the other installed and
certified. Either contact your oil
delivery company to ask if they
employ a licensed oil burner
technician or find one in your area.

Consider buying insurance
coverage for the cleanup of a leak.

FHnd more information at

coverage.
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> Determine whether your existing
policy provides oil leak coverage.

D> If it does not, consider calling your
homeowner insurance agent to
amend the policy to include this

Massachusetts
Depar_tment

http://www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/massdep/cleanup/reports/help-for-homeowners-and-businesses.html

Diagram: Above-Ground Home Heating Oil System Leak Prevention Upgrades
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