
Interlock Program – Road to Reinstate Your Driver’s License

The Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Program requires drivers who have multiple Operating Under the 
Influence (OUI) violations and some drivers with first time OUI violations to install an IID in any vehicle that 
they lease, own, or operate for a period of at least 730 days. Individuals on the program who own, operate, 
or lease multiple vehicles must install a device in each vehicle.  The rules and regulations that govern the 
program can be found in Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 90, §§ 24, 24D, and 24 ½, and 540 CMR 
25.00. For more information about the IID program: https://www.mass.gov/guides/ignition-interlock-device-program 

Steps required to successfully complete the IID Program:

Prepare for your Virtual Hearing.2
Schedule your hearing online through myRMV (mass.gov/myRMV). From the myRMV homepage, 
choose Appointments then Make or Cancel a Hearing Appointment and fill in the fields to schedule.   

Prepare the required documents for your hearing. Upload the documents for review when you 
schedule your hearing. Complete the following forms according to the directions ahead of the hearing:

 Ignition Interlock Operator’s Affidavit: https://www.mass.gov/doc/ignition-interlock-operators-affidavit-
0/download 

 Ignition Interlock Operator’s Affidavit Other Licensed Resident: https://www.mass.gov/doc/ignition-
interlock-operators-affidavit-other-licensed-resident/download - Required if you reside with others who 
have a driver’s license. Each licensed resident must complete this form for submission. You do 
not need to install an IID in vehicles owned by other licensed drivers who live with you. But it is 
illegal for you to drive a vehicle that does not have an IID installed. 

 Ignition Interlock Device – Vehicles Not in Possession Affidavit: https://www.mass.gov/doc/ignition-
interlock-device-no-vehicles-in-possession-affidavit/download  – Required if there are vehicles still 
attached to your Massachusetts’ driving record that you no longer own. If you own multiple 
vehicles and do not wish to install an IID in each one, you must sell or transfer ownership of the 
vehicle to another person. 

Cancel active motorcycle registrations. Any motorcycle endorsements will be removed from your 
license after the hearing when you are approved for IID installation during your license reinstatement. 

Keep in mind that the mandatory Interlock Program period is a minimum of 730 days. 
× Time that your license is suspended, expired, or inactive does not count toward the 730 days.

× If you have a hardship restriction, an IID is required for the entirety of the hardship period, 
however the 730 days is not inclusive of hardship time. The 730 days is due upon issuance of 
a license without an hourly restriction.  
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Check your Eligibility. 1
All drug and alcohol related suspensions, including Interlock program requests require a hearing. In 
your initial hearing, the hearing officer will determine your eligibility for reinstatement. They will also 
relay any requirements for joining the interlock program, if eligible.

You can review your Account Standing by logging into your myRMV account (mass.gov/myRMV). 
This will display any suspension actions on your record. 

You can review hardship eligibility requirements at the following location: https://www.mass.gov/how-
to/apply-for-a-hardship-drivers-license

To be eligible for reinstatement and enter the Interlock program, you will need a vehicle to be 
installed with an ignition interlock device. You do not need to be the owner of the vehicle to have a 
device installed in it. You will need to have an interlock device installed in any vehicle that you drive 
or any vehicle that has your name on the title or registration.
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Attend the Hearing and receive approval for IID installation. 3 Complete your hearing with a Hearing Officer to request approval for IID installation. Hearing Officers 
review your record and provided documents before making a decision. The hearing officer may deny 
the request due to missing documents or outstanding requirements. During your hearing, the Hearing 
Officer makes a decision about your license. If approved, you can reinstate your license and enter the 
Interlock program. In some cases, a Hearing Officer will take 7-10 days to let you know their decision.

If needed, you can cancel or reschedule your Hearing online. Visit myRMV at mass.gov/myRMV 
and select Make or Cancel a Hearing Appointment to make changes to your scheduled hearing. 
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Select an Interlock vendor and schedule your interlock device installation. 4
Select an Interlock vendor. Have your vendor install the ignition interlock device(s) within 30 days 
of the RMV’s approval:
• https://www.mass.gov/files/documents/2021/07/09/IID%20Service%20Provider%20listings%20as%20of%20032

32021_0.pdf 

If you need an extension beyond the 30 days, you can use the IID Service Request Portal to request 
a reauthorization: https://www.mass.gov/guides/ignition-interlock-device-program#-iid-service-request-portal- 

Once the IID(s) are installed, the vendor notifies the RMV. The RMV must receive the install 
notification from your vendor in order to post your reinstatement fees. The fees must be posted 
before you can pay.

You will need to install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle where your name appears on the 
title or registration as owner or lessee. While in the Interlock Program, you cannot drive a vehicle 
without an IID. 

Pay Reinstatement Fees. 5 Reinstatement fees can be paid through myRMV, the RMV Contact Center, or at an RMV Service 
Center. Reinstatement fees cannot be waived and must be paid all at once. The RMV does not 
offer payment plans. 
 RMV Service Centers accept all forms of payment. 
 Online myRMV transactions accept credit card, debit card, and electronic check payments. 
 The RMV Contact Center accepts credit card and debit card payments. 

