

# THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR RELATIONS

LAFAYETTE CITY CENTER
2 AVENUE DE LAFAYETTE
BOSTON, MA 02111
Telephone: (617) 626-7132
Fax: (617) 626-7157

efile: EFileDLR@ mass.gov www.mass.gov/dlr JOINT LABORMANAGEMENT COMMITTEE
FOR MUNICIPAL
POLICE AND FIRE
JOHN W. HANSON
CHAIR

### JOINT LABOR MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR MUNICIPAL POLICE AND FIRE

#### **MEETING MINUTES FOR JANUARY 13, 2022**

DATE: JANUARY 13, 2022

TIME: 11:00 a.m. - Full Committee Meeting

LOCATION: Pursuant to "Order Suspending Certain Provisions of the Open Meeting Law,G.L. c. 30A, s. 20" issued by Governor Baker dated March 12, 2020, this meeting was made publicly accessible and was conducted via Webex teleconference. Persons wishing to participate in or gain public access to this meeting could do so by making use of WebEx meeting software at <a href="https://webex.com/downloads.html">https://webex.com/downloads.html</a>

#### Meeting link:

https://eolwdma.webex.com/eolwdma/j.php?MTID=m0809eb7136bbe7033279 0e377432d6f8

Meeting number (access code): 2337 281 3619

Meeting password: JQjMNmqE363

More ways to join:

By phone dialing 1-617-315-0704 and entering access code 2337 281 3619

By video system or application dial 23372813619@eolwdma.webex.com or 173.243.2.68 and enter meeting number 2337 281 3619 For help go to https://help.webex.com

**Committee Members Present:** Chairman Hanson; <u>Police</u>: Andrews, Perreira; <u>Management</u>: Goldsmith, Johnson; <u>Fire</u>: M. Reddy.

Alternates Present: Fire: Keene, Young; Police: Nelson, T. Reddy, Kenneally,

Calderone, Gibney; Management: Frederickson, Bain.

Staff Present: Cummings, Driscoll, Hubley, Morgado.

Others Present: Philip Roberts (DLR)

#### **OPEN SESSION**

Chairman Hanson called the meeting to order at 11:06 A.M.

The meeting was recorded by Chairman Hanson.

#### Administrative updates:

 Vote to accept the full Committee meeting minutes from December 16, 2021.

Motion by M. Reddy, seconded by Goldsmith: to accept the minutes from the Committee meeting on December 16, 2021.

The Motion passed unanimously.

 Chairman Hanson recognized the designation of alternate members of the Committee by Management Chair Goldsmith as follows: Mary Aicardi, David Bain, Diane Crimmins, Frank Frederickson, Edward Gibson, Gerard Hayes, William Mahoney, Anthony Mazzucco, Michael McCall, Kimberly Williams.

## Review and Act on the following Petition, Jurisdiction and Awaiting Funding List (AFL) Cases

1. JLM-21-8904 Winthrop Police DJM, DC Vote on Jurisdiction

Mr. Cummings briefed the Committee.

Motion by Andrews, seconded by Goldsmith: to take jurisdiction in the case of the Winthrop Police Union, Local 421 MCOP and the Town of Winthrop, JLM-21-8904.

The Motion passed unanimously.

Motion by Andrews, seconded by Goldsmith: to assign the following Committee members to the case of Winthrop Police Union, Local 421 MCOP and the Town of Winthrop, JLM-21-8904: Perreira/T.Reddy for Police and Anthony Mazzucco for Management or substitutes as so designated and approved by the Police and Management Chairs respectively.

The Motion passed unanimously.

2. JLM-21-8700 North Reading Fire DJM, JOEH Vote to 3(a) Hearing

Mr. Morgado briefed the Committee.

Motion by Goldsmith, seconded by Keene: to find that in the matter of North reading Firefighters, Local 1857 IAFF and the Town of North reading, JLM-21-8700, the issues have remained unresolved for an unreasonable period of time resulting in the apparent exhaustion of the process of collective bargaining, and that the Committee vote to hold a hearing pursuant to Section 1, subsection 3(a), as set forth in Chapter 589 of the Acts of 1987, with the panel members consisting of David Keene (Labor) and Michael McCall (Management), or other Committee members and/or senior staff that may be substituted as necessary by the respective Labor and/or Management Chairs pursuant to the rules, policies, and procedures of the Committee, and any other applicable provisions of law, with said panel to be chaired by John Hanson.

The Motion passed unanimously.

3. JLM-21-8773 Norwood Fire DJM, JOEH Vote to 3(a) Hearing

Mr. Morgado briefed the Committee.

Motion by M.Reddy, seconded by Goldsmith: to find that in the matter of Norwood Firefighters Union, Local 1631 IAFF and the Town of Norwood, JLM-21-8773, the issues have remained unresolved for an unreasonable period of time resulting in the apparent exhaustion of the process of collective bargaining, and that the Committee vote to hold a hearing pursuant to Section 1, subsection 3(a), as set forth in Chapter 589 of the Acts of 1987, with the panel members consisting of William Cross (Labor) and Gerard Hayes (Management), or other Committee members and/or senior staff that may be substituted as necessary by the respective Labor and/or Management Chairs pursuant to the rules, policies, and procedures of the Committee, and any other applicable provisions of law, with said panel to be chaired by John Hanson.

The Motion passed unanimously.

4. JLM-21-8694 Newton Police GD,DC Funded/Remove

Mr. Driscoll briefed the Committee.

Motion by Andrews, seconded by Goldsmith: to remove the case from the Committee's docket as the contract has been funded by the City.

The Motion passed unanimously.

5. JLM-21-8682 Cohasset Fire GD, JOEH Tentative Agreement

Mr. Driscoll and Mr. M. Reddy informed the Committee that the parties had met some three times on their own since the Committee voted, at its November meeting, to move the case to a 3(a) hearing to be held in the first two weeks of January,2022. The parties reported that they had reached a tentative agreement on all issues. However, it appears

that the tentative agreement fell apart. Mr. M. Reddy and Mr. Driscoll recommended that the case be scheduled for a 3(a) hearing. This requires an amendment to the Committee's November vote which limited the time frame for a 3(a) hearing to the forst two weeks in January, 2022.

Motion by M.Reddy, seconded by Goldsmith: to amend the Committee's November vote moving the case to a 3(a) hearing so as to allow the scheduling of a 3(a) hearing beyond the first two weeks of January, 2022.

The Motion passed unanimously.

#### Adjournment

Motion by Goldsmith, seconded by M.Reddy: to adjourn the Committee meeting.

The Motion passed unanimously.

Chairman Hanson adjourned the meeting at 11:31 AM.

Minutes drafted by George Driscoll, Senior Staff Representative.

Minutes accepted by the Committee on February 10, 2022.