Illegal Tobacco Task Force Minutes

Meeting Date: March 1, 2019

Meeting Time: 10:30am

Meeting Location: 100 Cambridge Street, 2nd Floor, Conference Room A

Board Members Present: Kajal Chattopadhyay (Co-Chair), Maj. Steve Fennessy (Co-Chair), Michael Sweeney, David Solet, Patricia Henley, Amber Villa, Tom Bocian

Others: Scott Delaney, Peter French, Steven Byrne, Michael D'Ortenzio, Mark Malloy, Evan Garcia, Dan Less.

Call to Order:

- Meeting was called to order at 10:43am by Mr. Chattopadhyay, who gave a brief meeting recap from the previous meeting in February.
- Task Force members were called to review and approve the prior meeting minutes.
 - Mr. Sweeney made a motion to approve the minutes.
 - Mr. Solet seconded the motion.
 - No objections were made and the minutes were approved unanimously.
- There were no new housekeeping items to discuss since the last meeting.

Smokeless Tobacco Stamping Discussion & Vote:

- Mr. Chattopadhyay asked the Task Force whether there was more to discuss regarding the smokeless tobacco stamping proposal.
- No members had additional comments or concerns and the Task Force decided to vote on the proposal in its current form and based on all information received and discussed to date. A roll call vote was taken.
- The AGO representatives abstained from voting on the proposal.
- All other agencies voted: Yes
 - The smokeless stamping proposal was approved.

Annual Report Discussion & Vote:

- Mr. Chattopadhyay next asked the members to move forward with discussion, if needed, regarding the Task Force's Annual Report to the Legislature.
- A few grammatical errors or typos were noticed and definitions were changed/edited to reflect concerns from Ms. Henley.
 - Mr. Solet made a motion to approve the changes to the report.
 - Mr. Sweeney seconded the motion.
 - The changes were unanimously approved by the Task Force.

- The Task Force then moved to a vote to approve the Annual Report. A roll call vote was taken.
- The AGO representatives abstained from voting.
- All other agencies voted: Yes
 - The Annual Report was approved and will be filed with the Legislature.
- Mr. Sweeney asked that the Task Force be sent a clean copy of the report (with final edits) after it is submitted. Mr. Chattopadhyay agreed.

Member Updates:

- Mr. Solet announced that he will be moving on from EOPSS and hence his participation with the Task Force would be ending. He offered words of thanks to the Task Force.
- Mr. Chattopadhyay stated that John Melander will be serving as the EOPSS representative going forward, replacing Mr. Solet.
- To close the meeting, Mr. Chattopadhyay called for a recess for the Task Force during the spring & summer months. The next meeting will be scheduled as needed.

Other Business:

Meeting was adjourned at 10:57am by Mr. Chattopadhyay.