
✔ Refer the case to the U.S. Department of State 
for denial of the noncustodial parent’s pass-
port. 

✔ Seize the noncustodial parent’s lottery winnings,
    funds from bank accounts and any business or
    personal property.

✔ Intercept the noncustodial parent’s state and 
federal tax refunds, insurance claims, Worker’s 
Compensation or Unemployment Compensa-
tion payments. 

✔ Cloud the noncustodial parent’s credit by refer-
ring the debt to credit reporting agencies. 

✔ Seek civil contempt of court. The court may 
order the noncustodial parent to participate in 
a seek work program or order the noncustodial 
parent incarcerated until the child support debt 
is paid. 

✔ Refer the case for prosecution of criminal 
nonsupport for failure to pay the child support. 
The court may fine the noncustodial parent up 
to $10,000 or order the noncustodial  
parent incarcerated for up to five  
years.

Custody and Visitation
Custody and visitation issues are not handled by 
DOR. DOR staff and attorneys are not authorized 
to provide help to either parent in such matters. 

If you need assistance with custody or visitation, 
you may contact your attorney or the Probate  
and Family Court to help you with access  
and visitation.

Other Considerations
DOR attorneys represent the Department of 
Revenue and do not represent either parent. Any 
violation of tax or welfare laws which comes to 
the attention of DOR, including its attorneys, is 
not protected from disclosure and may  
be reported for investigation and  
prosecution.

Safety Issues 
If you believe that DOR’s child support services 
or efforts to enforce your child support order 
place you or your children at risk of physical  
or emotional harm, please contact us 
immediately at: 800-332-2733 or via  
email at: csegen@dor.state.ma.us

Direct Deposit
Avoid the risk of a lost or stolen check – sign up 
for direct deposit of your child support payments 
online or by phone and your child support 
payments will go directly into your checking or 
savings account.

DOR Customer  
Service 
If you have any questions about child support 
services, or if you have information that would 
help us to enforce your child support order, 
please contact us at:

800-332-2733
(Toll Free in U.S. and Puerto Rico)

617-660-1234
(for local callers)

800-255-5587 TTY/TDD/TT 
(for the hearing impaired)

Monday – Friday
8:30 AM to 4:30 PM

Our telephone automated voice response 
system (VRS) is available 24 hours a day,  
7 days a week – with information on services 
and updates on your case, including recent 
payments and account status. To avoid busy 
signals, call after 5:00 P.M.

For more information about our services, to 
access your case information online, or to use 
any of our various online services, visit our 
website at:

                      www.mass.gov/cse

Massachusetts 
Department Of Revenue
Child Support Enforcement  
Division

     

Raising a child is a big respon-
sibility. Children require lots 
of love, care and attention to 
thrive—they need the emo-
tional and financial support of 
both parents. Child support is 
a way for parents to share the 
financial responsibilities for their 
child even when they do not live 
together. 

The Child Support Enforcement 
Division of the Massachusetts 
Department of Revenue (DOR) 
works to ensure that families 
receive child support payments 
on time and in full. If you are 
ordered by the court to receive 
child support, you are the  
custodial parent and you 
should read the following 
information carefully and keep  
it for reference. 

Information  
for Parents 
Who Receive 
Child Support
Our mission is to make a  
difference in the lives of  
children by enforcing the 
financial responsibilities  
of parenthood.
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How Child Support  
is Paid to You 
Once the court issues a child support order, we 
notify the noncustodial parent’s employer to with-
hold child support from the noncustodial parent’s 
paycheck and send it to DOR.

If the noncustodial parent is self-employed or un-
employed, DOR will send him or her a weekly bill 
with instructions on how to pay DOR.

All payments received by DOR are recorded and 
then sent to you. (If you receive public assistance 
benefits, the payments will be sent to the Depart-
ment of Transitional Assistance to reimburse the 
state for payments made to you to support your 
child.)

Because of the time needed to process the order, 
it may take a few weeks for you to  
receive your first child support payment. 

Direct Payments
You Must Not Accept Child Support  
Payments Directly from the Other Parent. 

If you accept payments directly from the non-
custodial parent, DOR will have no record of the 
payments you received. DOR will assume that the 
noncustodial parent did not pay and take enforce-
ment actions to collect your child support.

Additionally, DOR may close your case  
if you accept direct payments.

Underpayments
When a noncustodial parent does not pay child 
support, the past due support becomes an arrears 
balance. DOR will charge interest and penalties 
on the past due balance and will also begin using 
enforcement methods. 

Please Note: For weekly orders, the number of payments 
owed in a month is equal to the number of Fridays in the 
month. If the other parent is paid every two weeks and sup-
port is deducted from his or her wages, it may appear that 
he or she is behind in 5 week months because with 2 pay 
periods, only 4 weeks of support will be submitted. As long 
as regular payments are made, the week will be made up 
the following pay period.

Overpayments
If DOR sends you a payment in error, you are 
responsible for repaying the amount to which 
you are not entitled. DOR may adjust future child 
support payments payable to you to recover an 
overpayment and may seek court action  
against you if the full amount is not  
recovered.

Changes
You must notify DOR immediately if:

✔ Your address or phone number changes;
✔ You change employers;
✔ Your employer’s address or phone number 

changes;
✔ You change your driver’s license number;
✔ You change your Social Security number; or
✔ You change your name.
To report changes please fax us at 617-887-7540, 
email us at csegen@dor.state.ma.us or call us at 
800-332-2733.

When DOR takes any action on your child sup-
port case, including a court hearing to enforce or 
modify your child support order, DOR is required 
to send notice to you at the address in  
our records. If you do not provide us with your 
new address and phone number you may not 
receive timely notice of any actions taken  
in your case to modify or enforce your  
court order and your case may be closed.  

How to Change a  
Court Order 
Only the court can change or modify the amount of 
the child support order. Either parent may request 
a modification of the child support order if: 

✔ Either parent’s income changes;
✔ The child’s custody changes; or
✔ Either parent’s health care coverage changes. 

You can ask DOR to review your case to see if a 
modification might be appropriate.

DOR will use the Massachusetts Child Support 
Guidelines in its review. The Guidelines consider 
several factors, including both parents’ income 
and ability to earn income, the number of children 
involved and their ages, and the cost of health 
care coverage for the children.

You can review estimated changes to your child 
support order using the automated Guidelines 
Worksheet available on our website:

                        www.mass.gov/cse

Interest and Penalties
DOR imposes 0.5% interest and 0.5% penalties 
on all past-due child support monthly. Any interest 
is paid according to whom the debt is owed. DOR 
retains the penalties collected.

The noncustodial parent can avoid interest and 
penalties by paying child support regularly.

Enforcing a  
Child Support Order
DOR uses many enforcement methods if the non-
custodial parent does not pay child support. DOR 
is authorized by federal and state law to collect 
past-due child support without going to court. 

DOR may use one or more of the following meth-
ods to collect past-due child support:

✔ Increase the amount withheld from the non-  
custodial parent’s paycheck by 25%.

✔ Place a lien on the noncustodial parent’s real 
estate or personal property.

✔ Seize the noncustodial parent’s financial as-
sets.

✔ Suspend business, trade, professional or 
driver’s licenses or motor vehicle registrations 
held by the noncustodial parent.


