
 

 
To Massachusetts Workers: 

How to File a Claim 
for Unemployment 
Insurance Benefits 

What is Unemployment 
Insurance? 

When should you apply 
for UI benefits? 

  
 

 
 
 

Unemployment Insurance (UI) is a 
temporary income assistance program for 
Massachusetts workers who have lost their 
jobs through no fault of their own, and are: 
• Able to work 
• Available for work, and 
• Actively looking for work 

Funding for UI benefits comes from quarterly 
contributions paid by the state’s employers 
to the Department of Unemployment 
Assistance (DUA). Employees do not 
contribute to unemployment insurance. 
 
 

 

 
 
If you have been separated from work, or 
your hours have been reduced, you should 
file a claim for UI benefits during your first 
week of total or partial unemployment. 
Your claim will begin on the Sunday of the 
calendar week in which your claim is filed. 
This date is known as the effective claim 
date. 
You will not be paid benefits for any week 
of unemployment preceding the effective 
date of your claim. 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

Equal opportunity employer program 
Auxiliary aids and services are available 
upon request to individuals with 
disabilities. For hearing-impaired relay 
services, call 711. 

 
 
 
 

Form 0590-A Rev. 05-02-25 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
To Massachusetts employers: 
Under the state’s Employment and 
Training Law, M.G.L Chapter 151A, you 
must provide a copy of this pamphlet as 
soon as practicable, but no more than  
30 days, from the last day the employee 
performed compensable work. You must 
provide this pamphlet to each of your 
employees who is separated from work, 
permanently or temporarily. Please 
complete the information below: 

 

 
Employer name 

 
 

Mailing address 
 
 

Phone number 
 
 

Federal employer ID number 

Important note: 
You may request benefits only if you 
are in the United States, its territories, 
or Canada. You should not request 
benefits for any week you are outside 
the United States, its territories, or 
Canada. 



 
 

 
 
 

 

 

 
 
 

To file your new UI claim or reopen an 
established claim online, visit our website at: 
mass.gov/unemployment-insurance-ui-
for-workers. 
To file a claim online, you must create a 
MyMassGov personal account by 
visiting mass.gov/how-to/register-for-
a-mymassgov-personal-account. 
1. Go to the Unemployment Services 

website at mass.gov/dua and login 
using your MyMassGov account. 

2. Read the Claimant Agreement, check 
the box stating you've read it, and 
select "Next”. 

3. When prompted, you will be asked to 
enter your Social Security number 
and Date of Birth. Select “Next”. 

4. Proceed with the application by 
following the prompts. 

5. When completed, you'll be returned 
to the dashboard. 

Need Help? 
If you have questions about your eligibility, 
review the eligibility requirements online at: 
mass.gov/dua/eligibility. 

For help creating an online account, visit: 
mass.gov/dua. 

 
 

To apply for unemployment, you need to 
provide personal information including your 
Social Security number, birth date, home 
address, email address, and phone number. 
You also need information about your 
employment history from the last 15 months, 
including: 
• Names of all employers, plus addresses 

and phone numbers 
• Reasons for leaving those jobs 
• Work start and end dates 
• Recall date (if you were laid off but have 

a set date to return to work) 
You may need additional information in 
certain situations: 
• If you are not a U.S. citizen: your Alien 

Registration number or verification that 
you are legally allowed to work in the 
United States. 

• If you have dependent children: their 
birth dates and Social Security numbers 

• If you’re in a union: your union name 
and local number 

• If you were in the military: your DD-214 
Member 4 form. If you don’t have it, you 
can request your DD-214 online at 
dd214.us. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To file your new UI claim or reopen an 
established claim by phone, call the 
TeleClaim Center at (877) 626-6800. 
 

To receive payments 
by direct deposit:  
You’ll need your bank name,  
account number, and routing number. 
Otherwise, DUA will send you a  
debit card. 

File by Phone 

The TeleClaim Center  
is available  

8:30 am to 4:30 pm, 
Monday through Friday. 

File Online 

Information Needed 
to File a Claim 

http://www.mass.gov/unemployment-insurance-ui-for-workers
http://www.mass.gov/unemployment-insurance-ui-for-workers
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