Schedule an RMV Service Center appointment to obtain an updated driver’s license with 
a T (IID) restriction and any applicable hardship hours; Register your vehicle (if needed).6

During the same Service Center appointment, if your vehicle(s) is not already registered you will 
need to register the vehicle. This can also be done via a separate walk-in appointment if needed. For 
information on vehicle registration and title requirements, visit: https://www.mass.gov/register-and-
title-your-vehicle 

Please note that once you have active driving privileges after paying your reinstatement fees, 
you can apply to get the insurance needed to register your vehicle. 

If you have been suspended or inactive for more than 2 years or if you have surrendered your license 
to obtain an MA ID card, you will need to pass the full written knowledge exam and road test to 
reinstate your driving privileges. Participation in the interlock program does not begin until the 
issuance of the permit. If not, you can apply for an amendment of your license.

• A Service Center appointment is required to take the written permit test. Schedule your 
appointment online on myRMV(mass.gov/myRMV).

• If you have a vehicle that meets all road test requirements (https://www.mass.gov/guides/road-test-
information), you can schedule your road test online on myRMV. If your vehicle with the IID 
installed does not meet the requirements, you must schedule through the Contact Center.
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Operate with your license and vehicle(s) according to the rules of the program. 7 Refer to the Ignition Interlock Operator’s Affidavit from Step 2 as reference for the rules of the 
Interlock program. Review again when needed to understand what actions are considered violations 
of the program. 

If you are no longer able to participate in the Interlock program, refer to the IID Service Request 
Portal or schedule a hearing with a hearing officer to request an Interlock Early Withdrawal. You 
will be removed from the program and your license will be suspended immediately until you are 
able to re-enroll in the program. 

* If you do commit an infraction or violation while on the program, you have 30 days from the date 
of the violation to dispute the validity of the event through the IID Service Request portal or a 
hearing. We recommend you be proactive in disputing the events as they occur. Infractions may 
to lead to an interlock violation offense and potentially a suspension of your license. 

During the life of the program, refer to the IID Service Request Portal for transactions that you might 
need to perform. For example: vendor transfers, vehicle changes, or requests for removal of 
hardship hours.
• https://www.mass.gov/guides/ignition-interlock-device-program#-iid-service-request-portal- 

Apply for Interlock Ignition Device removal; Once approved, have device(s) removed 
from vehicle(s) by vendor. 8

You must have completed a minimum of 730 days of the Interlock program. Remember that any of 
the days that your license is suspended, expired, or inactive do not count toward the 730 days. 
Neither do any days operating on the program with a license that has an hourly restriction. 

You must not have any infractions or violations of the IID program in the preceding 6 months while 
actively in the program to be eligible for removal. 

Apply for device removal through the IID Service Request Portal or by scheduling an IID hearing. 

Obtain a copy of your license with the Interlock (T) Restriction removed. 
Upon approval to remove the IID, the Interlock (T) restriction will be systematically removed when a 
new copy of your driver’s license is issued. 

Request a duplicate of your amended license with the T restriction removed either online on myRMV 
or at an RMV Service Center. The duplicate license transaction charges a $25 fee. 

• Please Note: If requested online, check the printed copy of your temporary license to confirm 
there is no T restriction listed . If the restriction still shows on the document, you are still subject to 
the restriction and you will need to go to a Service Center for removal. 

9

Remove the Interlock Ignition device(s) from vehicle(s). 

Once you have obtained a copy of your license with the Interlock restriction removed, work with 
your Interlock vendor to remove the IIDs from all vehicles. 

10

Once all devices have been removed, you have successfully completed the 
Interlock program and may operate vehicles as normal according to 
Massachusetts General Laws. 
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1

Check Eligibility
• Review Account Standing
• Confirm vehicle(s) for IID 

installation
• Prepare hearing documents

2

3

4

Schedule Your 
Hearing Online
Appointments can be 
scheduled up to 4 
weeks in advance. 

Attend Hearing 
Hearing Officer has 
7-10 days to inform 
you of the decision

Select vendor and have 
interlock device(s) installed
Must be complete within 30 
days of RMV approval

5

6

7

8

9 10

11

12

13

Pay Reinstatement Fees

Schedule RMV Service 
Center Appointment
• Schedule up to 6 weeks 

in advance 
• Book early to secure an 

appointment.  

Attend Service Center Appointment
• Obtain driver’s license with T restriction
• Register vehicle(s) as needed

START

The following image provides a summary and timeline of the key steps to follow to successfully reinstate your driver’s 
license. For greater details on each step, read the pages 1-3 that contain the full details.

Operate Vehicle(s) while 
in the Interlock Program
• Minimum of 730 days

Request approval to 
remove IID
• Through the IID 

Service Request Portal
• Or schedule a hearing

Receive approval from 
RMV to remove IID
• 3-5 business days to 

approve

Have IID vendor 
remove devices

Obtain copy of license with 
T restriction removed. 

FINISHED: Operate vehicles as normal according to MA General law 
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