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LEAD POISONING 

Information for 

Property Owners 
Lead poisons children.  Most children get lead poisoning from 
lead dust and lead paint in old homes.  As a property owner, you 
must protect children from lead poisoning. 

The Massachusetts Lead Law 
The Lead Law says owners must remove or cover lead paint 
hazards in homes built before 1978 if a child under 6 lives 
there. Lead paint hazards include loose paint and lead paint  
on windows or other places that children can reach.  

The only way to know if you have lead in your home is to have 
it tested by a licensed inspector.  Go to www.mass.gov/dph/clppp 
to find a licensed lead inspector near you.  

If there is lead in your home, you must remove or cover it.  
There are different ways to do this.  Call CLPPP to learn 
more.  http://tinyurl.com/maleadinfo 

Who can remove or cover the lead? 
Removing or covering lead is called deleading.  Some work must 
be done by a licensed deleader.  But you can do most deleading 
work yourself if you get trained and authorized.  You may need to 
help tenants find a place to stay (at your expense) until the work 
is done.  To learn more, call CLPPP and ask for a copy of the 
Deleading Book. 

What about money? 
There is money to help property owners pay for 
deleading.  Encourage property owners to call the 
Get the Lead Out program at 1-617-854-1000. 

Owners may be eligible for a state income tax 
credit of up to $3,000 if they delead their home. 
http://tinyurl.com/malead-financial-help 

Call for free: 1-800-532-9571 
Assistance available in other languages. 

http://tinyurl.com/malead-financial-help
http://tinyurl.com/maleadinfo
www.mass.gov/dph/clppp
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Before You Rent or Sell 
What You Need to Know 

Tenant Notification and Certification 
When you rent a home built before 1978, you must give 
tenants these papers before they sign a rental agreement, 
even if they do not have children: 

Tenant Lead Law Notification and Certification form 
• A copy of the most recent lead inspection report, if it exists 
• A copy of any Letter of Compliance or Letter of Interim
 

Control, if it exists
 
• Any information about lead in the home. 

Property Transfer Lead Paint Notification 
When a buyer is about to purchase a home built before 1978, you must give them: 
• Property Transfer Lead Paint Notification form 
• A signed Property Transfer Lead Paint Certification form 
• Any information about lead in the home 
• A copy of any lead inspection report, Letter of Compliance, or Letter of Interim Control 
• A 10 day period to have the home inspected for lead at the buyer’s expense before
 

the Purchase and Sale.
 

All Notification and Certification forms are available at www.mass.gov/dph/clppp 

Penalties and Liability 
You cannot evict or refuse to rent to someone because of lead paint.  This is discrimination.  It is 
illegal. If a child is poisoned by lead, you are responsible.  Complying with the Lead Law is the 
best protection you have from liability. If you do not comply with the law, you could face civil and 
criminal penalties.  

Childhood Lead Poisoning 
Prevention Program (CLPPP) 
Call: 1-800-532-9571 or 1-617-624-5757 
TTY: 1-617-624-5286 
Email: clppp@state.ma.us 
On the web:  www.mass.gov/dph/clppp 

Massachusetts Department of  Public Health 
Bureau of  Environmental Health 
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